2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift Bodykit Artwork

Theophilus Chin Proton GEN2 Facelift

As expected with all Proton model launches in the past year, graphic artist Theophilus Chin has whipped up a virtually kitted up version of the facelifted 2008 Proton GEN2. This concept art is rather conservative. I think the integrated dual exhaust tailpipes into the rear diffuser is a good look for the car. Two more images after the jump.

2008 Proton GEN2 Facelift with CPS launched!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:42 am

Not bad looking

• azrai (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:45 am

Do Paul and Theophilus have saomething between them? Friend? Relative? because its only his chopped get the feature in his blog. Just wondering. By the way it is his right.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:53 am

I dont think Theo has to change the design of the front and rear lights. They look weird, the existing one is better (eventhough i dont much like the crop-circle rear lights). And also the black stripe makes the Gen2 looks like the low line 1.3 version. The GTi inspired grille paint is OK.

Just my opinion.

• bmpower (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 9:16 am

azrai said,
    March 10, 2008 @ 7:45 am

you mean they are couple? hehe..
    just kidding paul.. :p

maybe you’re long time friend.. a school mate maybe. :)

• cetakbaju (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 9:59 am

yeah..
    quite wierd

• viceice (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 10:03 am

I like the dimple in the lights.. nice touch…

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 10:21 am

very nice…but i think leaving the chrome grill is unnecessary,just make them all black

• armandd (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 10:27 am

front looks 80% like golf GTi

• Poxxue2 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 11:31 am

Quite a nice and OEM looking idea, feasible but the integrated tailpipe ..very unlikely,expensive and it really needs to be tested thoroughly (exhaust vibration,etc), quite a few models already applied it though……good job Theo!..

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 12:47 pm

very very nice rear lights!
    Ah Beng, pls get this cool rear lights from your Taiwanese partner asap.
    For sure boleh jual ma!

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Would’ve look veeeeeery nice in solid white colour. In red, it, as normaluser puts it, looks like a B-line gen.2

Twin pipe looks nice too, which made me wonder why oni Waja CPS gets twin pipes…one is a dummy pipe?

@azrai
    Theo used to post in MTland too, bt he kinda stopped n prefer to post here cuz he said there aren’t many response in MTland.

• altimi (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 1:42 pm

Not nice at all… looks like Gen2 1.3

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 2:01 pm

then i’ll chop something for you guys to be pleased..LOL!
    Design is not bad..but not my cup of tea.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 3:20 pm

why not change the wheels?

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 5:04 pm

k..my version..not as astounding as theo’s job tho :D
    http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/gen2frmyED.jpg
    http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/gen2myED.jpg

dont grab without my permission..lol

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 5:54 pm

the door mirrors should be ideally be red color or just matt black.

Silver is just a bit out of place for me.

• altimi (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 6:22 pm

Typical ‘AH-Bengish” styling……..

• aki_zz (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:09 pm

i’m pretty sure you took some inspiration from vw cars. i say inspiration. not copy. anyway the bodykit looks oem just like poxxue2 says which is a good thing

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 7:37 pm

kei9 said,
    March 10, 2008 @ 5:04 pm

k..my version..not as astounding as theo’s job tho
    http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/gen2frmyED.jpg
    http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff304/keishin9/gen2myED.jpg

dont grab without my permission..lol

—————————————————————-

Hey,

Yours is way much better than Theo’s. Theo’s work is too Ah beng-ish, or maybe Paul and Theo are Ah Bengs?!!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 8:19 pm

Hahaha…

Paul pays me for my chops… barter system, one kopi per chop! Not bed eh? Hey I’d chop for anyone who’s willing to post my contribution, friends of foes.

Anyway YES, I copied the Polo GTi’s front, along with the new Skoda Superb’s headlights. I re-shaped the grille, it’s deeper and more “V” shaped, rather than the original’s “U”. Compare to original image and you see the differences.

If i remember correctly the rear is “donated” by the Audi A3… I think. The lights, yes I find it Beng-ish, ditto overall design. BUT compare to all the other Evo-wannabe-Wiras on the road, I believe mine is considered subtle. Yes the side skirts are bigger, so are the wheels. Design wise, I find the Gen2 wheels nice looking enough, increasing its diameter will do.

The black strips? We are all Malaysian drivers, we should all know how the strips helps in avoiding scratches. Besides, it makes the back less tall, and so the rear seem wider.

What else… silver door handles, not chrome, to complement the grille-top bar and side mirrors. Oh yea, black roof as suggested when some of you saw the previously posted Saga GTi.

Anyway why the silver mirror housing? Again, idea from Audi, as per the chopped Saga GTi posted previously.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 8:22 pm

Oh one more thing, I usually chop my cars, without chopping the main body, meaning, these ideas, the lights, shirts and bumpers, can replaced original items directly.

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 8:38 pm

At least this looks better compared to the China Gen 2 version…..

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 9:00 pm

Now this is MEAN!!!!!! Wonder if the R3 could tune/upgrade/mod the CPS…..

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 9:11 pm

MyviKiller said,

March 10, 2008 @ 7:37 pm

Hey,

Yours is way much better than Theo’s. Theo’s work is too Ah beng-ish, or maybe Paul and Theo are Ah Bengs?!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

ahaha..thx anyways ..but theo’s style is not that “ah beng” great skills to match. lolz

• raybrig85 (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 9:21 pm

i dun like the black line on the bumper…looks cheap…not solid at all…nice rear lamp…

• ENZO (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 10:13 pm

raybrig85 said,

March 10, 2008 @ 9:21 pm

i dun like the black line on the bumper…looks cheap…not solid at all…nice rear lamp…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Totally agree!!!!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 10, 2008 at 11:25 pm

Nice, looks allright.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:15 am

TheophilusChin said,
    March 10, 2008 @ 8:19 pm

The black strips? We are all Malaysian drivers, we should all know how the strips helps in avoiding scratches. Besides, it makes the back less tall, and so the rear seem wider.
    —————————————————————-

Black stripes are not for Gen-2 UNLESS you slimmed the bumper out, just look at Kia Carnival and Naza Ria, the Carnival’s bumper is as fat as the size of the car, and it would be an “eyesore” to add black side stripes on it right? On the other hand, the bumpers on the Naza Ria are slimmer, and by adding black stripes to it would enhance its appearance. So does it makes sense?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:16 am

Anyway, I do appreciate your work. Keep up the good job!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:22 am

Why not try the Naza Bestari LED rear lights design and see? Gen-2 looks squarish and it suits along the lines well.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 12:26 am

bmpower said,
    March 10, 2008 @ 9:16 am

you mean they are couple? hehe..
    just kidding paul.. :p
    —————————————————————-

Imagination running wild? Very funny…

• szw (Member) on Mar 11, 2008 at 11:30 am

the front looks odd , but the back looks ok…

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Mar 12, 2008 at 5:16 pm

Woi, good job Theophilus.

MS

• pearjar (Member) on May 24, 2008 at 4:00 pm

I just done my cps like that. =) Put black sticker at the front.

• are those design been manufactured and marketed?that was awesome design…