Proton to enter Thai market

Proton LogoProton will be entering the Thai market through authorised dealer Phranakorn Auto Sales Co Ltd, and is currently in the midst of finalising the product portfolio to be offered in our northern neighbour country.

Phranakorn Auto Sales Co Ltd previously held the distributorship for Daihatsu, Opel, Hyundai and Holden, and is currently distributing Honda, Isuzu and Chevrolet cars as a mega dealer.

Proton’s car line-up for Thailand is expected to be unveiled at the Thailand Motor Show in early December, and will include the Proton Persona.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ... (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 3:47 pm

Good Luck Proton!!

• Wai (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 4:34 pm

I wonder how can they compete in Thai. the B/C segments Japanese marques are already the at the price of Protons being sold here.

Unless again Proton plans to sell them cheap at foreign, but charge us a bomb.

• bestofamat (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Good luck for Proton!!! I wonder what price they are offering to thai people?

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 4:52 pm

here we go again.

Proton cars are not expensive – even by international standards.

NAP Myths:
    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=510116&hl=NAP+myths

1) a gen2 is only RM36k pretax. Should be well under RM60k OTR in thailand.
    2) eg. a Vios, or any other similar size japanese car, costs RM60k+ OTR, even in thailand.
    3) A Corolla, or similar class japanese car, will cost RM75k+ OTR in thailand.

So no, they are not expensive. Yes they are cheap. Yes, their quality probably isnt up to Toyota’s or Honda’s standard… but they are cheap – with 5 yr warranty.

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Hope that Proton will get some result there!

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 5:17 pm

hmm..i wonder if it gets into the taxi market..

• angelo2689 (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 6:07 pm

Gambate ,Proton!!! 加油!!!

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Wai said,
    September 22, 2007 @ 4:34 pm

I wonder how can they compete in Thai. the B/C segments Japanese marques are already the at the price of Protons being sold here.
    ============================
    selling proton cars in Global market is not a news, proton are selling neo,savvy,gen2 all over the world, UK,AUS,Spore,Taiwan,SA,China,Saudi,Indonesia..
    what so great Thai market??

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Starting from the Savvy, Neo, now the Pesona, they are all built to the highest standard and quality. Just ask those who already owned them. Why still sceptical? I’m not.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 8:59 pm

SoWAniCUP Proton!
    Thai market is difficult man, only PICK-UP Truck might be GOOD to enter Thailand.

GOOD LUCK Proton!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:24 pm

thai is a very price sensitive market….as long as ur prices are lower than competition,u can sell , bt as said above….thai are addicted to horrible ugly mpvs like unser and Innova….and ofcourse pickups

• transformer (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 9:37 pm

First, i would like to congrats P1 for able to persuade to Phranakorn Auto Sales Co Ltd to sell…

i guess Waja, Persona would be on top of their list and might followed by Satria Neo(maybe only….)

And i would like to remind P1, don’t repeat the same “dealer deal” as before!
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/17/proton-dealers-snub-rm150000-vss-offer/
    its disgraceful!

• ab (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:21 pm

lets hope the thais are dum enough to buy some of our cars, sorry, not very malaysian is it?

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:44 pm

SawaDi-Crap, Welcome to Tomyam land! A land of Toyota without NAP! See how Proton survive in this market! It is not pessimistic statement, but the reality of their auto industry is dog-eat-dog market!

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:48 pm

ezralimm said,
    September 22, 2007 @ 4:52 pm

NAP Myths:

——————–
    BigFish said,
    August 26, 2007 @ 6:16 pm

But for the link you posted in the Lowyat.NET, Let me post below the alternative view: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/08/23/over-8000-bookings-for-the-proton-persona/#comments

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm

maybe proton should bring along its proton arena…..

• kei9 (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 11:06 pm

hey…the jumbuck aka arena or “ute’ as it call with aussies, is very popular there..i think it would too if its being sold there..

