Tata keen to work with Proton, says DPM Muhyiddin

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who is on an official visit to India, has revealed that Indian carmaker Tata Motors has expressed interest to enter the Malaysian market. The maker of the world’s cheapest car plans to do this by working with national carmaker Proton.

“Mr Tata (Ratan Tata, chairman of Tata Group) is keen to work with Proton again. About seven or eight years ago there were some joint discussions to manufacture cars but nothing came out of it. Now our automotive policy is more liberal and there are new opportunities,” Muhyiddin said.

“It’s now up to the Proton management to study this proposal and whether a car like the Nano can be brought into Malaysia. Perhaps we can also come up with a kereta rakyat costing about RM20,000, modelled after the Nano,” the DPM suggested to Malaysian journalists in Mumbai.

“He felt there should be some synergy because they had been in the automotive industry for a long time. He can bring his technical team to discuss with Proton or Perodua,” added Muhyiddin, although we’re not sure if Perodua, which is part owned by Daihatsu and has its own compact car plans, will be interested in such a development.

A cheap Tata Nano based kereta rakyat, anyone?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cynical on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Kereta rakyat? Like we need more traffic jam. Geez..

• white4545 on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

did u mean We shouldnt give motorcyclist chance 2 drive car ??
      you are soooooooo selfish

• er…i prefer kriss/ex5/135LC/Demak better than nano

• pomen_gtr on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:52 am

i have 2 cars…..but i prefer going to work riding bike than stuck in traffic jam….less one car to make all of u driver frustrated….. :lol:

• try hit another kapchai even with 60kph..i afraid with 2 wheels easily u can die..

• if the treller hit u, u also can die easily even u inside a car. :D

• redboy on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

having a healthy and effective public transport systems helps everyone. the current and proposed are so lame.

Just set a public transport to connect major shop complexes, major offices building. Its simple as that.

• exJAVANESE on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:59 am

yupppp!!!!! exactly dude!!
          the main problem in Malaysia is weakness on our public transport though….
          i really love park n ride concept…..

Trust me, if we improve on this, it will solved all of the traffic jam prob…
          no need nano or smart or emas….it still not solve it 100%…tambah pening lagi ada laa…

for example, park your car at LRT station, then take LRT to Bukit Bintang or where never u wanna go, after that setup someone to open the bicycle rent business near LRT station….then people can use a bicycle around a town.. that what we call BRILLIANT…but Malaysian still can open their eyes…

• cynical on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:43 pm

You think people rides motorcycle because they couldn’t afford a car? In a kampung maybe. But in KL, people ride motorcycle so that they won’t get stuck in a jam. If people with low-income wants to drive a car because of the necessity of it, there’s a lot of second hand car which will cost a lot less than 20K.

• yamseng on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:22 pm

please a in touch with reality.. eventhou there are many motorcyclist who own a car or cars .. there are lots more who only able to afford motorcycle.

• Black Dog on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Huh? He means P Saga is not the kereta rakyat??? He forgot that’s what Mahathir said when he launched it dongkey years ago.

And Nano try to dump in malaysia bcos they can’t even sell in 3rd world India!

• anti-potong on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:26 pm

well said, totally agree with, we rakyat dun need rm20k car as 2nd car anytime can better than this NANO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• i will buy it if sold less than 20k.. just 2 go to market, rewang, masjid..at least x kene hujan..n safer than kapcai..pheww..

• sukasuki on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:58 pm

me too, ride honda cub c70 to KL coz i dont want to get stuck inside bloody hell jam in my volks beetle 1963. hahaha. lenguh kaki dan tangan.

• squawk on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:30 am

If that’s true, then I shouldn’t be seeing a man ferry his whole family on a kapchai. In Klang Valley.

• cynical on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:52 am

Attempt on humor failed. Please try again

• squawk on Mar 13, 2011 at 3:43 pm

I don’t find it humorous when a man has to put his wife and 2 kids with him on a kapchai. Do you?

• 2nd hand? i afraid they can buy but suffer 2 maintain..not all 2nd car good cond ..plus insurance for 20k car seems so high right now..

• hayden on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:07 pm

i naik honda ex5…tapi i simpan i punya bmw x6 kat rumah! xD jk.jk.

• my mum own a BMW X1 (not lying).. everytime she want to go ronda2, she asked “boy, come, go starbuck, ride your LC..”..
        i asked her, “u got X1, still want to go out with my LC eh? x malu ke naik moto je? at least we go with myvi laa”
        later she reply: ” avoid traffic jam la son.. ”

moral of the story: motorbike is better especially in place where traffic jam can blow your car to moon..

i think penang really need LRT.! i think in 5 years, the penang bridge will collapse. not asking, but its reality.. every evening got massive jam on the bridge, i dont think that the bridge can stand for long time..

• huiyoo on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:06 pm

if it based kereta rakyat it should not priced rm20k. should be priced only rm10k-rm15k if goverment want to help rakyat

• fuel cell phone on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:35 am

let see, imho, nowadays most rakyat who drive to work is because our public transports are inefficient or not conveniently available from their home areas.

somehow, if we have very efficient public transport, how would it affect the automotive industry? perhaps most rakyat will only buy cars to travel balik kampung or long distance.

• taboogen on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:32 pm

omg does this car comply with any safety regulations

• kodok on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:42 pm

very cut cost car… value for money who cannot but B or C segment car…
      be ready to topup more on your life insurance.. just in case.

