Proton Putra: rendering of a Prevé-based coupe

Click to enlarge.

Proton coupe fans, this one’s for you. Automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin has come up with renderings of a new Proton Putra coupe, based on Prevé lines.

It has certainly been a while since a coupe has been part of the Proton model line-up – the original Putra, or the M21, which was based on the fourth-gen Mitsubishi Lancer coupe, was officially retired in 2000. Like what you see?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Would want one unless it comes with the uninspiring cvt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Azri Zakaria on Oct 30, 2012 at 2:32 am

Yeah, the CVT is a dissapointment…they should use DCT now…huhu..

• kimikira on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:43 pm

At THIS RATE design, seem moving backward, coupe must aggressive

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 6
    • rukawa on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:39 am

i agree. if the coupe version is as shown here by this fan-art, it would be stupid to buy one. why get a 2 door when u can have the same goodie in a 4 door version right? unless, proton throws in a MIVEC engine, then we’re talking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • SMK SAS on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:46 pm

WOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 60
  • Jonathan on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Beautiful design. Almost has a Mercedes C-Class coupe feel from the side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 91
  • Bujang Lapuk on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

inb54 angry reaction

• perhaps the front bonnet should be longer…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • It’s boring and the engineer is too lazy to even make it more refined and eye catchy..

Basically, it is just prevent with 2 doors. That is it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 47
    • Steve on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:00 pm

you don’t say?

• Abdul Hai Jr. on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm

this is not Proton engineer’s work. This is just an imaginery by TC the automotive speculator, m i rite? hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • no the problem is YOU are too lazy to READ

• u think its easy to make one car?
      yeah its easy to say that to make the coupe just throw away the rear passenger door
      all the structural panel have to be calculated once again from a to z same goes with cabriolet
      otherwise you blame the engineer again when u accident after goes into bumper or turning on corner
      typical malaysians

• P1 Supporter on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:56 pm

To be blunt, all these renderings by Chin are merely cut n paste jobs, without making any touches to the surfaces of the car, the arches, etc.

There’s nothing creative about these renderings. Makes me wonder what’s the point n value in it.

Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
    • deftones on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:07 pm

well…your comment also has no value..
      bcos he does his job without a pay..so he can do whatever he likes..
      this is just pure for fun..not reality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • Abdul Hai Jr. on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:48 pm

i.m.o, in another point of view it is good to keep the identity since Preve is currently one of the best sedan of the company.
      touchup sket je ni…mesti gempak punye…hehe

• napster on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Interesting… one of the best sedans’s in PROTON’s stable. Targeted sales was 4,000 units a month, but its short of that now. Typically, new car sales is highest in the first three months of launch. PROTON however, failed with the Preve, as it did with Inspira (targeted 1,200/month).
        I wonder why, given the price advantage that it has as a national car. Trust issues associated with the brand, and the availability of new models from competitors I suppose. PROTON needs to respond to the changing landscape of the automotive industry. Some say its too late, but I am hopeful they will turn around. Perhaps the new partner to be announced today will be the catalyst…

• Abdul Hai Jr. on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:02 am

i mean that it’s the most sophisticated sedan ever built by Proton…
          Preve’s price is just a bit cheaper than its imported competitors…
          yup…i also hope that Proton can do something to face the challenges b4 its too late…huhu

• dzulx on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Kind of agree with you dude…

Anyway Mr. Chin, since we are allowed to imagine, can you make the wheel arch wider.. like M3 wide..

And, please change wheel design.. make it 18inch with lower profile tyre..

And body skirting could be improve, couldnt it? probably with quad tail exhaust…

And…yes yes.. with the panoramic roof..

• polo saga on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:57 pm

boring…yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Boon King on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm

very nice, dude! wow. the old putra was always my favourite. Guess this is better looking and hope it will become reality one day. Even the back is much lower than the ugly Preve behind. This is how the Preve’s ass should look. I think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • zainal abidin on Oct 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Not as fabulous looking like the 4 door Tuah but nice looking though and with 150-160bhp and 6 speed manual? I’d want 1.

• It’s just a renderings of a new Proton Putra coupe by Chin. It’s probably done in less than 1 hour, so it’s not a final product. So those who comment negatively please show yours lah. Pandai cakap tapi tak tau buat.

