Honda Brio updated in Thailand, new V Limited spec

brio-01

The Honda Brio hatchback has been given a minor update in Thailand. Honda’s original eco car now comes with a rear wiper and a chrome strip on the rear hatch across the board.

No changes to the mechanicals. The Brio is powered by a 1.2 litre SOHC i-VTEC unit, offering 90 hp and 110 Nm at 4,800 rpm. The four-pot can be paired to a five-speed manual or a CVT automatic.

With the update, Honda has also released a new V Limited spec with front fog lights, rear parcel shelf and a touch screen MP3 player with navigation. The latter is a 2-DIN unit with USB, AUX and Bluetooth connection.

Only available with an automatic gearbox, the V Limited is priced at 533,500 baht (RM54,835), which is 22,000 baht (RM2,260) costlier than the previously range topping V automatic. The Brio range starts from 436,500 baht (RM44,869) for the manual S spec.

Late last year, a sedan version called Brio Amaze joined the fray, and a seven-seater Brio MPV will be shown at the Indonesian motor show in September.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on Jul 19, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Menteri: Syukurlah ada Proton, lagi murah dari Honda di Thailand. Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • it still overprice even in thai….suppose the car sub RM20k since made in thai plus gov incentive…honda is good conning thais to buy overprice small car

• politician on Nov 28, 2013 at 2:49 pm

politics.. politics.. politics.. even on a car sites? sigh~

• Ongtk on Jul 19, 2013 at 7:23 pm

I am no Honda fan but I believe this is one car that will very sell well in Malaysia when its introduced here! I like its cheerful front and overall shape. Even the seats looks cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 100
    • Green on Jul 19, 2013 at 9:04 pm

This car is too small..

Take a look:

Viva: 2390mm
      Brio: 2345mm

Myvi: 2440mm
      Mirage: 2450mm.

at Thailand, BRio hardly get sales.
      the similar price range Mirage, is the king of Eco car there.

This car shall not sell very well here, even @ RM50k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • SixthGear Msia on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:41 am

have u ever heard engineering design , ..
        even the car length are shorter, they can make the interior more space .
        Like the honda city rear boot vs persona rear boot
        Honda city 506litre , Persona 430litre
        Vios 400litre …
        **Engineering design 101
        thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • jason leow on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:08 pm

mnalaysia goverment is shit ,actually honda price just arround myr 40k to 50k only include tax,that why our goverment not allowed honda brio in malaysia market

• Interior looks good, hopefully they retain the cream interior for malaysian market

• OMG…pls lah…ugly like shit. viva look better than this.

• OMG, u must be kidding! both r ugly the the H badge make it beauty!

• jason leow on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:10 pm

viva is rubbish car u know,however japan car always better than national rubbish car

• daus sass on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:57 pm

It’s the end for proton savvy glory in thailand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Embrio on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:43 am

God knows why DRB refused to let Honda sell it here…

Just slap RM70K price on it lah if DRB afraid it will affect Protong sales…

Jaguh global konon

• This car reminds me of the “original” 1st generation Honda civic. Small and practical, hope it comes to Malaysia so we can have a choice of Brio or Mirage. Maybe even the Nissan March

• TongKat_proton on Jul 22, 2013 at 9:28 am

I saw this real car in Thailand. LOVE at first sight.
    I guarantee 90% of people will love it. But this will never allowed to enter BolehLAND , or else P1 and P2 will lost half of its sale….

• jason leow on Aug 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

if honda brio/amaze our goverment allowed this car launch in malaysia,viva ,myvi,alza,saga,satria neo,pesona,preve include proton exora all has been tapow immediately,so our goverment wont allowed this car in malaysia market,that why i fuck malaysia goverment we pay more for unquality car,why another country pay less for high quality car

• KaiMun on Jul 23, 2013 at 10:20 am

I just drove this baby last weekend. Dimension on paper maybe look small, but once u enter, it doesn’t feel as small as the exterior suggest. No doubt this baby is gonna compare with Viva as they are most relevant in Malaysian eyes. There’s no way this baby gonne be in Malaysia reason being in Thai, this is the most expensive ECO car which sells more than RM50k.

Just wanna share the experience here :

– Looks small but big inside (even the small boot fits our luggage well (3 days road trip))
    – Cornering (with Michelin XM1) is consider superb in its segment (even high speed cornering (@90km/h) on mountain area isn’t a big problem
    – it is so stable at the speed of 145km/h
    – Archive 18.2km/l even drive at 120~130km/h avg (rated @ 20km/l)
    – Clever Engineering design. Almost every inch of this baby is use up.

HATES:
    – Electronically Speed Limited to 145km/h (which the car is able to go much faster)
    – CVT gearbox (downhill @ low gearing sucks)
    – Price (even car rental rate is higher until we nego)

Just my 2 cents.. ^^

• Michael Smith on Jul 24, 2013 at 12:09 pm

I live in Thailand and bought a Honda Brio with manual transmissions some month ago.

I paid equal to 43.000 RM which a fair price.

The car is suprisingly spacy inside and with the same motor as the Honda Jazz, it is a very quick small car.

I get 14-15 km a litre in heavy traffic and 18-19 outside the city.

The car is for a small car very solid and I compared it with ECO cars from Mitzubitzi, Nissan and KIA and I found it better than these brands, only car which match it quality vice is Toyota Yaris but it is more expensive.

A solid small car which is fun to drive.

• Honda Brio Community on Nov 21, 2013 at 6:39 am

Come and Join Us.. Honda Brio Community