VIDEOS: Proton’s Hari Merdeka Celebration TVCs

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mr Wancer on Aug 21, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Great ad..

Hopefully this would inspire our actual Proton engineers, technician, designers and the rest as well

• I believe Proton is working hard to improve. Recent news seem to also indicate this.

• jamal on Aug 21, 2011 at 6:49 pm

so, we must believe in proton?

• proton is trying to say that they also have to struggle…pirah..so many years of tongkat oso cannot make decent car at decent price..

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:40 am

hmm..why are so angry with it yaa dude?? which ‘tongkat’ that u wanna mention here?

• sukasuki on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

i think jojo means kopi tongkat ali. hahaha.

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:05 pm

Believe in them, will “died” faster :)

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:09 am

yeaghhh…i believe in you!
      go dude…setup your car company, we all Malaysian will support or bash u later….let’s see laaa how is it..hihihi

• so does it mean that proton is “OKU” ?

• sagaforlife on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:54 pm

OKU? U must see beyond this ads, beyond Proton itself. We have to be thankful that we are very blessed, but out there, there is people who survive and become independent, despite their weaknesses and their kekurangan. Thats what MERDEKA means to this blessed people, they may seems weak, but beyond their external body, they are warroir of themselves. They have a strong heart and willing.

• alfie60 on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:01 am

Just read Rocky’s Bru blog that the government will not built aerobridge for the OKU to use the low cost terminal. Guess they are not good enuf to enjoy airtravel but good enuf for Chacko to exploit them for Proton in milking public sympathy to give the shitty brand another 10th chance. ;-)

• VoidDance on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:20 am

It suppose to be an LCCT without aerobridge. Surely they’ll find ways to cater for OKU without it. As LCCs are the one who request that the new LCCT to be without aerobridge, they must have ways to cater the OKUs as well. What is the point bringing up aerobridge discussion here? Cars cannot use aerobridge.

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:24 pm

biasalah, pure bashers are mindless creatures. they’re far more OKU than those paralympians. perhaps a new term for them, OKA for Orang Kurang Akal.

• Johndeep on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm

These group of people who always think -ve will never succeed in their life. -ve thinking is also bad for health, low eQ, not productive and been ignored by surroundings.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

Don’t insult the OKU.

• alfie60 on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Proton is NOT OKU please have some respect but they are SKU-syarikat kurang upaya. ;-)

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:44 am

hmm..i have an suggestion here…why don’t yourself handle all the Proton vendor? we all count on u!!!

• ???
          so u agree the poor quality is all due to the vendors?

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:25 pm

I’m not here to say that agreed…but they should try to control the quality, I’m right?

I loved Proton Company as Malaysian…but im not happy with certain vendor…they just wanna reducing cost…that wrong…!!!

U guys can reduce the cost (that way of gaining profit)… but in the brilint way laa….not all part u need to reduce…

Selamat Hari Raya…hihihi

• taboogen on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm

whats wrong with OKU.. i know most malaysian people did not respect this OKU people so let PROTON honor them with respect…
    And let PROTON build car that other country will enjoy it… the hell with malaysian

• alfie60 on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm

The only other country that will enjoy Proton is not a third world but a fourth world country if there is one.

The investment for the shitty Proton cars is not much since they are still using the same 300+ shitty vendors but rather to convert this ad into swahili or shona or zulu languages. ;-)

• Johndeep on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Everytime I read your comment I feel very sick. Every single thing about Proton is bad. I advice you to see doctor and ask for cleansing capsul. Pitty your life with a alot of grievences. Please spend a day with +ve comments, I am sure you will leave longer and many people will come to you.

• Great ads.. love it.. admire&salute everybody in those ads.. for Proton.. hope to see more new stuff that we as Malaysian can be proud of..

• BadBET on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm

I always admire our paralympian, their spirit to win is second to none.

• KageSenshi on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

“second to none”? .. aint that means “almost no spirit” ?

• BadBET on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:58 pm

it an idioms, meaning : better than everything else.
        my bad, I will try layman’s term afterward. LOL

• tokmoh on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:43 am

If “none” is first, that means there is nothing that can top the spirit to win.

Lol, this gotta happen when some ppl wanna get a little bit fancy with their language and some ppl just have to be pedantic about it :P

• autojohndoe on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

haha…

these bashers sure have no purpose of life… bashing others to death like they themselves so perfect…

• alfie60 on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

First Proton try to convince using with a german TUV guy that their shitty cars is good but the public discovered otherwise.Then they claim to hire a ex bimmer man to improve their quality still the cars were shitty. Then they hire radio DJs to convince the public that their shitty cars is now less shitty but the public still think otherwise. Now they hire Chacko with his multi national exposure to brain wash the public that this time its for real.

