Proton Saga “GTi” Artist’s Impression and more!

Proton Saga GTI

The Proton Saga is still quite a hot conversation topic right now, as it is the latest and most affordable brand new 3-box sedan on the market to date. Here is Theophilus Chin’s artist’s impression of a kitted up Proton Saga – it looks very similiar to the Proton Saga RED Concept actually but it was actually done before the RED Concept was unveiled.

The Saga “GTi” Concept as Theophilus wishes to call it has a revised front grille that features a blackened area and a chrome top, a revised front bumper with an air intake beneath the grille with a chrome spoiler lip, different fog lamp housings, an Audi-like aluminium side mirror with lower half in matte black, and a blackened B-pillar. The headlamps have smaller turn indicators and the wheels are bigger.

You will find after the jump more photos of the Proton Saga that I snapped at the press preview held before the launch. Enjoy!

Proton Saga Photo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ENZO (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:32 am

if the new Saga has a aero-back version, will it look similar to Savvy??

• abtm (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 6:02 am

looks like a cheap RS4 Audi…

• richx (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 6:41 am

Perhaps a black roof will complete the effect. Now, I wonder if a CPS 1.6 can fit into that bonnet? It would be “fast enough” for a small car like this anyway.

• hasif63 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:37 am

wowo nice effort!! are those rims are taken from vauxhall astra vxr??

• kody (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:42 am

wahlaueh…

the front impression looks a lot more better…
    better headlights…
    nice job, Theophilus …

• PROTONiaN (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:00 am

good job proton!!!….nice frt bumper,nice car, good price……now everyone can drive……..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:23 am

abtm said,
    January 31, 2008 @ 6:02 am

yeah ~ mini Audi S4

• Neutral_Fan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:28 am

abtm said,
    January 31, 2008 @ 6:02 am

————————————-

Bro, you want to compare SAGA 1.3 to Audi RS4???? These cars not even in the same price range for GOD sake!. Please be more realistic and stop being a blind basher. We’re here to give good and realistic ideas or comments. Malaysian tend to be more wise .. so be one of them!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:42 am

nice shots paul

• lone_rider (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:49 am

whish that looks with additional 2k..it will be
    “pisang panas” fellas..at least for me..
    imagine white or chillie red..yummy..good work!

• myre5 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:32 am

add in front side or side mirror signal can improve safety, especially for biker

• tebuan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:35 am

dear all and especially to sifu,
    i heard that there is news about speed limiter installed for this saga. it that true?

• tebuan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:36 am

it the story is true about the speed limiter, it mean the driver couldn’t experience the true power of campro…how sad..

• armandd (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:42 am

that’s a baby audi A4!

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:41 am

wow, the volkswagen Golf really made an impact didn’t it? Koreans and Malaysians are really trying to implement that car’s vibe

• tebuan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 11:45 am

ello?..ello? why my comment stuck?

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:01 pm

Alamak..Audi TTS floating grille la pulak….but totally need other aerokit parts…seen the headlamp somewhere though :) …nice job!..keep it up!..

• ezralimm (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 12:08 pm

nice pans… huhu PT t3h photographer shows his skills.

• voyager86 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 1:41 pm

WOW!!
    Great job!!

mm……the manual gear stick look quite long…..>

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 3:11 pm

lolz my version.. dun copy it ;) http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/New_Proton_Saga_1.jpg

• DtG (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 4:27 pm

just making the saga look like an audi… boring….

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:10 pm

not bad actually
    wat engine will be use?
    hope tat 4A-92 wil be fitted in it since is GTi Emblem
    i tink there whont be any problem fitting in larger engine since the engine bay are spacious

• crully (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:12 pm

I believe there won’t be a saga aeroback, because the Savvy is already a hatch version of the Saga.. Or is it the Saga is the sedan version of Savvy….?It’s both true anyway. I loved this car so much, I booked mine 2 months ago and I’m getting it in March.

• Alifz (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:19 pm

Good impression..

So after someone had their Saga, just go to the paintshop to complete this ‘facelift’.. Fuyooh..

• Neutral_Fan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:28 pm

Latest news i got from P1 members. P1 is aggressively producing new car untill 2015. They have good product line up right now.

1. early 2009 – will be hatchback & MPV)
    2. in 2010 – Waja replacement ( totally new design)

I wish P1 good luck with their product planning and keep providing us good quality product. GO P1 !!!!!