• Calamyl on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:11 pm

preve is boring and making one preve-based is total waste..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Chan Wah Peng on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:16 pm

please la, a coupe should have it own character and not something cut & paste!

• lalalalala on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:17 pm

this would be interesting to make a coupe and not copy paste.i personally love coupe alot …..if Proton to bring back the coupe into the line up i would be really really interesting news for all the coupe fan :D i cant wait to hear more news about it. rear wheel drive ,1.6-2.0 super or turbo charge +6 speed trans and adjustable suspension :Dthat the dream

• alfarabi on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm

I like it. Its like the old BMW E46 Coupe.

• underskinned on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm

This is more like Forte Koup rather than C-Class coupe, which is not a good thing.

• Toh Ah Kau on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:32 pm

theophilus for president! though he should’ve taken one step further and tweak the tailgate lamp clusters just a little bit…

• Kent Loh on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

RUBBISH!!!
    Rather get C-class Coupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • proton designers are suck. they really dont know how to design a car, really “add more fish”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • JustWannaSay on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:16 pm

it’s render by Theophilus Chin u moron not Proton render…and theo is automotive manipulator…did u even read the article???

• napster on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Ni pun sorang lagi…

• jjchew on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:38 pm

nothing to shout about. its just looking at Preve with 2 doors… so what is the big deal about it??

• DonkeyKong on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:45 pm

Coupe should have different rear light cluster and a more balanced rear bumper design.

To his credit, Theo Chin only does Photoshop. It’s not like he does 3D renderings, that’s why he can’t change the lines and features a great deal.

• Impressive but maybe the rear should be shortened a bit?? Keep up the good illustration

• Gavin on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Looks disconnected

• pala untak on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Look can be deceiving… Quality is where we should be looking in this case..

• WinterAngeLs on Oct 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Looking good…but perhaps people will be have a hard time differentiating this with the Preve. Looks more like a Preve coupe.

• Good side profile and overall rr design. Just hope Theo to redesign rr lamp cluster so that it has a more pronounce side face of a ‘roaring cat’, and re-post it here.

• alifpooo on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Auuwwwww!… hope the price is reasonable. (50k-65k)

• the third eye on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Yes, basically a two door Preve, but to be fair to Mr.Chin, his rendering looks great for a Proton coupe. Balance is the word. Well done!

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm

nice try theophilus chin,

but previous Putra was actually Mitsubishi Mirage Asti (no change at all in terms of design since Asti is JDM, even got 1.5 model with drum brakes).

market for coupe is really really small for proton that has no economies of scale in the real world (except in protected market of Malaysia)

• Nice, but for export markets this name cannot be used.

In some countries this will be misunderstood as “Puta”, meaning “Ayam”…

• pak jabit on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:39 pm

my preve 1 week no aircond…still waiting for faulty part claim…just 4 month old but aircond can’t use already…no point coupe talk…please upgrade ur part quality first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Can’t see any significant difference from the sedan actually. Expecting it to have a more aggresive looking and more changes especially the rear design

• Look at it.. a coupe for the masses! Put the rumoured 2.0 E01 engine, this thing goes head to head with kia koupe! Ok.. maybe improve the build quality a bit then thats gonna be a zinger!

• Julian Lee on Oct 29, 2012 at 2:49 pm

BMW 3-Series coupe has better curves

• Just like that and you call that a coupe??

• timber8115 on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm

the first pic was too long for liking.
    but the 2md pic, looks better.

• ben yap on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:13 pm

american muscle car wannabe?

• Jonathan Lee on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Needs bigger, better-looking wheels methinks. How about the 17-inchers off the Inspira?

• Regina on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:32 pm

Hopefully some constructive suggestion here:

I would suggest to make the wheels bigger and the rear overhang smaller. The rear looks too long IMO.

• Ohh noooooi.. Still using ugly rear proton ‘pervert’ butt?? Come on.. Do u guys know the meaning of esthetic in design?

• Htchbck..not coupe..just wait n c nxt year..