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 11:39 pm

Definetely, Thai ppl mindset not like typical malaysian japs wanabe mindset..
    If proton can survive in Developed countries market…more competitive..
    Thai market is nothing laa… Toyota land kunun… prrrfthhh

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 22, 2007 at 11:55 pm

#
    peYno-1 said,

September 22, 2007 @ 11:39 pm

Definetely, Thai ppl mindset not like typical malaysian japs wanabe mindset..
    If proton can survive in Developed countries market…more competitive..
    Thai market is nothing laa… Toyota land kunun… prrrfthhh

_____________________________________________________________________________

haha..what u said is true..come om proton.u should sell arena with campro 1.3 or 1.6 with our own tune gearbox same as persona(correct me if i mistaken)..don’t use mitsu engine..use own engine to reach economy of scale and lower the cost..than proton should can penetrate thai market..

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 12:36 am

Let coffee shop talk continue about chances of Proton success in Thailand! If they can do it, they will do it at the time of first Proton Saga model export to UK in 1990s (as depict in Mr. Bean movie golf ball stuck to exhaust pipe).

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 12:48 am

if not mistaken…proton have some problem with the thai government some time ago..thats why they cannot penetrate thai market..if anyone know about that…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:28 am

Aiyo! The AP issue laa! Dont u know that? Toyota, Ford & Honda cars that import from Thailand need AP, that why tom yam land & Philippines also banned all Malaysian automobile export from entering their country… But i heard that Malaysian G this year starting to allow Asean country product to be off AP. So when Thailand knew the G already allow no AP, so they give P1 opportunity to come in and face the Toyota, Ford, Nissan, Honda head-to-head wif fair trade… hehe, i wonder how many p1 car will sale compare to Toyota…

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:39 am

lol… here we go agian.
    Bigfish/JoeOoi the guy who’s never said anything nice about proton,
    Peyno and his prrrfthhh..

u guys are like family :-D

eh, bigfish, thanks for the Looooong reply at the 8000bookings thread. Really appreciate if you’d post in LYF instead. you could then link directly to your post within a thread in LYF. It’s much easier on the eyes to read long posts in LYF.

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 2:00 am

Bigfish, alrite… i’ve glanced through your reply to my LYF post in the 8000bookings PT thread.

I could best illustrate the error that has occured by an analogy:

It is widely published that the eye “sees” 576 megapixels. The calculations are complex, but they are impressive.

The truth is that the retina only has 6 million colour cones. And each cone is sensitive to one of the three main parts of the colour spectrum. (it’s not technically RGB)

……………………….*****………………………………..

That gives us 2megapixel images from each eye. But the problem is a normal person cant even differentiate a 150DPI to 300DPI image… or a 92DPI (typical monitor) image for that matter. Magazines print at 72DPI. And look at a 4R (300DPI) image – only the part that your eye is focused on is sharp. The rest is all blurry. Heck, look at the five asterisks in the middle of this post and notice how the text above and below it goes blurry? In reality, only the center part of the visual field is sharp to begin with. That’s just how the eyes see.

Print a pixel perfect 4R picture at 300DPI (1200×1800, 2.16megapixel) and notice how you could never get the whole image sharp. You could glance at different parts of the picture but the “whole picture” will never be sharp in your visual field at the same time.

So effectively our eyes have less resolving power than a 2 megapixel camera. It’s how we use it that counts! (i could go into opthalmic reflexes and the way our eyes track objects but that would be going a bit too far :p )

Bottom line: I find your counter arguments non-sequitur. Post them in the LYF thread and I will dissect them. I will not reply to it in PT’s blog as it can get abit long.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 3:28 am

#
    LittleFire85 said,

September 23, 2007 @ 1:28 am

Aiyo! The AP issue laa! Dont u know that? Toyota, Ford & Honda cars that import from Thailand need AP, that why tom yam land & Philippines also banned all Malaysian automobile export from entering their country… But i heard that Malaysian G this year starting to allow Asean country product to be off AP. So when Thailand knew the G already allow no AP, so they give P1 opportunity to come in and face the Toyota, Ford, Nissan, Honda head-to-head wif fair trade… hehe, i wonder how many p1 car will sale compare to Toyota…

I know la but i just forget because its long time agoo..Come on la..how u can compare proton with other brand that already establish..other brand have been in thai market for long time but proton just enter the market.of course proton will struggle to sell their car..they need time to establish and get thai people trust.we just to wait and see maybe after six month or one year..

