Honda Accord first month: over 5,000 bookings

The recently launched 2008 Honda Accord has achieved more than 70% of its annual sales target in its first month of launch. According to Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd, the Accord’s first month sales of 5,194 units exceeded the 600 unit first month allocation, dangerously approaching the yearly production allocation of 7,200 units. Sales split between the 2.0 and 2.4 versions were about 50:50. Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd plans to raise production levels of the Accord to meet the overwhelming response.

8th generation 2008 Honda Accord launched!
2008 Honda Accord Modulo Bodykit and Accessories

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 7:15 am

5series wannabe. really the Camry contender this time around.

• White Jack (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 7:29 am

I notice many people still prefer Camry :)

Anyone can share your view (if you didn’t go for Accord) ?

• shamel (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:39 am

I’ll consider Camry if JDM version and have better tranny (2.0) than Accord or 2.2 180ps 400Nm as per European Toyota. Otherwise, Accord is better car.

• abtm (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:45 am

Camry is always playing catchup, current generation Camry is probably abit better than the last Accord due to better equipment. But for sporty driving, the Accord is years ahead

• tricycle (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:11 am

…but the fugly interior design

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:34 am

“I notice many people still prefer Camry”

the accord was just launched, how do you know that more people prefer the camry? besides that, the camry has been in the market a while now, whereas the accord is brand new.

i would think the accord definitely has the edge over camry at the moment.

• IsaacVky (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:52 am

Accord anytime better than Camry, but Mazda 6 beats both.

• Dinozilla (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:57 am

man….
    this is not good…..my City is still in the queue….
    don kacau my car production…..

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:15 am

Seems like there are a lot of rich ppl out there that can afford expensive cars…….

But everyone I see and meet thesedays say that “Aiya, business tarak baik sekarang”, or “Ayo, working very hard to earn money”.

Hmmmmmmmm…

• lanminardi (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 12:05 pm

impressive amount of bookings…customers look forward to Honda because of its refinement….Honda VS Camry…i will go for Honda. Its much like a Adult high tech toys

• prado700 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 12:30 pm

i trade in my Camry to Accord. IMHO
    Camry has good QC compared with Accord.
    Camry got front sensor, woodgrain steering, easy to command steering buttons, confortable sliding armrest, convenience and easy to use “leg” handbrake, engine slightly noisy, better turning radius and consume more fuel etc.
    Accord is powerful and use less fuel, paddle shift very useful, auto light, good audio system, ugly emergency button, normal steering, spacious interior but not too confortable, handbrake messy keep touching thigh, wave blade keys, water slip in after wash car from bonnet, console box and utililty box not too user friendly, rear foldable seat very useful, sporty design etc
    Overall winner: Apple or Orange….??

• mithos (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 12:35 pm

I wonder if Toyota is offering any discounts on Camry to counter this? I’d imagine their sales are getting a walloping. It would be good if they at least threw in more options..

• Redskins (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:09 pm

I waited patiently for the launching of the new accord since late last year. On the launching day, test drove it, like it bla bla bla..but the 2.0 spec was not the “real deal” as per what other markets in the world is offering. Thuh!! …what a let down – (off couse i can’t afford the 2.4L model).

…end up booked a Camry 2.0G instead…. anyway, hopefully the next bacth of the 2.0L accord, Honda would give customer the “real deal”…

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:12 pm

for the looks, both Camry and Accord are equally great…… hard to decide, depends on whether u are more into Toyota or Honda….

unless u are buying Mazda 6…..

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:24 pm

btween camry n accord..i prefer accord..worth it…

• cutester (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 1:55 pm

Roti Naan said,
    May 29, 2008 @ 11:15 am

Seems like there are a lot of rich ppl out there that can afford expensive cars…….

Well said… A lot of them!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 3:02 pm

you dont have to be “rich” to afford a 130-150k car. but you do need a relatively well paying job, and a good grip on all your finances..

i believe you’re only starting to cross into the “rich” border when you’re buying a car from RM350k and above.

• longjaafar (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 3:04 pm

This sector is dominated by these two models. If the Teana and Mazda 6 are locally assembled, then there’ll be more fun. For driving pleasure, the 6 is the best among the four models, and for cabin space, it will be the Teana. But between the Accord and the Camry, I’d choose the Accord, simply because it’s newer, as there’s very little between them.