• Phahmeen on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Saw people commenting the rendering……. Blaming TC… Boring Lar, not creative la…… Well people. TC can do rendering and most of the time his idea became 80 to 90 percent of the real model….. U? What can u do? U know how to render and draw on ur own? Dont keep bitc*ing around if u dont know.. TC did on his own and if u dont like it, do ur own… See whether ppl like it or not…..

• Joe Radzif on Oct 29, 2012 at 4:02 pm

shorten the wheelbase in the 1st pic…
    it would be nicer…

btw, thanks for the pics…

• Change dat ass

• Jilbaber on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:13 pm

If Proton going to revive Putra, I hope it going to have its on chassis and body.Not derive from other general product, it suppose to go the opposite way ..

• proton please buy petronas eo1 engine and put it in neo perhaps!

• TaeNy on Oct 29, 2012 at 5:43 pm

=.=… no other design izit?? no wonder car tax still soo high… no idea to compete with other car company.. no innovation…

• a4paper on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

nice render.. imho

lets see what the proton designer can come out with

cheers

• Come On Proton…just get the best designer…take example of KIA & Hyundai

• Chow 1 on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:26 pm

I don’t see many Preve on the road. Is it the end of Proton?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 29, 2012 at 6:26 pm

Theo has plenty of nice work, but this is certainly a miss, a rather hugh one at that.

Don’t think you can made the Preve look any better by lopping off 2 doors. The proportions are all wrong.

The closest the Preve will ever come to a coupe would be a fastback, like the Gen2 that preceeded it.

The Putra was one of the few good cars Proton built (probably the best to ever come out of Proton along with the GTI). Reason what it was not molested and kept fairly close to its Mitsu origins.

Coupes are now usually a model of its own, sharing very little with its normal 4 door….might have made more sense to use the smaller Saga Platform and re-a new low slung and wider body.

• Davinnci on Oct 29, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Preve cut two doors to become Putra

This is crap

• preve is ugly. any variations will not make it look better.

• adam rayyan on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:01 pm

change the rear and front lamp please

• policeman on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:15 pm

This guy butchered a nice design.

I bet if Proton were to produce a 2 door derived from Preve, it would look great. Designed by designers. Not by a kid with Photoshop.

• brusli on Oct 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm

what a boring design … didnt this TC guy had better things to do in life than wasting time on useless cut and paste job?

• Learn from Hyundai/Kia… come on PROTON… HINA sgt…

• MrDDR on Oct 29, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Something missing here. Make it doors little bit longer. Show Tailpipe please……

• Extreme ugly.. Need to change more..else sure no sales!!

• Potong claimed they got 22,000 Preve bookings, but i hardly see any on the road, wonder where they got the figures from..and if they charge Rm60-70k for the coupe wonder who will buy

• “Drive it to believe how stupid it is”

• That is not how a Putra should look. It should be slimmer than that. The Preve has a big rump which does not endear it to be a coupe. The rendition probably looks more like a hatchback.

• rukawa on Oct 30, 2012 at 11:42 am

i personally feel that it makes more sense for proton to release a hatchback version than a coupe.
    no benefit at all converting a sedan to a coupe without improving power, or handling.

• putraboy on Oct 30, 2012 at 12:00 pm

Please dont carry everything from preve… prefer an angrier looking tail lamp that reflect the tiger spirit…

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 30, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Nothing to shout about, too safe design, not match with the ‘Putra’ name!! Hands down!

• Bet those flamers don’t even know how to render. Haters gonna hate.

• amonrei on Oct 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Pegi mati la Proton. No hope for you. 30 tahun pun masih nak mengendeng syarikat lain.

• JOKER N on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Ahya always cut here cut there and than paste new design. I feel so hopeless over 30 years still no improvement and louzy design. R&D setup million of ringgit but at end result no new advance stuff us to buy.

• jiwa07 on Nov 01, 2012 at 2:32 pm

dont have any idea maybe..

• If it is turbo and manual .

• feverboy on Nov 06, 2012 at 12:12 am

wow super cars

• green on Nov 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm

this is not render by proton, stupid malaysian ..proud of proton!

• Raven Aii on Dec 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Remove the sedan rear-end, put the hatchback version on it. It will become the new Satria. LOL :D