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 5:14 am

good luck, over there suv country, hope can sell

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:42 pm

ezralimm said,
    September 22, 2007 @ 4:52 pm

here we go again.

Proton cars are not expensive – even by international standards.

NAP Myths:

1) a gen2 is only RM36k pretax. Should be well under RM60k OTR in thailand.
    2) eg. a Vios, or any other similar size japanese car, costs RM60k+ OTR, even in thailand.
    3) A Corolla, or similar class japanese car, will cost RM75k+ OTR in thailand.

So no, they are not expensive. Yes they are cheap. Yes, their quality probably isnt up to Toyota’s or Honda’s standard… but they are cheap – with 5 yr warranty.

———————————

Look at the price list from Toyota Thailand website (to the best of my knowledge, their price include “one-off” payment for roadtax).

Exchange rate: -\

http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi

1.00 MYR = 9.18074 THB

1 THB = 0.108924 MYR

Price for Corrolla Altis 1.6 start from 705,000 Bht

http://www.toyota.co.th/red/en/price.asp?carid=8

Price for Camry 2.0G start from 1,299,000 Bht

http://www.toyota.co.th/red/en/price.asp?carid=6

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 1:46 pm

Yeah, the only suv P1 can sell it’s arena.. but ppl are selling Frontier, Hilux, Ranger.. All diesel powered and can take 1 ton of goods in behind.. u think arena can take it? I think proton should stick wif bio-diesel powered engine for future sake, petrol is expensive nowadays..

• szw (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 2:45 pm

cool…

• bmx (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 3:54 pm

My friend had a Gen2. Both sides power window failed within months and there is water leaking in problem too…..old problem not yet settle….
    If proton need so much duty/tax protection to survive in his own homeground, why makes them think they can survive elsewhere ???

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 5:55 pm

oops. my bad.
    the corolla costs _RM70k+_
    and the vios, RM60k+
    camry, RM125k+

Still, proton should be quite competitively priced over there. I doubt a private enterprise would want to represent proton if it were unsellable. They probably did their maths well in advance.

We’ll see how it goes.

• wong (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 6:20 pm

good luck

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 6:33 pm

No body sales anything at a lost unless it’s carboot or for charity, or you just want to get rid of them. Proton has been very aggressive in their selling campaign lately and that should sign they are determine to make a comeback, this time with competitive product. The next big market could be India.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 7:31 pm

I think last time TATA from India want to made a basic car less then RM20k to sell… Do u think RM27k Saga will sale over there?

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 8:06 pm

#
    LittleFire85 said,

September 23, 2007 @ 7:31 pm

I think last time TATA from India want to made a basic car less then RM20k to sell… Do u think RM27k Saga will sale over there?

proton had stop saga production..should compare to latest model..

• azhar167 (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 8:24 pm

proton cannot afford to stop production of the saga lar!

Its their top selling model!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 8:55 pm

azhar167, except you forget theres a saga replacement model due early next year. it was all over the papers la and on paultan as well.

bmx, i think what we should be looking at today, whether people who buy persona will have the same issues as your friend had with his Gen.2. that was something from the past management, lets see what the new management can do. at least they are really working hard to build the export market, with a big launch in indonesia recently and also good prospects in china.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 9:39 pm

#
    azhar167 said,

September 23, 2007 @ 8:24 pm

proton cannot afford to stop production of the saga lar!

Its their top selling model!

______________________________________________________________________________

aiya..do you have a problem with your memory?or u want to make joke?give me one logic reason why you proton cannot stop the saga production even they already have the replacement…you make me laughing at you…haha

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 23, 2007 at 11:17 pm

#
    LittleFire85 said,
    September 23, 2007 @ 7:31 pm

China makes really really cheap 1 star (or zero star) SUV’s… dont see many of em in other countries do ya.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 12:37 am

ezralimm u say it good! SAME WIF SAGA! HAHAHAH!!! Where i can see in other countries do ya?

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 2:00 am

Ha, ha yourself LittleFire85, the good old Saga was the first Proton model sold in the UK, and for your info a good number of then are still on UK road. Feel proud everytime one passed by.