• wacko (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 3:32 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    May 29, 2008 @ 3:02 pm

you dont have to be “rich” to afford a 130-150k car. but you do need a relatively well paying job, and a good grip on all your finances..

i believe you’re only starting to cross into the “rich” border when you’re buying a car from RM350k and above.

Agree. Nowaday quite common to see young executives in early 30s driving around in Civics or CRVs. In good old days if you are driving these marques people shall call u uncle oledy!!!

• alegria (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 4:01 pm

My neighbour got a new accord last week, and compared to his older accord model, i think the older model looks better than the new accord. I call the new accord, small head big butt. If you follow the new accord from the back, you will know what I mean. I think it is ugly.

• adil2008 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 4:48 pm

Honda is No.1, The Prestigious Look for new 8th Generation Accord. is great, DO YOU HAVE A HONDA? the accord is the bset chioce.

For Motorcycle, HONDA is No.1, for Car, is top 10. Proton should study why the HONDA is so succesful in 50 years, must study very hard from HONDA.

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 4:54 pm

I anticipated the New Accord with much enthusiasm.

Till now I still don’t get the looks, the lines don’t blend in, the awkward styling and all is just a bit too ‘random’ let me put it.

For a start, for something that costs this much, not getting a projector headlamp is a big no no, it really screws the styling for not having definitive clusters in the headlamp.

Other than that, the ‘recipes’ for such a car in this segment is relatively easy, bigger the better, well i would say the decision to bring in the 3.5 liter does have a very positive effect on the overall impression of the marque.

First, having a 3.5 lit shows Accord is actually ‘superior’ to Camry – If you can afford it, the halo effect is un-negligable.

Second, having the 3.5liter allows them to market the car as being hi-tech, keep on harping on the active engine mounting system and the audio noise cancellation thingy – which IMO is there to counter the engine’s switching of active pistons, which in the real world is not a selling point at all, except the part of switching the pistons off.

Third, having the Civic is the true class leader in its segment by a thousand miles better than the Altis, creates the impression that since the Accord is pricier and better than the Civic, it must be super damn good.

Other than that, I can’t see the hoo haa from this car. I’d still put my money on the Camry as simple it looks elegant and stylish, not the half hearted effort from many Toyota models.

For T and H’s battle, the models I’d pick from the segment up is City, Jazz, Civic, Camry, Wish, Odyssey.

What? Avanza, Rush, Innova ? I won’t even wanna comment on half hearted cars that are solely there to rip off the rakyat’s money.

• ganz (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 5:52 pm

comments “Seems like there are a lot of rich ppl out there that can afford expensive cars……”
    ——————————————–
    Who say economic down and no business today.. :D..

i just look from far those both car since i far from “can afford” either both
    >>

• mokkf82 (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 6:29 pm

Both are really nice car, some like accord, and some like camry. But both are at the same catogory of vehicles.
    Now buying a car is not like buying a house, so when u got a stable job with a decent salary. Borrow that money from bank and get yourself any car that u want.

• mystvearn (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:14 pm

This sudden spike of car sales will go down. More like those people buying now waiting for this accord to come out for sometime now. So thats why they don’t buy the last version. The civic had 2k sales in its first month right. Make sure quality is maintained in that

• cecibo (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

between camry and accord

i prefer M5….

• ys (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:59 pm

no suprise with the good response.
    Accord just looks superb…
    bravo… HONDA..

• s (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 11:28 pm

camry and accord is a modern looked car…camry has charismatic and accord has sporty element….but i think accord start beat camry…

• normaluser (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 8:15 am

Its common for us to believe that the Accord has the sportier handling compared to Camry. But do you believe that its actually the Camry that handles better than the Accord (comparison of the previous generation 2005). 3 years back, the US National Highway Safety Agency conducted slalom tests between the Gallant, Camry & Accord. Gallant is 1st, Camry 2nd and Accord is the last.

For the current generation, I’m not sure which one fares better. I just want to bring down the general misconception that Accord is always a better handler than Camry.

