Perodua Eco Challenge 2013 launched – 10 teams to battle it out to see who can best redesign a Myvi

eco challenge 2013

Yesterday saw the launch of the fifth edition of the Perodua Eco-Challenge, and for 2013 a total of 10 institutions of higher learning will be taking part. The challenge this year involves redesigning a Perodua Myvi into a totally different look, by December.

The institutions taking part in this year’s Eco-Challenge are Universiti Selangor, Universiti Teknology Petronas, Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka, Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Universiti Malaysia Perlis (NEW), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) and Politeknik Ungku Omar.

Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said that the participating teams will not only have to make the car more fuel efficient, but also have to improve on its design to suit the needs and lifestyle of the Malaysian public.

A new ‘Styling’ category has been added and will be an integral part of the challenge, with each team having to make its car marketable in terms of both look and design. Other categories for this year’s Eco-Challenge include ‘Long Distance’, ‘Engineering’, ‘Time Attack’, ‘Marketing Challenge’ and ‘The Overall Champion’ category.

“To make things even more interesting, each team must have the Perodua name in their finished product; such as the Perodua Dreadnaught or the Perodua Flash – for example,” Aminar said.

He added that in conjunction with celebrating the company’s 20th anniversary this year, Perodua will be increasing the total prize money by 23% to RM127,000 from the RM103,000 offered for last year’s challenge. On the whole, the company has spent some RM6 million for the eco-challenge programme since it began in 2009.

Read our coverage on the 2012, 2011 and 2010 editions of the Perodua Eco-Challenge for the list of past winners.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jolly_idiot on May 31, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Redesign a myvi? Hilarious. Come on p2. Do something more feasible

• superman on May 31, 2013 at 4:43 pm

what? all they do is bring outdated Daihatsu cars and assemble them and sell them . no innovation and no R&D. P2 is a joke..

• Dr Design on May 31, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Im a medical student from perlis, can i help unimap team with their exterior design? I cant draw lungs and hearts verywell but car sketching is my expertise xD

• hetfield on May 31, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Instead of paying millions to renowned car designer company..perodua can cut cost by outsourcing new car design to college students.

• Perodua gets a free ride from government protectionism and practically gets free money with the governemnt forcing people to buy Proton and Perodua and yet they give a disgrace sum of RM127,000? Malu betul. For such a rich company with free support from the government protecting them, they should at least give RM1 million prize.

Btw, sorry my avatar seems to be down!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
  • Robot Boy on May 31, 2013 at 4:42 pm

re-design? they can not even change the colors of the car as they need to get permission from Japan 1st. Daihatsu will never allow the to change anything. we all know that P2 does not have any R&D facility. this can be a joke. P2 is no innovation and no passion just CKD assemble and sell.

• marco on May 31, 2013 at 5:22 pm

errr..do you have any proof on this?
      where do you get the source from?

if Daihatsu never allow to change anything, then how can they change the headlights,bumpers all those?

• BlackBJQ on May 31, 2013 at 5:47 pm

of coz they already got permission la.. then only can proceed..

i used to be p2 staff before anyway..

• MAI Apprentice on Jun 18, 2013 at 5:05 pm

come-on robot boy.. P2 has they own R&D department.. in fact, they have a huge factory at Rawang.. i’ve been there last week.. sorry can’t provide any pictures.. I do met their CEO at our visit.. well.. P2 is quite good..

• Dr Cooper on May 31, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Anthony, you forgot one more participant, Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN)

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 31, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Oh dear, missed that completely! Added in. Thanks for the spot, doc.

• Latuk Bandar on May 31, 2013 at 9:13 pm

quote: “A new ‘Styling’ category has been added and will be an integral part of the challenge”

Styling… isn’t this the job of an Ah Beng workshop and not the work of universities?

I won’t be surprised if they come with with a 1Malaysia Styling… you know, everything got to be 1

• Rakyat on Jun 01, 2013 at 10:10 pm

R&D? Myvi is rebadge from Toyota. What R&D you want to do, P2? Make it from aluminium can to improve fuel efficiency and add body kit like Ah Beng style to suit Malaysian?

• theanswer on Jun 05, 2013 at 10:17 am

got la r&d. how to make p2 car cheaper and low quality than ori daihatsu. check asean ncap and euro ncap..difference between sirion n myvi crash test. look at A-pillar. our myvi bend more than sirion.

• momok5900 on Jun 03, 2013 at 9:26 am

do you think it is easy as ice kacang to make a car and fulfil all safety regulation, emission regulation?P2 is still learning from Daihatsu.this eco challenge is a step for student to understand car design by educate them with modification and testing(some kind of try and error).give support la!unless you have some better cars to donate to these students, then I salute U.

• bends on Jun 05, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Perodua have been well established long time ago. They should know Malaysian markets well. Don’t ask ppl opinion n take those idea as their new facelift for P.Myvi. Even though prize is only in term of number, they earn easy money by obtain ppl idea n build it. Those profits goes into their pocket easily without hurting their brain to think.