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 7:54 am

I guess products line up for Thai market will be similar with Indon – Gen-2, Savvy, Satria Neo and newest babe, the Persona. Again, Tom Yam land popular with pick-up trucks!

After sales service is another drawback for new market, spare part likely high price and difficult to get for these “cool” models!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 8:10 am

LittleFire85, you must be about 15 years old since you don’t know, or you forget that the Saga was sold as the mitsubishi lancer all over the world before becoming the proton saga?

• raverus (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 9:32 am

I don’t think it will be BIG. Even the taxis are toyota altis…………., maybe they could produce tut-tut bikes :P

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 10:25 am

I mean the new FACE LIFETED SAGA!!! WHICH still selling until this year! In the 80’s of coz is still new! But in this year? And something! Does the new saga still sell at foreign countries?!?! after year 2000? Check ur fact that the saga already stop selling in foreign coz of low safety feature!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 10:47 am

And 1 think, the SAGA they sell in UK have Fuel injection engine, wif mitsubishi JDM dashboard which in whole life only a few are available in Malaysia only! So the Proton SAGA which sale in UK is just what u like to say a badge Proton logo of mitsu. So now go and check the fact that the SAGA which they sell in UK is far more better then the 1.3L caburrated new face lifeted SAGA! So if u want to say UK saga is the same wif malaysian made? I gonna ROLF! And most their Saga also are Iswara. search for uk website and see still selling the saga?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Saga

‘The UK models reverted to the dashboard used in the Mitsubishi Lancer, complete with HVAC controls not found in the domestic model.’

‘Models exported to Singapore and the United Kingdom were available with multi-point fuel injection and catalytic converters to meet Euro I emissions standards. This model was known as the Proton MPi in the UK.’

‘In the United Kingdom, the introduction of the Proton Persona in 1993 replaced the corresponding models in the Saga range and this continued until the entire range was replaced in 1996.’

So after 1996, SAGA still selling for foreign?? Only for us u moron! Coz they knew this car is hard to sell coz of new regulation of other country!

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 11:10 am

Huh? Is that even a distantly smart choice? What with all the better Japanese cars selling at reasonble price there? I think I can already hear them laughing at our sordid Arena and carburetor Saga already.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 11:32 am

everybody understand malaysia our country is a little bit behind in term of tech,
    in many area, but things to be change and changes now, inevtably forced to be changed for batter to suit the international need,

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 11:48 am

Proton definitely entering Thailand market but just for laughing stocks…even Millions of Msians hates Proton why would the Thais will love them?..

this another move by Proton to clear their piling stocks, by selling cheap to other countries while Msian suffer with high price+worst quality.

• khimfoh (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 1:19 pm

IMHO, Proton will have a tough time convincing the Thais who have been fed with Toyotas for many decades to take a look at a Proton.

But it will be a good experience for Proton to penetrate a free market. Whether it succeeds or not it’s another story.

• moha774 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 4:59 pm

In my opinion, the most important thing is making the first step… if they dont try you dont know the Thai’s perception… Look at Kia when how they first try to penetrate western market especially U.S, they even offer 9years warranty to convince people that their car can last that long…. the most important thing is gain the trust of the market ( where in Malaysia case, they need to regain the trust of domestic market)… and improve the product based on the market feedback…

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 6:10 pm

Hey dude, how about this…check it out.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/24/nation/18976278&sec=nation&focus=1

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 6:13 pm

well said moha774. i totally agree with your comments. to me. the most important thing is at least they are trying. its strange that many “expert’s” do not even give them a chance.

just because they are having a tough time in the local market, and still working on quality issues, doesn’t mean they should just sit on their backside and do nothing in the open market.

still a good effort, which will make interesting reading in the upcoming months.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Sep 24, 2007 at 6:59 pm

mycar_stolen said,
    September 24, 2007 @ 11:48 am

Proton definitely entering Thailand market but just for laughing stocks…even Millions of Msians hates Proton why would the Thais will love them?..

=====================
    becoz Thai mindset not stupid like typical malaysian japs wanabe mehh prrfthh
    Myvi selling like hotcakes in Bolehland.. but nobody wanna buy it in UK market.. they prefer sirion thou price higher than myvi.. why???