• SY0H (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 8:54 am

Hi,

Those who could afford brand new Toyota or Honda cars are what we call the higher end middle-income earners. Those who could buy BMW or Merc or Volvo should be well seated as high-income earners. Those who could afford Ferrari, Maseratti, Brabus etc are very high income earners. These are the people who enjoy life already, anything more than that is consider “bonus”. Keep up the good work! I’m happy for you as well. But how about the low-income group, those who have been working their ass out for their big “tauke” for years and still drives kapchais (motorcycles) and still can not own even a single decent flats? When asked for a salary review or a bonus take-out the “tauke” will said something like this, aiyarkkk business not doing well lah, government people not good and yet somehow you could see a brand new 7-series BMW park infront of the office. And the wife and kids of the big “tauke” comes to the office once in a while with their Honda and Mitsubishi. Yeah, good tactics “tauke” maybe it will work on fresh graduates but not on the seniors!

• prado700 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 10:56 am

To Redskins, end up booked a Camry 2.0G instead…. anyway, hopefully the next bacth of the 2.0L accord, Honda would give customer the “real deal”…

IMHO, if you order Camry 2.0G, it is much better if you pay additional RM20K for the Camry 2.4 otherwise CANCEL the Camry 2.0G and change to Accord 2.0. If you like leather seat, you can change it at Honda at below 3K.
    Redskins, i am the previous owner of Camry 2.0 and i really regret the Camry 2.0 due to engine noise, lower power and vehicle vibrate if you turn on your wiper at full speed.
    For 2.0, better buy Accord, if 2.4, you can buy either Accord or Camry (camry 2.4 is new enhancement engine, Camry 2.0 is old engine, already almost decade old engine)
    Sorry, if i am offending you. hope, you don’t get mad, just a piece of advise.

• Redskins (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 11:35 am

Prado,
    thanks for the kind words man, don’t worry, i am not offended by your advise.

Come to think abt it, Honda stripped down the 2.0L car that they launched recently. I believe its no secret anymore that the 2.0 L is a “tweaked” CRV engine, they stripped the leather seat, below-average audio package, and a lot more amneties that what is car is “supposed to have” , try to view the “actual” 2.0L as per what our neighbour at south/north have and you ‘ll know what i mean (heard that Thailand’s 2.0L model comes with a GPS & S’pore’s 2.0L model is full spec at a price much lower than us)

– well i guess its more of a pricing strategy adopted by Honda.

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 12:08 pm

don’t you know that Malaysia’s auto market, is “uniquely” different from other countries. **Hint-hint**

• gajen (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 5:12 pm

when the camry was launched in 2006, there were plenty of bookings as well..my dad had to wait for 8 months..and this kept on going until 2007..im not sure abt now..kinda lost touch..

both camry and accord are good cars..both a equally good but with a diff personalities..

• charles27 (Member) on May 31, 2008 at 12:16 am

haiya.. still waiting for my accord laaa… :'( …
    keep delaying me since early may until now..

the new accord is nothing like the 5 series laa…
    just the size… and if you look carefully, the side or back is not same..just the feelin fo the executive is there.

comparing 400k car with 170k.. should look at the price first. If can afford, sure take the big brother loo. who wan accord neh

• TopGear (Member) on Jun 01, 2008 at 1:19 am

I thought now we are heading towards inflation/recession…
    still got so many rich people in Malaysia…. so many new Camry,
    CRV, Accord, BMW, Mercedes on the road…

• mukhri88 (Member) on Jun 02, 2008 at 12:05 pm

Sales of executive sedans are looking good. Means economy not so bad. Personaly, looks goes to Camry anytime. Accord design team somehow lost touch of the emotional flowing lines which seems to be the trend nowadays. The boxy 70’s style three box design seems to be their choice…
    But tech side hands down for Accord, simply because it’s new. In a couple of years Toyota will introduce a new Camry with better tech than Accord, and definitely better looking! But Toyota please don’t rip off Malaysians with crappy Avanza-Rush-ASEAN-market-only-crap. So low quality. Accord also rip off Malaysians with zero spec 2.0 Accord also..

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Jun 09, 2008 at 10:36 pm

I think it is time Malaysian Govt start looking at reducing car prices like in US !

With the steady increase in petrol price we are actully paying very high for cars. Imagine using Accord 2.4 for RM170K + intrerest rate + FC = luxury cars in US with still lower prise in US market !!!!!