Proton Suprima S – live streaming of the new car launch tomorrow, exclusively here on paultan.org

proton-suprima

Here’s a reminder, or an invitation if you like, to an exclusive live streaming of the Proton Suprima S launch event right here on paultan.org. Join us for the full unveiling of Proton’s latest model, codenamed P3-22A or better known as the Preve Hatchback, as it happens live at 10.15am tomorrow, August 17.

Be the first to know of the hatchback’s full specs, equipment list and everything else worth knowing through our live stream. Alternatively, if you prefer reading rather than watching, we’ll have all the juicy details in our usual news format here as well once the car is officially revealed, complete with a full live gallery as you’ve always liked it.

So spread the word, make sure you come back from breakfast early tomorrow morning, or bring your laptop out. Otherwise, the live streaming will work perfectly fine on your mobile phone or tablet device too, as long as the browser supports Youtube streaming. It’s a date, so see you tomorrow morning!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Stream what la. No one will buy this junk one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 246 Thumb down 124
    • presdb on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Are you sure noone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • Akira on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Don’t so rude la you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • carguy2000 on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:09 pm

i’m i the only one here, who think front side look like SAAB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Nazmi on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:47 pm

If I bought one, is that gonna make you a liar or an idiot? I loved Proton. They’re not perfect, but at least they can make cars. I don’t see cars out there with your name on it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • wiralution on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:05 pm

auntie: wah, poton suprima. New car meh…
    ahbeng: no la auntie. Same design as your preve’ car, but aeroback one.
    auntie: ya ka? haiyya. waste time & confusing meh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 77
  • wiralution on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:11 pm

auntie: wah, poton suprima. New car meh. It’s time for me to trade-in my lousy preve’.
    ahbeng: no la auntie. It’s still preve’, but aeroback one, without butt ass…
    auntie: ya ka? haiyya. Waste time & confusing meh. No point trade in oso…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 63
    • sectK on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:44 pm

another butthurt basher, lol. you want old platform/engine/gear but new skin/design go for vios, they don’t even bother to add features for your safety. they only want your hard earn money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
      • Are you sure the new Vios still used the outgoing platform and chasis. It has a slightly longer wheelbase, 10cm longer overall and 1 cm in height.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
      • tenkiu on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Are you drunk or just a butthurt fanboys?

Did he mention anything about sheety Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Absolute Rider on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Wah, create your own conversation. That’s great!

BUT WAIT….

same old blind bashing….

At the end, your conversation really lousy. Broken English here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • -off topic-

Hey readers. I need some opinions regarding few things. I’m planning to buy a new car and I am considering this Suprima S and also Ford Focus Sport. I have read everything about Focus Sport and apparently it’s a good car despite its small cabin. And this Suprima S is technically an upgrade version of Preve with more than 200 technical error enhancements have been made. I know Suprima S is a good car too but the quality of Proton cars are a bit of letdown. So, I just wanna know which car is better in terms of everything. Your opinions are highly appreciated. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • jolly_idiot on Aug 16, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Go buy other car better.
      Ford is well known in poor service centre and rare spare part.
      Suprima is just another PROTON preve.
      Being similar budget, maybe you can look at others like Suzuki or Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
      • cipane on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:58 pm

dont buy japanese car..go with ur decision for ford focus..continental car better than japanese..uf u want japanese better buy this suprima..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • powershot on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:01 pm

yeah. ford aftersales service is quite bad; they make proton look good (if you know where to look)

• Just my thought, since the Focus is already being considered by all means the Focus. Bearing in mind you are paying a significant more, there is little doubt the Focus will be better in almost every respect bar maintenance cost.

• Hi. I would suggest that you wait out a little longer and see what the new Mazda 3 has to offer.

• I am afraid with the hefty price tag of 2014 Mazda 3 has to offer. My budget isn’t within that range.

• You sure you are considering these 2? and not Suprima S and Preve or Saga or Exora? (Sorry, can’t find other brand as low as Proton out there)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Alifz on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:36 pm

How do u know the technical error is more than 200. My Preve just have 2 defect and 2 technical glitch but so far it’s can be resolve either by SC or DIY method. Other than that so far i could say it’s the best highway cruiser since Waja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • Poormen on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Most people buy a car = city driving.
        not a highway driving.

