Proton to study ministry’s request for taxi model

New Saga Taxi

Back in May this year Datuk Noh Omar (and his Ministry of Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development) suggested that Proton develop a new vehicle designed to be used as a taxi similiar to the London Black Cab. The whole idea is that the Malaysian taxi system switch to this new standardized model rather than having multiple models like the Proton Saga, Proton Waja, Naza Citra, Renault Espace, Proton Perdana and even premium Hyundai Sonata and Nissan Cefiro taxis. According to Datuk Noh, this will help “standardize the image of taxis” in Malaysia.

Proton will be looking into the feasibility of the request and if possible, the Ministry of Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development will help “ensure take-up”. Ideally the taxi should also have a factory-fitted NGV system rather than with current taxis which have to retrofit the NGV system as an aftermarket addition to the car. In cars with smaller boots like the Iswara, the NGV tanks can take up a significant amount of boot space depending on the size of the NGV gas tank.

Firstly, the London Black Cab is only used in London. The rest of the UK, or rather the rest of the world uses conventional 4 door sedans or minivans as taxis. Do we really need Proton’s financial records to be plagued with yet another model that has a limited market?

Consumers purchase different types of cars for different needs, so taxis should use different models for different needs as well. A large and heavier taxi with lots of boot space and passenger room powered by a larger engine to move around with that extra capacity will be going around town wasting unnecessary petrol (or NGV) if it carries only one passenger on short trips most of the time.

A much better idea would be for Proton to offer a new taxi based on the new Proton Saga (sources inside Proton say one with a factory-fitted NGV system and a possible upgrade to a 1.6 litre engine is under development) for the purpose of short trips. Longer trips that require more passenger and luggage space can be serviced by larger models converted for taxi purposes like the Kia Rondo Taxi that we saw last year. It can be supplied by Naza Kia Sdn Bhd when it updates the Citra to the next generation Rondo. Just remove the option for the 3rd row of seats and use it for luggage.

On the matter of improving the images of taxis in Malaysia, the government can support this transition to the new models mentioned above by offering financial assistance and loans to taxi drivers for them to be able to afford the upgrade to a new generation of taxis easily. And while we’re at it, cut out the middlemen and give the taxi licenses to the people actually running the taxi services!

There is really no need to waste money and time on the R&D and production of a new specialised single taxi model that will serve nothing more than an ego boost to be able to say that we have our London Black Cab equivalent. It will be the case of the Eye on Malaysia emulating the London Eye all over again.

Related Reading:
Taxicabs of the United Kingdom

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• melvin.foong (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 11:18 pm

As usual, the gahment is trying to channel the money to some people that is not worthy for it. I mean, what is wrong with the current amount of taxis that is already on the road? They still suck anyway. Would changing the “branding” of such, would put the good image of taxis drives back to its glory state? I doubtfully doubt it would happen.

With the help of the money minded businessmen, I am sure things will work out for them, think again though, what good would they do?

Does that mean that the Genting taxi which runs mainly on Nissans’ would ceased to exist?

• soporific (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 11:20 pm

I think Noh was talking like a politician and didn’t really think about the feasibility end of it.
    The end result of getting standardised taxis is a good idea to me, that way, passengers will always get the same amount of comfort/speed for the price they pay.
    But I agree with Paul, there’s no need for an entirely new model. I think the Saga is perfectly suitable for intracity trips.
    Airport taxis can be based on Persona due to the long-distance, or some kind of minivan-ish, large luggage space-type model – I dunno the stats on passenger-to-luggage ratios of people coming through KLIA or even KL Sentral. If any kind of modding is to be done, maybe add another overdrive gear or change the ratio of the OD to reduce consumption at highway speeds.

Perhaps the best suggestion we can go with, if we really want to build a new model, is a smartfortwo type vehicle or even motorbike taxis that basically carry lone passengers to their destination within city limits. That way, there can be a cheaper price structure for single travellers and a normal one for 4/5-seater taxis.

• legacy88 (Member) on Jul 13, 2008 at 11:34 pm

OMG! Taxi BAB1…LOL!

• csv (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:12 am

typical politician talk, all filler, no killer.

never think, just say only to garner a few votes.

anyway, like what Paul and others have said, what for develop a new car wasting so much million when we already have so much taxis on the road. what’s gonna happen to the old taxis? dump it off?

and no matter what standardized taxis we have, it’s still gonna suck because of corruption and license hawking.

better to just revamp public transport system first, then talk about standardising.

typical fat cats.

• keretakura (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:15 am

too bad …. that happen when so many stupid politician become a menteri
    too bad …. this happen when so many stupid citizen vote for them

Lets BLAME PAKLAH he he he …….

