Proton Savvy Unbelievable Deal worth RM4,500

Savvy Fun Ride

Proton is currently having a promotion for the Proton Savvy where if you book one between the 25th July 2008 to the 25th August 2008, you will get a special package with the car that Proton calls the Savvy Unbelievable Deal at no extra cost over the OTR price.

The special package is worth RM4,500 and includes an Extended Warranty program which extends the car’s standard 2 year warranty to 5 years or 175,000km, free service for 2 years or the first 50,000km, a bodykit consisting of a front lip, rear bumper and side skirts, and a RM1,000 prepaid petrol card.

For this promotion, Proton will be organizing a “Savvy Fun Ride” convoy, where 10 pimped up Proton Savvys will be going around the Peninsular Malaysia to promote this 2-month deal. The pimped up Savvys have been given names according to its theme: Performance, Urban, Gizmo, Angel, 50th Anniversary, Stylo, Fun O Fun, X-Treme, Mr. DJ and i-Care (shown above).

Check out the other pimped up Savvys after the jump.

Savvy Fun Ride

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:23 pm

stupid ugly car

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:29 pm

what a color scheme! My boy-boy would love it, better than his fun-coloring book…

• derex (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:36 pm

dont say stupid ugly car ler.. just say stupid ugly design. pls be sensitive for some savvy owner here. tq

• michishige (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 3:41 pm

ahh.. i saw it this morning when sending my brother’s savvy to COE for check ups.

guys remember,… this is for promotion purposes. the objective is to create a havoc atmosphere during roadshows, to attract people to come closer and see whats its all about, then the proton guys will approach you to explain the promotion they are having. if you are proton, would you change the air filter? change the spring? put custom bodykit? put carbon fibre products instead?! thats a waste of money!… just put stickers like that laa…. surely passers -by will notice you..

furthermore proton has lots of savvy in stock… 10 cars to be used for this shouldnt be a problem,… comparing to the revenue it will make if the promotion turns out to be a success… good job proton

p/s: i saw an O.Z. ultraleggerra imitation on one of the cars.. oh its on the green car there.. LOL

• sphiroth (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Atleast change those rims to fit the theme.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:13 pm

should redesign the whole bumper and change the wheels…

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:16 pm

I’m not sure whether anyone would paint their car like that but it’s a good idea for advertisements.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Hey that’s cool… not too sure bout some of the designs, but the Angel theme is nice. Anyways, the deal is pretty good… 2 years free service, rm1000 petrol, full bodykit… I really like the Savvy, it’s cute and economical. Might consider changing to it one day :)

• superman (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:32 pm

man, proton ‘s Product & Marketing people sure know how to rehash stuff.

Most of the savvys are using the bastardised R3 Savvy Zerokit (Car 1,2 & 9)styling or the doomed 50th Annivesary bodykit (3, 4 5 6 7 &10) which is ugly as hell.

• jaygan (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:33 pm

Since Savvy is using Renault’s engine….

if only Proton would sell one with the 1.5dCi Turbo Diesel engine, then only I would consider. Proton could also use it to promote the use of EnvoDiesel launched by the PM, what? 1 year ago????

• figo (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:41 pm

If they want to clear the existing stock, they must sell it below RM 30K. Otherwise, the promotion good for nothing.

• saVVril (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:42 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    August 1, 2008 @ 3:23 pm

stupid ugly car
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….

stupid mentality

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:44 pm

Well, Proton needs to do whatever it thinks necessary to sell its cars. If it sells good, if not too bad. I guess Saga is selling better than Savvy hence the additional promo. How about giving value added service to already hot selling cars so they sell more? Concentrate on the better selling model by strenghtening the already existing customer base?

Proton has got its work cut out. If only they merged with VW……..

• alexbaby88 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:55 pm

the Savvy’s are hardly flying out of Proton’s showrooms. Better discount than have them sitting in some tock yard some where.

• king (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 4:55 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    August 1, 2008 @ 3:23 pm

stupid ugly car

_____

stupid comment

• hazri99 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:01 pm

already seen this convoy.. i thought this is from Savoc club..

• fed-up (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:20 pm

the package is not bad, but the car is. They marketed this as Lotus replacement in UK..on the top gear show…mangkuk ayun betui le…

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:24 pm

It’s a fugly car.

