Kevin Lee’s version of the Proton Waja MC3

Kevin Lee Waja

Reader Kevin Lee has produced these artist impressions of a sleeker, sportier Proton Waja, with a rear light treatment that is an evolution of the current crop circle design, but missing the circles themselves.

It looks much better than what the Waja is now but development of new fenders to match the new Mazda-ish front lamps would probably be too costly for Proton to have done something like this instead of the Waja MC3 that we have now.

View an image of the rear after the jump.

Kevin Lee Waja

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 4:36 pm

Hey nice pic man! I think Theo can retire and let this man to chop the pictures of the other cars.

• chanel (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 4:36 pm

if Proton have that economy of scale, we would have see better Waja MC3 in the showroom now…..compare to what they always done to the facelift is front & back headlamp….& some minor interior change only……..Proton still relatively small comp compare to Japanese giant car maker…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 4:39 pm

Its the combination of various cars, headlights are from Mazda 6, grille from the Persona and the the number plate housing is from the new Saga.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 4:41 pm

The front part looks like an old Opel Calibra though, but its a better looking car now.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 5:19 pm

not very good, but nice effort though…..

• scudz (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 5:52 pm

Decent job… Don’t really like the front + rear lights tho

• hush (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 5:58 pm

i think the headlights are a bit too ambiguous… the rearlights are a disappointment… maybe should change the shape of the rearlights… i think should also amend the A and C pillar… too boxy, angular and upright…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 6:09 pm

well i didnt wanna reshape the pillars, everything, wanted to re-use the old lines, so that proton could reuse the waja platform, till they have enough money to develop a new platform.

well i wouldn’t know if changing the fender would be expensive, as they have changed the hood design too.

so this was the changes done on the stock waja mc3

new door handles, makes it look less old (and hopefully more durable)
    new brake lines (replacing the bad termometer design)
    new chrome exhaust tips (replacing the age old round design)
    new bling rims (make it more vip looking)
    new side mirror signal lights (makes it look better)
    removed bee sting antenna
    relocated 3rd brake light
    added front
    redesigned front bumper
    redesigned front lamps, to overlap with older design
    proton persona grill

• faizulamin (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 6:10 pm

if only i’m the boss
    i would ask this mate to modify the rear light

see, the headlamp and rear light is not proportional in terms of design.
    front looks ‘tajam-tajam’ but rear look bulky.

dunno, just my bare idea
    but i must admit i apreciate his effort though!

cheers! ;-)

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:13 pm

cool ..
    i like this design..

• xenith (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:19 pm

Nice man…

• AMG (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:47 pm

Arrg! Nice Man!!! But i think that Proton won’t launch such smooth sporty car~

• ENZO (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 7:50 pm

yeah, too costly for p1, they dont even hav enough budget for better QC,
    what’s the point making new car?

• abtm (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 8:04 pm

The rear lights looks cool, but as for the front, nice try but i think the “Honda Accord Euro” look does’nt really fit in, maybe if you make the lights less narrow than it’ll look better

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 8:14 pm

ahaha..Kev requested for paul to put the rendering there.. xD

• ah liew (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 8:42 pm

Wow! another great looking design but the rear still sucks! Theo do something about it….. you’re the man!

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 9:54 pm

Front is nice… Rear should be restyled too…

• theking (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:05 pm

Just wait for the Proton GXR in 2010 maybe with new 1.8l engine and 32bit s engine management system.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 10:31 pm

Wait for Proton GXR? Still have not seen the Proton P01 or something like that which they say will be on sale in 2002. I have only seen a few concept designs and thats it. A 2 seater sports car with value for money.

• theking (Member) on Mar 21, 2008 at 11:07 pm

GXR – GX Replacement aka Waja Replacement

• ago87 (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 12:43 am

Good design.
    Hope Proton will think about it.
    Then i’ll buy Proton in future.
    Haha…

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:14 am

cacat a bit the front design~~

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:56 am

Kevin is a great chopper, unlike him, I did a flawed Waja chop some time ago ( http://www.carspyshots.net/showthread.php?t=12468 )

Here’s the front ( http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/501/newwajafront26ur.jpg chop and original ) and rear ( http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/7962/newwajarear4bn.jpg ). I didn’t chop as much as Kevin Lee.

Well, like Kevin, I didnt wanna reshape the Waja too. So my chop introduces only:
    push forward front wheels,
    change degree of front side corners (so the headlights are more wrapped-around) reshaped grille,
    reshaped roof and pillars,
    reshaped head lights,
    reshaped bumpers,
    reshaped rear number plate area,
    reshaped rear boot,
    reshaped rear rear lights,

What else…
    bigger wheels arches,
    bigger wheels.

Like what Kevin Lee commented in other post (GT-R sedan chop based MOSTLY on artist impression seen in http://www.auto-motor-und-sport.de/news/auto_-_produkte/hxcms_article_510833_13987.hbs ), my chops are rush jobs, and it would be more better if I took some time to make better chops rather than pushing out rush jobs overfilled with flaws.

How true.