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:50 am

all this talk about developing a new car is rubbish. its just a basic model crappy old saga with a taxi paint job. 50 dollar tin of paint should do the job just fine.

by the way, i dont want to be sitting in a crappy proton taxi anyway.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:58 am

This plate number Bab 1 hmm… seem familiar …. if i not mistaken proton putra last three years ago.. i remember….

• syamness (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 1:54 am

love the number plate

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 2:02 am

Another idea based on ‘Image’ but what is the logic and common sense behind it? Malaysian Mystery Theatre!

• aksMs (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 4:46 am

ryan_foong80, you “met” that Putra also ah? Hahaha! Does it use the center tailpipe? I “met” the car on LDP about 3 or 4 years ago. Had a “short game” with him there.

Anyway, back to this “taxi & image” scheme. Mr. Noh obviously talking on behalf of some eager and “hungry Entrepreneur”. I’m sure someone has came up with such a proposal to him in the name of “kesejahteraan rakyat”.

A single model cab is not what we the consumer/commuters needs. What we need is a good and efficient public transport system. We don’t want Proton to waste money on such “angan-angan Mat Jenin”. Leave Proton off your greasy hands you old fool. They should use their whatever left in the pocket to fix their damn quality. Not getting involve in “Projek Paksa-Rela” by the government.

And I would like to echo what others has said. Get rid of the third parties and license hawkers!

• mofo (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 5:41 am

Not really a bad idea to develop a specific car to fit the requirement for taxi. A model specific for taxi usage does not meant it only use in Malaysia only, it can be sold to other countries. As no manufacturers yet have really studied the actual needs for taxi and i believe most governments just pick the best(*I assume).

Cheers,Just my 2cents. btw nice picture paul, thumb up

• azrai (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:13 am

Stupid suggestion. No need for study. Just scrap the idea. It’s not feasible. Low quantity. Maybe proton eager due to ‘susidies’ by the G if it will be daone.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:20 am

As far as number plates go PEN15 was spotted on a Perdana, then an Accord. Don’t know what it is on now.

• Bebelon (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:54 am

stupid suggestion from stupid politician!!! Don’t he ever study what is economies of scale? what is the cost involve to develop a new model that’s only to cater the taxi market? what is the demand then?

if we really want a special model to be our nation taxi, why not the goverment just exclude the import duties, excise duties, bribery from certain gov department and import Porche Cayenne to become our nation taxi? LOL!!!

• shaif (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 8:14 am

Those politician are not like us who have passion in automotive industry. He just want to put his name on the wall of fame as the person who begin to industrialized the taxi industry. When become to talk, they are champion but please get opinion from the right person not from ‘kaki-ampu’ who want a piece of cake in the industry.
    When it come to strategic and practicality, for sure most of politician don’t have any idea on how to improve the industry and of course the end user..US.

• rakyat jelata (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 8:40 am

“Proton to study ministry’s request for taxi model”
    no la paul….proton is to instruct to do it!!
    damn this politician…they really dun know what they r doing…
    money hunger politician…enuf is enuf..

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 8:50 am

I know this may sound strange but I also spotted the BAB 1 plate on a black S2000 a couple of months back and then on the aforementioned Putra.

Don’t tell me that the S2000 has already been confined to the scrap heap? Yikes.

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 9:13 am

No need la. Wasting time and money. Better save the money and work towards making Proton a truly independent car manufacturer who doesn’t f* up every other player in the local auto scene.

• Poxxue (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 9:47 am

BAB1?……haha…pity d owner…either he really loves eating em or jz plain dumb to have em registered…

• hamster (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:03 am

The simplest and cost effective solution to shortage of space is going station wagon. But somehow malaysians always shy away from that idea… very wierd.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:34 am

How about number plate MAT1? or BUL1? or PUK1? Hahahaha! Btw, I did heard some comment saying that our current Saga taxis are too small. If Proton were to push the BLM model to be a taxi around malaysia. Should they come out with a larger 1? Mabbe an Executive BLM? Just like previous executive saga.

• mytouch (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:21 am

stupid damm damm idea…i dont understand why d gahment people keep creating nonsense idea when people are suffering from economic downpour,especially after the petrol hikes? Is him try to prove himself,juz like d previous stupid YB which suggest to do a carnival for mat rempit? Is better to improve the current transportation level rather then waste time on this kind of things…btw,nice number plate there,hek hek hek…

• Hikaru (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:07 pm

Actually, what really needs revamping, urgently is not an “imagine” of taxi, but the service as a whole. Overcharging, rude behaviour, and not to say safety are more important that what they carry ppl in.