Ok la, design wise:
    -change the rear design. Like Viva. Steep vertical tailights. LED please.
    -no step window design. Straighten it downward. Add signal light to side mirror.
    -door handle is pull-out type, like Saga.

So that’s it. Simple facelift and will stop the hate crime.

(Yes indeed it’s a stupid ugly car. Feel sorry for Savvy owners, you choose to become a clown.)

• dzulcar9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:31 pm

To Max88 ,

Which one aa?

Max88 or Mad88?

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 5:31 pm

at below 20cent per km sensible sometimes naughty aggressive driving… it hard to care about the stupid ugly car comment..

i need a car that i need not care much about oh.. i cant drive too much.. petrol price is expensive.. coz i love driving (and i have to drove from Kajang – Bukit Bintang everyday for work)

really, hard to care about those comment.. hehehe.. also the car is quite fun to drive.. together with kelisa…

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:07 pm

Proton should emphasis more on the fuel economy. These days, that’s what most people care about in purchasing cars. And cost of maintenance too. Design wise, it’s a matter of personal opinion. For me it’s a ‘Love to Hate – Hate to Love’ kind of thing. But, to label people who own Savvy as a clown is uncalled for and rude.

Personally, the car is not just fun to drive but also comfort enough for long distance travel compared to others in it’s class. Except that, it can’t beat Myvii in spaciousness. All around I think the car is alright. Might consider one for my lil brother who just started attending college.

PS: Car no.9, is the green candy color?

• rt (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:14 pm

To JULIANLEE2 and the I-know-all arm-chair commentators.

Imagine this….

What if Proton came up with a very expensive MPV. It had a boxy look similar to the Juara, but more refined, with high quality interior, GPS etc.

What if it Toyota Alphard never existed, but is was Proton Alphard instead. Would you comment it like you did bash Proton?

rt.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:24 pm

to king
    screw you, myvi rulez

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:28 pm

The i-care version is an old version? i see the front grille is different compared to others

• Ben (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:46 pm

Instead of unnecessary offers, slash RM4,500.00 from the current price, I’ll book one immediately.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:51 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,
    August 1, 2008 @ 6:24 pm

If myvi rules then this is not the page for you.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 6:54 pm

WOnder why there are no enthusiasts convert the rearlights into the LED ones, like Myvi, damn cool man.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:53 pm

to all..no perodua or proton rulez here..plz la…dun b childish

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 7:59 pm

I believe mentality is Proton’s biggest hurdle. Proton has to overcome clowns like JULIANLEE if they are to succeed. Perception is important. The Juara was a well-engineered car, but the looks didn’t go well with the locals. One country’s meat can be another’s poison. Get what I mean? They have since launched sleeker, rounder cars. And that is going in the right direction. They are slowly but surely getting there :)

PS: Proud Juara Owner… and I rather like the step windows, it adds character to the lil car ;p

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:12 pm

Guys,

JULIANLEE2 has his/her own opinion and can say whatever he/she wishes. That is his/her rights. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

• derex (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:19 pm

i am speechless reading those comments targeting at the savvy owners. pity their parents for failing to teach their children some manners.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:30 pm

agree… you are entitled for your on opinion… but don’t pass judgement on others in the name of freedom of expression.

beauty is in the eye of the beholder… what may look beautyful to you might be ugly to others.

what people today are looking for is the economical sense when buying car especially with the high price of fuels today. so designs and looks may have to take a back seat when choosing the car to purchase.

even if you don’t agree, please use your arguments wisely and act matured. don’t create an enviroment that is hostile to others.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:32 pm

correction… beautiful… not beautyful… typo.. :D
    agree… you are entitled for your on opinion <<< should read… you are entitled to your own opinion… again typo… :D

• szw (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:50 pm

how sad m’sians still don’t appreciate how good a savvy is, sad sad…

• chap_de_x (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 8:55 pm

people now days seek for small 2nd car for everyday usage since the petrol hike…hide their big car for weekend use only..proton just take the opportunity’s to gain some sales on savvy… if u search some forum u can find that savvy sales rite now is increasing…the 2007 model is finished months ago…for me savvy is the best from it class…it beat viva, suria, forza,and others in term of fuel consumption and it was a fun car to drive…even beat myvi in many aspect…for me it was a good move by proton…at least wut they offering is best for first car buyer…to basher…bash wut you want coz for savvy owner majority of them are proud owning it…

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:01 pm

a car with great technology, but not all that desirable. at least not my cup of tea. ppl r realistic these days. everything must be practical, cheap and BEAUTIFUL lol.