• What about Viva EXB version?
        Izzit comply with any safety regulations?
        NCAP?
        5star ma..

• haha.. ini kalau kena langgar, mau mati terus ni.. hehe. Proton2, cuma pikir nak buat duit je…xtahulah..

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:45 pm

apa2 kereta pun kalau kena langgar pun boleh mati.. kereta kebal A1 US pun kalau kena langgar dengan peluru “kornet E” pun boleh meletup… cis aper punya comment la

• dartz on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

its not proton that has expressed interest, its the other side…huh

• Harris on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Proton already have Emas concept car..

• f1-fanatic on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:18 am

Tolong la baca articla tuh betul betul. Bukan Proton yang nak buat duit, Tata yang berminat nak kerjasama dengan Proton jual kereta deporang kat Msia.

• PakAbu on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:56 am

Did he just looked at the picture and didn’t really read the article?

Apparently there’s a Proton logo on the Nano in the picture. Probably that made people jumped into conclusion … ;-)

• vertigo on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:32 pm

very the LOL

• study the current tax structure first instead of studying ways to make the rakyat to use cheap cars…

• Trinity on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:17 pm

i agree. Instead of reducing the car price, they wan to introduce this. Sounds similar to the introduction to Ron95 chapter.

• Independence on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:34 pm

more accident n fatal rate

• redboy on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:18 pm

in Msia, accidental fatal is not responsibility of car manufacturer fault whether they meet the standard or not, its the drive’s fault.

• So, according to your years of research and motoring experiences, you are saying that the manufacturers have the right to sell unsafe cars to Malaysian since it will never be their fault anyway if Malaysians crash. By the way how long have you worked on accidents forensics?

• farizul on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:29 am

safety equipment was designed and equipped in a car for some reasons..
          u dont drive safer car to hit people, but to protect youself..
          imagine u r driving Nano and got hit by a mercedes, what happen?
          what if u r driving a bmw or volvo?
          drivers play the role, but other factors

i am not saying that volvo,benz and bmw is the safest car on earth. just my 2cents.
          i am a transport designer.

• Why Indonesia have worse driving altitude have a lowest accident rate than malaysia?

What a shame Malaysian driver!

• hahaha..ni kalau kena langgar, mau mati terus.. proton2..dari dulu sampai sekarang cuma pikir nak buat duit je..

• old saga on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

“It’s now up to the Proton management to study this proposal”

This statement pon kita dah tau yg this projek bukan dari proton, so “proton2..dari dulu sampai sekarang cuma pikir nak buat duit je” mmg xleh pakai la.. read and think first!

• go saga on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:32 pm

baca statement betul2 proton ke atau TPM yg suggest?

• putra_rider on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm

waa.. Tan Sri, brp percent dapat dari Tata kalau projek ni jadi?

kereta rakyat RM20,000?

i search from google, nano sold in delhi just RM10k-Rm12K only..

so, who set the price for rakyat?

• it is rm7k only in India. almost 100%

• speedywinger on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Exactly they selling 10 k in India but wanna double the price in Msia..
      Omg btw the car looks terribly ugly..

• kodok on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:44 pm

rakyat mati dulu… pak menteri got 12 airbag inside their car… should i care

• redboy on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:21 pm

bingo. proton will said got nana+lotus handling! so 10K more..

• tax la kawan….bring car from India to Malaysia takde incur cost ker…..?

• T4VR-Ralph on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm

The cheapest RWD…
    they ain’t gonna sell for 1 lakh here…
    heard proton gonna sell it for rm20k incl. improvement to suit our road…

still, could be worse… at least better than the G-Wiz

• g-wiz lol….

• ah boy on Mar 14, 2011 at 3:29 am

yeah right, the nano sold in malaysia is coming with abs,ebd,vsc 7airbags, gps, tiptronic, leather and paddle shifters to justify the 10k increase. maybe they might call it the SE2.

• JasJos on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:41 pm

If the rakyat can squeeze 7 in a kancil, how may can they squeeze in a Nano?

• zoule HCo on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:41 pm

hmm.. kereta rakyat.. the price tag will be cheap..
    but what about safety? is it really suitable for Malaysian Road..
    (which is most motorist like to drive like driving the evo car).. hmm…

• carsut on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:42 pm

no thanks..

• Thanks but no thanks. Proton is actually a good automotive manufacturer by itself.

• Goproton on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:46 pm

imagine this car price around rm15-20k….what will happen to our traffic….

• itachi on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:47 pm

yucks!

• Chris on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:48 pm

no thanks Proton!
    improve your R&D and interior quality instead!
    don’t waste unnecessary money to bring a Nano that is fugly and useless!
    for fugly and useless, we already have the viva and myvi!

• learner on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:48 pm

hahaha! rear wheel drive proton…………….

• rm20k for the car….must be very basic! no way. lack of basic safety features is dangerous

• Gajen on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:48 pm

proton+ tata, will kill perodua’s small car dominance

• Malaysian don’t need a Nano mr DPM. the discontinued Kancil was light years ahead of the Nano If the ‘rakyat’ wants a 20k car, perodua can probably make a Kancil NONO but have to accept No aircon, No CD/radio, No fabric seat, No wing mirror, No rear seat belt, No colour choice, No alloy rim, No autogearbox etc. But the rakyat is more sophisticated than Nano…

• bikinpanas on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

wah,cant wait for this good news,can bring this car to work and around city..park easly ofcorse…

• fuel cell phone on Mar 11, 2011 at 7:46 am

still, u will still stuck in traffic jam and the toll and car park fee are still high, sigh…

• fantausy on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:53 pm

we dont want Nano, may be can consider to cooperate with Sangyong…

• Tata Nano – the cheapest car in the world.