To me, there is really no need to emulate anyone when there is no sound reason to do so, especially in monetary terms. Think for once like a proper business man, only do it if it is worth it. What happen to all the Waja limo that was specially commissioned? All down the drain while some one must have profitted from it. Why can’t those be used? They are damn spacious right?

At the end of it all, no enforcement = same old story. What really needs changing is not the taxis, it’s the ministers who never think before they say and never do what they say.

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:09 pm

blame Noh Omar for it… seems tat he has a square brain n does not think the consequences anyway… its a shame for him to be a minister and have a Datuk status who talks ridiculous piece of idea… i juz dislike his behaviour and speech at first place… Malaysia will be a better place without this dude anyway…

• waimak (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:24 pm

I support the idea of improving the image of taxi service in this country. As you all have heard, read in the newspapers or even experience it yourself, there are 1001 things to say about the service. Well, the choice of car for taxi is just one small area.

I think Saga is not suitable for taxi. In fact there are only a few models that fit for the use, e.g. Citra, or Waja to name a few. We have to think ahead. Our taxis are not only used by Malaysian, they are used by tourists and most of them are generally bigger than the average Malaysians. My observation also tells me that Saga hunches very badly, when 3 adults occupied the back seat.

I often travel from KLIA to city center in Waja (taxi) and Citra (taxi) – not bad and comfortable. Maybe a taxi model of these catagory is suitable.

• abtm (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 12:31 pm

i don’t think a new saga will amke a good taxi, it’s small and looks ugly…imagine the entire city filled with it…Persona might work better. a good taxi would be something proven and boxy like a Nissan or Toyota Crown, like those used in Singapore and Japan

• rsrulz (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 4:49 pm

Proton should design an electric or hybrid taxi based on the Saga (maybe it would be expensive)

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:02 pm

Funny Goverment, if you put a cap on top of the vehicle with the label “taxi”, ppl already know that this is a taxi. So no point argueing

• ferox (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Have you guys been to Singapore and seen those Mercedes E class cabs? I wonder how they make a living as isn’t the cost for a Mercedes rather high and they are charging the same cab rates as any other cabs. Hmm?

Maybe Goverment should talk to BMW? 3 Series cabs! o.O

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:10 pm

WE SHOULD USE BMW, MERC, AUDI, SAAB, VOLVO CABS, THEN THOSE CARS WILL NOT BE SO EXPENSIVE AS THE VALUE WILL DROP

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:35 pm

@julianlee2
    Considered the initial expenses?
    Think again.

• chee89 (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 2:21 am

might as well call our polis ‘bobbies’ while we at it.
    and to think we are already an independent country.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:32 am

Can I read between the lines and think that this is some sort of bailout by the gov to proton to ensure that proton is profitable? The way i see it, I have no clue how proton sells its cars overseas at similar pricing to the cars back home (there are cheaper ones). More like rakyat having to pay for all of this globalisation

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:33 am

That car is the biggest let down of merc history: Here is the link
    http://www.topgear.com/content/videos/videos/156/chooseconnection.html

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 8:18 am

mystvrearn,

Like many pointed out, its likely another try at creating another gravy train for a certain someone in the government linked food chain.

Beats me why they need a “standard” taxi. They can’t even seem to get ‘standard” busses right yet.

Its not the car. Its the service.

• jaymiji (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 2:47 pm

hahaha the 1st thing i notice is the plate!!! BAB1 rofl!!!!
    and teksi gila!! wtf!!

btw.. back to the 2nd blog i guess.. lolz..

• lchan (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 4:14 pm

First we must standardise our politicians. Must have brains first.

• keretakura (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm

to become a politician … u only need

1. NO BRAIN
    2. MONEYSS (can umpan BN voters)
    3. JINSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS (can mandrem BN voters also)

he he like ours menteri keberet .. oppps … kabinet la

• aicariefin (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Weird act of the government. Allthough using new taxis but if the service is bad I wouldn’t consider taking the taxi in Kuala Lumpur. I would be rather taking the MRT or Monorail than taking a taxi. I don’t know about how taxi companies work in Malaysia. In Jakarta most of the taxi owners are larger companies which than have their own discipline. Customers can decide by themselves to use their company. Personally I wish that Blue Bird Group would go to Kuala Lumpur and establish a taxi service there. Maybe then there will be a change in service.

Here we use the Toyota Limo which is priced around Rp 110-120 million OTR. Other taxis are the Silver Birds which uses the Merc C-Class, Max Cab uses the new VW Caravelle Transporter and a new company called Tiara Express will launch their services using the Toyota Alphard.

• rsrulz (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 10:57 am

Instead of doing that, they should add 6 inches to 1 foot to the persona’s cabin and making it run on NGV.