Proton opens new Platinum Showroom in Jalan Ampang

Proton launches another Proton Platinum Showroom, this time it is in Jalan Ampang in KL. The Showroom was officiated by Proton Group Managing Director Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir. The construction of the showroom began in June 2011 and was completed before the end of September last year.

Its architecture design is similar to that of Proton’s Platinum Showroom in Mutiara Damansara, PJ. Among the exterior features are the slanting façade and frameless glass walls. It also boasts a huge glass entrance, a spacious and comfortable customer lounge, dedicated discussion rooms, a pantry, restrooms and Surau.

This latest Platinum Showroom occupies 619 square metres and has an ample floor area to display six Proton models. The Showroom also features a dedicated covered car delivery area that fits two more cars.

The opening ceremony also saw the presentation of keys to the five early bird customers of the Prevé. Feroza Ghulam Sarwar, Ng Chee Thong, Ahamad Shahril Zainuddin and Zainal Abidin Sulaiman took delivery of a Prevé CVT Premium model while Nurhafizah Hamrun drove home her Metallic Blue Lagoon Prevé CVT Executive model.

The showroom’s opening also marks the conclusion of the five-day Proton Prevé Motorcade, which toured the country to share the excitement of the car company’s first global car.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Me Again on Apr 23, 2012 at 3:42 pm

dat has been there for quite long time..thn it was renovated…

• Julian Lee on Apr 23, 2012 at 3:48 pm

BMW showroom coolest!

• test drove a Preve last week.

is it just me or does the Preve (turbo version) makes a funny rattle when going over bumps?

i tried 2 different Preve’s. and both made the exact same noise.

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:12 am

Checked with Kuantan EON service regarding same sound inside EB engine bay when hitting pot hole but they need to clarify with Technical Dept to confirm. It is likely to be the sound of ABS system. Simulation had been done on loose pavement by engaging emergency brake and the similar sound was heard but louder.

Still waiting the feedback from EON.

• Suhardi Bersih on Apr 23, 2012 at 4:31 pm

I am not impressed. BMW showroom is more lavish and spacious.

• can you give a better comparison?

• driver on Apr 24, 2012 at 4:49 am

I’m just curious, why do you think it’s unfair to make a comparison of Proton with BMW? Yes, the car may be at different quality (if any, I’m not sure how to measure that objectively), but that has got nothing to do with the showroom.

I’m not saying Suhardi Bersih is right, neither wrong, as that’s his opinion, but he’s got a point – it’s more lavish and spacious.

Perhaps Proton should make their showroom at the same level, and impression with other global brands.

Wake up, be global as a whole!
        (ok, now thumb me down..)

• Suhardi Bersih on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:08 am

“Wake up, be global as a whole!”

Driver is right.

Ok, now try repeating the word “as a whole”, fast…

• Yes indeed. I feel the Bentley, Jaguar, Audi and Mercedes showrooms are much better.
      *sarcastic smile*

You sir, deserve a facepalm look from the entire rakyat.

• Yea, the colour resembles BMW showroom.

• Mou Mou Ren on Apr 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Only Show room?? Should open more Service center. U know wht PROTON, Sabah don have any SOLO PROTON service center. If got also very bad services. All the service center at East Malaysia are workshops panel. Build more service center like Perodua. Listen to customer, not customer listen to you…

• yeah, that is right. improving proton sc not just show room. Shame on you proton. I am always enjoying send my mother kancil. I can relax in the room with astro, internet, wifi, and some food/drinks. Proton? i have to find the nearest cafe or seat with umbrella. lol

• Aiikkk…DSZ still there…come on…some say resign….some say stay. Stop with this hanky panky…move on DSZ….go back to P2 where you belong and kick that little Japs out of the country….

• Boon Siew Honda Showroom in KK…dont have TV, makan pun tak da…..cofee machine pun rosak internet useless.Not like Honda Showroom in Seri Rampai Honda Seri Utama got TV astro, Makan kuih….coffee, milo mixer machine internet connection/wifi….friendly service advisor and sales advisor ……BMW a different league bro

• sagablmsekid on Apr 23, 2012 at 6:26 pm

i want proton service center to have a aircond room for us to chill while waiting our car service to be done.. no food nevermind.. drinks?

• think on Apr 23, 2012 at 7:58 pm

“proton is different. most people cannot afford any car other than local thus go with proton. to those people can only afford local, be happy with what you can get. you choose to buy proton. i build proton for poor fuks like you.” that is what proton gonna say.

