Perodua sales for the first three quarters up by 10%

Perodua sales for the first nine months of 2012 increased 10% to 139,400 vehicles from 127,200 units in the same period last year. This is attributed to healthy Myvi sales and an increase in demand for the Alza MPV. In the most recent quarter, Perodua sold 46,500 vehicles, down 3% year-on-year as tighter guidelines on responsible lending impacted Viva sales.

“We believe that there is still an upside for our sales in the fourth quarter as the demand for our vehicles is still healthy with bookings recorded in 3Q12 reaching 61,800 units against a registration of 46,500 units in the same period,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

He added that baring no unforeseen circumstances, and based on the number of bookings Perodua received so far, the market leading carmaker is cautiously positive in achieving its 188,000 sales target for 2012, and maintain its 30% share of the Malaysian market.

On the export front, figures jumped 53% to 7,800 units for the first nine months of 2012. Indonesia, which imports the Myvi as the Daihatsu Sirion, accounted for 4,600 units of the total, or 59%. At the recent IIMS 2012, Daihatsu showed a jazzed up concept of the Sirion, which you can view here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Proton is going to butthurt.
    *word borrowed from P1 staffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Digir on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:43 pm

You know what, the whole business model Perodua running now is like how Proton did in 10 years ago.

All Perodua’s cars are rebadged from Toyota.
      It’s like CKD cars from Peugeot, Nissan, KIA, etc. but why only Perodua enjoy the National car status?
      National car project is not relevant anymore.

So, what’s next for Perodua? rebadged, rebadged and rebadged? Why don’t they just rebadge all Toyota cars? So we would have Perodua Vios, Perodua Camry, Perodua Alphard or Perodua Lexus also possible.

In fact, we pay more for a rebadged car than tax-free car and I don’t see a future for PERODUA.

• Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Exactly same car Langkawi price duty-free:
        Lancer 2.0 CBU Japan RM71K…Inspira 2.0 CKD local RM82K…Happy?

• If given a choice do you think Perodua doesn’t want to rebadge? The reason is the gov wants to protect the incompetent Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • digir on Oct 18, 2012 at 8:08 pm

If given a choice, Perodua should JV with Proton and make a better car that make us all proud.

They just don’t have economy of scale to compete with others.

But I believe Perodua won’t do that. They are too happy with the profit and very proud to announce better sales every year.

I really hope one day they will make us proud just like Korean Hyundai-Kia. But that’s just a dream. A dream that’s too hard to come true.

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Perodua only got 3 core models but can beat entire Proton line-up…memalukan lah

Lagi banyak sales if Perodua rebadge that Etios sedan…mampus lah Saga Hi Hi Hi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 38
  • Mozilla Chrome on Oct 17, 2012 at 1:31 pm

This is a sad news..what happen to the boycott of buying new car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Perodua or Proton..i think both are the same. the reason why Perodua got higher sales simply because they sell cheaper cars.
    1st fact: Even though by right the factory cost are much much cheaper (myvi factory cost is only 15K but selling price up to 56k->untung gila!). Simple, they use Daihatsu & Toyota technology. copy only..ape susah. design body pun copy jugak. then all the materials like dashboard, window motor control, seat, rubber mat, all cheap and same vendors with Proton. Low quality, cheap, broken easily, and to replace new u need to pay high price. why? mark up la! so, who bought myvi..actually u rugi a lot!!
    2nd fact: target market. Perodua target market focus on young men and women, especially those who just graduated, got a job & need a car. its good that perodua came out with small cc engine n compact car. the design is sleek n modern could attract young people (though i think its hideous! mcm ikan penyet je) but the marketing strategy is good enough. as for alza, it’s family car so called mpv, but cheaper than exora. so most people could afford it (while actually everyone berhutang and had to pay the interest!)
    So by right, its very common to Malaysian. they’ll go to the cheaper ones la. But look at the local manufacturer, what kind of improvements have they made to produce a good car? i see nothing! i think what Perodua & Proton should do is to come out with own original ideas, purely by Malaysian to Malaysian. No need to copy and adopt technologies or design from others. Make your own, design kow2. And why not come out with EV? since the world are moving towards alternative resource of energy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
    • Fact or Fiction on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Not that I want to deny your opinion but where do you get all the cost from? r you just simply pluck from the sky? if 15k is just the car, what about other cost? labour for example it doesnt come cheap this days you know. Paint? Tayar lagi. Dont just vent your frustration without fact. Everybody is pissed with the 2 Ps but comment with some dignity.

I agree on your second point.