But once it hit Malaysian market it will be known as “the most expensive tin milo in the world” (literally no.3 after tin milo protong and tin milo perodua).

• Nano nano on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm

errr… not this car, come’on.
    this car only can be produce by produa

• sagatron on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm

another achievement…roti canai want to work with nasi lemak…congrats2…

• hantupensil on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:55 pm

hahha… tong sampah bergerak…

• please not nano…
    im sure proton can do better than that

• UnHappy Man on Mar 10, 2011 at 4:58 pm

tata nano=kereta rakyat??? WTF??!!!..NAMPAK SGT RAKYAT MALAYSIA NI MISKIN!!!! DEM!

• drMpower on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:00 pm

i would prefer proton to tap into Jaguar
    also owned by TATA
    instead of this small kereta rakyat
    i mean of course we all like cheap cars
    but i cant imagine this little thing
    to be any better than what we already got now
    i.e kancil or viva

in term of pricing of course this is the cheapest thing but
    i dont think we should risk our life
    or take the risk of being crippled or whatever in this little tata thing
    well i am not in anyway to suggest this is not a safe product
    but its more concern towards our drivers’ attitude and the way generally we drive here
    is i think simply double or triple
    in term of speed/ intensity compare to india people

we need to study why Nano exist in the first place
    it is because most people in India ride on a bike
    where its a common sight to see as many as 5 or 6 a family
    ride a bike on the road
    which is definitely not safe at all
    so Tata came out with this product to sell to the indians
    that people will move away from 6 riding a bike attitude
    to a basic car that move 4 with less danger risk

how hard can it be to design a car
    that powered by a moped’s engine
    and which that doesnt need anything like airconditioner/power window/
    not to mention the thing’s suspension is kereta lembu suspension?
    i think most of us can build this thing on their backyard

kereta rakyat is already here
    just reduce the tax
    and its the kereta rakyat lah
    haha

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm

setuju… no tax for in house R&D car.. kita mesti sokong product kita… the truly rakyat car must be in house R&D car.. Proton for Malaysian.. go Proton.. made we proud with batter quality and useful car..

• wannmann on Mar 22, 2011 at 3:36 pm

well said drMpower!
      our drivers are also mostly formula one type as compared to indians who are mostly kura2 (not bcos they can’t drive fast but their roads are so congested that they can only move 50 – 60 kph most of the time!)
      and i’ve seen one nano got involved with one small accident with an i10…the whole front almost gone!…and that’s only being driven at 50kph! so imagine if it’s being driven in our bolehland….bad idea totally to bring in the car!

• trav_da_man on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Proton Nano??? Oh please, dont do it! This is going to be worse “Milo tin” than the already bad 1st gen Proton Saga. U gonna cause our hospital’s morgue to overload!!!!

• alfarabi on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm

dont lah..ugly car..but if proton can make it into an electric car or hybrid..and do some facelift, could become an awesome deal..IMHO

• hybrid?
      hmm. if rm20k….. can go 100km/L..

of course must come with air con, and all other minimum what malaysia expect.

then…plus proton handling. yes. this car can be considered in malaysian market.

if not…what’s the point of doing all those big branding that cost proton so much money..
      after branding so much.. now wanna defame abit? proton.. think twice .. no1 like Nano..

• Why not? If it can help remove the motorbikes from our road. Top speed less than 80km/hr please.

• we don’t want tata nano thank you, we already have perodua.
    i thought tata owns jaguar, why not a proton xj or something.
    hm?

• jaikolor on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Perhaps the safety not too concerned then we might say “Tata Nano, Kereta juga keranda”.

• em, i thought this model dun’t have safety regulation rite?

• Pls say no..i just dont feel safe to be in a car like nano or even a Smart

• rapidshifter on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:17 pm

ni kalu kena langgar ngan superbike mau terbelah dua…

• memek on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

sorry but…if (IF only la) proton is going to badge this car as their own brand, people will lose trust in proton once again as this car has a lot of problems reported in india (read it somewhere online sometime ago)…

• juzznerd on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Tak ni nak jadik platform EMAS plak???

• I dont think it will sell well here…It’s not even selling well in India ! It will be a nuisance on the road, naik flyover pun susah !

• freeze on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

What kereta rakyat? Saga is the Kereta Rakyat.

We don’t need another car that catches fire often. We have MyVi for that.

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:40 pm

myvi is overprice car.. mana bole jadi kereta rakyat.. saga BLM is the best car for rakyat.. atau nk juga guna kereta just beli viva baseline 660 dah cukup… setuju ka?

• myvi & viva shit overprice

saga shall be ard 30k if compare to world wide price for the segment.

even saga selling price in saudi is cheaper then malaysia.

if like saga malaysia is better build or had a very high spec compare to the export model

• matrxe on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

RM20,000 for this suicide box? WHY? when i can get a used 2004 Gen2 for RM25K

• safetycar on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

this car cannot sell well in india, u think malaysian can accept?

• Lambo boi on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

OMG! Please dont bring this into malaysian roads!

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm

setuju.. stop.. jangan guna2kan proton.. cuba haicom la pulak, naza ker.