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 12:09 am

open market they have failed for 20 years and everybody is improving faster than proton in this era. so they will continue to fail for another 20 years or longer.

just some ‘news’ to keep u guys thinking that they are improving. like always

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:04 am

lotus get jobs in china,
    proton sell here and there,
    new things ,cps engine head, VVA chassis, new models….direct injection to come,,
    parts manufacturing company,

not too bad what

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 8:14 am

peYno-1 said,

they prefer sirion thou price higher than myvi.. why???
    —————-
    For small sub-compact car, they prefer newest Renault Clio. It is Europe 2nd best selling model!

http://cars.uk.msn.com/News/Top_ten_article.aspx?cp-documentid=2620300

• waimak (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:27 am

Better late than never. This is the best case study for Proton I suppose.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 10:47 am

i just hope that the Thai gov will implement excise duty on all proton cars… charge 200% tax on all proton cars so gen2 will be sold at RM150k instead of RM50k at Thailand…

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:00 pm

hahaha, the highest tax for cars coming into malaysia, 3.0L and up, is 165%…

..and even with 200% tax, it would be RM108k. Keep in mind it’s RM36k before tax.

regarding the diff dash issue, i think (this is my subjective thought) that they used the original japanese dash as it was designed for cold/damp weather. Whereby, for example, windscreen fog is a real issue (the vents along the front of the dash have to be adequate to defog the windscreen).

It’s funny how people can get emotional over rhetorical statements.

There’s also some who like to argue from authority, and use ad hominem* arguments.

*Trying/attempting to discredit, subtly or directly, the *other party* in order to discredit the *ideas* put forth by the other party (regardless if the ideas were right or wrong).

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 1:33 pm

peYno-1 said,
    September 24, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

mycar_stolen said,
    September 24, 2007 @ 11:48 am

=====================
    becoz Thai mindset not stupid like typical malaysian japs wanabe mehh prrfthh
    Myvi selling like hotcakes in Bolehland.. but nobody wanna buy it in UK market.. they prefer sirion thou price higher than myvi.. why???

UK is different market, they manufacture(even lots of them move out) and produce and sells CARS, why Proton is not a car, it is still OLDMAN method to squeeze people money. As if the Proton still not change it main purpose…it wont sell in the world market.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 4:09 pm

20 outlet in thailand for start,

• BigFish (Member) on Sep 25, 2007 at 4:19 pm

20 outlet in Thailand? Wah must be Proton car become “hot cake” for curi from Malaysia and smuggle into Thai just like Hilux, Storm, Camry, etc. Got good service and spare part already mah!!!!!!

• Max88 (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 11:59 am

Proton to enter Thai market? Good move but it’s hard because ask any Thai on the street and they’ll say THEY LIKE TOYOTA VERY MUCH.

Design-confused car models cater for gender-confused carbuyers. Ie. Proton Gen2, Savvy, Arena just perfect for Thai dragqueens/AhKuas.

p/s. Proton Juara gonna be suitable for Tuk-Tuk/small taxis.

• trasher (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:30 am

Littlefire85,

Again i wanna remind u since ur brain station in ur butt, if u do not know anything pay d tuiton fees to Paul Tan n he believe he willing to help u 2 reposition ur brain back 2 d normal human place; HEAD!

Well, as i said if u so gd work in PROTON or any automotive company…but i believe u wont have d chance cos d basic foundation of automotive market u oso dun know…….

Watever d outcome, at least PROTON gain entry into Thai market…let d future answer all of us question…

PROTON juz start enter Thai market, we should support n proud of PROTON n not bash here n there….well i believe when u r born in this world, u wont know how 2 walk or run…u have 2 learn, rite…….

Another point is when PROTON successful time, did u ever talk bad about PROTON? Answer is NO cos tat time PROTON is feedin u all either directly or indirectly…..even till today, PROTON still provide opportunities to most of the vendor and provide employment to Malaysian…

Think again…tis yr is 50th Merdeka….think back tat time when we gain indepence n compare to current how develop Malaysia is……

Once have the highest tower in d world, best airport, best Putrajaya and of course d first national car; PROTON…Naza & Perodua, well they are really d big copycat…change logo n model name…call tat national car?sigh……