Proton Saga SE R3 Concept by reader Kamarul XY

A concept R3-kitted Proton Saga FL with yellow stripes on black paint was showcased at the Thai Motor Expo in the past, but there’s no news of it going into production anytime soon.

What we have here is a customized Saga SE R3 by reader Kamarul XY. He wanted an R3-ized Saga so much that he just went ahead to a fiber custom workshop in Sunway and specified a custom job combining the top half of the original Saga bumper and the bottom half of the Satria Neo R3 bumper.

As for the rest of the parts, it was obtained off the shelf – spoiler, rims, etc. The R3 effect was completed with R3 stickers and plaques, including the MME sticker that was on the R3 MME edition Waja and GEN2 cars.

Look after the jump for the full gallery of Kamarul’s Saga SE R3.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1963]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• bugger on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

nicely done body-kitted saga…
    looks more perfect if w/o the spoiler aka cloth hanger style..

• makoi on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm

so now, paultan will become like zth or hyper tune. lol.

time to find some ricer car to post here, and the imaginary Thefilos Chin Funny Concept car image

• Dani.Protons on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Wow…would have been perfect if the engine is 1.6.

• sagatron on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:06 pm

way tooooo hot………..

• Perhaps replace the spoiler with a lip spoiler….

• Look much better than the Saga FL!

• theanswer on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:22 pm

agree. saga fl looks a bit akward actually since they just change the front and rear lamp.(big front, smaller rear) lol. nway, nice n elegant mod.

• Kamarul XY on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:36 pm

Thanks.. ;)

• theanswer on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:01 pm

mind tell us the cost? especially the tires. and how big is the rim? do u use any lowered spring? tq.

• Kamarul XY on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Tyre (205/45/16), sport spring from ZerOne anf i add 1″ rubber at the both rear spring to get a nicer looks.

• Francis on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:41 am

I thought adding the rubber at the spring will result the car looks more higher? My car forced me to add the rubber because the tyre keep rubbing the fender for everytime i pass the speed-bump.

• focus tdci on Feb 15, 2011 at 10:55 am

credit goes to the man! smashing pimp of a ride! LOL, much as i dont like p1s. bro, engine tu ada tune2 sikit? enjin 1.3 dia memang no oopmh lah, sayang aje kalau ur car is all show no go.

• khairi on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm

A job very well done.. Simply perfect, can’t find even a single defect in term of looks. I wonder how much does the body kit cost? Is there any modification for the engine and piping system? What size is the rim? 16? 17?

This is what we call ‘produce something out of nothing’! Well done, once again!

• Kamarul XY on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Thanks bro. The rim is 16″.

• riderXDesign on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:21 pm

try asking at Proreka for a real R3 designed bodykit if u ave the money to spend :)

• Goniothalamus on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:32 pm

very genuine modification..

• sayang abang on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Bravo kamarul. Gaya memang ada but
    at the end of the day its still a lame Saga.
    Should have just saved all your blood ,sweat and tears
    and got yourself an Inspira instead .:)
    Eventhough you have to slog on a 9 year loan but
    at least you have Mitsu quality and not just stickers & add-ons !!
    Kanpai!!

• what is the problem?
      how do u know he has 9 yr loan? maybe he bought cash..
      never look down to others..this maybe his 2nd,3rd,4th or 5th car..who knows..

• Obviously you do not know the meaning of self satisfaction through creativity.

If we go by your logic, nobody should own any antique or vintage car because at the end of the day all those expensive vehicles are only junks to you.

• Ronaldo on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

totally agree with u. This is the truth and reality. Just that some ppl cannot accept it and continue to live beyond their fantasy.
      Just like those ppl who modified their wira or waja to look like a mitsu lancer (older model) Which is totally lame.

Aside to Kamarul XY , U did a good job there to make ur car look good. All credit to you.bro.

• Anonymous on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

No matter how proton modified. It still just a saga. any special??? luxury? comfortable

somemore the rim style also wanna copy from nissan gtr…

speechless.

• watever on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:59 pm

that is like saying, “no matter how fast your GT-R is around the nurburgring, at the end of the day, it is still a freaking Datsun”

• roughn3ck on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Yeah2.. no matter how fast your car is.. you still need to stop at the red traffic light, right? Butthead..

• gaman on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:54 pm

get a life dude..he’s not using your money to buy/modded his saga..

• Ahmad on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Paul,

How much the total damage done ?
    ^_^”

• I like it! It’s not too overdone like most other modified cars you see on the road.

The rear spoiler I also don’t like that much, but ok… ;)

Nice job Kamarul!

• Yes, nicely done. Boleh minta kerja dengan team R3.

• pelanggar lari on Feb 13, 2011 at 5:56 pm

it will look even nicer with saga fl.

• doubleV on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:00 pm

nicely done.. good job. Any performance upgrade ?