• michishige (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:03 pm

ahhh..
    now let me give you a review of the savvy. since it has been in my family for more than 2 years already:

pros
    -this car handles like go-kart.. my brother tapau a 3-series on the mountain roads in cameron highland.. it feels good
    -AMT has better fuel consumption than AT

cons
    -maintenance is CRAZY due to lots of ‘made in france’ spareparts
    -AMT is not smooth.

i am strongly against those who are considering it for their first car. for college student you are better off with a perodua – due to cheaper maintenance.

so, last word – buy a savvy if you want a sharp handling go kart with aircon – below rm40k.
    my sister’s swift handles just like the savvy, except the swift has a more comfortable suspension setup – but it costs twice.
    and… buy a myvi (to JULIANLEE2) if you are considering a more wallet-friendly running cost and low maintenance car. but the handling is not on par with the savvy.

just my humble opinion. guys stop giving comment like the british or american. they are more extrovert and outspoken. we, malaysians, mostly are not like that. these baseless comments will just make the atmosphere of the blog like the parliament (lol)

• peYno (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:20 pm

JULIANLEE just another typical malaysian ah beng japanese wannabe…

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:32 pm

ceh…jgn kutuk2..
    yg puji myvi tu pernah drive savvy ke?
    if u have had bad experience wif savvy, pls care to share wif us
    the problem & solution u’ve taken to overcome the it.

every1 has the right to express his/her feeling, but
    say it wif manner. if u don’t like some1 bashes u, just convey the idea in
    a neutral tone. kutuk2 is no good, comment is otherwise.

hm..after the MPV, will there be a new savvy? :guess:

• michishige (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:44 pm

@farghmee

“hm..after the MPV, will there be a new savvy? :guess:”

i dont think so.. proton had a hard time competing with the likes from perodua. Saga was the best alternative because it got a big boot. and it’s a sedan~!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:44 pm

@JULIANLEE2

he is an immature kid.
    Whatever we say he doesn’t listen.

For some, savvy looks pretty cute to them.

• hazremi (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 9:49 pm

michishige said,

August 1, 2008 @ 9:03 pm

ahhh..
    now let me give you a review of the savvy. since it has been in my family for more than 2 years already:

pros
    -this car handles like go-kart.. my brother tapau a 3-series on the mountain roads in cameron highland.. it feels good
    -AMT has better fuel consumption than AT

cons
    -maintenance is CRAZY due to lots of ‘made in france’ spareparts
    -AMT is not smooth.

i am strongly against those who are considering it for their first car. for college student you are better off with a perodua – due to cheaper maintenance.

so, last word – buy a savvy if you want a sharp handling go kart with aircon – below rm40k.
    my sister’s swift handles just like the savvy, except the swift has a more comfortable suspension setup – but it costs twice.
    and… buy a myvi (to JULIANLEE2) if you are considering a more wallet-friendly running cost and low maintenance car. but the handling is not on par with the savvy.

just my humble opinion. guys stop giving comment like the british or american. they are more extrovert and outspoken. we, malaysians, mostly are not like that. these baseless comments will just make the atmosphere of the blog like the parliament (lol)
    However I tend to agree with your point that the maintenance is expensive coz I have been using the car for more than 1year and a half and my maintenance is very little. I just did the normal maintenance for every 10k KM, and it cost less than RM200.So, I’m unsure why did you say the maintenance is high when I spent very little in maintaining the car so far?Care to share?
    Thanks

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:00 pm

Savvy is better in terms of handling compare to myvi but lose points for its exterior design.

• elpaciko (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:10 pm

The problem here is, there is lot of immature schoolchildren posting comment.

They still have this “i want to buy a porsche when i grow up” mentality. They still dont understand real life hardship.

They think buying a car is as easy as buying that poster they slap on their bedroom wall.Thats why they quickly diss out at all ugly but cheap car in the market.