• a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:09 pm

Hello bro..i work with Japanese automotive industry. I spend my day in the factory. Facts not plucking from sky lah..u know what makes the car so expensive? 3 letters..TAX! I can give u the cost breakdown including the manpower,parts n other opex..but hey i dont wanna get sued later on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Fact or Fiction on Oct 18, 2012 at 6:36 pm

Why not, nobody knows who you are anyway? if there are truth in what youre saying prove it. we would like to know also. Im not bashing you, I just need to know so that later on when people ask me i know the answer already. Or else im just gonna make another statement without substance in it.

For all i know, I can also say I work in japanese car factory also. theres nothing stopping me from claiming the cost is this and that. but wheres the substance? without subtantiating the figure Im just another perodua and proton basher nothing more.

• Severe Tyre Damage on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

Congratulations. Any news on when is Perodua going to replace the Viva? I have been in the latest Daihatsu Mira e:S @ Toyota Pixis Epoch in 660cc form with CVT want was very impressed. Could this be Viva’s replacement model? The latest Mira has been sold in Japan for a year now.

• a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Again I don’t get it..why people like rebadge car????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • JDM maa..

• Because Malaysian non-rebadge cars are crap. Happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:13 pm

Then y do u have to buy rebadge car. Just get the original one lah..Why need myvi or daihatsu sirion? Both ugly! Macam xde kereta lain dlm dunia ni? no originality la u amoi..wonder if u also a rebadge version..hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • magpie on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:19 pm

rebadge ke, ori ke, as long as it is good, cheap and cheerful, we’ll buy it.

• Originality can feed you?

• nocar on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Because non-rebadge cars are crap. Happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • magpie on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:54 pm

I’m waiting for this model as well. The fuel consumption figure is impressive. Lets hope perodua will retain all the engineering. Hate to see it in 4at form.

• KK_99 on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:28 pm

== Quality Issues ==

After its initial release, the Alza received many negative comments from its own newly found owners about its built-up quality and workmanship. The complaints posted included: brake pads releasing too much brake dust when used; faulty disc brakes; poor sound insulation at speeds over 70 km/h; petrol fumes detected after filling at the station; inadequate roof insulation, especially on rainy days; broken door levers; unusual sounds coming from the air-conditioning system; unusual heat build-up at the rear right seat, steering rack vibration and noises on uneven roads and water coming in through the front headlamps. Extreme and uneven paint works causes the exterior to scratched and chipped easily. Uneven rustproofing has also been reported.[6][7]

There are also recent complains of certain models that came with faulty gearboxes, especially prevalent on automatic transmissions. Symptoms include sudden strong vibration upon engaging reverse gear, and the slight delay in changing gears. Other symptoms includes a hard-to-reproduced soft tapping noise on the engine compartment, and a slight engine over-revving upon gear change from 3rd to 4th gear.[6]

Up until early 2012, Perodua had not issue any recalls of the Alza, which should be done in light of so many quality and safety issues with this car[neutrality is disputed]. However Perodua’s failure to issue a recall might have something to do with the company not being able to survive a recall at such magnitude[neutrality is disputed].

In May 2012, Perodua issued a recall order for both the Alza and its popular first generation pre-facelifted hatchback MyVi for an extension of an air-conditioning pipe that previously could cause rust on the steering rack. This recall over a minor defect had many owners speculating that there was an attempted cover up of a larger issue of rusty steering rack which plagued the Alza since it was introduced in late 2009.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • confused on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:55 pm

Quoting wiki? Nice try P1 salesman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • But still so many people buying it wo. Engine bocor also never recall, and you want people to recall dusty brake pad.

• a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:16 pm

u know y never recall? bcoz for malaysian..ala biasela proton, perodua..tak kisah la bocor ke, patah ke..u know the mindset? but if the bocor or patah happens to Honda or Toyota, then people start talking about it, they have to recall, because they want to maintain their reputation. dont u know about the industry? READ!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Fact or Fiction on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:10 pm

you commented like one maybe youve experienced it before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • a.k.a. on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Fyi..when any product quality issue occurs,the manufacturer will categorize it into several categories. To rank on the severity of the cases. So if the problem may cause death,then they will make a recall. Like proton or perodua..people dont seem to care..coz u can have so many problems in one car. Engine noise,body noise,broken parts,juddering..etc. Facts man!

• When the title is about “Perodua sales is more than Proton”, most reader support & PUJI2 for rebadge car.

When proton want rebadge car like Inspira, most reader KUTUK2 proton.