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 5:58 pm

mine saga needs to wait another few months, probably april or may..haih…

• szw (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 7:54 pm

it will go well with a slightly bigger rims…

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:03 pm

pretty god effort. However, “GTi” car must be backed by good performance and handling. Not just slapping some kits and chrome badges.

If not, the reputation of the “GTi” may one day become cheapo. Hehehe, just like Type-R badge. Now any abeng, akau, mutu and ahmad oso slap sticker/badges on their rides, regardless of the true meaning of these badges.

• gokibin (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Can I say that I was impressed by the headroom and legroom. Very nice.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 8:43 pm

u all can forget the GTI name…VW wont let others to use the name anymore….

• ah liew (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:07 pm

interesting thought….. GTI Saga…… must be dreaming or nuts!

The true GTI is only Satria GTI nothing can compare to it’s engine & design. Probally our fellow Malaysian’s will modify the Saga to a GTI one day. hee! hee!

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:37 pm

paul, do you know how many are the current bookings? i heard exceed 20000 already.

• proton GL (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 9:47 pm

GTi is always synonym to a hatchback for greater power to weight, ground effect,and sporty interior, a quick car that handles,
    for a sedan could be a GT, or GTa (automatic), its a sedan with boot space, performce trade off due to the feature, but sporty look and bit batter than its ordinary,

so as to differenciate by abbreviation, i guess

• nmh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:17 pm

How bout Savvy GTi, adding supercharge or turbo 100bhp/115nm, 3 doors.

• nmh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:19 pm

kei9

nice one, can u do it for savvy

err the rims looks like taken from GTA

• transformer (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 10:25 pm

wish someone would chopped it to be comes wider a bit, this will help it to looks less taller! A tall car arent pretty! aren’t sexy! aren’t able to handle well too!

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 31, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Everyone,

Please do remember that this is JUST a photoshop. Nothing technical, just that it show what is aesthetically possible wit the new Saga.

@MisterBenjo
    Sure or not? Unless other carmakers oso name their car as “Golf GTi”, then I think VW has the rite not to allow that name. But GTi, it’s not just Proton used it (Satria GTi), Peugeot’s used that name too wit its 206 GTi, which is a legend.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:38 am

Everyone,

Please do remember that this is JUST a photoshop. Nothing technical, just that it show what is aesthetically possible wit the new Saga.

@MisterBenjo
    Sure or not? Unless other carmakers oso name their car as “Golf GTi”, then I think VW has the rite not to allow that name. But GTi, it’s not just Proton used it (Satria GTi), Peugeot’s used that name too wit its 206 GTi, which is a legend.

————————————————————–

I am sure as i read a news article recently..but i forgot where…GTi now a patented by VW

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 12:57 am

front look like Audi……

just ok, not very nice though……

Theophilus, please make it more aggressive……

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:29 am

nice looking, inspired by the golf gti

• mzfnd (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 2:54 am

Yo Kei9! Nice car.

This is my version. (Nak menyibuk jugak :p)
    Less tall white saga. Check it out.

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8328/whitesagaqo5.jpg

• Neutral_Fan (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:58 am

Official booking for the SAGA 2008….. as of 29th Jan 2008, the total booking for just 12day after the official launch is 25500 units. The number doesn’t seem wanna stop as more booking poring in for this P1 baby. CONGRATULATION P1 !!!

• shaif (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:18 am

Cun seh…looks good and the proton chrome emblem just complete the aggressive look. Bravo mr theo…

• armandd (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 8:36 am

very nice mzfnd.. cool..

• ka_one2000 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 9:14 am

Tokmoh said,

January 31, 2008 @ 11:49 pm

Everyone,

@MisterBenjo

I should be 205 GTI and not 206 GTi…

• kei9 (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 1:22 pm

nmh said,

January 31, 2008 @ 10:19 pm
    kei9

nice one, can u do it for savvy

err the rims looks like taken from GTA

————————–

mzfnd said,

February 1, 2008 @ 2:54 am

Yo Kei9! Nice car.