Im sure those who buy a savvy probably would prefer a porsche or lambo if they have the money. but they simply dont have that kind of money.

• peYno (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:18 pm

i’m sure those who buy a myvi probably would prefer a JDM car if they have the money… besides Japanese wannabe.. prrrfthhh

• ob8 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:19 pm

especialy the butt. very outdated and not pretty at all.

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:21 pm

another piece of shit from protong……

sorry guys,to all the so called “protong die hard fans” out there— GET A LIFE

protong SuCkS !!

• peYno (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:25 pm

3rd world class taste said… savvy butt’s ugly…
    1st class ppl said.. myvi’s butt ugly

• Max88 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:27 pm

Raptorclans said:
    “The Juara was a well-engineered car, but the looks didn’t go well with the locals.”
    > Proton should learn earlier from their failure of Citroen AX-based Tiara. It was a huge sales for Citroen but a bomb for Proton here.
    Also, Mitsu Townbox maybe a hit for Japs but Juara was not entirely embraced here.
    So in the end, Proton can only blame themselves for selling one of the world’s most hated car in history(Tiara, Juara), right after Fiat Multipla aka ‘The Platipus’.
    The bottom line is: Never turn your customer into a clown.

Raptorclans said:
    “PS: Proud Juara Owner… and I rather like the step windows, it adds character to the lil car ;p”
    > Either you are former employee of Royal London Circus or ice-cream vendor using that fugly Juara. Pick one only.

p/s. For the record, there was an enquiry by MPs about the failure of Proton Juara in Dewan Rakyat and how much loss incurred by Proton (financially and aesthetically). Until now, no reply was given. Maybe the truth was so fugly that the MPs was briefed by ‘written reply’ basis only, fear of public outrage?

• michishige (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:33 pm

@hazremi

“I just did the normal maintenance for every 10k KM, and it cost less than RM200.So, I’m unsure why did you say the maintenance is high when I spent very little in maintaining the car so far?Care to share?
    Thanks”

yes. maybe it differs. and probably you are a very careful driver.
    service-wise is not really that expensive, but wait till the parts break down, and when you need to change them – its not cheap.

take for example, the bulb of the savvy uses H7 (if i’m not mistaken), its normal for european cars. it cost rm60 a piece. compared to normal H4 bulbs that japanese cars use, which cost so much cheaper (due to high availability)

last month the savvy’s speedometer went off, the ppl from proton service told that the ‘sensor’ was short-circuit. it cost rm100+ because it was brought from france.

this afternoon my brother went to change the timing belt because you need to change it after 60-70k mileage. and it costs rm400 (waja only costs rm180).

if you are using AMT, please use ELF transmission oil. dont use the one from proton. ELF works better with AMT – smoother shiftings and i believe it will prolong your the box’s life

• peYno (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 10:38 pm

i saw a modified savvy with angel eyes. headlight.. very kewl indeed

• gey2718 (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:22 pm

ok lah, fair comment is here!
    the deal is very attractive, worth it as u have worry free for 2 more yrs and have 1k petrol free (hope no T&C apply).
    for the body kit and stickers, keep it if u like, tear down if u don’t like
    nice or not sometimes is truely individual….
    for me, savvy front design not tat bad, but rear until now still try to accept it, somehow looks weird, especially the center exhaust pipe!!
    don’t be surprise, u can spot savvy quite often on the street of australia and UK….

• ignas (Member) on Aug 01, 2008 at 11:58 pm

the tail light, some said it looks like eyes of owl, others said it looks like a mini version of waja’s front, i’ll say the ‘wau’ shape tail light is lame. Cawabunga! teenage mutant ninja turtle car.

• xtrovert (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 12:57 am

in a spirit of freedom of speech I say, JULIANLEE suck!! try succumb that in your face.. that is how hard people could tolerate your comment even though it do has some points, bashing were never in our blood of “berbudi bahasa”.. try comment with sense of respect, people read comment with hope of more detail input by crowd source of legible opinion..

I agree with michishige opinion, though the bulb could come in a better price if u know where to find.