99% of my day, drive in city.

I prefer Green Car @ City.
        not a 10km/L city car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Yeah man i kind of agree Waja is indeed quite a great highway cruiser.

• I’m sorry if my comment offended you. I read someone’s comment in Preve Club on Facebook. He said all the flaws in Preve has been fixed in this Suprima S.

• I heard? Haha I heard? Were you born yesterday? Didnt proton give you any training how to fake better than that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • dewaSemut on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Depends on your priorities..

If budget is a non-issue, go for Focus.
      If extra space is important for you, go for Suprima S.
      If you suck at parallel parking, Focus is the car for you.
      If brand is not your concern, Suprima S will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Better get a Ford, although it’s relatively expensive, but you pay what you get. As a Proton owner, I suggest you avoid Proton if you able to.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 14
      • Yup. I was thinking the same thing although I am using 2001 Proton Waja now. Quite a good and reliable car. It’s just I am in need of a better car since I travel a lot.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Just calculate the overall ownership cost vs usage and maitenance cost. You’ll be surprised that Proton still the cheapest. Not to mentioned with some headache of course. You wont regret to ‘lenjan’ it to the max.

I’ve done it. For 1886450km of travel, It just cost me less than 50 cent per km. In just 42 month.

• I think I got it right. There are 7 digits written there.

Your odometer is already 1,886,450 km? ARE YOU SURE? Where did you go? Pluto?

As for my Waja, I have traveled about 288k++ km. Still a good car though. I’ve ‘lenjan-ed’ my Waja to the max. Now I’m giving it time to rest.

• 50sen per km??!?…either ur calculation is wrong or you must be driving Proton Hummer or Proton Bentley……
            Most cars’ consumption are between 12cents-15cents per km….

• FF, I own a Ford, although its a fully imported model from Belgium. Bought it in March 2012, and have had no issues with it since day one. Service levels are not excellent but as long as you make proper plans for appointments, its ok.
        Yes, parts can be expensive (from EU) but the Focus has better priced parts.
        For the price, the Focus gives you plenty of value. Suprima, apart from the adult diaper brand clash, is a PROTON. That to me is a huge risk in itself. They’re turning the corner, but not quite there yet. But since you’re a Waja owner, you would be familiar with the brand’s issues and sore points.
        I would put the Focus, Elantra, CRV and Sportage on my list, in that order. Good luck!

• I guess the Focus would be the better but since it is globally proven as a great and fun car to drive. Not to say the Suprima is not good but still there are uncertainties present here and there. The Ford looks better visually in my opinion as compared to this and has a respectable spec sheet with several cool features.

Anyway, I would suggest you to wait for the Mazda 3, if you could.

• Do you know the estimation price of that piece of beauty will cost?

• glaze on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:09 pm

hi bro, Focus Sport (assume non S+ version) has a premium of estimated 30k-40k over the Suprima S (if the price range is around Preve).

This is not a small amount, if budget is not an issue for you, I would strongly recommend you to get the Focus.

• Hi FF, Seriously though, we are in the same situation! Me too considering Focus, options including Suprima and Civic. Tomorrow going out to see Suprima as it is unveiled and justify does it make sense to pay for 115K Focus.

BUT I think my decision is 75% going for Ford Focus. Get continental car, superb handling, good rear suspension, Sony sound system etc .

Hoping for we both make right decision :-)

• Nazmi on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:54 pm

If you can afford a focus sport, I’m sure you can also afford a Golf GTI or a Swift or a Mazda 3 hatchback. Why are you here?

• just go ahead and follow ur heart..
      dont listen to other people bashing one brand to another…
      eg.. people who bash proton never actually drive or owns a proton.. i mean after proton gen2 generation.. which i personally think they have greatly improved their quality..

• AlBeCh on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Well,the upcoming Suprima seems to be impressive. New stuff to have a look at is the 4G in car Wi-Fi which will be useful to your passengers. A 7 inch infotainment screen with 6 speakers tagging along will be its new features to differentiate itself from the Focus.

But the Focus has its own gizmos and other stuff will either the same or better than the Proton.9 speakers and head unit from Sony compared to the 6 and has a Ford SYNC system which is voice-controlled which is handy especially while you’re focused on driving.

