Proton helps East-Coast flood victims

Answering our government’s call for corporations to help the flood victims in the East-Coast, Proton has pledged cash, Proton branded apparels as well as daily sundries and personal items, which include rice, cooking oil, milk, sugar, biscuits, towels, napkins, and toiletries. The cash will be channeled through the national flood relief fund.

A team of Proton staff volunteers have also gone on site to lend their helping hand. Proton’s i-care mobile teams have also been dispatched to assist and provide the necessary advice to car owners who were affected by floods in the areas. Service technicians from Proton Edar service centres and its authorized dealers will make themselves available to provide free inspection on affected vehicles and provide necessary consultation to owners.

Affected owners will also receive special discounts on repairs for their flood damaged cars. Proton car owners affected by the flood are advised to contact the nearby authorized service centres or Proton i.care as follows:

• 1-800-888398 for emergency assistance (24 hours daily)
  • 1-300-880888 for general inquiries (Mondays to Fridays, 8:00am to 5:30pm)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 6:59 pm

Oooh how sweet. Good !

• mytouch (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Good move from Proton.Hope that it will open the eyes of other private sector companies to help the flood victims…syabas Proton,salute!!

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 7:14 pm

The government cant be seriously asking the corporate companies to do this on a yearly basis…just for the sake of the companies csr.If they are really genuine about the east-coast victims…then just do some big time water mitigation development..solve the problem once and for all.What is there when petronas is ranking in the billions for them.

• ganz (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 7:30 pm

any basher around.. since it is a proton topic… maybe P2 or toyota do better on helping victim,. :D

• 8918 (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 8:43 pm

Sorry out of topic,but check out on the www.grandlivina.com.my for nissan new mpv.
    It’s going to kill avanza…and citra…haha

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 8:52 pm

ganz said,
    December 19, 2007 @ 7:30 pm

any basher around.. since it is a proton topic… maybe P2 or toyota do better on helping victim,.

this ‘thing’ is purposely wan to start a fight.
    like a hungry dog barking for food.
    i tell u, the time is still young.
    christmas is coming and i dun have time to ‘layan’ this ‘thing’. BIGFISH perhaps

• chanel (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 9:03 pm

haiz…..that proves our govern doen not efficient at all…..if not wrong Proton is helping the flood victims for second year running…..where is all the Petronas money gone?….do something with the east-coast, why everytime year end they have to sleep else where but not at the confort of their home…..

pity those flood victims….those top dogs only know to masuk $$$ into their own pocket first…..be wise – poll is coming….select correct choice…..not Barang Naik again

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 9:48 pm

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 19, 2007 @ 8:52 pm
    this ‘thing’ is purposely wan to start a fight.
    like a hungry dog barking for food.
    i tell u, the time is still young.
    christmas is coming and i dun have time to ‘layan’ this ‘thing’. BIGFISH perhaps========================================

So you’re a basher..anyway Merry X’mas to you and Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslims…it’s good that Proton is helping…

• arcana (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 10:20 pm

this should set an example to other manufacturers to offer similar aid.
    i know some came out and offer help during the Johor floods.
    nonetheless this shows positive attitude…..running a company is not about earning profit, its also about being a organization that cares.
    thumbs up proton.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 11:11 pm

good move.geting to customers wen thy r in need is imprtant to the brand….bt lets not ‘commercialize’ this move by proton…i hope its jus a nice human touch

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 11:37 pm

ganz said,

any basher around.. since it is a proton topic… maybe P2 or toyota do better on helping victim,. :D

===============================================

Another dumb_ass talking. By the way, good move from P1. :)

• ENZO (Member) on Dec 20, 2007 at 2:45 am

#
    ganz said,

==============================================

then u ask p2 or Toyota to repair all the flood affected p1 cars lo. c them wan or not!

• prangin (Member) on Dec 20, 2007 at 10:58 am

Good for proton. i see that under the new mgmt, proton is trying to win the hearts n mind of the people. on a side note, all these talks about ECER n pouring “billions” into the region is not helping people one bit. Govt shd start with basics such as flood mitigation programme, deepening of river channels and to stem illegal loggings. once these r done, then they perhaps shd talk about ECER n stuffs. Happy holidays to all :-)

• ganz (Member) on Dec 20, 2007 at 7:03 pm

hahha.. have a good holiday.. BTW… i’m not a proton basher at all… (c my previous post :D )

anyway.. i just want to express my disatisfied over thing that.. even a god thing done by proton still it look stupid to others..

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 20, 2007 at 10:52 pm

ganz said,

any basher around.. since it is a proton topic… maybe P2 or toyota do better on helping victim,.
    —————
    A person with lack of knowledge on CSR only come out with this childish statement! Pathetic…………..

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 20, 2007 at 10:55 pm

ganz said,
    December 20, 2007 @ 7:03 pm

hahha.. have a good holiday.. BTW… i’m not a proton basher at all… (c my previous post )
    ———-
    You are neither proton basher nor proton supporter, but “blind defender” ……. aka ranting and whining for the sake of it.

Proton or any corporate organizations from private sector to contribute to the society well being shall be commended!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 12:05 am

For the troll looking for a fight…

The problem lies deeper than Proton. The problem lies with the government.
    If the government can stop swinling public money on white elephants and dead in the water projects and close one eye policies over other issues, those states would probably be enjoying better drainage and a more peacefull holiday.

Expecting private sectors to chip in is salt to a an already sore wound. We pay taxes for what reason again?

I wonder who the troll voted for the last election…….

Proton helping out is commendable. But seriously, they can’t do much anyway.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 12:49 am

4g63, every little bit anyone can do makes a difference.

the fact is, the disaster has happened already and there is no point in trying to play the blame game. what matters now is what yourself or anyone can do to help our fellow malaysians. i’ve already done my bit to help out in whatever way i can and at least proton is doing something about it as well. the question to ask is, what have you done towards this cause?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 7:42 am

the question to ask is, what have you done towards this cause?
    ———–
    Many of us treat it as another news read in newspaper of nternet, unless affected them directly.

• szw (Member) on Dec 23, 2007 at 7:45 pm

its not time to bash around .
    its time to help those who r in need .

• Infinitt (Member) on Dec 24, 2007 at 8:46 am

Yes Proton boleh..good job. That what suppose others GLCs do. Malysian Football team yang tak boleh..sorry.