Hyundai-Sime Darby: Sonata recall does not affect Malaysia

As we reported yesterday, the Hyundai Sonata is being recalled in the USA over a shaft joint in the steering column that could be not properly assembled. We also said that South Korean made cars aren’t affected (our cars are imported from there) and that there won’t be a similar recall in Malaysia. Now, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has confirmed that the recall does not affect Malaysia.

“The recent voluntary recall includes only the YF Sonata that is produced in Hyundai Motor Manufacturing Alabama, US. Hyundai Motor Company (HMC) confirmed that the YF Sonata produced in the Korea Asan plant and is not included in this recall,” the press release from HSDM read.

Mr. Dennis Ho, Managing Director of HSDM said in his statement that HSDM assures Malaysian car owners the quality of the cars it distributes and that Malaysian Hyundai car owners need not worry about the safety of their cars.

If you’re in the dark about what we’re talking about, read yesterday’s post here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• stephen on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:28 am

I found it very lucky? Malaysia always seem to be not affected by any recall by auto maker.

• wowwowwwww on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:45 am

seldom recall at where the brand origin too…american can’t build it right+made in china parts I guess….

• 3008_bought on Sep 28, 2010 at 2:16 pm

we always get the best cars from the world, better than Japan, US,UK, China.

We get the best car becos we pay the best money? LOL. or the dealer just wouldnt care less. hahahahahaha/

• fantausy on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:41 am

I wonder why when the world have recalled case, Malaysia always will not get affecting. Our spec is lower grade or very high grade? Why the car over US and Korea have different standard? I tot Korea and US car also left hand drive,right?

• Yoona on Sep 28, 2010 at 1:25 pm

US Sonata YF has the highest specs compare to Msia, Russia even Korea and its manufacture in Alabama US

• Banyakboleh on Sep 28, 2010 at 11:58 am

In bolehland……semua pun boleh, semua pun OK.

• putarbelit on Sep 28, 2010 at 12:56 pm

here every car good qualities no need recall…. semua boleh n ok… customer no complain maa…

• subhero on Sep 28, 2010 at 1:06 pm

i want to see this car live lah.. till now i dont see any boses use this car im malaysia especially KL.

• rexis on Sep 28, 2010 at 1:09 pm

What is defect when we not even affected by any natural disaster, pollution, and global warming? …

• coz american is too petty, fussy n problematic… love to complaint tis n tat… and malaysian pulak… big gun’s said boleh… m’sian pun said BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    when the accident is happen… blame the driver is speeding or drunk lor…
    car makers cont make huge profit… govern cont getting income…

• I think if it is a big problem Korea Hyundai should know better coz the sonata was launch there way ahead of anyone else. Anyway sonatas from USA are assembled there not from Korea.

• squawk on Sep 28, 2010 at 2:51 pm

If the recall also affected the home country i.e. Korea, and several major markets then I’d be worried. But if it’s just US… no worries.

• No recall for GM cars?

• JacKal on Sep 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm

The recall has to do with the steeering intermediate shaft not properly installed. So it has to do with the person assembling the car, not where it is from. It is not a component defect but an assembly process error which can be fatal if the shaft disconnects. I have mentioned before UMW Toyota had a recall on the exact same problem with the steering intermediate shaft improperly installed on the first batch of vios new model. About 1500 unit were affected. The didnt call it a recall, merely a Customer Satisfaction Campaign.

• shamazlan on Sep 29, 2010 at 7:57 pm

how do you know? u work at toyota? don’t bullshit here like u know everything

• Some how some where by any means possible… ppl just find ways to bash Toyota.. hahaha.. The Korean mix being already a shabby brand in Malaysia (Not to Thnx so much Citra and Ria) now will find it even harder to convince its customer on its car quality… but frankly… any cars that sell well in US now other than Ford/GM/Chrysler seem to be getting into quality problem.. doesn’t that seem just toooooooooooo wired.. I have been to both GM/Toyota plant in US and I don’t see any reason why GM is better in assy the vehicle than all the other brand in the world..

• Ah Fook on Sep 28, 2010 at 9:15 pm

We paid the highest car price in the world so we should be getting the best quality products lah.

Need not to worry bout the steeering issues, no problem wan!!

Only need to worry the re-sale value of the Sonata after 5 years.

• ah yat on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:02 pm

IT SEEMS LIKE MALAYSIA IS SAFE FROM ALL THE RECALLS: TOYOTA, HONDA, HYUNDAI…. LIKE WE DON’T HAVE TONADO, TAIPHOON, EARTHQUAKE, TSUNAMI… =GOD BLESSED COUNTRY

• wandering in boleh land country safely..

• Raymond buncit on Sep 30, 2010 at 2:20 am

Sorry of topic,

I dont know why sime darby hired singaporean as a MD, why no local talent aah? thier capable few thousand T.I.V per annum. What so great?
    Sonata & Tucson good respond but no car. U r failed, Balik negeri lah Denis.

• people around the world should import whatever car brand from malaysia..because the recall here is almost non existence..hence the best assembled model for that particular brand you can find around the world..