Some details on the next generation Honda Jazz

logo_honda.jpgThe lucky guys at Autocar UK managed to take a preview ride in the next generation Honda Jazz (called the Honda Fit in Japan) that will be making it’s debut soon at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show late next month. We’ve seen what’s supposed to be Japanese brochures of the Fit earlier, but here are some hard facts about the car:

• The new Jazz is 55mm longer, 20mm wider, and has a 50mm longer wheelbase.
  • Fuel tank position has been moved to allow for floor to be lower, resulting in better headroom despite the car not being taller
  • Engines are based on the current L-series family and are not new smaller R-series engines, but the VTEC valvetrain has been improved and is now called i-VTEC
  • 1.3L engine makes 99hp at 6,000rpm and 133Nm of torque at 4,500rpm
  • 1.5L engine makes 118hp at 6,300rpm and 146Nm of torque at 4,800rpm

More details to be revealed when the car is officially unveiled at the motor show, but for the moment read Autocar’s writeup.

2008 Honda Fit/Honda Jazz production spyshots
New 2008 Honda Jazz
2007 Honda Fit/Honda Jazz

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• rugaxp (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 5:29 pm

what an 1.3L engine with those output..good job,sure the fuel economy can be better whao..great

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 5:30 pm

it might be different for us though, cos i noticed the grill looks like the european Civic…. ours will probably have chrome grills or sumthing..

looks kinda like A-Class… as Autocar said, a sure winner..

btw to check with you guys, where do we get our Jazz from, Japan or Thailand? and what about City, are those locally assembled or made in tomyam land?

likewise, Yaris and Vios?

• szw (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 5:42 pm

another small car tryin to grow up .

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:23 pm

I still prefer Latio to this…

• nmh (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 8:27 pm

engine output is demn good…1.5 is even better than our 1.6 campro

• mofo (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 9:47 pm

Impressive. !

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 26, 2007 at 9:55 pm

#
    nmh said,

September 26, 2007 @ 8:27 pm

engine output is demn good…1.5 is even better than our 1.6 campro

of course la..honda engine equip with i-vtec but campro is NA engine.

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:14 am

looks like the Merc A-class aside from front lamps and grille.

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:15 am

1.3L engine can produce 99hp or 100ps, and 1.5L cab produce 118hp or 120ps, it is quite impressive. I like the newer look, from the exterior look, it should be more roomy than curent Jazz…
    Btw, good job Honda…the power of dream…

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:40 am

This is another review from edmunds…

http://www.edmunds.com/insideline/do/Drives/FirstDrives/articleId=122688#3

• arcana (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:18 am

highly anticipated model……but sadly the price here spoils it.
    sad to see that toyota not making effort to improve the new vios engine output.
    good job honda…..lets hope that the 1.3 makes it here again…..since the 1.4 got replaced last time and it was selling at 80k+…..cbu japan was it?

• F430CS (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:56 am

Equipped with i-vtec is also NA engine, ok? Nice power figures.

• emon (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 7:35 am

who are comparing honda with proton really dont know about car lah!! U only know to drive only…

• aesthari (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 10:56 am

Wow, the small engine sure has a high output!

• sQew (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 12:27 pm

Looks like Merc-A Class

• McPadey (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 1:34 pm

much better than previous model, new improved engine…new look….what can i say…Great job

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 27, 2007 at 3:56 pm

#
    F430CS said,

September 27, 2007 @ 3:56 am

Equipped with i-vtec is also NA engine, ok? Nice power figures.

of course la honda will have more power because of of its I-vtec system but campro have what?next time you should make better comparison.

• DrJackal (Member) on Sep 28, 2007 at 12:54 pm

of course la honda will have more power because of of its I-vtec system but campro have what?next time you should make better comparison.
    —————————————————————
    I doubt the the campro with soon-to-be introduced similar technology will give a match to i-vtec. We shall celebrate if the new campro can compare even to the more than 10 year old D-series.

I just wonder why ppl here love to compare proton with every other car manufacturer.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Sep 29, 2007 at 2:09 am

emm..about cps we just to wait and see..aiyaa…why proton so late to introduce cps?any new news?people like to compare to proton because they think they can easily win..if they compare to larger car maker,they not sure if they can win.

• irwinsim (Member) on Oct 19, 2007 at 10:24 am

Honda to Begin Sales of the All-New Fit in Japan

http://world.honda.com/news/2007/4071018All-New-Fit/index.html