For the first time ever, the 2012 BTCC season will literally be a turbo-charged season. All cars will be come armed with a turbocharged 2.0 litre engine. More than half of the cars are built to the championship’s full ‘Next Generation Touring Car’ (NGTC) regulations. The remaining are current S2000-based race machines equipped with turbo engines built to NGTC specifications.

The season will feature cars from – in alphabetical order – Audi, BMW, Ford, Honda, MG, Proton, Toyota, Vauxhall and VW. 14 teams will race this year, which flags off from Brands Hatch in Kent on the weekend of March 31 and April 1. The race then continues at nine tracks around the UK.

In case you did not already know, there will be two Proton Persona’s competing under the banner of Welch Motorsport, an independent race team. If you want to catch all the action, but don’t have a satellite TV subscription, you can do so online. ITV will be simulcasting the race on their website.