Proton P3-21A build-up process Day 1: Safety Structure

Proton is showcasing the P3-21A in a day-by-day “build up” process at its Power of 1 event at Stadium Bukit Jalil this week.

It starts today with the bare chassis, which Proton refers to as the RESS, or Reinforced Safety Structure. The chassis is formed using Hot Press Forming with a combination of ultra-high tensile steel and high tensile steel.

Here’s something very interesting – it’s also revealed that the P3-21A will have the option for side airbags – a first for a Malaysian market Proton car. With four airbags and an electronic stability control system, this makes the P3-21A the safest Proton ever in terms of safety features. We’ll be back tomorrow with updates from Day 2 of the build.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Annecy on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Crash test video plz?

• Just me on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Sorry, crash test video is protected under Official Secret Act, meaning can not be share.

• Conti Rulez on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Typical ruling party strong arm / bullying tactic. Quote OSA lah, ISA lah to scare the meek into submission.

• Pauline Tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:12 pm

No matter have safe it is,its still a Milo tin

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Paul Tan is a person who have high knowledge about cars
      but Pauline Tan is complete opposite from stone age..

Proton already use ultra high tensile steel since saga blm
      same like BMW, merc, volvo etc..
      BMW is not tin milo ok..

• Pauline Tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Pauline Tan does not come from the stone age but proton fanboys are.But if it uses ultra high tensile steel why does it still crumple like a milo tin.

• autojohndoe on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Milo tin is strong you know… it is better than Coca Cola Can Myvi… hoho

• As far as i know the front of car must crumple to absorb inertia of an impact…but not crumple in driver n passenger area that mean cockpit (incl knee area) is intact..n it must crumple downward that mean slide down below the cockpit (car bumper will not meet rooftop)…most basic modern R&D cars r like that…F1 oso use same principle but apply differently as F1 carbon fiber nose until before cockpit must completely destroy to absorb crash impact but not cockpit..u rather want stainless steel all over? When u crash obviously all the inertia given to u as u moving foward n nothing absorb the inertia..u n ur seat will flown out of ur car even 20 airbag will not stop u flown out or worst ur seat stay but u 20metres ahead of the car either under lorry or sangkut anywhere on the road or beside the road….if i not mistaken bout inertia la kan..its long time since i use that term..any ahli fizik here or chemist with some fizik knowledge to yeh or neh of my explaination

• driver on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:19 pm

well said bro!

Only those who’re ignorant of safety want a 100% rigid body like a train.. to those who’re in this category, it’s ok if you don’t know then ask.. but it’s definitely look stupid on you to pretend to know something as basic as that..

Just ask, it’s that simple!

• harris murad on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:33 am

where the hell is the SUPER LIKE button ya?

• armandd on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Without crumple zones, you would die in collision speed as low as 40km/h. You, sir, has ZERO tech knowledge.

• ononimos on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:36 pm

This is an example of people who are comfortable enough with their lack of knowledge and stupidity then still able to confidently give a rubbish opinion.. Bravo.

• S.Roma on Feb 27, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Bro, come on la, why is that Saga FL can get 1 star only?

Only Saga FLX can get 3 stars

• Pauline Tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:13 pm

No matter have safe it is,its still less safer than a Milo tin

• Absolute Rider on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Not matter what…. it is better than yours!!

• Hi Pauline,

Obviously, no matter what people say or try to explain to you, you will not accept the explanation. I guess it is better for you to buy a BMW or Mercedes since they do not crumple or dented when they crash. Good for you. :)

• Euro NCAP 5 star?

• Just me on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm

The only proton model listed in the Euro Ncap database is proton impian. But that only come with 3 star rating. BLM tak dak pun, how in the world that they claimed safe?

• Proton Impian is listed in the Euro-NCAP because it’s being exported to europe… specifically the UK… BLM tak dak coz it wasn’t exported to europe… BLM got 3 stars Australia NCAP but this new model was acclaimed to get 5 stars Australia NCAP… even with 7 stars Euro-NCAP, if we still drive crazy, still can die what… what do you expect on a 1st timer global car?? bullet proof glassing?? kevlar protected doors?? explosion proof??