The public knows that if the same shitty 300+ vendors are still supplying the parts and with the vendors political cloud there is no way for a salary man like DSZ can force the shitty vendors to improve without giving them more money. With the existing NAP policy the vendors dont have to try hard to keep their $7+billions market.
    Its sad to see Proton using OKU to help change their image but i can understand the similarity as Proton too is in the same situation being SKU-syarikat kurang upaya.

I agreed with DSZ and Chacko that its easier to change the public perception then to change the political links vendors.
    Aside using the media Proton should also put ‘something’ in our daily drinking water to help them make us believe that Proton is world class. ;-)

• don’t be a party pooper.

• tokmoh on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:55 am

Man, you remind me of that inconsiderate MP who criticised Yasmin Ahmad’s ads about lack of courtesy in LRTs. Instead of trying to digest the message conveyed, that fella bashed the ads for using a bumi to act as the rude man who wouldn’t give his seat to a pregnant woman, some old folks etc.

Dah la, don’t wanna say anything anymore. Just wasting my energy n pahala berpuasa. Not like a thick head like you can ever open up your mind and have some compassion anyway.

To all else, selamat hari raya Aidilfitri, maaf zahir batin. Balik kampung nanti drive safe and save with Petronas Primax 95 Extra yea. Chooooooooi XD

tokmoh

;)

• LatukBandar on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:04 pm

I find these ads very ironic. Come to think of it, how many able-body people became disabled in an accident due to the lack of BASIC safety features in Proton?

To use these OKU in their ads is an insult to them, most of them don’t rely on gov assistance. No such thing as OKU version of NAP.

• alfie60 on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Bro you are deep.and i cant… i cant but help to agree with you. ;-)

• Salamander on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:50 pm

New proton saga got ABS, Air Bag, ETC. Not enough safety feature?

For 40k you want 6 airbag? TCS/ESP? Typical.

• LatukBandar on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:55 am

How about a much more solid body/frame? What’s the point of having more airbags or ABS when in almost every serious accident proton cars tend to crumble like a paper.

Safety is not just about airbags, it is a package that consist of many other BASIC safety features.

The reason why it is 40K and comes with so little basic stuff is because of NAP and Proton. Yes, Proton is young… blah blah blah… 25 years and need another 25 years more to catch up.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:59 am

know what dude…driving attitude must comes first before safety features technology

if u not change your driving attitude, what’s a point that u need the safety features??
      safety features is just giving u10% of safety…other 90% is comes from yourself…;-)

Change yourself attitude, before depend yourself on technology (apple generation…LOL)

Selamat memandu di Hari Raya, jangan memandu macam org gila…..;-)

• kokopai on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:11 am

I couldn’t agree more.. even cars that handle like boat (read Myvis/Vivas) are driven like mad… tailgating other cars, with speed waaaaaaaayyyyyyy above the limit

• LatukBandar on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:59 am

Yes, driving attitude is important. But you can’t control other people’s driving attitude.

You may be a safe driver, however, you’ll still die in a car accident due to somebody’s else careless driving attitude because the car you’re driving in comes with no basic feature/frame/body while the killer’s BMW car comes all the safety features.

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

that’s the problem.
          you see, when cars are equipped with super-duper safety features, the drivers drive like crazy son-of-b**** thinking they’ll be save no matter what happen. and yeah, they’re rich to simply buy another car if accident happen.
          Malaysian law are too soft. if anybody involved or causing fatal accident, they should be jailed and revoke their license for lifetime!

• BadBET on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm

i do believe that drivers attitude can be control by a very strict and heavy punishment.

eg:
          1) fine RM3000 for those stupid/ brainless/ crazy driver who overtake on the left.
          2) revoke license for those who overtake at the double lane.
          3) driver with ‘P’ license who broke the law even once must re take their exam.

later, road user will adapt to be more discipline.

• KarimSopian on Aug 23, 2011 at 12:44 am

Mr. Latukbandar:

“I find these ads very ironic. Come to think of it, how many able-body people became disabled in an accident due to the lack of BASIC safety features in Proton?”

Please provide statistic. Evidence-based please. If not, please don’t talk rubbish.

What OKU insult? crazy la. This ad was made to celebrate Merdeka & for us to ponder the spirit that they have. Hadoi la. Kalau dah anti Proton tu, buat la ape pun nak bash je. Kesian…

• LatukBandar on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:12 pm

U ask our government to release the statistic lah, why are they hiding it? Do you know that in most foreign countries the car insurance is based on the make of the car (reliability, safety, quality), the driver (male/female) and a few more factors.

The lousier the car, the higher the insurance.

If there is free market and competition, our insurance companies will definitely charge more for proton and perodua cars because they lack the basic safety features.

This is why we have no competition from the insurance companies coz we need to protect proton. Everything is flat rate.

