Sime Darby has no plans to bid for Proton

Local conglomerate Sime Darby has announced that it has no plans to bid for Proton, reports the Associated Press quoting a senior executive who does not wish to be named as he does not have authorization to speak to the media. The executive said that Sime Darby received a request for proposal but no proposal was submitted as Sime Darby has no plans to bid for Proton.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:26 pm

WTF, I also don't have plans to bid for Proton.

• oversight (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Good for sime darby…….if you don't have ability…..just duduk diam-diam

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:55 pm

Sime Darby has enough cars in their basket. Ford, Hyundai, Inokom, Land Rover, etc. They don't need to add a rotten egg.

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Sime darby may not have the technical thing, but they sure have money. They are currently merging with s2 other big companies so dont have time to plan on taking over other company i presume.

On the sime darby thing though, right now our gemilang, terbilang or what so ever leaders is merging up big2 companies with no financial prob esp sime darby under a new company called synergy.. why? look who's behind synergy.. opps really way off topic.. sorry..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 5:27 pm

stupid proton…blood sucking no diginity carmaker

err anyone want to but Lotus for 1 Pound.

I am very upset with the numbers of new proton registered, but only in Klang Valley, in other area very few registered. even Proton salesman now keep their mouth shut.

Proton is a stupid car dont buy it…it make you also look stupid.

• khimfoh (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:52 pm

Well it makes logical sense for Sime Darby not taking over proton as it is not their core business to manufacture cars.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 8:14 pm

On-Off-On-Off-On-Off-…….!!!!!!!!!?????????

What is that want, don't wnat …… "confirm to bid but not confirm to buy" etc, etc.

We suppose to get a lot of news on new models even conceptual design from many establish car manufacturers from Japs, Korea, Conti, US but get all kind of crap news from P1 on proposed this and proposed that but still remains news without significant results – some form of take over or tie up!

G to make decison by March 07? After March postpone again and keep on postponing until now P1 bleeding losing around RM 80 million a month. May be postpone until bidding for RM 5.00 or Euro 1.00 then only seal a deal! Guess who bid for it, I also "plan" to bid for it.

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…………. is better!

• wookie00 (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 8:44 pm

That's a wise choice to start off 2007! ;)

• Jay (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Aiiiyahh … trying to bid for something that makes senselah ! Forget this potonglah. People have learned and still learning. Automakers like Toyota & Honda has captured the market in small cc cars.

Though their vios & city cost a bit more than what we average Malaysian can afford, still their reliability & comfort & technology (advance) is no compromise to ours.

At RM 75k > peace of mind is assured. Yes we don't get the best but at least you don't need to visit the service centre's often ! Get what i mean ?

Good products / quality products > cheap products / poor quality !

Most Important = Customer Satisfaction !

• RM (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 12:12 am

Good, cos' apart from vehicle assembly, sales and distribution and a probably a better balance sheet, what can Sime Darby offer Proton? What can any other local outfit offer Proton?

Proton is feeling the heat simply because its cars are just not up to standard. Thankfully, some people in the Government acknowledge this fact and agree that Proton needs a stronger and more accomplished technical partner with a global reach. Platform sharing with VW or PSA Peugeot-Citroen or even GM is the way forward. If the Government's going to do something about Proton then do it good otherwise just don't bother at all.

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Jan 13, 2007 at 2:37 am

aiyaaaah, just another boring story. its talk talk for last few years about proton marriages. imune 2 news releases from Proton. they shoud just shut up and make announces only when things are firmed up not syok syok saha

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Jay,

What piece of mind? My 6 mths old Honda City already need to sent for warranty repairs twice. 1st after only 3 months need to reinstall front windshield due to bad installation done by Honda.Got loud wind noise (equivalent to trumpet sound…hahaha..very funny this car!) at highway speed. 2nd after 6 months wiper motor condemn already. Just imagine driving during heavy downpour suddenly your wiper pack-up…soooo dangerous. Furthermore need to wait for few days due to no spare parts available at Honda 3S service centre (getting very funny ler ths Honda)…

Anyway my 2002 wira seem to have better reliablity(no such prob other than the known power window need replacement)…and cheaper some more…well done Proton…i am surprise!!