• littlefire on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:27 pm

Proton should not be happy just 4 air-bags.. others are already setting a limit of at least 6 airbags, which include passengers air-bags.. Anyway i tot the impian/Waja selling in Europe already using 4 air-bags since the last EURONCAP?!?

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/116.aspx

Driver frontal airbag
    Front passenger frontal airbag
    Side body airbags

A first 4 air-bags in Malaysia, but not overseas… Good move, but try to pick up the race..

Now is Perodua, P1 already implementing ESC, when is your time?!?

• Martin on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:53 pm

I agree with you, in Safety measurement Proton is still doing it half heartedly. Proton calls this a global car set to achieve global standard but only giving out 4 airbags. That’s below current global automotive safety standard.

If price is an issue, do it only for the top spec because there’s still people out there wanting to support national car but walk away because the national car company doesn’t act sincerely in terms of implementing safety features for their products. Now that’s a shame!!

In australia even the lowest spec car fitted with 6 air bags. Although they don give u alloy rims and premium paint, but they do give u 6 airbags, again that’s the lowest spec model.

• Jason on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:31 pm

At least they have fitted ESC and given an option for 6 air bags. I just bought an Insight… 98k, 2 air bags not even an option to fit more.

Look at other car brands sub 100k car. Besides the Fiesta, no other brands offering safe car.

• The Enthusiast on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:24 pm

At least Proton is moving towards the right direction. Building a safe car matters more than gizmos and bodykit fitted to a car.

• eims @ gold on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:47 pm

paul..

Are those black stuff like stickers are sound dampening material?

& is that a semi bucket seat?

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:45 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• littlefire on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Well, if Proton already reached the target.. Ask Miti to officially open up the market and let all have a fair competition?

• JeremyNg on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:10 pm

You guys keep said that Proton made by soft steel ………. Jz wonder did any of you study physic ??!! Nowadays almost all the car make to be soft and hard. there are soft point and hard point ….. soft point is to absorb impact while hard point is to protect driver and passengers . I believe all the top leading car manufacturer using this principle… Jz imagine that if the ur car don absorb as much impact as possible , who the one will absorb that impact ??!! The answer is : DRIVER !!!!!

Don believe it ?? Buy a 50 years old car and bang it since every1 said that that car is the best because the steel very hard …… try bang it @90km/h and see what happen

• Still Learning_89 on Jan 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Then share their experience, IF he/she survived the collision that is. :P

• Absolute Rider on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:12 pm

I thought the high line comes with 6 airbags. but only 4? :(

• Already has 4 air bags want six, next time want 8 then 10 and so on…. it shows some people here always not a satisfying lot. I am satisfied and will be my future car. The car is also made of high tensile which is good.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:00 pm

To Man:

The things is that some reports before were saying 6. And for your info, during the crash test the car is fitted 6 as it involved side and pole test in NCAP! the additional 2 is for windows airbag!

Do you understand? Don’t simply just blame people. I said “I thought”. I didn’t say aiya why only fitted 4 not 6 bla bla bla….

I also know that since Saga BLM, Proton uses high tensile steel imported from Korea.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:56 pm

If that person always satisfies with their little achievements, he will not success in big ways. If car manufacturers always satisfy with their achievements, why for example Volvo even comes out with WORLD FIRST PEDESTRIAN AIRBAG FITTED ON THEIR LATEST VOLVO V40? Protection of occupants not enough and now they go beyond to fit airbag outside their car!!! If people in Volvo just like you, today’s Volvo will only fitted with 4 airbags!!

Try to count how many new technologies in Volvo V40!!!!

THE ANSWER IS: THEY ARE NOT SATISFY FOR THEMSELVES. THAT’S WHY THEY ARE ASKING MORE FOR THEMSELVES AND DOING MORE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT OF NEW TECHNOLOGIES.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

It’s good to see Proton uses dark grey for interior and without the wooden finish, :) Hopefully R3 variant also maintain such a way and available soon.

Thanks and good luck with P3-21A and upcoming models.

Thanks DSZ! and wish you all the best and hopefully will be with Proton years to come.