This is my version. (Nak menyibuk jugak :p)
    Less tall white saga. Check it out.

http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/8328/whitesagaqo5.jpg

————
    thanx man. ;) and i’c what ic an do. haha

BTW, mzfnd nice :)

• peYno (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 7:17 pm

gti look
    yeahh maybe the designer noticed that so many savvy owners mod their front look to gti look..
    so he decided to do the same thing on saga
    credit savoc.net
    http://www.dropfiles.net//files/261/Savoc/Paintball01/DSCF1287.JPG

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:04 am

@ka_one2000
    Thnx for fixing my typo. Sory everyone if I confused u guys.

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 12:07 am

@ka_one2000
    Yea, sory for my typo, n thnx for pointin it!!

• sxe10r (Member) on Feb 02, 2008 at 9:23 am

kei9 said,
    January 31, 2008 @ 3:11 pm

lolz my version.. dun copy it http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/New_Proton_Saga_1.jpg

how u do it ?? can u teach me?

• mokh997 (Member) on Feb 04, 2008 at 10:21 am

ADE SESAPE YG BOLE PHOTO IMPRESSION TAK UNTUK SAGA NI YG COLOR PUTIH PUNYA
    AKU AMBIK SEBIJIK N LINE
    JADI NAK MASUK RIM NEO 15
    COLOR TGH BLUR NI NAK TAMBAH WARNA APE BG LG MENGIURKAN
    SEBAB KALAU HITAM GRILL DAN BUMBUNG DH BIASA SANGAT DAH
    KOT2 ADE SAHABAT2 BOLE TOLONG IMPRESSION KAN SAGA NLINE TU
    RIM MMG AKU MINAT BETUL DGN NEO PUNYA
    15′ TAYAR 185 55/50
    SKIRT NANTI TGK KOT2 ADE YG MATCH DGN SAGA NIH
    LAIN2 BAB2 POWER WINDOW DAN LEATHER SEAT TUNGGU
    AKU ADE JUMPA SATU SET SEAT YG BOLE ELECTRICAL ADJUST
    ADE DUIT TK GUNA NANTI BOLE LA INTERIOR PLAK
    TOLONG YA KAWAN2

• nuajon (Member) on Feb 05, 2008 at 12:05 pm

i like this blm, but my loan is not approve n reject now i dont love this car i love my old iswara back.

• trust_wrx (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 12:03 am

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii183/trust_wrx/New_Proton_Saga_GTiweb.jpg

yo this is my impression of a saga GTi… i know some of u might say that the kits are a little too aggressive, coz i think so tooo… but i tought of really exploiting those sexy body lines the 2nd generation saga has.. i love editing pictures btw.. i have edited a waja picture too, and i personally own a 4G18P waja… if u guys wanna take a look at my waja pls say so yea, ill post it up too

• trust_wrx (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:13 am

yo guys, nice topic here… ive made my own impression of a Saga GTi.. haha, i know u guys may say that the kits on it are a little too aggressive… i feel the same too.. but i really wanted to exploit those sexy body lines the 2nd generation saga has… haha, so this was what i came up with… i also edited a picture of a waja, and i own a 4G18P waja too… got some big plans for it, but there will always be a barrier. a big financial barrier hahah LOL

heres the link to that “aggressivve” Saga GTi lol

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii183/trust_wrx/New_Proton_Saga_GTiweb.jpg

• snailhill78 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 10:59 am

bravo P1!!! P2??

• mokh997 (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 1:50 pm

mana pakar makeup ni meh solek saga ni ketahap gaban
    atau solek dgn cat2 yg mengiurkan

• trust_wrx (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:26 pm

yo guys its me again haha… heres the waja i edited… enjoy!

• trust_wrx (Member) on Feb 06, 2008 at 2:27 pm

yo guys its me again haha… heres the waja i edited… enjoy!

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii183/trust_wrx/28bk1web.jpg

• weewitt (Member) on Feb 22, 2008 at 8:05 am

hi trust_wrx,
    nice job done there man..maybe u culd add some intercooler opening at d front bonet too.. for saga & waja..& some stripe too..

• bavarian (Member) on Feb 24, 2008 at 10:05 am

a few days ago i visited an austaralian website

they said that the saga will be suitable for their market and hope ther is a 1.6 version in fact i also hope it has a 1.6 engine

• trust_wrx (Member) on Feb 25, 2008 at 4:02 pm

hey weewitt, thnx on ur comment! really appreciate it bro! i love photoshopping :P

• hatchback on Aug 19, 2009 at 10:57 am

Front end is nice, but it's really screaming to be a hatchback. Looks good until you get to that weird rear end.