• chidori on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:30 pm

wut the..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Just a proposal.No need to huha about it.
    I think it’s better for Proton and Tata to explore markets like Vietnam,Cambodia and Vietnam or even Timor Leste.

• Jaguar Land Rover on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Proton Nano? Don’t do like that or Proton cars will eat Jaguar cars.

• nenen on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:37 pm

sorry for going off topic for a while guys… i found this video of Proton Saga crash test being tested in austrlia… here is the vid:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SbX4Ld_QiM

• turbojin on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:37 pm

RM20K consider quite expensive if targeted for income below RM2000, furthermore, this small car isn’t practical for small family..

• kodok on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:38 pm

ye betul2 kereta rakyat, when ministers and org kaya drive in 5 series, passat etc…
    kalau eksiden mau terbelah dua kete ni… and maybe later our local engineer and racer wannabe will come up with turbo engine, just like kancil….

• matrxe on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Betul2..This kinda describes our minister’s mentality… his vision of kereta rakyat is this beca on steroid. I dream that one day everybody can drive a BMW. Vote me for PM lah.

• SeriuosSAM on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:39 pm

PROTON need moneyyyyyyyyyyyy

TATA pun TATA lah

another coffin with wheel on the road

• PakAbu on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:01 am

Dude, the picture is photoshopped lah!
      Read the whole article lah.

• untouchable on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:44 pm

waaaa… being Rakyat Malaysia is so cheap ??? is it what its means ???

• if this car sale at 7 thousand ringgit or less, the mat rempit will rename as mat drift, maybe tht will happen in 2040 when Ap king already retired and All the car tax abolish.

• Crazy Indian on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Hi.Guys I’m from India,
    Nano is not a bad car in fact it is better than most of the Suzuki’s in terms of safety,but it looks weird and better second hand cars are available at that price.Tata sold 8000 of these last month.Tata is going to launch a diesel variant this year with an expected 30-35km/l millage.The diesel version will be cheaper to run than the 100cc motorcycles in our country but it may sound and vibrate like the auto rickshaws here.
    I will never buy a Nano because I don’t want to be seen in the cheapest car in the world,but I may get one of those diesel variants if it is good as a second car for use in the city.

• aduss on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:20 pm

what wrong you don’t want to be seen in the cheapest car in the world.. you shout proud fo your country.. this tata nano is 100x batter than tawon from Indonesia.. if you not support your industry how will be? it batter than motorcycles.. more save than motorcycles.. erm

• Bad $hit on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Rakyat will still buy this car…but NOT because they want to, its because they cannot afford anything better thanks to the inflated price of cars in our country.

I thought Proton and Perodua were supposed to be the so called Kereta Rakyat companies already? How come after so many years only we ‘need’ to have a Kereta Rakyat? as a fellow Rakyat. instead of feeling proud of having our own successful car companies, we feel ripped off because we’re paying the price of imported cars but getting low quality vehicles.

Imported cars are not all that expensive, they are ‘made’ to be expensive so that our local cars can feel ‘affordable’. Please do something, we work hard to earn clean money and yet we cannot even afford a car that we like…bear in mind this is the life of the majority of Malaysians.

It wasn’t that long ago that the so called cheap cars are the likes of Nissan, Honda and even Volkswagen and Mini…nowadays, its beyond the reach of many. Kereta Rakyat? Thanks but NO Thanks!

• Crazy Indian on Mar 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm

For more details on the safety of Nano search for nano crash test on youtube,it’s much safer than chinese cars.
    It’s very spacious and the top end model has a/c,power windows etc,a/c is much better than hyundai i20’s

• toroto on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:46 pm

I really hope u dunno wat u talking about even if u do, u only live in ur own tiny world wich is similar to a box.. M’sia is no more 3rd world country. Is dis 1 of of de plan towards Wawasan 2020?

• Mohan Nair on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:22 am

LOL Malaysia,What first world ? Do you guys know what R&D is ? Its just the version 1.0 of the Nano, The Euroversion which was recently showcased in Geneva shows the amount of work Tata has put into the Pixel.

All Proton does is use old Mitsubishi underpinings to come up with a car.

• no, no nano. this is malaysia not india. we have better road compare to india. so our road speed is higher than india.
    nano= higher fatality rate.

ya, if i were to drive slowly, carefully there is still others who can ramp n terus bungkus.

• Mohan Nair on Mar 12, 2011 at 1:25 am

Have seen the new highways in India. The average speed limt is 100 kmph and if you check out you tube you can see folks speeding as much as 170 kmph.

• memek on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:03 pm

sorry for going out of topic guys… have you guys seen the vid of Saga crash test? i found the vid in youtube and would like to share it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SbX4Ld_QiM

• apiso on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:06 pm

i don’t think proton will interested in this.. better ask perodua – the king of re-badge~

• dartz on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:17 pm

should be a good model for auto rickshaw….thanks crazy indian

• second hand kanjil, savvy or waja is better than this

• Shooot! I don’t like this..we don’t like this. Do you hear us DSZA?!!! Listen to rakyat first!

• zorro on Mar 10, 2011 at 6:33 pm

Goverment kita just pikir how to make money from rakyat..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Just a proposal,but the reaction from the people here sounds like it will be launch tomorrow and Proton agreed to rebadge it.
    WELL,YOU KNOW LAH!

• jimmyc on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:13 pm

better than a cub bike. less than 20k would be the right price.