In my opinion,i think you will feel more comfortable in the Focus as the cabin has an upmarket look. Compare their engine to the Preve’s at least,the Ford still delivers more hp than the CFE’s.

So,i guess its what you get for what you pay. Maybe both their performance may differ when taken for a test drive. It’ll be up to you to decide until then =)

• Anonymous Coward on Aug 16, 2013 at 11:47 pm

Well, the Preve has had that 4G thing since launch (although I have no idea how it’s integrated).

• Sure Ford 2.0 beats CFE. It even churns out more compared to 2.0 in Accord and Civic

• i also have this problem last years and also have limit budget…from my opinion after i buy my car early this years..

Proton – Only the preve premium that i feel really worth the buy and its CFE! .. i only know it after i search google… more torque but hp will drop after that.. and be note campro part is hard to repair if have problem.. but the car service is cheap and most workshop can do.

Japanese car (toyota,honda) – all people like to bash that no improvement at inside… only exterior designing and so on..but for me its really good choice..lets say you buy for long time, its a same component most use at most of their model and if have problem, its a easy fix and can use for long time…but the price is not really worth the technology you will buy…

europr/usa – like ford,Volkswagen,Peugeot,ciroen,bmw,mercedez..all is top performance and the price is worth the technology you have..they also have top quality and top crash test..but..prepare your wallet.. for he spare part..and car service..and the car price..

and at the end i buy vios.:-/ since i a poor guy that want use for long time…

• Hariz on Aug 26, 2013 at 1:00 am

although the price has a wide differnce btwn those two..but then, a wide difference of price will surely give u a wide difference of quality right?..
      I just bought Ford Focus S+ in its great! the quality is reasonable with the price given.not that i hate malaysian product,i love them but the choice is in the consumer hands. i wouldnt force u to buy suprima s or focus, But u cn just give a test drive and feel the differnce for ur own good..keyh..gud luck

• Polo Saga on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Who cares?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Haaahhhh Suprima???… what happen to “Nama Siapa Hebat Contest”???? Huhuhuhu… wasting a lot of my time… =.=!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Why dont the engineers facelifted the front headlight & grill to differ from Preve !!! the name differ already !!! then, it will be interesting to have new face design !!

• Nazmi on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Simple.. They come with a basic model now. After a few year they will come with a new model comes with bodykit and call it FLX or SE or Limited Edition. So they can claim it’s a different model and make more money

• kadajawa on Aug 16, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Alaaa berapa kali mau reminder dah….we all know it’s a seluar dalam lah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 11
  • rigid on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:00 pm

if only p1 can upgrade their aftersale service/maintenance to a higher level (parts replacement/ very good customer service/ shorter que for maintenance so on and so forth), MAYBE proton name could be cleaner and better. ‘maybe’ i would say. its because my T is also NOT a perfect car, and i believe, H also isnt VERY good quality car either. But their service is quite ok for me, at least for my case compared to my friends’ experinces on P1 service ctre. just my 2cts.

• rangga on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:05 pm

this is awesome car..high spec with esc you know..some of most high quality branding like T & H doesn’t have this kind of spec but their fan boy still love to buy that car..but with this super marvelous car present by our national car manufacturer we should appreciate this one. i hope im gonna see this car on our street and highway smoke that myvi vios and city..

• Salop on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Walawei 6 airbag, 5 star Ancap rating, Esc, Ebd, Leather seat, 17 inch rim at 80k, 1.6 turbo, well i think maybe I think it still a good price for the spec that u have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Jefferson Lim on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Go Google translate. Type: SUPRIMA

Select Portugese OR Spanish => ENGLISH.

Sit back and LAUGH!!!

It means “DELETE”, “ELIMINATE”, “SUPPRESS”… (TOP 3). Other meaning:
    cut, quell, stop, knock out, quash, put down, prune AND LASTLY DISSOLVE!!!

This shows PROTON’s IGNORANCE by NEVER “Google” the name SUPRIMA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • what if they meant they wanted to eliminate or suppress other car brands? think outside the box la.. tak habis2 sokong outsiders cars..dapat apa?

