Mazda Biante MPV appears on oto.my – 2.0L RM150k

biante-ad-01

Last week, we told you that the Mazda Biante will be introduced in Malaysia in November, alongside the facelifted CX-9. Now, an ad of the eight-seater MPV has appeared on our sister classifieds site oto.my, with an indicative price of RM150,000 for the CBU from Japan model.

The 4.71 metre long MPV – facelifted last year and a direct competitor to recent debutant Nissan Serena S-Hybrid – is equipped with a SkyActiv-G 2.0 engine, with output numbers being 149 hp at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,100 rpm. Like the CX-5 SUV, the SkyActiv mill is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission.

Biante SA 04

The facelift process dresses up the high-roof offering with a new front bumper and grille, new rear LED combination lamps and 17-inch wheels and 215/50 series tyres, among other things. Note that the Biante is not a Toyota Alphard/Nissan Elgrand rival, but a class smaller in the MPV scale.

The oto.my ad lists down dual-powered sliding doors, keyless entry, dual-zone air con and dual-airbags as standard equipment. Four colours are on offer – Radiant Ebony Mica, Aluminum Metallic, Black and Crystal White Pearl Mica – according to the SA from Thrive Glory, a Mazda dealership in Cheras Selatan. The ad also mentions a free three-year/60,000 km service package, besides a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

The live pics you see below are of the Indonesian-spec Biante – the MPV was officially launched there at the recent IIMS 2013 show.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Joe Radzif on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Mini Bus…
    (not insulting it OK…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • TongHoi on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Finally a decent MPV on the way….hope the price can be lower down again when launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • alphard basher!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • mat bong on Oct 01, 2013 at 2:55 pm

aiyaa… itu bentuk ada macang exora. tapi lu all slalu kutuk proton jugak maa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
  • Denaihati on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:11 pm

the back looks very spacious and comfortable for 3rd row passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Jilbaber on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:17 pm

I don’t care if got thumbdown here but the rear is just freaking ugly…I might say it even uglier than Exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 55
    • MG250 on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:12 pm

You speak as if you know better than the Japanese designer….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • bawakereta on Oct 01, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Like you know everything about design. Accept je laa statement Jilbaber tu. Exora lagi cun dari Biante nie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Redwings on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:22 pm

This one makes Serena looks so ugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • Jilbaber on Oct 01, 2013 at 3:36 pm

It just took Serena place as ugly MPV as Serena now pushed down to uglier MPV rank..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • innosera on Oct 01, 2013 at 5:21 pm

U FORGET SSANGYONG STAVIC

MOTHER OF ALL UGLY MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • jun jun on Oct 01, 2013 at 5:35 pm

stavic sudah ada new facelift ma…duduk hutan ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • kusochon on Oct 01, 2013 at 11:15 pm

still ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • gstbr on Oct 02, 2013 at 1:46 am

Stavic, biante and serena are all ugly. It looks like bread van taking school children to and fro.

• Pablo on Oct 02, 2013 at 8:40 am

Serena ugly yet it was best selling MPV in Japan.

It sold more unit than Estima or Vellfire.

Guess only you have bad taste.

• Wilson on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:06 pm

competitor for Senera Hybrid~ will this be better than the Serena Hybrid?

• blublibla on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:24 pm

I can accept the rear but the front is just friggin’ ugly.

• Better take the Serena because Serena is hybrid. This one is not hybrid.

• sonyman on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:08 pm

obviously you dont really know what is a small hybrid which is not a hybrid but more of a start stop system. Mazda also got, called IE loop.

• Beetle Nut on Oct 01, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Just when you think that every Mazda looks really good…and then you have the Biante – a blend of Stavic face matched with old Bongo van profile and some really suspect detailing. Were they trying to meld the WBA Heavyweight title belt on the back of that van? Proton sympathizers, the price is indicated as RM150K, got it? Go play in your own sand pit.

