Proton Savvy 3-Door Concept

chop-savvy-3-door-450.jpg

Yet another contribution photoshopped image from Theophilus Chin. Here’s what he did to the Savvy:

1. Even out (lowered) window line
2. Bigger rear window
3. Wider front door
4. Reshaped rear lights (slimmer and taller)
5. Chrome piece between rear lights
6. Repositioned number plate
7. Reshape of number plate housing
8. Resize rear bumpers
9. Black rear diffuser
10. Twin central exhaust
11. Deeper side skirting
12. Bigger and wider wheels
13. Wider track, wheels pushed out further

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:15 pm

Still ugly :p

• Steven (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:29 pm

Not bad la. At least no nose at the back.

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:37 pm

It's a decent effort, working with what is already there. Especially when you know that what's already there isn't much to work with.

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:42 pm

Wut it need is a wider body, lower roof line, a total remake of the front and a change of name….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:45 pm

very sporty,bt i tink stil need the rear spoiler…actually makes sence as a two door.bt it wont hapen,it wil affect the satria NEO sales

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:07 pm

e-nabilll, your suggestion made sense to me. Shift the 2-door concept to a wide body Savvy (change the name please! Suave? yeah right) and the S.Neo to 4-doors. The fact remains, most buyers in Malaysia are family oriented buyers. The 2-door Savvy would be great for entry market where else S.Neo 4-door would have done well for upgrade market from Kancils, Saga/Iswara, etc. It's a matter of lifecycle management, anticipate market transition. But hey, it's a little late now ain't it? Or is it?

Hey Theo! Neat color. Do they have that from the factory or did you change it to silver? A very suitable color especially when the heat and the sun beating down on us these days. Might be useful to reflect some sunlight (and maybe infra-red) off the car and keep the a/c lifespan lasting a little while longer and save us some of our limited $$.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:14 pm

No offence Theo/P1, but the basic car is still ugly……..i think it needs major cosmetic change……….

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:51 pm

But it looks much much better then the so called millions ringgit investment of R&D that comes out like #$^$^&

Especially the rear window and rear lights, which are the ugliest part

Anyway cosmetic change on the front?

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Nice work by all you.

Now I have a special request to anyone (Theophilus, KelvC?) who is in Photoshopping cars:

– Good looking Proton MPV

– Successor to Perdana

would be really interested how that could look like.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:05 pm

How come it says SAWI?

Anyway, the AMT model is fast and zippy. My VR4 has a hard time chasing one (due to heavier chassis)

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:26 pm

Nice work, eventhough I disagree with the chrome between the lights. The list looks long, but the pic looks almost untouched, weird hahaha. Anyway, a 3 door Savvy would be unfeasible since it would make the car practically useless as a family car (not that it's very useful now, mind you).

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:56 pm

chris_the_germ, sorry can't help you bro. I haven't use Photoshop for the last 5 years and it is extremely basic at best. The real credit should go to Kevin Lee, furthermore, Lee is not my last name.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:03 pm

*sigh*

The Savvy, well they say beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I agree it's no beauty and my chop is not to give it an "extreme makeover". My chops is just my idea of how to iron out some design flaws.

And i guess it's best to show BOTH cars (original and chopped) in order for one to tell the differences.

so check out the "before and after" at http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/1884/temp1mu7….

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:07 pm

w_lighter:

I agree with all your suggestions except for the lower roof line. Any lower and it would only fit little people.

Every time I get into my friend's Savvy my head constantly rubs the ceiling. So much so that it has actually stained a little.

What Proton should do is restructure the roof of the car. Most people complain about the rear roof line the most because of the sloping curvature. Apart from that, I have to say the handling is very good for a nippy little car.

• khimfoh (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:17 pm

Theo,

Kinda cool, the 3 door Savvy concept. BTW could you also do a Savvy 4X4 concept as well…you know with them black rubber/plastic molding that covers the wheel arch, lower part of the doors. ? :-)

• tutiger (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:23 pm

Did anyone realise that it writes as "SAWI" instead of "SAVVY"…… that is definitely its nickname :P

I like them green in colour

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:28 pm

Actually I also chopped the Mivy into a three-door low roof shooting break. Wonder if Paul will post it.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:36 pm

Nice 'renovation'. You got the window lines on the same level! Now it doens't look as if the car was designed by 2 different designers thus making the odd window line halfway.

The smaller lamp somehow makes it look like a car from an older generation. Still prefer the current one.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:57 pm

If you all checked back on Theophillus' artworks, he doesn't do outrageous concepts, most of his concepts are subtle changes to the profiles, small changes that improves on the outlook in a good way. That's very difficult compared to those average choppers that add diffusers, bonnet nostrils, etc.

• quest (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 11:13 pm

2 door, 4 door, same failure. Wonder how much moeny went to research and building new cast plant for chasis? It's not cheap to create a production line, tens or hundreds of millions? They will never recover cost.

Sigh…..

• DtG (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Haiyo… still the same old thing la…

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 12:38 am

i think savvy could be the most cute n fun in protons line up, with photoshop variation,

. .theo can do it

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:16 am

Nothing wrong with savvy 3-door…..

perhaps this little babe just need some bodykits….

• transformer (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:55 am

awwww……. the old SAVVY sedan look nicer!

nice try though!

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:30 am

that chrome Vauxhall grill at the back must go. come to think of it… it looks like a very mid 90s VW Polo from the back!

the 5.Neo … or Neo.5 looks better.

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:04 am

mr Theophilus Chin, why don't you do a research whether if there still have vacation in proton's design dept? i think proton in need of a decent designer like you to design some of their product (the sayur sawi for example)(the neo and GEN II looks good though)haihhhh!!!before i look at this post i was reading the fiat 500 one, judging from the design of these 2 car-sawi VS 500. i would say proton still has a long way to go.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:31 am

great job!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:57 pm

Theo, good work but when are you going to chop other model, be it P2 or VW to share with us your skills and expertise!

• maru (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:34 am

actually i think savvy is a good looking car…u can call me idiot,but that's what i think…cheers

• TheGunner (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 5:17 am

Hey Paul,

I got a small request for Theophilus Chin. If he doesn't mind, can the good man photoshop an Evo-VII-GTA-style grille into the front end of the latest Waja MC3, but keep the bumper stock?

Thanks. Cheers.

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 10:49 pm

personally wat i feel (nice work as always, theo :) )

– diffuser

– exhaust (niceee)

– 4-door to 3-door (cool!)

– bigger rims n deeper skirts (nice subtle stuff)

– wider door (well 3-doors need bigger doors)

– no. plate (much nicer)

dislike

– new boot (the old-style boot more character)

– no kink at the side (again character hehe)

– lights (old one kinda nicer)

just my 2 sen

• ahmadmckk (Member) on May 11, 2007 at 7:41 am

I hate 3-door cars. Don't know why proton has to make one