The “Parts” of savvy is as expensive as any European car,in which come the reliability. But take note that the body whose wrap across the engine is still Asian, so the body part should be cheaper and the reliability is emm.. so so..

well, what produa.. my wife viva had almost countless time being sent back to the dealer.. faulty power window etc.. the last time the engine shake like a washing machine. It is not like other car are flawless, but for being a malaysian.. everything is literally wrong about Proton..

My conclusion is, a car has it own family DNA that it inherit. that is if it is Japanese/Asian, the part come cheaper but the reliability is somewhat not as good as the European car so do the handling, That is why people still pays third the price of a Beemer or Merc rather than a Toyoda or Honda.. In Savvy case it has both, and I begin to think the AMT “jerk” at low gear has something to do with being French.. :p

“merci”

BTW:I have both savvy(PHC) and viva(PHH) in my garage, being just themselves :)

• arch747 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 1:08 am

Julianlee,
    I wish somebody could say the same thing to your mama. :-P
    an hey, everybody is entitled for their opinion right…?

• kahing (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 1:12 am

I have a Myvi, a Savvy, a Perdana, a Wira, a Kancil and an Accord. But the entire family always ‘berebut’ wanna drive either the Savvy and the Myvi. Both these Vs are very fun to drive. Here’s my experience ;

Myvi : Auto is seriously not economical. Manual is alot more responsive and economical. The auto is even thirstier then my Wira and the figures ALMOST caught up with the Perdana, IMAGINE THAT guys ?. Handling wise, well, minor turns and bends will do no harm. But turn abit more violently will get the car to take a major side dip, felt as if it’s gonna tip over on one side. HATE the slow change of gears, and the low rev doesn’t really get the car moving unless you press it beyond 2000, so it’s not at all responsive. But one can still stretch it’s mileage if you don’t mind other ‘typical’ M’sian drivers start honking because you’re being another crawler ? Haha. Buy comfort wise, I’d say the Myvi scores alot of points. Spacious, loads of head and leg rooms. Even the tail-less boot can store a woofer and some small luggages.

Savvy : AMT is fun to drive, for those who can’t afford and Alfa Selespeed, this feels almost the equivalent. It’s DEFINITELY easier on the pockets compared to Myvi Auto. Yeah, servicing is indeed a lot costlier since it’s a French Malaysian Car. Notice how funny that sounds ? Japanese ‘knock offs’ might get some people to call me and alot others a wannabe, but at least their spares and parts are cheaper than the Francais. Savvy handles both the straights and winds better. Could be the suspension is stiffer ? But all my cars are upgraded to low profile tyres, so it all feels quite the same in the end. A slight change of surface will give you that bumpy feeling.

But my whole family is PRO-Malaysian Car. That’s all.

The Accord belongs to my dad and only he could afford it’s thrist. LoL

• hypermount (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 1:25 am

There’s so much misinformation..

Since when normal H7 bulbs cost so much? unless you buy a better model one..

Normal H7 Halogen bulbs per piece cost from RM16 ( cheap nippon junks like michiba) to RM20++ for better quality one like Bosch, Osram. It cost RM100 for quality white halogen bulbs from Osram etc.

And yes to some people, Viva and Myvi’s backside are hell ugly like fat lady ass trying to impress with short skirts.. ugly japs can’t design shit..viva looks like ugly mini avanza. Funny when people say viva is pretty. Viva quality sux..door shuts like real tin milos…myvi R&H sux…

And what’s so special about LED tailights… angel eyes CFFL rings looks hell much better on savvy’s easy to customise front headlights.

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:16 am

Savvy is different!

those with mak-cik kampung mind ,critic without sense are basically fill with Nasi lemak braincells! Or shall i say nasi lemak people!…Ikut trend n gang only ,not by being speculative wit facts n reality.

Is just sad having those kinda people where they will never have the best out of them.

Savvy i shall say one of the best front looking car with that sharp looks! cutting edge design despite the back seem weird but later it became a signature which eventually fit the car.

Unlike Myvi seems to be an Ultraman car especailly in red! and butt just plain lame with ah beng typical looks. No originality character feel to it! “its like i wanna be just nice ” n afraid to be different.!

• weewitt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:44 am

the RED one r quite cooL!

