Honda Civic Tourer Type S under consideration?

000-honda-civic-tourer-wagon-concept

An Autocar UK report indicates that a Type S version of the upcoming Honda Civic Tourer (Geneva-debuting concept pictured) is being planned for 2015, and that if it happens, will feature a Type R-inspired bodykit, lowered and stiffened suspension and, possibly, wider tracks.

The regular Honda Civic Tourer is set to surface in production form this September at the Frankfurt show. The British publication reports that the estate will boast class-leading load space, thanks to the fuel tank’s location under the driver’s seat and the beam axle rear suspension set-up. It’ll be built in Swindon, UK, and is likely to share the same range of engines with the European Civic hatchback.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Xefron on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:21 pm

pls pls make this real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • HELLo on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Already confirmed… go YouTube or google see the real concept… there are many model of honda launch in 2015 ..include Civic type r, Honda Urban SUV,Honda Nsx,much more

• Kang Ah Roo on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:29 pm

I don’t quite like the body styling. I have seen much better body styling on Proton Exora CFE. I have a Proton Exora and it’s really good. Better than Nissan Estima. I bought the Exora when I moved to Malaysia from Australia – was my wedding gift from my father in-law. We plan to have a big family, therefore we bought a SUV Exora….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
    • nahwe on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Nissan estima???????? Nah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sharvind Varma on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:32 pm

A wonderful comment from the person who thinks estima is from NISSAN…awesome job man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • bystander on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:03 pm

of course it’s better. it’s better than something that doesn’t exist…

• Alpha on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:06 pm

He also said that the Exora is a SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • ferek on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:37 pm

I smell something fishy here.

• Sir i think u have landed at the wrong country.

• ExoRa suv?! Better than styling than this Honda? ! Bought this and got it as a gift from my father in law?! So which is it? You Burke!

• troll of the day..so much win

• Honda Power on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:58 am

Please don’t bullshit and insult Honda car owners’ intelligence. What are you talking about? Nissan Estima? Estima is TOYOTA! Proton Exora is a SUV and better looking than Honda Civic Tourer? Exora is a MPV! I think you don’t live in Malaysia. I think you must be living in the dark ages.

• William Hong on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:14 am

Haha, so Funny ppl call Nissan Estima, i cant stop laughing, hahaha. Brother, i assumed you have Exora Bold(not CFE, that is the engine code named), i have no idea have u being get sitting inside Toyota Estima or not(Not Nissan, Nissan only have Serena). Exora bold is good, only under 120kmh below, get noisy and bumpy above 120kmh, Estima can reach 140km/h and u still feel boring speed inside Estima. even Serena also feels nothing when reach such speed in highspeed way. Just cannot TAHAN when u compare Exora Bold with Toyota Estima (or Nissan Serena) this kind comfort specification. Only can compare the price 79K(brand new Exora Bold) and 160K (Japan-imported recon Estima Aeras). Please go back do homework first before u come here comment!

• paparazi on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Ah Roo, do you feed up too much for koala bear?

• U bought it but it was a gift? Exora is an SUV??? Estima from Nissan??? damn!!!!!!

• zas zahari on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:33 pm

guys, dont blame him…definitely he found exora better coz he drove proton Juara before…

• demon23 on Jun 24, 2013 at 4:46 pm

This Civic Tourer was nice,I think only for Europe market while we probably get Honda Jade that already appear in China.. but still love the Honda Urban Suv… seriously Nice.. go YouTube search it…

• frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Looks like an Acura. If they really launch this model under Honda, they will kill their Acura but improve Honda’s image.

• gOOsh on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:05 pm

if CBU japan, may consider… if CKD, it’s a no-no…
    experienced bad quality of CKD honda…

• why always 2 doors?
    is it CR-Z size?

• 4door la ~see it properly.. new Honda design will be another two door handle on the mirror ..and black colour… Civic euro will be the example

• Milton on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:21 pm

It has 4 doors not 2.

• Veneno on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:55 pm

can’t you see it..?? it’s a four-door.. the rear door handles are hidden..

• ss427 on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:27 pm

“beam axle rear suspension set-up”

Thanks alot Honda, your blatant cost cutting measures have resulted in crappy new products these days. Your glorious double wishbones suspension has already been sacrificed in the new boring looking Accord just for the sake of cost cutting.

And now you’re proceeding to replace your double wishbone setup in the FD Civic with a simple torsion beam setup!

Are you trying to build a Honda version of the Altis?! you might as well loose the front wishbone setup and replace them with simple macpherson structs. A Honda WITHOUT any Honda signature hardware seems to be the norm these days

No wonder Japs have lost to the Koreans and Americans these days. Other pple are progressing… while Japs are still in Reverse gear :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • 4g63t DSM on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Can’t blame them.

The reason they are ditching rear double wishbones and multilink are due to cost and packaging requirements.

Indeed it seems everyone is going backwards…..back in the 80’s the Japanese are all promoting 4 wheel,independent suspensions as a selling point.

In actuality the everyday driver probably won’t miss the double wishbones and would give it up for some extra boot space.

• I thought Europeans are used to have torsion beam setup. So what’s the fuss with it?

• ss427 on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:19 am

rem torsion beam setup is NOT a true independent suspension. The 2 ends are connected by a twistable beam.

Too much wheel bounce from one wheel will affect the other wheel as well.

Torsion beam tends to behave poorly over poor road surface, more so if u try to drive over the badly paved roads at speed. Torsion beam setup can’t react to road surface irregularites as quickly as double wishbones.

It’s not uncommon to see increased wheel hop from torsion beam suspension when the going gets rough

• namanama on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:08 pm

“The British publication reports that the estate will boast class-leading load space” that’s the point of having torsion beam axle.so read it carefully lah pal!

• frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

why not Civic Tourer Type R? Fastest FWD Wagon on Nurburgring. Hope they were engineered by Japanese. FD2R is miles better than FN2R, which is a failure.
    Great to see Honda in progressing and start to build exciting car.

• ss427 on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:13 am

No matter how bad the FN2R is, it cannot be anywhere worse than the current FB Civic. The FB can be considered the worst Civic in the history of Honda. Looks awful, lousy build quality too

• Could be similar with discontinued Toyota Caldina segment…

• new ep3

• Honda comes with the power of dreams recently by their creative design to show their desire to win our heart.Frankly speaking, yes…it makes me fall in love for a moment, but the rest it is just a dream. Unfortunately, Honda Civic Tourer would be in line with Honda Jazz Shuttle as they can be read in a storybook as beautiful as a princess and yet just a a good looking prince could marry her and live happily ever after.The creative design that winning people heart is good, showing how great Honda is to compete with others.I have to admit that most people are just an ordinary human, not a good looking prince.So…what is the meaning that you are producing a good looking product,but finally it does not even exist in our country. My opinion is when Honda has created dreams, just make sure that the dream could be hold in reality.