Mmm…why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • If sales is going up, why is Perodua making all the earlier noise about sales coming down, buyers unable to get financing???!!!!

• palehotak on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm

lama lama semua kereta atas jalan raya kereta perodua…boleh jadi slogan 1 perodua sudah…disgusting!!

• OMG….how the P1 Saga sales which is cheaper and spacious? haha….

• presna on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:35 pm

wait a sec, wasn’t P2 supposed to be doing an update to Myvi, considering its been like 5 years since the current model came to the market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • confused on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:52 pm

This means that P2 able to sell cars which tick all the right checkboxes. Be it price, quality, after-sale services, maintenance cost, resale value and what not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • alex chan on Oct 17, 2012 at 3:59 pm

hahah see see..as expected..people here give bad comment on perodua and toyota..but the sales speak!..majaority malaysia choose perodua (Toyota DNA maa..hi resale value..REMEMBER that!)…thats a FACT!..congrates perodua!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:14 pm

perutdua is just another bloodsucking company selling seriously overpriced empty shells to the uneducated consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:28 pm

Rolls Royce Ghost RM2.6 million…RM33K bayar loan sebulan…LOL overpriced jugak kah

• salgoodguy on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:38 pm

not even toyota DNA also got lexus dude..drove viva but feels like lexus? why not..i want one! and one more, i m third world citizen.. : )

• Pumpkins on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Car buyers now very smart…

For low/middle income buyers – avoid Protong, buy Perodua…

For middle/high income buyers – nothing else but Toyota…

Either you go for Perodua or Toyota…smart guys always avoid Protong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
  • vee-oh on Oct 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm

6 months bonus to the Perodua’s pro-rebadge staff!

• sleepwalkerz on Oct 17, 2012 at 5:12 pm

i’ve had bad experience with Perodua. For me they only just want to sell cars!bad after sales service. their customer service sucks! i’ve even emailed to the MD but it seems that he too is not a customer oriented guy instead he is just like to rip off money from us.

• You email to Proton, they will tell you they are struggling to improve. Same also ma …
      Service centre will tell you “spare part? no stock.”, “Proton memang macam ini”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • tokmoh on Oct 17, 2012 at 6:16 pm

Perodua penipu scammer!

In April wayang as if BNM gonna bankrupt them. Now they bangga la?

http://paultan.org/2012/04/19/bnm-guidelines-hurting-perodua-first-quarter-sales-down/

In that case car tax must reduce. First, they’ll wayang say negara akan bankrupt, but 9 months later, all so bangga la gonna get >9,000 months bonus.

• Fact or Fiction on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:15 pm

This is because they got other financier to back them up. The likes of Toyota Capital (which is less govern by BNM).

• Just me on Oct 17, 2012 at 9:09 pm

http://malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/newscommentaries/52184-problem-plagued-proton-in-trouble

• Both the same, both rebadge, but proton start their own design although still not met buyer expectation. Perodua still rebadging, don’t know untill when. Let say we have choices, both this car wouldn’t cross customer mind. Proton still stuck with their design, engine fc, and built up quality. Perodua just about the same, but more nicer because their feeder was from toyota(but sold as derrated version with rocket price). Again, buyer don’t have any better choices. Take the national car, drive it and pretend well proud of it.

• brader_myvi on Oct 17, 2012 at 10:40 pm

National brand car are not cheap, we rakyat just shove it down our throat and force to swallow it slowly and painfully for nine friggin years! thank u crookny

• Rebadge an outdated model and re selling here as new model,ripping off own rakyat, who dnt have much choice..this is the same as monopolies like TM, the Star, Astro proudly boasting as no 1, all syiok sendiri

• danedz on Oct 17, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Anyway congrats to Perodua…Hoping much if you can rebadge Toyota IQ for local markets…

• matlimmutu on Oct 18, 2012 at 9:46 am

rebadge pun ok, no problem for me. i just want a good car at a reasonable price, that is all.

• Pumpkins on Oct 18, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Me too…rebadge Lol Loyse Hantu 6.5L harga diskaun RM1 million..(local rebadge, ori harga RM2.6 million)…after jual Jenneva gold lah…

• Myvi is the most stupid car ever produced in the world.The service is damn lousy. dont ever buy it!!!!

• Amilcaldina on Dec 03, 2012 at 10:56 am

I just bought Myvi1.5se auto for my daughter . After I drove the car from Penang to Ipoh I think the performance and handling is quite ok for a compact car. My 2 other cars are caldina gt4 n spec and a satria gti bought since 2001 and done a lot of mods.