• ahhh how much nicer it would have been if it didn’t have so many blatantly sticked on r3 stickers everywhere… otherwise, the overall look and fitment really is very good…

• haris on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

thats 1 nice saga…very creative owner….
    *proton, make more like this….

• Ahim.B.M on Feb 13, 2011 at 6:06 pm

wow…nice! super duper nice!

• this is a LEVEL HEADED kind of exterior do.

congratulation.

• wow. lawa sport rim. Original dari R3 ke? Berapa harga?

• Kamarul XY on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Yup, original R3. The price ?! -> www.r3.proton.com

• Original R3 rims cost RM2300

• Francis on Feb 14, 2011 at 8:54 am

Can share more info on the rim? According to R3, that is light-weight rim, can share the weight on it?
        Those japan made light-weight weighted around 8KG-per rim without tyre.
        My current rim weight 16KG-per rim with tyre – SUPER HEAVY (take out and weight, hehe)
        If this R3 rim also weighted similar, worth to invest.

• Kamarul XY on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm

6.9kg per rim without tyre.

• Kamarul XY on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm

6.9kg per rim.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Feb 16, 2011 at 12:22 pm

nice..clean look…and not overly done….

its time to get a pair of high performance camshaft and install 1.6crankshaft on that saga…..tada then u got high compression 1.6 engine and more gruntier engine to match the look

• Kamarul XY on Feb 16, 2011 at 3:12 pm

How u read my mind ?!

• hmmmm….. better than those Impreza-ish ah beng style.

• llgriver on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:07 pm

very nice..and the most important for me,it looks like it just rolls out from factory.not accessories shop..good job!!!

• naqib on Feb 13, 2011 at 7:36 pm

very neat.. well done dude

• mystvearn on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Like the rear twin exhaust. This is a great example of a mod that is superb and not ah-beng

• kamarul xy, ,,,whats the material pu ,fibre, or frp.

• cool man on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:24 pm

looked very professional modification…bravo…

• rosdi on Feb 13, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Saga is a good car indeed (as long as you are not treating it like a performance/racing car). But why would anyone want an R3 Saga? If you want better performance get something else, get Inspira, Golf TSI, anything but Saga, a 1.3 engine can only do so much.

• gtmaniac on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:33 am

‘Anyone’ who wanted an R3 saga is someone who wanted something different from the others. And why not, if this ‘anyone’ got a good taste. And as far as the article goes, the owner didn’t mentioned he is really into increasing more power, the just tweaked the looks.

Agak2 la kalo nk compare pun.. Inspira, Golf TSI… etc. you are talking a different category (not to mention twice or thrice the price of the saga!) altogether. Heck, Golf TSI & Inspira are not even in the same category.

• xshiro on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:57 pm

got many ppl have transplanted to 1.6 campro / cps or mivec ck already yo…

• huhuh sakit mate tgk sebab smart n kemas gile ape pun kamarul nice tak kisah ape org kate tu kete ko hak ko tp aku jeles bro haha serius… smart n simple make ur car look diff hehehe… go proton saga blm

• REDtwincam on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

TERBAEK bro..
    proton saga BLM Terbaik ever made in malaysia…

next project.. HICAM!!!!

• YeS_No on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Aku bangga sebagai kawan ko kamarul & Lan…terbaik hasil korang nie, seriously..u are doing a history…salute bro.

• ramun on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Great job kamarul. pedulikan jer orang kata its still saga. memang saga pun. Things i really admire about the mod:
    1. ORIGINALITY. period
    2. perfect marriage with Satria bumper
    3. Simple, elegance & cool
    4 thumbs up bro (jari kaki sekali)

• waimak on Feb 13, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Saga is probably the best name for Proton. Saga could go farther than any other proton names I could think of. This saga looks great. I’m waiting for Saga to be at par with Vios and City. Rio is coming closer each day. So proton, hurry up!

• Aman Kurshiah on Feb 13, 2011 at 10:07 pm

veeerrrrryyyy nice n clean modification. that dude know how to implement the original idea by proton n lotus to saga blm.

• the rim looks very nice!

congrates! look so much oem rather than ah beng

• nicely done, kamarul, well done!
    whats the name of the fiber shop that done up the bumpers? tks

• how much does the rim cost? i want 1

• Ash Menon on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Kamarul, how much does the added weight affect the drive? I imagine if carbon fibre, can’t really notice the difference?

• sagaknght on Feb 13, 2011 at 11:59 pm

very nicely done ! congrats!
    looks like it comes out straight frm the factory, or oem one!
    it’s not overdone, just at the right places
    ok i prefer the evo type of spoiler behind but it’s just me
    again congrats, enjoy your car!

• Syeikh_Nasri on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:07 am

Wow…it definitely roll out…he he..R3 spirit…!!!