• odd job worker on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:10 pm

they already suppress and eliminate other brands thru unfair policy

• Jefferson Lim on Aug 16, 2013 at 6:24 pm

Imagine PROTON “DELETE” (Suprima in Spanish and Portugese)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Better than mitsu pajero…pajero in spanish it mean wanker..mastubater(pelancap)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • BuRaIaN on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:30 pm

There is no point for a new name.

I mean why is there a ‘Suprima S when there is no ‘Suprima’ to begin with?

Whoever approved of that name must think people are stupid, or is stupid himself.

• retard on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:35 pm

want a low maintenance enjin, fuel efficient go for almera la…big boot space. Nissan enjin still the best.

• Salop on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:08 am

Aiyo u convince ppl buy almera than this, wat sort of point that almera is better than dis suprima (erkk I actually don’t like also the name heheh) but just because Nissan produce reputable supercar doesn’t mean that almera is equally stand, no doubt proton doesn’t come out with something reputable as the GTR but nevertheless the suprima is way better spec than the almera, Haiya u wanna said proton engine no reliability, u are the one who has no reliability, u maintain a good maintenance any car would last long maa.

• retard on Aug 16, 2013 at 7:42 pm

why buy the car but every day complaint petrol bill. then no cvvt fuel efficient enjin why…why….just like american clunkers

• Salop on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:30 am

I think almera is B segment car, don’t noe if I’m wrong but u should compare fc with 1.6 flx, I’m pretty they come close, no doubt cvvt bla bla bla is implemented too save fuel but the margin is low, so without that also any na engine with 10:1 compression ratio fuel injection will slightly have higher fc than the one fitted

• odd job worker on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:07 pm

A high-powered task force led by some top management people with many members of P1 comprising engineers, architects,designers has done a brain-storming session for the past few months in order to find a name for new Preve Hatchback. After few months of research, they have done a DIRECT translation from the word ‘supreme pizza’ or ‘subprime crisis’ to become ‘suprima’. Good job done

• khakidua on Aug 16, 2013 at 8:39 pm

Proud using Proton car….better then china brand…lauu yaa

• First of all, cantik…. thumbs up for the great design.
    2nd suprima s, supreme s, supreme behind… they should change the name…

• Nazmi on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:01 pm

People, don’t thrash but give factual comments and solutions. If you like it, go buy it. If you don’t like it, give a good reason and walk away. Ya’ll sounded like a retired porn star commented on Leonardo Di Caprio’s acting performance.

• tHe^CuLpRit on Aug 16, 2013 at 9:47 pm

I hope the Driven team will come wearing just Suprima pampers.. u know, to show support.

• Basis on Aug 16, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Go focus if you can afford, do you know ford car is share part with volvo and mazda. If you know where to look part are interchangeable .Engine,suspension…etc

• mahadzira on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:43 am

wow amazing tq paul for the video and live streaming very updated. though i personally dont like the design.

• kadajawa on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:52 am

Yes true so many pretend to praise Suprima but in the end they go buy Vios LOL!

• kadasucky on Aug 17, 2013 at 8:50 am

If you want to buy Vios, just go and buy. BTW Are you a T salesman?

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

OFF TOPIC:
    there is a white retro-looking car in one of the spy shots. Does anyone know what car is that?

• Junny on Aug 17, 2013 at 10:41 am

It’s like a joker’s show, what is this a product launching with meal or what, we everyone could sleep when the old man is bullshitting. LOL

• Well done with the streaming, Paul and team.

Although, when your host tossed to Hafriz as if it was a live toss, the recorded segment was exposed when Suprima’s centre console showed “Jumaat, 16 Ogos”… better to have said it was pre-recorded.

• odd job worker on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

the guy/girl who came out with the name ‘Suprima’ should be charged in court and ditahan reman for 4 days

• Foodie on Aug 17, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Buatan Malaysia, price 75k+, it should become lower. I rather buy others lol

• At that price globally proven Ford Fiesta, 1.4 Swift or 208 is a better buy.

• Toon899 on Aug 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Went to show room last night at around 8pm. There were only around 7 people looking at the Suprima S. Sales persons were standing outside the show room smoking and chit-chating. Wonder what was going on ? Sales too good? Target met?