• zerachiel1986 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 8:17 am

what a pity on protong junks…even the terengganu govt doesnt want to buy protongs…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 8:37 am

jeremy clarkson is the biggest dumb*ss. when the savvy first came out, he called it the ugliest car in the world.. blah blah blah.. but in a 2007(or 2006, i cant remember) episode, there was a comparison of cars in the market and segment, and he said, how can you ignore the savvy, and put it in the best buy category.. so go figure people..

as for those of you unsure of the “AMT “jerk”” phemenon, its not a savvy trait. its a trait of those gearboxes. all cars with those gearboxes “jerk”. including alfas, and even the ferrari, maserati(same gearbox as ferrari), bmw SMG…etc. there is a way of driving that stops the jerking, basically treat it like a manual. lift off before changing gear, and when in auto mode, accelerate to the point where you know its going to change gear, lift off throttle just before, and it will change with no jerking.

try it, and you will no longer suffer any jerking at all with an AMT style equipped gearbox car. in short, dont change gear with your foot on the throttle

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 9:49 am

is it true that the fuel rating for the savvy is 18km/liter? if thats true, its about 42MPG.thats incredible. here in US people are shouting about civic having a great fuel economy rating (~35mpg highway and city combined).
    very nice!

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:01 am

dear ideoteque,

It was recorded that Savvy had achieved 23km/liter (4.2liter/km) way back in 2006..
    that would translate to 54mpg.

but then it might not recognized internationally..

you could google them out. search for “Savvy fuel economy record”

rt

• rt (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:05 am

sorry,
    23km/liter = 4.2 liter per 100km

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:23 am

savvy? its rubbish compared to the hyundai i10

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:29 am

To those saying middle exhaust ugly, I’d like to hear you’d say the same thing abt Mini.

Abt step-up door, I read from motortrader saying the designer was inspired by F22 raptop. Dare anyone say a fighter jet-influence on Lamborghini Reventon makes it ugly? So what’s with the bias?

Anyway, proton owners shud b proud today, they’re now seen as ppl who are rich enuf to maintain them!! Even merc’s maintenance is cheaper than proton’s . Heck, i shud pester my dad to change his waja to c-class cuz maintenance is cheap n 2nd hand value is high mah[/sarcasm]

• cyberlipas (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 2:08 pm

JULIANLEE2 said,

August 2, 2008 @ 11:23 am

savvy? its rubbish compared to the hyundai i10

then,
    JULIANLEE2? his rubbish compared to all Malaysians…
    (an hey, everybody is entitled for their opinion right…?)

• blowfish_hellscream (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 2:20 pm

JulianLee2 is like seeking attention and i think his blog is paultan.org wannabe…
    but he go copy paste other content and put it in his blog.

…. prrrfthhh

• arip scania (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 2:55 pm

can a driver of 1.75m fit in savvy well?? im thinking of having savvy next yr….

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 3:16 pm

Hey Julianlee.

You reap what you sow man.

You are a mindless simpleton
    You have nothing to contribute to life
    Your website sux coz its everybody’s thoughts and not yours.
    Why don’t you just die and give other people more worthy to have your share of oxygen.

The Savvy is currently the only car with more continental input than any of Proton’s car at the moment. I like it. I will buy it if somebody from Proton can tell me if I can cram a Clio Renaultsport 127 engine in it.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:06 pm

why not just get a renault clio sport? protons lotus handling is only built for low powered engines.

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 5:19 pm

im no julianlee fan. but he is right about something. savvy is a POS car that doesnt help a company thats in the shits.

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 6:45 pm

thanks for the response rt. wow, why arent people excited about this? 54mpg?? toyota prius hybrid has 47mpg. savvy is better than the hybrid in the sense of fuel economy? unbelievable. my sister is trading our old proton saga with a savvy in a promotion. i guess thats going to be my future car when i get back to msia. ha ha

• Auto_crat (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 7:43 pm

Quite a number of us bashed Julianlee2. He/she is like a tick in this blog. Let see what car he/she is driving now. Julianlee2 pls respond.

