Proton P3-21A “Sneak Peek” teaser box at Power of 1

It’s almost becoming a tradition for Proton to tease its upcoming models in a “sneak peek” preview box, where the car being teased is hidden in a box, with small peek holes allowing one to catch bite-sized glimpses of what’s inside. This has been done for the past few models already, with the most recent one being the YES 4G edition Proton Inspira at Bukit Bintang.

The P3-21A is the latest car to be teased with the sneak peek box, and you can find it at the company’s Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil, which runs daily from 10 am to 10 pm until this Sunday, March 18. Do make your way there to check out the exhibits and performances, but for those who are out of state, we’ve snapped some pictures of what can be seen inside when you do take that sneak peek into the box!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kevin lee on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

the back doesnt match the front urghh, wish they followed the concept…

• kejam on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm

buy this if you cannot afford forte and inspira.

• i think this is more interesting than inspira. btw i won’t buy new car anytime soon..waja got 6 more years

• Statistician on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Saga. 1.6. Gen2. 1.6. Persona. 1.6. Waja. 1.6 Exora. 1.6

P3-21A punnnnnnnnnn. 1.6

• Lim Kopi on Mar 16, 2012 at 9:14 pm

I’d rather work a bit harder just to avoid buying a proton :)

Or just buy a Perodua….

• Jenson on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Sneak Peek? Proton acting like this car is a virgin on sale. Ptuii…!!!

• Indeed! They need to retouch the back side

• Still hiding or izit playing game?! why don’t just wait until that day launch then show the whole car and explain how good it is?!

• Chris on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:33 pm

am i the only one to notice from the pictures, you could see bootlid was misaligned?

why there is no strict QC for show car which is very important to show Proton does improved their QC?

i love proton but….this is just bad although it is minor, but it does have its impact

• Airwind on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm

seriously do not know what happened to the butt design..

http://paultan.org/2012/03/14/proton-p3-21a-sneak-peek-teaser-at-power-of-1/p3-21a-box-0008/

the lights already hard to accept for me.. then you see the top part is like having a large gap?! wth~

love the overall teasers.. just the back of the car..

• @8250rpm on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Juz cover the bottom part of right side with white sticker and viola! Sleek tail lamp!!! Simple DIY but makes a world of difference!

• ZenZarray on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

i think it’s not misaligned…maybe due to the spoiler the design not of the backlamp not stable and make the backlamp not aligned. . .try take a paper then cover the spoiler and u’ll see backlamp are actually aligned….= ) just giving my opinion..

• Apernie on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:22 am

IMHO it’s not the spoiler – body misalignment people are talking about,
        it’s the alignment of rear lamp and boot lamp (or the entire boot itself).

If you look hard enough you will see it. Not to mention the strange
        panel gap at the top part of the boot. Wonder if its because of the angle.
        Hmm…

• ZenZarray on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:01 am

yup…u’re right…i did notice that weird gap…but mostly now people are sad bout the tail Lamp…

• bootlid on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:53 am

it’s a boot lid..alignment is fine..see the teaser for urself..

• mrbmw on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:05 pm

It’s spoiler lah…

• F Fiesta on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Luckily I bought Ford Fiesta Sport…. From here we could judge that the QC of Proton is suck. I’m sure people will regret bought P3 when they do comparison side by side with Fiesta.

• jonet on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:42 pm

DO I CARE?

• fiesta too small and sassy will never attract those wanting sedan executive. P3 is like sedan executive, but cheap version lah.

• deftones on Mar 14, 2012 at 10:58 pm

u were actually being conned as fiesta is just a cheap car but heavy price tag.. while P3 at lower price with well equipped + turbo engine, i dont find a reason to buy fiesta..

btw, u look jealous actually..lol

• apa yg u nampak xsama sebab rear spoiler tu xsama ngan body. cuba tengok rear fog lamp align kan

• sy8_j on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:46 pm

the car looks good, the technologies adapted also good and impressive with a price tag range 65k-75k, but the one that they build were build by the engineers, it would be perfect. Hopefully, the production line wont do some stupid mistakes again. do check the quality properly and dont justm say, its ok, org malaysia je nk pakai. Attention to all QC/QA personnel in proton’s production line

• no the car not build by enginneer but robot n proton factory worker…they only design the system n the car but build by those i mention…huhu..boring maa all current story bout proton..i want story bout F1 for a change…huhu

• mfahd_88 on Mar 14, 2012 at 5:59 pm

aiya, teaser again and again and again meh?
    just launch the model la proton
    i’m sick of waiting!

