Rendered Speculation: Proton Savvy Crossover

CrossSavvy

In a world where Proton has finally beefed up its export numbers to a respectable amount, the national car company would be reacting to international trends to boost sales.

This would most likely lead to “crossover” versions of its hatchbacks in the tune of the Volkswagen CrossPolo, Fiat Panda Cross and the 4X4-styled version of the Suzuki SX4 hatch. In such a world, we would have a Savvy hatchback (facelifted with Saga design cues by Theophilus Chin), with an optional offroad-style bodykit!

It’s fairly simple to do, just some add-ons with the body styling and a raised ride height. Sheet metal would remain the same as the regular car. Such a car could be popular in East Malaysia as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mrbola2 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 3:04 am

WOW first!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    savvy crossover good theme but will proton sell it? maybe not
    by looking at the pic i think the car is the great looks for a savvy and horrible looks for a saga
    peace out…..

• gogsard (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 3:20 am

The pics from Theophilus Chin looks good. But reality check, Proton ? I have doubts …

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 3:29 am

Theophilus Chin, you are seriously good. I would personally see to it – if you like – should you want to present your design to Proton.

Brilliant idea. Great job. I’m proud of you. We are proud of you.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:18 am

I always think, we have all the talents available for grab in all over the streets and kampung, why would proton still came out with such and such design.

Just change the “toilet bowl” hood will boost savvy sales.

• abtm (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:45 am

what we need is a savvy with the saga’s front end, cramp in a 1.6 CPS engine with 5 sp manual (does it fit in???) and some beefedup Lotus tuned suspension to turn it to a Savvy hothatch. Some sort of Corsa SRi or 106 GTi entry light hothatchback. Promise u it’ll be popular worldwide

• abtm (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:47 am

oh and forget- nice work Mr Chin

• elpaciko (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:01 am

they shouldnt make the savvy in the first place. They should make 5door satria.

very good looking saga-ised savvy though. thumbs up for t.c.

• bugbear (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:03 am

man~ i luv d savvy’s new look…

• Wilson Ho (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:12 am

VERY NICE!!!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:42 am

a pointless exercise

• Roti Naan (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 9:57 am

Nice rendering.

to put into production, I seriously wouldn’t think its a good idea for proton now

• nonadoes (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:03 am

wow..nice job Theophilus Chin.
    face lift the savvy front as the design.. hmm..but savvy got dual front light better for angel eye..hmmm..

but to do the crossover, i think they should increase the size of savvy. maybe to the size of kembara maybe? or VW golf? hahahahahaha

• aizat (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:15 am

the red one surely looks like the current cr-v…..

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:16 am

they should do this long time ago. And why did they put in the Neo with a sedan look alike car? I have always waiting for that change.
    Putting a saga front to a savvy body isn’t that bad as well. But that savvy size should be bigger instead.

• theanswer (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:19 am

this Theophilus Chin guy…yeah he should work with proton.This is the nicest savvy facelift ive ever seen. no more toilet bowl as a bonnet.

• rt (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:22 am

It seems that we have this love-hate feeling towards Proton.
    Each time Paul puts in articles about Proton, we would see quite a number of comments. Be it negative or positive.
    Look at article on other makes. Most of them could only gather less than 10 comments.

BTW, Nice rendering..
    keep them coming T.C.

RT

• rt (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 10:25 am

As much as I want TC to work at Proton, I think the guys in Proton could also come out with brilliant designs.
    You could see some of their sketches during the technology week.
    Probably its the management’s decision that are tasteless.

RT.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 12:16 pm

no enkei, no momo, no brembo nor recardo. this is what i call the actual design and concept for a car! fabulous work there.

• haroldz (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 1:24 pm

change it rear
    jack up the suspension

hm………….

• rcopt2000 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 1:38 pm

totaly not nice like cartoon mini car please update lah proton

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 2:06 pm

Theo nice job with the renders.
    But i would like to see slight changes to the saga design cues. :)

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 2:21 pm

i think you should present your designs to toyota or vw. no need to waste time with proton. they are a shit company. they are too proud to accept input. proud of what i do not know.

• xg9 (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 2:26 pm

everyday i come to here, hoping to read some JULIANLEE’s comments… his comment is always interesting..lol.. dont get me wrong, everything paul writes here is interesting. but JULIANLEE’s comments make it more interesting.. lol.. so since he hasnt been here for a long time, im just gonna comment on behalf of him… so here goes..

so ugly! no one wants to buy.. better buy evo

:-|

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 3:04 pm

theo, nice job, but i think its better than u removed the step down windows. it looks nice as a hot-hatch, looks like a hyundai getz on tall wheels. i still think its better as a hatch with an updated face. i think u should do that theo, use the savvy and use the saga front and create a new savvy or savvy 2!

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 6:25 pm

You know, you should work in Proton with those skills. Looks better than any Perodua offerings. Looks like the nice old Rav4 or Kia sportage.

• ignas (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 6:28 pm

i do believe proton has good designers that came out with many great concepts and ideas. But in the end, those big shots in proton who approved it are most probably very single sided and biased, wanting the designs according to their ‘taste’ and then to be ruined further by cost reduction.

