2007 Honda Stream CBU imported by Naza World

The latest 2007 Honda Stream 7-seater MPV is now available in Malaysia but it is not brought in by Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd as most of you would expect, instead our automotive landscape is graced with this new model thanks to the folks at Naza World.

The model brought in is the 1.8 litre model powered by the R18A engine found in the Honda Civic 1.8S here in Malaysia. It produces 140 horsepower and 173 Nm of torque and is mated to a 5-speed gearbox with tiptronic shift control.

This Naza World imported Honda Stream also comes with RFZ specs (we saw RS-Z previously, but Naza quotes RFZ so maybe the 1.8 litre version has a different name), so it includes that nice aggressive bodykit we saw previously when the Stream was first introduced internationally.

The new Honda Stream from Naza World costs RM186,000 and is a fully imported CBU unit from Japan. It comes with a 1-year Naza World parts and labour warranty. Read more about the Honda Stream and view more photos in my previous posts:

2007 Honda Stream Photos
2007 Honda Stream Interior Photos
Honda’s 1.8 litre i-VTEC R18A Engine

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• offroader manix (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:04 pm

Outrageous price for a 1.8L……………….what is the actual costs for a CBU unit ?

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:17 pm

CBU importer will always have huge margin factored in their selling price… after all they don’t sell each model in big numbers…

Anyhow, potential buyers with plenty of cash if cannot wait… can go buy, after all, for cars at least, it’s a BUYERS market out there… you choose wisely and go buy…

For ppl who can wait… Honda Malaysia will launch sooner or later in 2008 (in no particular order):
    i) new ACCORD
    ii) new Stream
    iii) new Jazz and/or City in late 2008 or early 2009

after all, they are discounting the old Stream long time already and also starting to discount the Accord now…

• mr_em (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:23 pm

another point to add,

anyone who want to buy an MPV (if they dont mind that it is not as sporty as the new Stream) should consider the new Grandis which is also CBU. It’s selling cheaper than the RM180k quoted for the Stream above.

Grandis is 2.4 and is in Odyssey class… could well be the best value imported MPV currently… (I’m no Mitsubishi man btw… honestly, Mitsubishi image is below par in recent times, but have started to go up recently, and thats a good thing).

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 3:41 pm

no comment on this new Stream, but thumbs up for all the efforts of Naza World, bringing in so many nice cars!!!!

They brought in 1 Enzo, is it sold now? (just asking)

and speaking about Grandis, i never driven before, but it is quite a good looking MPV. (besides Odyssey, Estima and Alphard)

although some may not agree with me on Alphard, hehez….

• acbc (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:10 pm

Part of the cost comes from the expensive AP anyway… so, someone is making huge loads of money in the process.

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:21 pm

no comment on this new Stream, but thumbs up for all the efforts of Naza World, bringing in so many nice cars!!!!

++++++++++++++

do you know how naza makes money?

• punisher (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:40 pm

seriously,,if got a choice between Grandis n Stream..think will go 4 Grandis…

• shamel (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:46 pm

guys, if you’re willing to wait a couple of months, Honda Malaysia will bring Stream 1.8 with cheaper price tag and with distributor support as well. I’m no Honda salesman but l know they’ll bring this cool midi mpv very soon. Unless you’ll use for raya then BETTER wait.

I heard the price slightly below RM150k. This car really inexpensive if we consider the price in Japan from RM48k-60k for 1.8.

• carlover (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 4:53 pm

ha ha ha,

youre so a honda salesman

:P

• joe203 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:09 pm

Nice one. I like the design cues of Honda Stream
    Our AP Kings have done it again!
    Thank you very much!!

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:44 pm

WTF!.. Gth you AP king!
    But this stream is so so only in my eyes. Estima and grandis look better.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:47 pm

Hmm not bad, it is a FWD or RWD? It’s expensive for a 1.8L stream, even the local 2.0L stream seem’s better then this… But is this car a new AP or a re-con AP. Coz in Japan cars are cheap and maybe this car is a test-drive or show room unit?