• ss427 on Apr 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm

What’s the point of offering a 5 star hotel (or even 6 star) kind of luxury and amenties in the showroom…. only to find that the showroom sells nothing but junk cars?

The quality of Proton certainly doesn’t come anywhere close to the lux and quality of the showroom renovation….

Let’s see….

Salesman: Hello sir, do allow me to sit you here. Would you like Cuppurcino, Latte, or Long Black coffee? For tea we have Earl Grey, English Breakfast, Prince of Wales and Green tea. Do help yourself to some high quality double chocolate cake. We have English afternoon biscults too..

Customer: Wow, this is some seriously good service and ambience… I think I’ll buy a car from you…

Salesman: Great choice sir. Now do allow me to show you the latest Proton range… starting with the Preve and Gen2…

Customer (shocked at the appalling quality of the car): EEekkkk, I vomit out all the tea liao.

What’s the point?? LOL

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

tell me if there’s such showroom, I go there for teabreak everyday. Also take their catalog+price list and sell to shoukoupouchi….

• ss427 on Apr 24, 2012 at 10:09 am

Actually there are quite a few showrooms in SG that offers the kind of amenties I’ve said above.

Lux and exotic brands notwithstanding, the main Toyota, Lexus showroom at Leng Kee offers such fine coffee and tea for their customers.

Even the newly renovated Hyundai showroom at Leng Kee offers such stuff too… ermmm….minus the chocolate cake of cos… haah

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2012 at 3:02 pm

so is Proton having such showrooms in SG? I doubt so coz they sold only 20 cars from Jan-Mar this year….

• Dr Mamak on Apr 24, 2012 at 12:32 am

Make sure there is no road kerb or divider around when you test drive that Payvay.

Safety First.

• whitesmileman on Apr 24, 2012 at 1:46 am

Does proton have the potential to be Toyota? No never
    Does proton have the potential to be Hyundai ? No never
    Is Proton a pain in the arse ? Yes, every month when i pay interest to the bank on tax for an imported car.
    The tagline for Proton should be the same as Boeing: Incredible, Again. (Incredibly crap, that is)

• autojohndoe on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:45 am

who ask you to buy imported car? Proton, NO.

who choose to buy imported car? Proton, NO.

so, you think proton buyers got free tax? if you said yes, it means that you lazy to READ…

• do proton care you buy a imported car?NO

That pain in your whitesmile arse is the tax from gov, not from proton.

• previously gen 2 owner on Apr 24, 2012 at 8:17 am

To Datuk Seri Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir, PLEASE and PLEASE remind all of Proton Sales Advisor to be courteous and respectful to potential customer.

I was at Glenmarie Proton Showroom on Saturday around noon and I am appalled that the Sales Advisor sarcastically said to me that the rear bonnet of Proton Preve is designed to be tercabut if I open it wide to its maximum opening. I was actually trying to see whether the rear bonnet hinges would hit the rear windscreen as the gap is really small (less than 0.5-1.0 cm away). By all means, I am not those kind of people who would waste their time to go to Proton Showroom with the only intention to degrade Proton product.

All in all, I hope Proton Management (Marketing and Sales Division in particular), please do screening properly before hiring your Sales Advisors. It will affect your company credibility and people perception on your brand positioning. On another note, I do have a suggestion, for your higher end product (Preve, Inspira etc.), perhaps you can sell then under a different brand name to leverage on a new perception. This new brand should also have its own exclusive service center that should operate at its highest standard. Just my thought for Proton to diverse your customer base.

• Suhardi Bersih on Apr 24, 2012 at 11:12 am

What is the point of selling the cars under a different brand name if the quality is still the same?

IYGWIM.

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2012 at 9:24 am

aiyoh! look at tat ugly grille! tsk tsk….there’re 1001 sporty grilles out there waiting for you to ahem..to do reverse engineering but u insist to design ur own….

• Proton Platinum is oxymoron!

• syabas PROTON, sentiasa berusaha utk terus maju……INDONESIA customer pun dah mula tertarik & impress product PROTON.

http://www.kaskus.us/showthread.php?t=7584834

• SHLAI on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:04 pm

What’s the point in having a nice showroom when the service there sucks. Was there in Dec. last year to check out the Preeve. None of the sales reps there bothered to approach me or offered any service.
    Had to approach one of the lazy bums to ask for a test drive and the person mumbled something and then just walked away.
    Left the showroom fumming mad. No wonder proton cars are so bad with such poor sevice attitude employees in the company.