Best Motoring Compact Car Race

boon_x4_45.jpg

In the spirit of entertainment, Best Motoring pits a bunch of Japanese compact cars against each other on the race track. You have the Honda Jazz 1.5 VTEC, the Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6, Mitsubishi Colt Ralliart Version-R 1.5 MIVEC Turbo, and the Daihatsu Boon X4. The first two are naturally aspirated, while the last two are turbocharged, and the Boon X4 has the advantage of all-wheel drive while the rest are front wheel driven. Oh, and all the cars are stick shifts. Video after the jump!

Video: Best Motoring Compact Car Race

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• razin (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 2:01 am

i'm the first one to comment on this great video! they should add two more hot hatches in this race. toyota yaris and nissan micra!

• razin (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 2:02 am

btw, i'm new here. not that i'm new to this site, i was just register for an account

• jhuan (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 2:59 am

Great Video!

I believe there are alot of us are more than happy to know there is actually have such a comparison being carried out.

Since in bolehland here there are only have Jazz and Swift, other 2 turbo variants are out of consideration. So we can say Swift 'run' better for its money, since it is cheaper and it's CBU from Nihon (or already CKD?!).

The drivers for Boon and Swift are actually having fun driving their car. Laughing and looking at each other through out the race. Cool dude!

Thx Paul for the video, any more interesting video coming up soon? :-)

• Paul Tan on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:04 am

i think tsuchiya is driving the boon x4

• jzkzlz (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 3:33 am

yes.. Paul, boon x4 is driven by tsuchiya…D.K.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 6:44 am

Yea, it's Tsuchiya, written there, and the Kei Office colors. I think he could have won if he wasn't too drift happy with the Boon X4. Overall, this is a fun video, I was laughing too as I watched the drivers "hop" on the accelerator pedals for more speed, guess that's how you'll feel driving small cars after all those 300hp+ monsters, guess they were having fun.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 8:14 am

Actually the Mitsubishi colt ralliart are available in Malaysia, But in limited numbers… The Eon Edaran showrooms got a few but are all automatics CVT wif turbo.. No manual …>.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Mar 06, 2007 at 8:32 am

kewl vid! although, does anyone know the song that was in the beginning? it was really good :p

• Mohd Nizam (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 4:25 pm

Why i can't see the video?

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 07, 2007 at 7:21 pm

Amazing Video presentation!

Lengthy and Totally Exhilirating.

Truly exciting to watch some hot Japanese hatches battling out.

Great job, Paul. Looking forward to more videos.

Cheers!

• AmiR (Member) on Mar 13, 2007 at 2:19 am

boon = myvi se….

beside is dat a good driving skill like the honda fit driver?…

honestly, i was wondering to change gear without letting go the gas…