• Jimmy on Oct 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

So, now a better and prettier MPV without hybrid tax deduction and still cheaper than the so-called hybrid vehicle. So remember to ask for your RM7K discount, of course not from Mazda dealers, from someone else.

Oh no, this one also only has 2 airbags. ESP?

• NISSpengAN on Oct 01, 2013 at 6:27 pm

This Mazda Biante still can’t beat my recent bought mighty new nissan serena S-hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • sonyman on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:09 pm

btw, all this are really ugly be it serena or biante, the most sexy MPV is still the nissan Elgrand E51 Rider autech.

• sonyman on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:10 pm

i wonder will this offer 2 airbags or 6 airbags? i just wonder.

• intermilan on Oct 01, 2013 at 8:52 pm

yet another overpriced, glorified mobile peti ais.. yes lah..

• Costwise on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:08 pm

No…why…this confuses the brand image!

• slanf on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:10 pm

It’s slower than exora turbo and wish 2.0. Bit under-powered

exora T > wish > biante (12.1 sec)

• affinity on Oct 03, 2013 at 11:16 am

yUp everyone I know is buying mpv for the next f1 race. Pickup is the first thing I see when buying a mpv. Kudos to smart comments

• benzs on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Pricing is a let down! We cant blame automotive industry, its our G it self. Tax = profit for G. So many cars sold, so many tax cash into pocket of G. If this car is price par with Exora. What will those basher say then?

• _xXx_ on Oct 01, 2013 at 9:35 pm

not mu cup of tea, too many and too big the glass panels. mcm itu apename keta yg bawak itu…

• kiddo on Oct 01, 2013 at 10:27 pm

wow, i almost choke when this boxy people mover only offer 2 airbags…..

• how come it is cheaper than CX5 ge???

• safety first on Oct 02, 2013 at 1:55 am

So we get traction control and how many airbags?

• Doggy on Oct 02, 2013 at 11:24 am

This is freaking ugly. Mazda designers please look at other carmakers’ design. Gawd this is damn ugly.

• is equipped with a SkyActiv-G 2.0 engine, with output numbers being 149 hp at 6,000 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,100 rpm. Like the CX-5 SUV, the SkyActiv mill is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission
    —————————————————–

OMG, i tot my current conti mpv wt abt 140hp & 220nm from 1,250 – 4,000rpm is already sluggish when fully loaded…this Biante have mere 190nm and at a high 4,100rpm…ouch, gonna be another sluggish mpv esp when fully loaded

• mazda need to bring their 2.2 diesel skyactive instead which have above 400nm of torque to move this mpv weight

• motorhead on Oct 02, 2013 at 9:19 pm

2.0? Seriously? Must be a joke.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Oct 03, 2013 at 6:42 am

Yes!! Lucky for me i did not choose the more boxy Serena S hybrid as my family car… I’ve been waiting for this MPV to come to our shore for a long time.. Mazda 5 is too small for my family…Mazda 8 is too pricey to go for. This Biante should suits my needs. Under power?? Nah, dun think so dude…i think at 149 Hp and 190Nm is adequate enough to pull me, my spouse and my kids..err our sizes are not as big as certain politician families ya.. hahahaha
    Zoom-zoom…..!!!!
    By the way, i’ve been owning a Mazda and previously a Pro-tong and a Toyo-TERUK.. Quality differences are so high between Mazda built (CBU) and those two.. Mazda is far away better than them!!!
    Zoom-zoom!!!

• Same as you Maaajeeedaaaa, since I want to buy Estima, my someone suggest me to wait until this biante launch…. It is not worth to buy a 2nd hand mpv. I love that high roof design, so ppl seat at 3rd row might feel comfortable, especially taller. I’ve been survey all brand mpv car, this is the most spacious, sporty design of front view, reasonable price. Some ppl might compare this car with alphard, estima…. It is not fair since there are not same range. In fact, the nissan serena is not bad, but the front view too “uncle”, suppose I want to buy this car, after I change my mind when I saw this biante. This is the new facelift import to malaysia.