• Madf (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:52 pm

I went to Naza showroom yesterday. Those stream they brought in are recond
    units, yet they dare to sell at rm188K.
    No wonder naza can make a lot of money. A BMW M5, they priced it at rm960K, for a 2006 model. Auto Bavaria is selling at rm898K, the latest facelift model. An Evo 9 goes for rm288K, for a 2005 model. If i have a lot
    of money, this is one company i will avoid. Damn these people. Got lots of APs, but still selling at very high price.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Hate the rear, especially the tail lights. Whats with the white colour and smoked alloys? Look awful! Ford S MAX easily beats this one.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 5:56 pm

It’s S$68+k or MYR157k in S’pore – CHEAPER THAN BOLEHLAND! WTF!!!

• common-sensor (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:07 pm

Wondering how NAZA could bring in Honda Malaysia “exclusive” model? I smell something “fishy” …

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Odyssey-ish Stream… look boring.
    the price also don’t give so much attention.
    So sorry Naza, i dont like it. sell it to Datin.

• hyundai (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:33 pm

So expensive!! I will definitely not spend that much money on this car!

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:35 pm

why they let naza take the ap, now servicing will be a problem

• shamel (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:42 pm

carlover said,

October 1, 2007 @ 4:53 pm

ha ha ha,

Me too can accused you, NAZA SA. If l used ya rule. Make sense?

• shamel (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:44 pm

carlover said,

October 1, 2007 @ 4:53 pm

ha ha ha,

——–
    So, are you one of the desperate NAZA SA? Even at RM148k, deemed too high for me for the less RM50k car in Japan. At least HMSB less greedy than AP King pricing.

• richnet_campro (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:48 pm

take away the yellow Naza World plate, I guess should look better..ehehe..

it’s a nice ride.. but I don’t like the long tail-light..

• shamel (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 6:48 pm

Even at RM150k already expensive let alone this price! Better NAZA put RM199k if not RM200k.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:38 pm

Why all the complaining? Its not NAZA’s problem, they won’t bring it in if there’s no buyer. Just put it at any price, there would still be buyers, so who’s to blame? NAZA? Some of you may just smile, some just don’t give a damn, for others just dream on….

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 7:46 pm

Why all the complaining? It’s not their fault, they wouldn’t bring it in if there’s no buyers. Put any price tag, there would still be buyers so who’s to blame? NAZA? Some of you may smile, the others dream on.

• szw (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 8:44 pm

too expensive …

• altimi (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:05 pm

if too expensive…..don’t buy la… buy innova cukup la..

• ab (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 9:29 pm

looks like it will transform into some gundam robot! umm the engine is the 1.8 SOHC from the civic right? that’s weekass, should bring in a 2.0 liter unit instead

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:10 pm

haiya… no wonder honda dont want bring it themselve.
    Calculation not tally maaa.

no matter how… someone will still drive this and will see it on the road one.
    Many rich people now… family small small.. but car got 7 seat…
    Got 2-3 indon mate need to sit maybe. :D jokin laa.

• owaief (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:23 pm

nobodyatuk said,

October 1, 2007 @ 5:56 pm

Hate the rear, especially the tail lights. Whats with the white colour and smoked alloys? Look awful! Ford S MAX easily beats this one.

—————————————————–
    yah….naza should definitely bring in the smax…..they look so cool and bulletproof!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:30 pm

did u mean maid or mate. hahaha

Naza really does prove that money grows on trees.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 01, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Better wait for Honda Malaysia to launch this stream, it will be less than RM160k, also it included the service too… After CBU Lancer, CBU Grandis, CBU Vitara, all imported from Japan, The price that Naza posted is deeply ridiculous…

• engtaokia (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:02 am

i will choose Estima over this car. can save some money to buy additional bling bling rims :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:49 am

Front looks quite good

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:38 am

NAZA fellas so arrogant, they can put whatever price they want, last time, went to their showroom to look at murano, didn’t know anything…..even thought the murano 2.5 had a v6 engine, lol and funniest of all, shiftronic (only in 3.5 litre model la)……… hidung tinggi betul…….