• Faisal on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:18 am

super nice!! cayalah bro!!

• nebula87 on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:43 am

i tot its a official launch R3 saga…it really surprise me..and can i hav this R3 bumper same wif u??? XD

• wajaR3 on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:17 am

bro kamarul tu rim r3 yg rm3k tu kn?

• Angst on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:56 am

freakin’ AWESOME. We need more tasteful n classy modders like u. Salute, bro!! ’nuff said.

• nazri on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:37 am

bro.. rm2999 inc tyres ke? your r3 rims so poison me.. hehe

• dangerous_boy on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:51 am

like original R3 bodypart.. awesome.. after this, many of Saga BLM’s owner will copy this trend..

• err…so does it mean anyone can just simply mod PROTON car and fit with any emblem, model or ‘special edition’ they like/claim in paultan.org? what is this?

• REDtwincam on Feb 15, 2011 at 2:14 am

i seen the owner of this car was said the Special Edition is the original model of his car and converted to R3.. is anythings wrong to said this is most ever PROTON SAGA SE R3?

• alf147 on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

not bad….overall are okay but if kamarul replace the spoiler and use lip instead..look nicer..but it is a matter of preference…lain org lain citarasa.

eventho after a mod,and it still saga, but the satisfaction is count…thumbs up

• Fluid on Feb 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

wannabe…

• dude07 on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:10 am

please appreciate what people have done, not only just condemned…guys if you have a good design propose it to Proton or be part of R&D team… :)

• dude07 on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:12 am

please appreciate what people have done, not only just condemned…guys if you have a good design propose it to Proton or be part of R&D team….. :)

• yeopmin on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:05 am

gud job!..masih mngekalkn wajah saga,xde convert ke model,tu yg tbaiknya..simple tp smart!

• Aritz on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:10 am

Nice job kamarul..

I will difintly propose some of saga owners to mod like urs…

• 99chan on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:29 am

with the standard of taste and level of expectation malaysians have toward cars. it is no wonder why car manufacturers and modifying house will always come up with badly produced cars because you all will buy something with some slap on stickers and cosmetics at a premium.

no point really to come up a car with fine build quality, proper ergonomics and the whole she bang. because malaysians only want fast looking cars.

• Kamal on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:38 pm

look fast but slow like snail

• fraz006 on Feb 15, 2011 at 12:43 am

hi rev campro. stock oredy 98hp for 1.3 ok what. gear ratio is damn short too. 1-3k rpm like kura2 but beyond that can go also. nice for climbing. anyway, i dont see any point why in the world campro is designed low torque low rpm

• learner on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:44 am

no much changes have been done to this saga SE other that replacing front bumper to R3 look-a-like bumper, spoiler and wheels. from side it just a saga SE. replacing the fake exhaust ‘hole’ to the real one look nice anyway but will it melted?

• Kamal on Feb 14, 2011 at 11:46 am

what 12 Overall Champion did Proton, Lotus or R3 achieve before?

• rallyfan00 on Feb 14, 2011 at 6:45 pm

Proton R3 are 2 time overall winner of the 12 hr millennium merdeka endurance race in 2005 and 2006. the no.12 is their competition number.

They are also the 2006 Malaysian Rally Champion in 1800cc class.

..and 2008 MME 12 hr race champion in the 1800cc class with a 1600cc satria neo.

• Firman on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Congrats bro! lagi mantop dari Saga FL…kecewa tengok Saga FL…weird design… U punya Saga memang menarik…kalau masok enjin CPS 1.6 lagi perfect….

• tiger on Feb 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

im really proud of u man.. ..

• Aminlife on Feb 14, 2011 at 1:24 pm

Nice..sukahati duit kamarul la.. apa yang “so jealousy” :)) Tak faham…

• lazyf on Feb 14, 2011 at 1:32 pm

PERFECT!!!

Nice job bro Kamarul…

• R3Baby on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:45 pm

hi guys..anyone know the price of this 16inch R3 rims?

i thought is only rm2100 the lastime i checked?

and the price up grow up to rm2999 dy? : (

• jolly_idiot on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Allegedly increase how many horsepower? Feel turbo like with R3 body fitted?

Btw, nice job. Just wonder does it justify the cost? No interior mod?

• R3Baby on Feb 14, 2011 at 2:53 pm

hi kamarul XY,can we know how much u buy this R3 rims without tyre?

thanks alot!

thumbs up for your ride ^^

• hexagon on Feb 14, 2011 at 3:57 pm

wow this is way better than the proton designers… hahahhaha epic failed!!!

• sranua on Feb 14, 2011 at 4:30 pm

In earlier post mr kamarul had already paste a website to R3..perhaps you could look at the earlier post.
    BTW, nice jobs on the modding, much better than Saga Impreza in term of simple and clean image. Bravo….
    Afterall, the beauty is to the eye of the beholder. So what looks justify for him may not be likened by some of us.