And like Myvikiller suggest, I can retire.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 2:33 am

Theo, you make great chops sometimes, i admire the amount of details you put on the satria neo gti a while ago, but i was hoping to give out helpful comments and critic. basically, that way we all learn from mistakes and make better stuffs. i was subject to serious critics in the digital art world before venturing into chopping, so yeah, by listening, you learn a hell lot

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 2:37 am

*nods

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 6:42 am

hahaha..ever outsider can design Waja better than their designers (duh??) in Proton.

• azrai (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 7:18 am

At least there is someone other than …. I didn’t think it will too costly for Proton. They can push the current Waja design and mould to Iran just like what they do to Wira in Indonesia. Once they have the economic of scale, the facelift which include new tailgate lamp, headlight, and fender is just a fraction of coming out with a totally new model. Just take Mira and previous Lancer. How many times they have the facelift? It is still the same car but with the whole new face. Fresh face, just like our new cabinet.

• RX7RIDER (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:39 am

waja is ugly and the engine too

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 11:07 am

previously, before venturing into chopping, i was making anime wallpapers, made the background from scratch in 72 hours,

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/706/kurau2ad0.jpg

enjoy!

• ilmondo (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 11:27 am

may be expensive to make new fenders. but i think bumper and grille change is fine wit a better looking headlights wit cues above. love theo’s job too.. especially d rear look. theo’s front really look classy!

• Car Freak (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:31 pm

Theo’s facelift of the waja is pretty much the same.. nothing much changes.. but it looks bigger though.. like the S class.. but Kevin’s facelift of the waja there’s more changes and a fresher look of the waja.. so keep it up Kevin and Theo.. you guys are great..

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 1:40 pm

Well..Theo is also part of my inspirations for car chopping :D

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 3:12 pm

i think proton cars already looks good,
    need no alteration,

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 4:44 pm

TheophilusChin said,

And like Myvikiller suggest, I can retire.
    —————————————————————-

Well, I do admire your chopping skills. There are some of the examples that are totally flawless, especially the ones from Tata Nano and the Neo GTI.

Just remember, a building can collapse if you don’t build it properly, same goes to your chopping work!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Car Freak said,
    March 22, 2008 @ 1:31 pm

Theo’s facelift of the waja is pretty much the same.. nothing much changes.. but it looks bigger though.. like the S class.. but Kevin’s facelift of the waja there’s more changes and a fresher look of the waja.. so keep it up Kevin and Theo.. you guys are great..
    —————————————————————-

Wow, if Kev and Theo can work together as a team then we expect the best rojak from them lah!!!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

Car Freak said,
    March 22, 2008 @ 1:31 pm

—————————————————————-

Wow, if Kev and Theo can work together as a team then we can expect the best rojak from them lah!!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 7:57 pm

Maybe both of u can give a picture of how savvy facelift should look like?

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 8:45 pm

There are plenty of chopping styles one can adopt. If one is really skillful, the car chopped is beyond recognition when compared to the original, yet it looks production possible. Like Autocar UK made an Audi A1 out of the Swift. It was the side mirrors that gave the chop away. Eventually when the Audi Metro Concept was shown in Tokyo, the real car does look like the chop.

And then there are the “reference chop”, where the chopped car resembles to original/donor car. This approach works best for facelift-impressions. Like my GT-i versions of Saga and Gen2.

A lot of times there are details so small, that though takes ages to prepare, they eventually not noticed, but they are crucial in achieving a balance design. And these details can be shadows, panel gaps, back ground, interior colour (though mostly not visible, still have to be chopped)…

And then there are chops that look extremely wild and exciting, like 3D renderings of sketches, that couldn’t be logically production-feasible. Like, who doesn’t like 20″ wheels on the Waja?

Above are personal opinions.
    ____

I like the Savvy the way it is. It does look nothing else on the road. It’s not pretty, but definitely not ugly. I hate the word ugly, especially in reference to design. All design has its reason and value.

What is ugly? Like the Sylphy, why so many people says it’s ugly? Ugly meh?? And yet the Corolla, which looks worse than Sylphy, is simply “boring”? And then there was the VW Polo Cross, which IS plain looking, is not criticised at all.

I hope we are n”badge snubbers”. Who are badge snubbers? Well they are the kind who criticise a car for it’s company badge. Simply put it, if let’s say there’s a Perodua-badged Punto, there will be those who think it’s unpleasant and looks like a pig. As a Fiat (or Italian), people love it for being a mini-Maserati.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Hey Kevin that’s a great wallpaper!

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 9:00 pm

TheophilusChin said,

I hope we are n”badge snubbers”. Who are badge snubbers? Well they are the kind who criticise a car for it’s company badge. Simply put it, if let’s say there’s a Perodua-badged Punto, there will be those who think it’s unpleasant and looks like a pig. As a Fiat (or Italian), people love it for being a mini-Maserati.
    —————–,———————————————–

Hey, first time seeing you bashing at those who are “biased”, a very good move! This same applies to the Proton bashers as well!

• szw (Member) on Mar 23, 2008 at 11:23 pm

like dis oso can ?
    lolz !!!

• msnahar (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:51 am

Wahhh Look Greats… :)