• drgn86 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:40 am

NAZA fellas so arrogant, they can put whatever price they want, last time, went to their showroom to look at murano, didn’t know anything…..even thought the murano 2.5 litre had a v6 engine, lol and funniest of all, shiftronic (only in 3.5 litre model la)……… hidung tinggi betul…….NAZA, the monopoly kings

• raverus (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:19 am

Wah, earn a lot through AP huh!!!
    Crazy price.

• shamel (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:27 am

If you don’t buy, and other people too, definitely price will go south. But some irrational ppl with a ton of monies will make NAZA greedier.

• williaml (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:40 am

Well, I think easily making 40 to 50K per unit sold, somemore recond units have lower tariff.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 9:49 am

crazy price!!
    GTH AP king!!!
    let us the miskin rakyat get some AP too!!!!
    (lepas duit teh tarik cukup laa…!!)

• king (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 11:45 am

buy avanva better ler…more space n power than this or grandis/wish ;)

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:13 pm

Better wait a good news from Honda Malaysia.
    Shame on you NAZA for sucking price!!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:15 pm

Dang! I’ll put my money on Grandis for sure! I heard Honda Malaysia will launch this by year end so Naza taking a big risk for launching this so late. They might have caught some “water-fish” if they brought this in earlier.

——————–
    king said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 11:45 am

buy avanva better ler…more space n power than this or grandis/wish
    ——————–

2.0 Avanza has more spare n power than a 2.4 Grandis? Better check their specs before making such comments or else Kancil owners will start to claim the same thing against Myvi.

• carlover (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:33 pm

its definitely expensive, but most malaysians nowdays are rich! so hey, theyre catering to the right crowd. I rather get rx8 or nissan fairlady at that price tho haha

• _xXx_ (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:45 pm

williaml said,
    October 2, 2007 @ 9:40 am

Well, I think easily making 40 to 50K per unit sold, somemore recond units have lower tariff.
    ————————–

wat making 40-50k? 40-50k is probably their cost. With free AP, need me to tell how much the profit is?

• LCH (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:53 pm

wow ! Naza makes a new world….Naza not always import Honda cars……but why don’t Naza import Honda Elysion ?? It is better than stream and odyssey

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 12:53 pm

thats the point here.. its expensive, but just because you can’t afford it, doesn’t mean there are others out there who can’t. There will be buyers for this car.

the only thing i find strange but no unusual, is that the car stil comes with the dark japanese rear tint which is illegal. technically, all imported cars have to go thru an inspection before being allowed on the road, and tinting is one of the criteria.

• king (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 1:47 pm

KL-ATR,

relax bro, i was just sarcastic. i’ll correct the statement:

save 50k+ by waiting for Honda malaysia’s launch and buy a spare avanza/persona. Anyway there is only 1.3 or 1.5 avanza.

Naza is really a greedy F*****G company.

cheers

• williaml (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 2:41 pm

I guess the total cost plus duties & taxes of this Stream is around 100K to 110K, so minus RM186K…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 3:18 pm

Such hatred … so you mean to say Honda will sell Stream at RM136,000 OTR (50k less), cos you said wait and SAVE RM50k!?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 02, 2007 at 7:51 pm

LCH

i bet u…if many ppl know abt honda elysion…toyota alphard’s sale will b down man…i saw it since 2 early last year at bangsar…only one at bangsar..till now i still saw dat car..really beautiful…tenggelamla alphard dok sbelah elysion..honda stream,mazda 5 n toyota wish???…i will go 4 mazda 5…one of the best in its class…