• mashiro on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Actually it looks not that bad. Am going to like it. And yes… the boot lid looks misaligned.

• syaza on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:16 pm

The back end. Oh my god. Y U No design beautifully?

• Darenz on Mar 14, 2012 at 6:30 pm

nice! putting the Exora Bold CFE engine with CVT + Paddle Swift into a sedan… sure will be very powerful.
    I love my exora CFE… very powerful

• report says the price will be between (roughly speaking) rm 65k to 75k. what more important to me is, will the rm65k variant using CFE+CVT too?

i don’t want the same thing that happen to exora will also happen to P321a as the cheapest exora still using CPS. no point buying P321a if the selling point is CFE+CVT but the lowest variant still with CPS.

i know there will be many variants, but don’t make the engine type as part of the variants lah.

• John Lurie on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:11 pm

Proton is a damn waste of everyone’s time.
    The Rakyat is being robbed by the Government to drive rubbish quality cars when our
    tax money is being used to fund and waste a failure production like Proton.

Proton has 0% Success in the Global Market , it cannot and will not thrive in the global
    automotive industry, i think in the following election if they opposition wins, they should
    scrap the Proton program and bring high quality cars to Malaysians at reasonable prices.

• Conti Rulez on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:06 pm

Amen, brother !!!

• Bob Vettel on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

If the opposition wins, in addition to scrapping Proton what they should do is to scrap the country’s independence and return to being a colony of the British Empire. How about that?

• accord on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

what a loser to said that….

• Sorry on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Ur portion of the tax money goes somewhere else la. Just think about it that way. It goes to the maintenance of all the government buildings.

The tax money that the gov give to proton are from those ppl who r driving proton cars

• salambangi on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:00 am

If the opposition wins it will be Chinese made cars flooding the roads. Singapore- style car ownership will come into effect. LGE will replace proton’s tiger symbol with that of the dragon. The NAP will be replaced by CAP.

• Kokopai on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:14 pm

Was that Jean Alesi behind the wheel? (protronic teaser video)

• johndol on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:15 pm

teaser is good marketing strategy bro. it makes people more excited and more curious waiting for the launch. More people are eager and curious means more market, and more possibility to get customer. P2 did that, and you can see the result pretty much fast. Seriously, it do makes me eager to see the real version even i’m not a fan of P1.

With all the teaser, I wish i will not be disappointed with the real one. Well, apart of the backlamp. Totally different to the concept, and seriously it pretty much disappoint me :(

• Harith on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Overall body perfect!!! Hmm but lamp rear mcm bonet terbukak
    plak!!! Pls repair lampu blkg!!!

• At one glance, lampu belakang tu macam BMW X6. Kinda interesting jugak actually. As long as they put LED, okay la kan. Safer ride.

Btw, I can’t see reverse light. Is it behind the signal lamp or what? Or I missed it?

• kejam on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:35 pm

at one glance, the car look like falali jugak, ader empat roda.

• I think the reverse light is located under the LED light on the boot side. But the lamp case is in red?? Is it ok to do that??
      Or it is beside the signal light..? But it seem to small to fit a reverse light.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:09 pm

I thought the high line comes with 6 airbags. but only 4? :(

• Stanley on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:15 pm

I still hope proton can reduce the price.. Rakyat should have privilege price for local car right? Rm75k got other alternative choice to choose imported car such as ford fiesta. I like proton persona with reasonable price and nice design.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:55 pm

This will be the future of proton, i believe they cant sleep well this weeks looking at those negative comments, i can say 90% negative 10% positive!!!

• theone on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:53 am

well it’s true that there are lots of negative comments here, but look at the bigger picture, there are millions of motorists in our country, so a a few negative comments from a website does not picture the true number of haters (sorry don’t know which word to say). but nonetheless, maybe the majority like it, maybe not. it all depends on number of sales soon.