• nmh (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 9:00 pm

ive driven various hyundai models….and savvy, to be honest savvy rocks

• nmh (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 9:03 pm

………and if youre saying savvy is rubbish and at the same time claim hyundai is good, i guess youre aunty/makcik who knows nothing bout car…maybe little knowledge…car brand

• chap_de_x (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 10:49 pm

just want to add something…the white and red savvy is so cun… just admit it savvy is the best in its class

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:29 pm

Topgunthang may be made irrelevant by the fact that he knows nothing about the history of Lotus in F1. Nor does he know about the iconic Caterham which comes with a version that has more power to weight ratio than a Veyron. He is also oblivious to the exitence of the Exige S.

How about a 280ps 3.5V6 engined with a kerb weight of 1350kg? That’s the Evora.

LG did the design of the Savvy though. Wasn’t Lotus. Even Koreans let the Europeans do their styling. Saw the Pininfarina sticker on a Matrix?

• KF (Member) on Aug 02, 2008 at 11:32 pm

The all white coloured Savvy looks very nice indeed.

Been driving a Savvy since August 05 clocking up 90000kms already and here is my honest opinion of the Savvy.

Maintenance wise, yes it’s more expensive compared to a Kelisa. I guess it boils down to economies of scale. There are more parts for the Kelisa compared to the Savvy. An OEM timing belt kit for the Savvy is RM380+ and to some of you it may seem way expensive and to me having previously owned a Iswara 1.3 , yes it is indeed expensive.

But lately a lot of OEM parts have cropped up and it’s much cheaper. Oil filter used to cost RM40, now costs only RM16. Air filter used to cost RM118 – not cost only RM50. BTW I use washable airfilter for the Savvy costing RM150 – good bargain in my opinion. Not sure about yours.

Rattling noises – plenty after 3 years of ownership but then so was my Iswara. I guess it’s the hallmark of a Proton. I always joked with my friends about owning a proton. If your Proton doesn’t emit annoying noises then there’s something wrong with it. :p

But overall the driving the Savvy is oh so much more engaging and fun compared to my Iswara. I’ve driven the Kelisa and Atoz and seriously though both are economical to drive and maintain – it lacks driving excitement. Yes I may sound corny to some of you but the thing is – if some of you haven’t driven the Savvy – you are missing the drive of your life. I mean at RM40000 – where on earth you could buy a new car with good handling.

If you want get from Point A to Point B car – by all means get the Kelisa or Myvi. But if you want to get from Point A to point B with some zip zagging then the Savvy is for you.

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:05 am

Looks like Paul has some cleaning up to do, lol.

arip scania said,

August 2, 2008 @ 2:55 pm

can a driver of 1.75m fit in savvy well?? im thinking of having savvy next yr….
    ———————————————————

I think you can. I am 1.80m and quite big sized and test-drove my friends Savvy manual and I felt the cockpit was quite a good fit for me. The Savvy is fun to drive although I feel that the engine should be bigger to make it go faster. Throughly enjoyed driving the Savvy even though it was for a short while.

Btw, i like the 2nd white car with the KL view design. Quite cool actually and I wouldn’t mind having it…unless somebody else has the same design :p

I’m wondering tho, since for engine transplants people usually say that it needs to be from the same company for a good fit then is replacing the 1.2L engine with a bigger version Renault engine possible? Or will the engine bay just not fit?

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 1:18 pm

so much success in the past but nobody wants to buy. except proton.

im aware of all those vehicles and thier past success. but i think most consumers dont go for thier products. they are just there if another company wants a cheap good tuning for thier cars. instead of wasting thier own engineers time and money on it.

wats the point of engineering a savvy to handle that much power when you dont need to. epscially this car is on the extreme budget scale and almost 99.99% of the time the car will be fitted with an engine that wont produce more than 120ps. just because fiat owns ferrari doesnt mean a fiat would handle like a ferrari.

• toritori (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:18 pm

Unbelievable, hehe almost 3 years Savvy still catches so much arguements even a simple promotion like this. I have chose the right car, I like to power, I like the window design, I like the drive and I specially like the low fuel consumption.