• dude07 on Mar 10, 2011 at 7:33 pm

seram oo nak naik kereta ni…

• http://paultan.org/2008/01/12/more-photos-of-the-tata-nano/

Look here.. This is not a car. We have our Ego Limit.

• When do the Gov want to reduce the tax?

We have the same fuel price as International…
    But.. the quality is lower…

the Gov is exporting the high quality fuel and importing low quality fuel.. to earn more.

The Korean is capable of producing Hyundai Sonata such high end car is selling at about 27million Korean won (RM73k).

If we get the SAME fuel price, why cant we get the SAME car price?

• GO AWAY TATA! Lol~

Proton already has enough troubles with it’s car due to defects! (Very famous for it)
    Probably because of it’s cheap sourced parts..
    TATA makes the cheapest car in the world.
    Who knows what the hell they put in that ‘thing’.

I would think if Proton gets any cheaper from cheaper parts. It’ll probably fall apart.
    Haha~

And no thanks for the re-badge NaNo!

• matrxe on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:31 pm

Proton-badged Nano will dilute Proton and lotus brand name that they worked to build all these years. I think they spent a lot of money too. This will a step back …to the wrong direction!.

I don’t mind Tata to bring this car to our shore. Proven that it is road worthy, surely there is a market for this type car. I feel sorry for the poor chap who had no choice but to buy the cheapest car in the world. Then again maybe there are some with sadstic sense of humor that would be interested in this metal. who knows.

BUT for a Vice Prime Minister to come out with the idea that this will be the next Proton -Rakyat car…really piss me off… I mean really?? Is this his vision of an affordable car for an average malaysian? Poor malaysians, even our VPM looked down on us.

• Neutral on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Yes I agree with ur opinion Matrxe, wrong statement to rakyat and false hope to Tata. We doubt the quality of Tata models even at higher class price RM50K can meet even Perodua and Proton standard. Please don’t let Tata polute Proton’s list….

• makeitmine on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm

The worst part of the story is when politicians try to sell cars. Come on, Proton would know better what cars to build and what can sell.

We don’t need Tata Nano. Already there are many Proton models that do not fare well in NCAP test and find it difficult to find buyers of these models overseas. Resale value is also poor.

Now, Proton cars have reasonable ride and handling. Next Proton cars need to have attractive design, safety features such as air/curtain bags, heated side mirrors, collision detection system, tire pressure monitoring system, HUD GPS in their cars etc to seriously compete with the Koreans. Proton engine must also be improved to enable low revs (1500 to 2500 rpm) driving style.

In other words, the market now is about building cheap cars with pleasant or desirable luxury features that doesn’t look cheap at all. It is not about building cheapo cheap cars or knock off products for the masses. The more you sell cheapo cheap cars to the masses, the more complains will come! You lose marketing $$ for nothing!

Learn from Dany Bahar: He is going to turn around Lotus by moving it upstream market..
    Lotus can turn around only if it can go head to head with BMW/Porsche (price, performance, comfort) but cheaper.

• shawal on Mar 10, 2011 at 8:43 pm

If they rebadge the tata nano, all proton employee can just go kill themselves ….
    Naza all the wayy~!

• Crazy Indian on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:00 pm

Nano diesel is under going tests in India,it has a speculated mileage of30-35km/l which will make it cheaper to run than the 100cc motorcycles in India.If it does not vibrate or sound like the diesel auto rickshaws in India then it will be a hit for sure.
    It is safer than any chinese cars or the decades old Maruti Suzuki’s in our country.
    But it looks weird and cheapest car tag are going to keep it away from image conscious customers.

• fis peace on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:38 pm

adesss….tata nano jual kat india baru 7k..jual kat malaysia jadi 20k…?3 kali ganda uh! mane pergi lg 13k tu pergi..?xkan duit tepi kowt..agak2 la..kate nak jadikan kate tu “kereta rakyat” xkan la tu pon nak makan duit rakyat…!kalau mcm nie la..baek proton ubahsuai bahagian belakang proton savvy yg buruk sangat tu(part depan da smart da)..dan jadikan kereta tu murah sikit daripada harga asal..mean, body high steel ape kejadah haram tu tukarkan pada biase jer n gearbox biase..so,dpt la reduce that price right? menteri nie kalau berpikir memang bongok ckit…idea ikut pale otak dier jer..kang bila tata nano noe problem @ rosak, nak cari sparepart susah mcm nak mampus..sigh~ -.-“

• politicians shall say anything to put themselves in the limelight.they dont own proton.pi lah kempen byk byk,cemerlang gemilang terbilang haprak la.those days perodua are meant for those who cant afford the mainstream car.look at it now???how much is a viva???and now trying to talk proton into re-badging this stale curry from india!!!!! poraaaaahhhh.ask samy vellu 1st,as he might want to be the 1St buyer.

• Malaysian on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:40 pm

DPM is right. Tata will be a kereta rakyat. Kereta Politician will be 10x that price. Pffft.

• nolan on Mar 14, 2011 at 4:08 am

i’ll buy this car for my maid…easy for her to go market and buy top-up…

• msg4karth on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:41 pm

I really feel guilty of Proton.. What I feel of proton is; whichever manufacturer, Proton will take only the xerox copy of the sketch and put their name seems.. its really spoils the inventor name!!
    TATA got its own brand name and I don’t want TATA family to be in this part of sketch :(
    Indian automobile stands for mind of mechanizes..
    one of world cheapest car named for TATA nano, after all the huge crash test of the great finder it really made proud to make such a car in this current market value …. but Malaysian car maker buying it just to put logo is not part of creativity!!!