• Danny on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:11 am

Come on you guys. This is just a public advertisement to celebrate Merdeka, just so it is an initiative by Proton does not undermine the spirt and meanings being conveyed by this ad.

What with all these OKU insult and Proton bashing are just over-reactive. Let’s just view this ad without the final 5 seconds showing of Proton’s logo. Wouldn’t it just tell a simple and clear message “Believe in the human spirit!”

• alfie60 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:20 am

On the contrary when I saw on TV3 8pm news 2 days ago Chacko was saying it was also reflective of Proton struggles too. Guess you know better than the man who drew up the advert. ;-)

• This is “cheeky” advertisement tactics.

Something that most corporate world from the west would employ. Even western politicians (and even local politicians) willing to pay millions to advert companies to “fabricate” a fairy-tale story for political mileage and lobbying. Now it’s like cancer in the advertisement world. Most people would get annoyed with advertisement which is NOT related with the product at all (or the people).

By using clever Visual and Audio match up, Protong is “trying” to redefine its existence in Malaysia automotive industry. An attempt to “clarify” that it is benefiting the “rakyat” for the past 27 freaking years.

There’s an old Malay saying; “jauh panggang dari api” literally means “far from the truth”. Protong is begging for attention, they should be ashamed for using “OKU” theme to justify themselves.

Remember, nobody “kesian” (pity) thousands of Malaysians who had suffered for the past 27 years buying low quality “tin milo” overpriced cars.

I say this is a “cheap” attempt to “minta kesian” from the rest of Malaysians.

Protong should be left died many years ago.

Protong is like a “patient”, left lying on an ICU bed, with IV syringe stuffed everywhere, in coma for the past 27 years with no sign of resurrection. If I’m the doctor, I will pull-off the life support system and leave it to die so that the rest of Malaysians can carry on with their lives (whatever that’s left of it).

Eventually, you will be running out of excuse.

The truth will prevail.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:26 am

yaa…yaaa…so easy to say dude….(‘tin milo’ kind of 80’s-90’s statement….change your windows 98 dude…LOL)

How about 300,000++ Proton workers later then?? which is might be one your famly were become ones of them? (nak cari kerja kt luar negara kaa??)

That all that I wanna say……kill Proton, will not solve the prob…it will become even worse!!

• Your statistic of 300,000 Malaysians is exaggerating. Something you usually get from WikiPedia or from some cheap website. By the way where did you get it?

The real number is actually 10,000 ~ 30,000 (Protong staff, vendors, sales etc.)

To compare a mere “ikan bilis” 10,000~30,000 (by the way 30,000 is also very exaggerated value, so we’ll stick with 10,000) versus 27,000,000 Million Malaysians, now you’ll see who it the main priority? To fulfill the lust of few men versus to safe the entire nation of 27 Million populations?

Owh yeah, none of my family members working at Protong because Allah (God) give “rezeki” to his subjects wherever they are and “rezeki” is not limited to Protong. If you think Protong is the reason why Malaysian economy is sustained and it is very obvious you have fallen into the level of “syirik”. Siapa bagi rezeki?

Apa-apa kerja pun tak kira kat luar negara, dalam negara, luar kampung, janji REZEKI HALAL. Tak menyusahkan rakyat. Tak menyusahkan orang lain. Ada paham?

Nobody advocating that Protong should be “killed”, you’re being a emo-crap in your statement again (statement mintak kesian). The rakyat wants a fair market. Remove the NAP-crap and compete fairly. By all means, the Rakyat will support Protong even better.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Hold on…hold on…why are simlpy say that im fallen into syirik?? (ko ni beriman sgt ke?? bulan puasa pun mau curse each other kaa??)
          we battle on knowledge laa..

‘ If I’m the doctor, I will pull-off the life support system and leave it to die so that the rest of Malaysians can carry on with their lives (whatever that’s left of it). ‘

(quote from your statement…actully u’re the one who really want to kill proton… im rite??)

Yaa…agreed with your some point… Remove the NAP and compete fairly..but no matter what we still need to protect our automotive policy in certian term…

Later then, u can setup your own design houseanad bulid your green or electric car to compete with T,H,F,H,K…..

Selamat Hari Raya

• sukasuki on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:51 pm

its just like if u are a discipline teacher in one school, and u have a couple of students who are problematic and tends to break the school’s law.

do u will kill those students to overcome the discipline problem? hell no right?

so there goes the same with proton, killing it wont solve the problem

• it’s 2 different thing. u can criticize proton but never insult the OKUs.

My highest salute to the athletes in the ads! inspired me!

great video, thumbs up to the producer. keep the great work!

• elite on Aug 22, 2011 at 5:18 am

proton believe in Mitsubishi, Lotus, Giugiaro, Nissan, Volkswagen rather than themselves

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:02 pm

laa.. tell me any company which build car 100% by itself, without any parts from OEM supplier? and check how KIA “believed” in Peter Schreyer? Giugiaro also designed many-many-many other cars. now VW bought Giugiaro, does it mean that people VW also didn’t believe in themselves?