• Maddy-Kun (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 7:08 pm

nice job theo..
    but. i wonder what will people comments. i’ve followed this forum from few years back. when proton change the front. people say cut and paste, do a face lift, they would say come on? try to design something new.
    heheh theo ur work is still fantastic.
    do anyone know about HOLDEN’s car they rebadge and improve cars like NAZA and their collection is damn good. but their improved cars seems to use the same method as theo’s rendering and it looks better than the original one.

• rajtheboss (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 7:34 pm

Very nice design Chin, you should work with Proton. Proton takes atleast 5 yrs to design and produce these cars !!!!

• whiteeye (Member) on Aug 09, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Another mix and match, i know what the artist try to do but, dont u think this a bit wrong is a good effort but like rojak campur, if Proton keep going like this what will be done by Jeremy by the coming new season of top gear another tragedy like Kelisa? What i’, try to say come out with your own concept and design vice, many car manafacture from all over the world they have their own uniqueness and not copying 100%.

• rt (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 8:22 am

LOL xg9.

Probably JULIANLEE had changed his nick…
    Too bad..
    such interesting comments.

• kepiting (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 12:13 pm

Nice job Theo.
    It would be nice to see the removal of step up window and some changes to the rear.
    Keep it up Theo.

• God.of.War (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 12:53 pm

Nicely done ! Congrats Proton ! I suggest Proton will make facelift every 3 years !

• DRC (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:24 pm

With wider tracks and 16″ rims with be nice; most importantly the QC.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 2:52 pm

rt said,

August 10, 2008 @ 8:22 am

LOL xg9.

Probably JULIANLEE had changed his nick…
    Too bad..
    such interesting comments.

FYI

“ALPINA BMW said,

August 9, 2008 @ 9:42 am

a pointless exercise”

^ thats him… Its so obvious :)

• mahs (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 5:28 pm

nice

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 7:45 pm

Proton has some brilliant designers mind you. No one can improve on a blank piece of paper. So I believe Chin is a great innovator of Proton’s existing designs.

But in any case, the designs here are great. Proton should up date the heavily criticised Savvy design by now.

(ps: why does some ppl put down the Savvy’s hood and call it a ‘toilet bowl’? Isn’t it a flap? Or a clamshell type? Similar to the MINI’s or Fiat Coupe’s hood?)

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 9:45 pm

RENDERED SPECULATION PROTON SAVVY CROSSOVER – read the topic guys… it is just a rendering by TC based on speculative assumption that Proton should build a crossover. geez… everything about Proton you will see comments that can be considered ridiculous.

P/S: I do suspect that ALPINA BMW is JulianLee. :D

• geejun2 (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 10:09 pm

wow… this looks really goood… why don’t theophilus chin get a job at proton and help the malaysian car maker to look better !!

• csv (Member) on Aug 10, 2008 at 11:36 pm

hey, it actually looks pretty good!

theophilus, you should seriously consider going into Proton Design and kick their current lame ass designer’s sketches with your beautiful photoshopping and rendering.

• raptorclans (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:14 am

Nice work as always, Mr Teophillus… that looks sweet. The crossover turned out surpisingly good. The wheel arches and all… The “Saga Red” grille is nice, but perhaps you could try making it black to see how different it’ll be. Sweet stuff. All you need is some mild changes to make the lights projector ones like the Savvy’s and it’s cool to go :D

Btw, JULIANLEE is still here, his nick is now ALPINA BMW. Can spot his child-like comments from a mile away… LOL~

• farghmee (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 9:51 am

about the crossover, i’m not sure.
    but what a proton salesman told me,
    after the launching of the mpv, proton will launch a few models.
    my predictions are replacements of savvy & waja.

btw, the photoshop things are very nice.
    i wish i knew how to do like above…

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Too cute to be true for this design… simply Cute

• hypermount (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 8:38 pm

Ignorant people will say it’s got a toilet bowl hood. Even a 3 year old kid still know how todifferentiate what is toilet bowl or not..

Keep the clamshell bonnet and the twin projector-like headlamps found on savvy..it’s what make savvy special.

White CCFL rings are so easy to install on roundish savvy headlamps..it’s looks hell great at night!!

• naz@proton (Member) on Aug 11, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Primary boy also know cut and paste, t.chin pls dont shit here . what a bankrupt idea. can someone tell me wat is so great…….. maybe all of u r blind. poor….. n shame…..i fill like to womit…

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:21 am

naz@proton said,
    August 11, 2008 @ 11:07 pm

Primary boy also know cut and paste, t.chin pls dont shit here . what a bankrupt idea. can someone tell me wat is so great…….. maybe all of u r blind. poor….. n shame…..i fill like to womit…

so you should have no problem doing it yourself then? let us see what you can make of the ‘cut & paste’ theory of yours?

or maybe you are just jealous of TC abilities? :D

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 11:23 am

like I said before… to many ridiculous comments… maybe that shows the real mentality of malaysian?

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Aug 12, 2008 at 4:57 pm

theo chin should open his own car company, the current proton designers are a joke

• fit5505 (Member) on Aug 21, 2008 at 6:09 pm

wow …. nice nice