• A rising Proton fan. on Mar 10, 2011 at 9:44 pm

omg.

Are you sure on what you’re doing Proton?

You’re rising up again.After Lotus Engineering and the R3 Divisions,now going up with future campro TURBO. Then,teamwork with Nissan…

But suddenly this???

Please don’t do something stupid.

Because we Malaysian are starting to gain trust on you.

Don’t fail us again. I hope you guys make the right decision whatever it is.

• redman on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:04 pm

tata nano for perdana replacment for gov administve only LOL..

• Jimmy on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Will Proton make lose because of warranty claims? You know why le in Bolehland. Even very good cars can easily get spoilt by the lousy quality roads (the road contractors makan duit or what).

• Mori san on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:43 pm

nope from me … good for business but i think our people deserve a affordable car but also keep it safety features … i think they are more likely to have lotus technology in their Tata cars

• underrated on Mar 10, 2011 at 10:59 pm

This is insulting. If this is our “kereta rakyat” it would likely portray & reflect how primitive we are. Do we really need such a car without the huhas. So what’s a Viva/Saga for then?

• Tata sells steel to Proton. The return business that Proton can do is to put Lotus ride and handling into Tata cars or join production of Lotus Omnivore engines/ future 1.6l F1 engines for road cars.

• likehondanotsomuch on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:25 pm

We have a choice,when they sale people will buy.ishh even the previous basher also admits theres something ,more worst than proton,,,duhh high income country my a$$

• Ash Menon on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Oh the irony. Proton is considering creating a kereta rakyat based on an imported model. Cukuplah korang punya rebadging.

I’m not sure what to say about this partnership. If yes, then we get an ultra-cheap car, and the cars that previously marketed themselves as ‘value-for-money’ have to work even harder to keep up. This might even mean the end to the MyVI’s ridiculously inflated price.

However, when Tata first came up with this idea, Indian automobile pundits were worried, because if more people had access to cars, it would mean increased traffic jam, higher national fuel consumption, as well as increased air pollution. I fear that if the Nano were to be brought here, the same scenario would happen. Our air is already not so clean anymore, and our fuel prices are going up each day, and our traffic jams keep getting worse. I don’t think we need any further problems.

Paul, Anthony, Danny, and the rest of the PT team, what’s your weigh in on this?

• JayYJW on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Imagine this car…. SAVVY REPLACEMENT!!! HAHAHAHAHHAHA habis we all

• Interesting Foto on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Proton Nano. That is so not original.

• 123GO on Mar 10, 2011 at 11:50 pm

well i assume there is at least airbags are install since Malaysia G’s said all cars must have airbags as standard…

• Ah Beng on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:13 am

So we malaysian are now officially stepping into the 3rd world division.

• c14man on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:36 am

kereta rakyat at RM20k?
    Nano was originally meant to allow motorcyclists to get a safer and better transport.
    but at 20k, who can shift from motorcycle to Nano?
    please be realistic lo Mr.DPM!
    I guess he doesnt know the price of a motorbike, cos the only motorbike he knows costs more than 100k!
    pity our country having such a “wise” leader!

• Awan Nano on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:43 am

Of course we want KERETA RAKYAT = VOLKS WAGEN!

• wad the fish on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:54 am

lol… Proton is designing the Proton EMAS right? please dun make EMAS a nano… lol

• Joseph on Mar 11, 2011 at 6:25 am

Proton is so desperate for a partner, any whore or tramp off the street will do.

• There are lots of cost cutting including safety features in the car. I dare not to sit in a car with drum brakes all-round.

• fuel cell phone on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:03 am

the basic nano has no air conditioning (other than the wind-down window variety) no power steering, no passenger-side mirror and only one windscreen wiper, what say u?

• ah boy on Mar 14, 2011 at 3:52 am

1 malaysia car mah, of course must have 1 side mirror, 1 wiper and maybe 1 speaker. as fpr airbags, they actually have 7 balloons placed all over the car just incase you need to inflate them before collision :)

• farisma on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:18 am

takut oo naik ini mobil, bikin gigil

• makeitmine on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:21 am

Kereta rakyat means the car company is traded in bursa for everyone to buy. Not your grandfather’s car company.

The Nano’s design implements many cost-reducing innovations – for Tata to become profitable.

* The Nano’s trunk is only accessible from inside the car, as the rear hatch does not open.
    * One windscreen wiper instead of the usual pair
    * No power steering, unnecessary due to its light weight
    * Three lug nuts on the wheels instead of the usual four
    * Only one wing mirror
    * No radio or CD player
    * No airbags
    * 623cc engine has only 2 cylinders

So, what good bringing this car? You want more people to lose arms and legs if not their lives?

• squawk on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:41 am

Some of these features are quite common in other cars e.g. Citroen AX / Tiara has 3 lugs. Some Mercs & Citroens have single wiper, in the 80s, 2nd wing mirror was a paid extra in many cars etc etc….. :-)

• notabikefan on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Still better and safer than a Kapchai……….less Mat Rempit, snatch thieve and annoyance to motorist and Pedestrian alike
      BUT , Proton please ,we , the Rakyat , is begging u for a good quality , less problematic car from u .And pour more cash into ur R&D department please, U have the goverment support after all don’t u? .First the Proton Inspira, that Lotus Europa rebadged in KLIMS 10 and now this!!!! please do not stain your image as national car maker .We want something that we are proud of , not a home made sardine-can on wheel , or a good quality but no originality automobile. We want a car that demonstrate Proton’s capability as a car company 2 the world. Built a good car like the Germans or the Japanese or even the Koreans and do not be a copycat.
      Summery : Built the Espire concept with Inspira quality .