4 me..better u check other importer if u wanna buy d gray import car…one of my fren…survey 4 recond harrier and notice dat he gt a better car in term of mileage n built quality rather than buy dat car at naza…4 example is the mileage…many of the harrier in naza he note dat the mileage arnd 25k to 40k…bt he survey at d other importer he gt a better offer…low mileage arnd 10k…same year n better quality…he bought it mid last year n till now he satisfied wit his car…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 12:22 am

naza got all the APs they wanted from our corrupted government. they can do whatever they wanted as long as there are stupid malaysians who would say “great job naza!” and also irresponsible malaysian automotive bloggers who commented naza’s acts as ‘good’ to avoid conflicts and to not provide malaysian motorists with the real scenarios and to ‘remind’ malaysian how dreadful naza has been for bringing in recond units from the price of rm50k-60k and then sell to us at rm180k.

i want the ‘OLD’ paultan and i also want to remind Paul Tan, why his blog is named “Raves and Rants of the Automotive Industry” and not “Latest News from Automotive Industry”. We expect more from you, stay the true, no-crap, no-nonsense, no-shoe-polishing agenda,you’d get respected by malaysians as our Clarkson.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 12:29 pm

Clarkson is an entertainer lah.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 2:51 pm

seriously, i don’t care on “how they make money”, if u are so damn rich and so desperate to buy a Gallardo, Murcielago, SLR McLaren or the S-Class Pullman, then why not? paying extra is certainly no a big problem……

I’m living in Penang, but i really cant find any shops selling or displaying just Ferrari, just Lambo, just Aston Martin…… the Porsche outlet in Juru AutoCity is very “lonely”…..

and of course, dont compare the prices with Singapore……

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 03, 2007 at 5:13 pm

ingolstadt,dont byk comment la..if u want this,want that,go open your own blog and dont come here again.this is paul tan blog,so he has a power and can do anything to his blog..byk songell

• ingolstadt (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 1:36 am

akshen_kamen said,
    October 3, 2007 @ 5:13 pm

ingolstadt,dont byk comment la..if u want this,want that,go open your own blog and dont come here again.this is paul tan blog,so he has a power and can do anything to his blog..byk songell

Hi there Malaysian!

“If you say Proton no good, don’t buy lar.”
    “If you say Malaysia no good, migrate lar.”
    “If you say government corrupt, go form your own party lar.”

Nice to know all of you. :)

I believe Paul knows how to balance, I as one of his very early blog readers would contribute back to his blog from comments and opinions. A blog is a public place where public opinions should be allowed and to be taken into consideration, Paul has the power to decided whether what i commented is viable or baseless and made his own conclusion.

My comment brings at least carries more meaning and contribution than yours. :)

• cyborgx (Member) on Oct 04, 2007 at 10:50 am

whoever say “Goodjob Naza for bringing nice car” is an total idiot. lmao, if they didnt bring “nice” cars to Bodohland how can they suck blood from the racial biased AP system through our corrupted and racial biased govt?

• firefox (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 1:47 pm

hi all,
    how come new model of steam the CC downgrade to 1.8? previous is 2.0 i-vtec.
    now honda got promotion for honda stream CBU (old model) 1.38% with discount 10-13k some more, of course come with some condition la
    frankly, this car is better than Toyota Wish.

• caccolee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:17 pm

went looking for MPV. Stream at Naza has 17,600km on the clock yet ask for 185K !!
    Grandis is best value with very good spec but very “dated”. Old engine with 4 speed auto.
    Stream is still the choice. Booking is open for Stream by Honda M’sia.
    anyone found Singapore’s review of stream ?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:30 pm

cyborgx, suck blood or not, that depends on how u see things from different perspective…..

their cars are damn expensive, but to most rich ppl, expensive = exclusive

i dono about KL and JB, but in my place (penang), its really hard to see ppl driving luxury (or expensive) cars around here, very rare….. there are some cayenne, CLK, boxster, the new S-Class and so on….. but hardly can see any…..

the CLS?? til today, i only saw 3 in penang and butterworth…..

• caccolee (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:31 pm

While checking out the Stream at Naza, I told the salesman I am driving an Avanza, he went out for a call and never came back !!!

• bronzesilverp (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 1:02 pm

wondering do naza have competant service teams to handle various models frm various manufacturer..scary..find ur own trusted mechanic