• Jerry on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:14 pm

I just can’t believe Proton actually OK’d that boot-is-ajar rear end.

• wanmi16 on Mar 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

they can improve on the design for sure.. even i think the rear design is abit too carried away… but once they put on a plate number, an emblem.. maybe it will compromised itself.. :)
    this is a stepfoward technology wise.. a very very good job well done.. hey..

these proton bashers surely is one of those lucky guy who can afford an imported cars.. peace with you mate.. in the next month or two, these “crappy cars” ure calling is surely gonna have you for breakfast, lunch, and dinner…

• langit hitam on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Proton should use the price tag(apple to apple comparison, not RM to JPY conversion) like JDM Car Manufacturere sell in their homeland.

Also like other car maker that sell in their homeland (FIAT Group, VW Group, GM, PSA Peugeot, etc etc)…

Then we can start talking about volume of economics and a Global Cars.

• if price above 60k, i doubt it will sell well.
    as for now, other proton models have already been putting a discount tag.
    moreover, the affordable rate for normal income earners are in between 30k to 50k, unless one is willing to go for a 9 years loan, which ofcourse will kill them in the long run.

• Kia K5 fansi on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:10 am

About two months back I attended a car survey pitting the Vios, City, Forte, Inspira, and a few other cars I can’t recall, and this P3-21A. I remember while having a look at the trunk I tried to close it a few times but it just wouldn’t shut! Now I see this teaser pic of the disjointed trunk I know they’ve definitely screwed up the trunk design.

Last time with Asia’s BMW it was power windows and glove box. Now the trunk! Congrats to all future P3-21A owners, many people will tell you to close your trunk even though it’s already closed lol…

• Voxism Lim on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:40 am

wtfffffffffffffffffffffffff

• Jaybond on Mar 15, 2012 at 7:56 am

This car will succeed , InsyaAllah.

• oblong on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:06 am

Better mahathir face than other opposition leader face…they’re TWO FACE!

• babyboy on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:20 am

i think jeremy should test this car..

• Medic on Mar 15, 2012 at 8:55 am

Why did Proton name the car after a fax machine?What on earth is this….

• kasim selamat on Mar 15, 2012 at 9:40 am

sayang semuanya dah terlambat. aku dah booking CRV. kalau ku tahu mesti aku tunggu dulu…..

• Statistician on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:55 am

Look at this picture yourself. This is Proton quality :

http://cdn3.paultan.org/image/p3-21a-box-0003.jpg

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:02 am

There is clearly a design mistake here. The rear light cluster has so many lines to join that even if the boot lid is aligned properly, it looks misaligned! As usual, great job Proton :)

• exist_ting on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:03 am

a teaser will make evryonw aware bout tis car. and they wan to know more…tis is wat PEROTDUA N TOYOLDA afraid most.haha=p

• Medic on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:13 am

Why name the car after a fax machine?

• Superman on Mar 15, 2012 at 11:26 am

That is a rear spoiler. the trunk is all perfect. pls see the joins and gaps and you will see it.

• Loneranger on Mar 15, 2012 at 12:41 pm

they dun care coz it PROTON….all this basgers will find things to bash .

• proton lover on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:21 pm

dont u all recogniise the front gril is different from the teaser video.probably the high specs has some hidden secret .thats y proton not showing the full car.lets wait and see

• proton lover on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:22 pm

dont u guys realise the front grill diff from the teaser video..maybe tats y proton is not showing the full car and its still keeping some secrets:D

• JYLeong on Mar 15, 2012 at 2:40 pm

They might be packing a lot of high-end, good stuffs in this car, but hell the built quality is still damn poor. Built quality and specification is two different things. Giving a good spec doesn’t neccessary win people’s heart. The built quality is 1 major factor too.

• MLCM24 on Mar 15, 2012 at 5:54 pm

Proton………..I answer will No. Sorry

• it look good,i love proton because it malaysia made.now i have proton iswara .its too old from 1994 but still ok.proton are good.easy to fine spare part and low maintanance.good job proton.