• BTW, Proton + Tongkat = ProTongkat!

From now on Proton new name is Protongkat!

“Protongkat – The World’s Only Car With Crutches Mentality, Inferiority Complex Built-In Standard!”

• Redrules on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:35 am

Selamat hari raya aidil fitri, maaf zahir dan batin to all plus happy merdeka day to all forumers. Drive wise and drive safe. Cheers!

• aisamuddin on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

What the #$#& is wrong with everyone here?not once in all the comments commended on the spirit and the sacrifice these paralympians made for our country. what went wrong to being positive. most of the ppl here are misinformed too. i bet that all of you are just an effing keyboard warrior who does not even have what it takes to face the real world with your ‘tulang empat kerat’ just like those paralympians. and i bet you wont even show ur face to do something that is worth it when it rly matters. I honestly believe that those who talk badly abt something using the keyboard as their mask is a effing coward. if u think what you’re saying is true, say it to the media, publish a blog with your face your video your voice n everything..berani kerana benar bai..

in the end of the day, proton is proton. u want it to improve 20 fold, vote for making it a non-GLC company.

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

I believe we should keep it as GLC… yes Proton could be 20 fold better, but then it might become just like Perodua here or Toyota in Thai. Rm40k can only buy ‘crampy’ Viva or lowest Myvi. Open Market Value for Vios with ABS and airbags is only RM30k+, but sold at RM63k in Thai. We have Saga for RM43k here loaded with twin airbags and ABS. Saga is cheapest sedan in Australia and Thai too.
      Proton was established to enable more people to own a car and to reduce dependency on imports. Make it private or non-GLC company will make it ‘profit’ oriented.

• aisamuddin on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:09 am

i agree. the notion of “vote for making it a non-GLC is only too “menghanjing” all these stupid keyboard warriors to effing meant what they say here. translate the typing into some talking and some action if u may.

nways, u cant fulfill the needs of everyone. so these yappers are the ones who did not have more needs that what their pockets could afford=).

just u wait, they’ll say the same when the new proton comes out early nxt yr.

• proton is doing good but that is not without any help from the archaic AFTA legislation which still injects poison in the local car market

show us what you can do by lobbying to the govt to rid itself those laws which are not helping the low income malaysian in making their choices, and if you do fly thereafter, then you are a car company worth mentioning

till then, no matter what car you produce no matter how good, the brand will still be a blight in the society

• Protongkat believe in those Cronies Vendors who believes in ripping off low-income car buyers with overcharged faulty car parts and keep on doing it unpunished but extended them supply contract forever!

Protongkat believe in those unfair car duty structure that believes in charging car duty based on engine CC only and not on fuel efficiency, emissions like the rest of world practice and thus able to rip off overcharged low-income car buyers with outdated underspec inefficient unclean unsafe cars!

Protongkat believe in those Sumpah Sunat that believes in taking oath alone can magically kick out the Cronies faulty car parts vendors but actually that’s just another version TUV 2.0 sweet talk crap lah!

“The day Protongkat close down it’s our 2nd Merdeka Day!”

• exJAVANESE on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:44 pm

The MAJOR problem rite now is CRAPY VENDOR…

If we close down even proton or perodua (vendor P1 n P2 some of them were same)…it will affected Malaysia economic…
      Don’t just simply say wanna close down….

Heyy…u know what, it might be good if we suggest to send the MEMORANDUM ‘Sejuta Tandtangan’ for DSZ to take an action behead some of crapp vendor/cronies who not achive the par of quality during manufacture…

That might be work rite??

• Supertram on Aug 22, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Those ads are FREAKING AWESOME!

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:17 am

IF i own proton, i will not compromise safety features, 6 air bags+TC+VSC+ESP+ABS+EBD+BA+Tough Chassis+ Pedestrian Impact Control , cool car names, excellent ride and handling, reverse camera, up-to-date SATNAV, cool designs, aerodynamics, Brembo High Performance Brakes, 7 SPEED Shifttronics, 6 speed manual with dual clutch, RECARO seats/ Nappa Leather Seats and more to come :D

• ohyaya1023 on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:20 am

IF i own proton, i will not compromise safety features, 6 air bags+TC+VSC+ESP+ABS+EBD+BA+Tough Chassis+ Pedestrian Impact Control , cool car names, excellent ride and handling, reverse camera, up-to-date SATNAV, cool designs, aerodynamics, Brembo High Performance Brakes, 7 SPEED Shifttronics, 6 speed manual with dual clutch, RECARO seats/ Pure Leather Seats, 5 Star NCAP, HID headlights, LED rear stoplights, signal lights, reverse lights. high mounted LED STOP LAMP :D