• Wan_knox on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:52 am

Please.. No! No ! No!!!

• The Polygon on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:08 am

What if this is an EV car and rentable and only can be used lets say in certain areas like maybe University Campuses?

• makeitmine on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:43 am

Have you seen Tata Nano on fire in youtube?

You want to be electrocuted in Tata EV?

• The Polygon on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:10 am

Wondering if they government officials should make this their car instead of the Nissan whatname already….

• Malaysian on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:39 am

Our Duputy PM not using his brain to solve rakyat problem. Only make thing worst…

• Tap into their Truck & Bus Instead.
    Build safer, cheaper, and cannot-go-fast bus for rakyat..

• WIRA VR4 on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:37 am

Proton EMAS is coming! hurray~

• Hp Tan on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:12 am

That’s what Proton do!!! Cheap cars!!!!

• HirumaKecil on Mar 11, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Peugeot do the best… Good car = proton, beautiful car = perodua, performance car = proton, saving car = perodua… People buy what their want according to their budget… proton is a good car.. if i want to buy a national car, i will buy a proton for sure because i like performance car.. but i like perodua kelisa design.. very cute… kancil is a good car(please don’t compare with better car with higher price).. i would not buy alza, but i like the design.. beautiful.. cannot compare with exora becoz exora looking different.. alza is like beautiful lady, while exora is a handsome man.. they are both have good looking but cannot be compare.. not all people who buy alza need an mpv.. maybe they just want to buy an ordinary car, and the size of alza is not so big so that is why they choose it.. they want a small car, fuel saving, easy to drive,parking and looking cute… for those who buy exore, maybe they need a real mpv, more powerfull engine, bigger space, sporty looking,and good handling… some people like neo cps, while the other like myvi se… i like neo cps coz it look sporty, fast,good handling and good engine and at the same time, i also like the pink color myvi(just bthe pink one).. but still i prefer big sedan… i like peugeot 405 more than new camry, i like the old bmw e36 more than latest bmw f10… i like mercedes 220 masterpice more than latest 3 series… i like nissan ad resord more than toyota caldina.. what do you like maybe vice versa than what i like, but that was me… poeple are different… currently i drive a peugeot.. many people ask me why do i buy that car and make it as my project car.. people usually will but modern car.. but why? it’s big, fuel guzzler, uncle car(i’m just 23),high maintainance car and many more.. the answer is i like that car and love it so much..

• this really shows proton does have any r&d. what a joke.

• shahul on Mar 11, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Dont they have any other model to produce here at cheaper price such as indica, indigo or other models? not Nano. I have tried it in India. Damn too scary to even sit inside. You will feel like floating once a bus or a lorry from the opposite side passes by..

• underrated on Mar 11, 2011 at 3:27 pm

This is insulting. If this is our “kereta rakyat” it would likely portray & reflect how primitive we are. Do we really need such a car without the huhas. So what’s a Viva/Saga for then?

• Funny on Mar 11, 2011 at 4:41 pm

If this Proton NoNo is labelled as Kereta Rakyat, I wonder what we should call our Sagas, Kancils and other Proton & Perodua models? Kereta Asing? Kereta Mahal?Kereta Jenaka? or Kereta Lawak? Make your pick :-)

Winning the heart of the nation is not through providing cheap solutions. It just shows that we Malaysian CANNOT afford anything better…so they give you a cheap car then expect us to be happy and contented. That won’t solve the reality that cars are over priced and the general Malaysian still cannot afford the better things in life.

• Weeleee on Mar 11, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Solve the traffic jam issue first la…come out with so much affordable car…
    later all stuck on the road…

• amonrei on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Myvi costs 20k to make and sold for 40k. Kereta rakyat my backside.

• Rakyat on Mar 11, 2011 at 9:25 pm

As usual, Rakyat will get another Tin Milo Car… Thank You Very Much

• justice on Mar 11, 2011 at 10:07 pm

World cheapest car maker + overpriced car maker = ??

better G restructure car tax, then all of us will enjoy relevant n affordable+quality car in our country.

• MAI Apprentice on Mar 11, 2011 at 11:43 pm

I’m quite disagree with the choice to bring the car from India that may cost only RM20k.. Actually from what I know, by bring this type of car into Malaysian road, the problem is, it may affect to our local car manufacturer.. Let me ask u – car with same quality but in lower price compare to same quality but a little bit expensive price.. Malaysian may prefer the cheaper price of a car instead getting a same quality.. This may affect the decreasing buyer for local car and the local car company manufacturer may shut down due to the cost that they being burden because of this car.. In the other hand, the sub sector of car part vendor may suffer it due to the shut down of local car manufacturer and may increasing in unemployed employee crisis..

• just like covered motor bike!!!

• shahrulnizar on Mar 12, 2011 at 3:36 am

As usual DPM has made statements which he will claim
    was taken out of context..( after shooting himself in the leg.)
    DPM & Samy Velu just enjoy your holiday in India and come
    back soon. There are more pressing issues here in Msia
    like the teaching of English in schools. You should instead be looking
    at the education system and advancement that India or other countries
    have rather than asking Tata to produce 20K cars in Msia.
    You are no trade minister sir so don’t act like one.