• Annoy-nimal on Feb 14, 2011 at 5:13 pm

So “rajin” aaa… Neatly done…

• ultimately, still a Proton..

• saki77 on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:39 pm

so?

• REDtwincam on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:02 pm

owners taste.. even still a proton..
        it is you even heard, Civic FD has Been Mod to BMW???
        Even FD Convert still a FD

• fraz006 on Feb 15, 2011 at 12:34 am

tahnyer, bunguk. of coz la saga jugak. ada ke die kate jadi lensejiti?

• Franco Baresi on Feb 14, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Dude I like d rims!!!I like em so much!!!

• Bro, try add wheel spacer to the rear wheel make the rear n front offset looks well aligned. Ive done it to my savvy and it improve its appearance lil bit

• Kamarul XY on Feb 15, 2011 at 11:46 am

Tyre will hit the fender badly.

Unless anyone want to sponsor me the High/Low Soft/Hard adjustable absorber, may email me at [email protected]

Other sponsorships are welcome too.. ;)

• adrian yap on Feb 14, 2011 at 10:38 pm

i have seen the SAGARU.looks better.

• Justice ~~ on Feb 15, 2011 at 6:01 am

Dear Paultan,

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000636002593&sk=info

This person was the 1st person made this a custom kit… and being Kamarul’s Inspiration to make same kit’s .. Now Kamarul’s get the name in Paultan.org? I was really shocked.. Is it fair to that person as the 1st person made this kit?

Wow… A nice Friendship here Kamarul . . . keep it up buddy ‘

by,
    Yakuza

• Kamarul XY on Feb 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Yes, Aznan did give me some good information and guidane on the bumper mods eventhough we haven’t meet. I personally thanked him and others who involve in this project, just right after the mods have done. We have a good friendship before and after this articles posted out. He’s okay and don’t mind about it. Plus, in the article didn’t say i’m the first who made it. I’m just sharing on overall style, not just the bumper itself. I aslo personally thanked him again on my facebook wall yesterday.

• waja2000 on Feb 15, 2011 at 9:46 am

Just come-out with Campro CFE + 2Airbag + ABS will be sell hotcake.
    sell below 60K will be acceptable.

• malaysian mentality? on Feb 15, 2011 at 10:44 am

eh, why put more money into a saga….. When u can save up to get the new persona.

• Fluid on Feb 16, 2011 at 9:27 am

Said it once and I’ll say it again, wannabe…

• Nice car. Good job.

Hopefully, Proton will work harder on New Saga to beat Ford Fiesta or KIA Rio and making it a well-known global car.

• Kamarul XY on Feb 17, 2011 at 8:13 am

The custom bumper cost is RM600 without the paint job.

• matkoboi on Feb 20, 2011 at 6:23 am

nice bumper….bagi la alamat kedai custom tu…ada pulus bole buat….

• Francis on Feb 20, 2011 at 11:15 am

Kamarul.. I think i saw your car (not sure you are the driver or not) over the MRR2 towards Connaught traffic light…I saw a white steel bar under your car..was that UR?

Wxx 2xxx ??? =P

We had a little “fast & furious” if you still remember.. hehehe

• Kamarul XY on Feb 20, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Yup, u spot me !!

Yeah, it’s UR bars.

I bawa slow je la. Kereta Proton mana laju kan?!

• isONE7 on Feb 24, 2011 at 10:56 pm

salam bro kamarul!

mmg gerek seh design kereta bro nie! kalo x keberatan, boleh tau lokasi bro bikin ini kereta x? tp sy just saga blm aje (granite grey). agak2 leh bikin mcm kereta bro x? mmmmm….ongkos bape ek? hehehehe…plez reply. tQ

• Kamarul XY on Feb 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Sila rujuk disini -> http://blmclub.proboards.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=photogallery&thread=4390

Bye.

• Kingas on Feb 25, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Nice mod…well done, by the way, where can i get your rims…

• Kamarul XY on Feb 26, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Please refer link attached on the comment above.

• hi Kamarul, this R3 bodykit really awesome,very nice!!!!
        i also want same like u,but i from penang ,ask so many shop,dun hav r3 body kit,kesian…..normal SE pun tak de,haizzzzz

• tattoo sleeve on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:28 pm

superb!!

• Zech Han Chong on Jun 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Need to ask if i wanna full set body kit,
    wat is the price???

• fendi&eta on Oct 15, 2012 at 1:16 am

hi dato k…bila nak racing dgn i?

• sharon jong on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Need to ask if i wanna full set body kit,
    what is the price???please reply as soon possible,Thanks for your kind attention .

• Mind telling us where to purchase the rim? What’s the offset and JJ like? Anyway, that’s a better looking car than stock, Good job :)