“We are a clown because we drive a Savvy. It is a stupid car because of window design and doesn’t have a LEDs tailight”

Try tell the petrol kiosk attendent that your car is not a driven by a clown and your car design is not stupid, see whether they will give you a discount when refuelling :p

At least most of us Savvy owner out there won’t feel that much pinch in the pocket when refuelling…

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:43 pm

chap_de_x: yeah man dat’s true… fuel economy is rule of the day now. dat’s why ppl can say wat they want bout our family’s juara, but it’s really economical and sips fuel heehee

• hypermount (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:09 am

KF,the OEM filter from proton cost 12.27, a standardised price….and you can use any local brand filters like Filton, OSK, NCP etc from RM5 only nia…air filter should be cheap also… the timing belt alone without the tensioner bearing, oil seals is RM212, and it should last long and durable…of course you can’t compare the parts with cheap saga iswara parts like RM60 water pump which is prone to leaking. many people took out the 60k km rated savvy made in france timing belt and found it still in ok condition even before reaching 100 k km mark.

This car has served me well for more than 70 000 km in less than 3 years, y.’t ask for more alread

• hypermount (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:30 am

and yea unfair to say all Proton cars have ratting noise..of all 3 protons i’ve driven, my savvy, >10 year old wira with 4G15 and a 4 year old gen.2 none emit rattling noise.

• cyrixMX (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:20 am

haha .. those who hate Savvys must be some owner of the other manufacturer’s con job .. RM0.30 per km on a 1.3L car HAHAHAHA

anyway, based on uncle style driving, I can get 18-19km/L or RM0.14-RM0.15 per km. beat that vivi owners :p

• xtrovert (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:55 pm

guys, visit http://julian-lee.blogspot.com and look at the chat box;

“Paul Tan: Julian-Lee you better get the hell out of my blog if you’re going to keep posting crap like what you do.”

is this is you making the shout Paul? well if it is, I don’t blame you. She deserve those, and thanks for representing my thoughts.

Paul Tan says: it’s not me… someone impersonating.

• toritori (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:45 pm

hahaha yes to be exact it is 1149 L not even close to 1.2L for Savvy car. With that kind of small c.c car, low fuel consumption, stable, stonger body (it weights about 1 Ton) and yet enough headroom to overtake much bigger c.c car… I don’t know why so many still whinning about it.

It is the whole car package that counts, perhaps there are some still have ill feelings about the manufacturer because after 3 years, Savvy still not proven to be a “lemon”

Try to let go and enjoy your ride

• adamccl (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:10 am

The way you criticise your own locally made vehicle is only rubbing salt to wound of people criticising/talking something negative about your country, Malaysia. I’ll give you the statement that the US has labelled us as Malaysians to think before you start criticising again: “ALL MALAYSIANS LIVE ON TREES AND ARE VERY UNCIVILISED!” If you’re already offended by this statement, then stop criticising on your own home-made products and help improve…

• king (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 12:46 am

JulianLee2, Go screw yourself!

Go back to your stupid myvi club forum where you belong!

• king (Member) on Aug 20, 2008 at 1:02 am

Auto_crat said,
    August 2, 2008 @ 7:43 pm

Quite a number of us bashed Julianlee2. He/she is like a tick in this blog. Let see what car he/she is driving now. Julianlee2 pls respond.

___

julianLee is just a kutu riding on a dog. how to drive a car?

• Savvy Owner on Sep 08, 2009 at 11:32 pm

I would never suggest anyone to go for this car!! I own a proton savvy AMT and trust me the moment warranty finishes.. the prblm for this car starts.. I have to reapir something every two months for this car. and now I'm tired of it!! its not the design but I thought this car can save my money trough little petrol!! but how would I know that the Cheaters Proton ppl would cheat peeople by making all the car spec so expensive.. I'm a moderate person who has just started working and I cant affort it! Tired of they way Proton cheating tricks!!

• xtend2damax on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Savvy owner, actually the spare parts is not very expensive! Proton markup gila-gila! If you were to buy outside, its usually about 30-50% cheaper.

E.g Mass Air Flow sensor: Proton=RM1080, Outside=RM480

Electric Pump: Proton=RM2700, Outside=RM1.7k

And with regards to the AMT problem, it will not cost you RM15k to fix it! Thats absolute madness! The AMT consist of electric pump, robotic arm & bom. The price of all 3 (usually not all 3 will be damaged) is around RM4k.

The fuel consumption is also really low, even lower the Kelisa! The only problem is Proton (and their fcked up service center). My advice is send it to a renault specialist and source for the parts yourself. If you do that, the maintenance cost is similar to that of a kelisa.