• bobdbilder on Mar 12, 2011 at 9:39 am

This would expand Proton’s reach into the cheap car segments with reduced exposure. Proton has such OEM for Mitsubishi with Inspira for its high end range while this serves their low end range. That means bigger market exposure with significantly low risks. This, while maintaining their core products in their range. It would also make sense for an electric car with this in mind. As first launch of an EV is highly anticipated but carries risks too.

There must be some marketing teams in Proton that have engaged upon strategic marketing. I know that for a few years local Unis have done post graduate white papers on Proton. This; the OEM approach might be the result of a few white papers. Either that or Proton have engaged a Consultant to help them. Multinational Corporations have embraced this method to gain market share and obtain growth. Either way, it does show that Proton is changing how it approaches the market. This is a good sign.

• proton+tata = PRATA hahahhahhaa!!! sounds like roti to me…. yummy!

• ezracopters on Mar 13, 2011 at 12:47 am

for sure..

1. this type of car & design gonna get the owner a big laugh in Malaysia.

2. RM20k still seem pretty expensive for an Indian auto-maker product in Malaysia, im not trying to throw a racist card here, but e.g: Clarks shoes.. if u bought a pair that tags ‘made in england’, eventhou it was much more expensive and nothing special bout it..and your friend bought the same shoe, from the same company but with a tag that said ‘made in India’..hmmm the feeling was really something right, u might gonna though of its quality, durability, worthy etc..so i said if Proton really want this car, and i knew few years ago when proton still own agusta, they did have a plan for an A segment cars, they should re-do the whole exterior design to suit Malaysian taste and tag it not more that RM15k.. or else, people rather still bought those super expensive Smart car than these.

3. As for Perodua.. i dont really consider it as our national car..so be it if u may… i said why not, they all for the profit and re-badge is their expertise.. so hmm.. why not..

• First and foremost, this is the second hideous car in the world (after Protong Referigerator aka PetiAis aka Juara).

Secondly, to claim that all motorcyclist are “mat rempits” means that you’re a total “ignorant” and “idiot”. Not all Malaysians can afford a car not to mention maintenance. If all motorcyclist (which is made up about 50% of road users) shifted to cars no matter how small the car is, we will witness double if not triple Traffic Jam in ALL roads! This is part and parcel of life. There’s no way we could make everybody become filthy rich and own a car (we wish we could). This is NOT the way to reduce “mat rempit” activities, the Police, JPJ and other enforces will need to beef up their patrols and “catching” the right culprits (and reduce their “mamak-ing” activities). That’s why we pay taxes (and summons) for them to do this job. Another way is to improve the Public Transport, make it cheap and accessible (well I do hope that MRT projects really took off with good results).

TaTa Group has build cars (and trucks, locomotive and etc.) for many years (since 1950’s), their business covers not just cars, even the energy sector, trains, property and etc. Why in the heck they would collaborate Protong for? Perhaps they have yet to learn the technique (business tricks) to sell cheap cars? Well good news for them, they just need to convince their parliament to slap NAP and AP as a part of India car policy, that’s the only thing you will learn from Protong Sampan.

• ah boy on Mar 14, 2011 at 3:17 am

geez, bringing a car that can’t really even sell in their homeland and trying to sell to us??? have our heroes studies the dangers and even the emissions standards of the nano?

• pls, not this crap..enough with kancil/viva.

bukan semua yang bawa moto tu mat rempit la bodo.
    aku ride LC semata-mata nak elak traffic jam. kete bwk hjg minggu je. aku tak kaya mcm korg yang suke ckp lebat kat sini (padahal stok drive kete mak bapak je), syukur la aku ada waja dr takde lgsg kn..

• innocentMY on Mar 14, 2011 at 10:13 pm

kete ni utk pasaran india…sesuaikah utk pasaran Malaysia? kereta rakyat? kita tidak hanya memandang murah itu kereta rakyat…kerajaan perlu menetapkan standard tinggi untuk kereta rakyar…frame yang kukuh utk menampung pelanggaran kuat sesuai dgn struktur jalan Malaysia…airbag yang standard…
    idea utk memasarkan nano di Malaysia memang bagus untuk industri automotif…tetapi keselamatan, kos penyelenggaraan dan spareparts, kepakaran enjin tempatan….semua nak kene ambil kira…jadi kuasa membeli kereta itu berbaloi…rakyat tidak terbeban dengan hutang kereta….minyak dah naik…
    FOKUS KEPADA KERETA ELEKTRIK….kalau nak bawak nano pun…bawak versi elektrik…

• fuckproton on Mar 19, 2011 at 2:51 am

NO MORE PROTON CAR IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• well, i really love if tata xenon is brought here. it’s an alternative than those hiluxs & d-max. futhermore if they can bring jaguar models here & rebadge it for proton to replace the skanky perdanas…
    xenon is good for small businessman and new perdana is for pak-pak menteri kite. kereta keluarga dah banyak. inspira, persona, exora etc. there’s a niche market.
    xenon dapat agak banyak pujian dari pengkritik thai. so, why proton don’t learn from them?

• Alvin on Jul 06, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Not dare to drive..die faster when crash.
    So mini small car..rm20,000 too much..