Mazda Biante 2.0 Skyactiv listed on oto.my – RM157k

We first saw a Mazda sales advisor post up a pre-launch booking call for the Mazda Biante last month, listing the new MPV for RM150k. Today, a different sales advisor has posted up an ad with new information on the MPV, which will come equipped with a 2.0 litre SkyActiv engine with a 6-speed auto.

The ad lists the Biante for RM157k, which is higher than the RM150k price tag posted up previously. Of course, since the car has not been launched yet these are all estimated price tags for the moment. The latest classifieds listing comes with photos that appear to be brochure scans of the car in English language, although we cannot tell for sure if it’s a Malaysian brochure or not.

mazda-biante-oto

The ad goes into detail on the availability of the car in Malaysia. The car is mentioned as being a CBU import from Japan, with a launch date of November 2013 indicated – that would be this month. First batch delivery is claimed to be in late November to early December, with a second shipment only coming in in March 2014.

Check out the Mazda Biante for sale on oto.my for further information.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Keris Jawa on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Nicely priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead on Nov 05, 2013 at 11:16 pm

So this is the Toyota Previa killer huh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:13 am

As No 1 Toyota salesman, I fully admit, Toyota Estima at RM270,000 sure to die. UMW just dug their own grave with arrogance.

I have to admit, my own emplower UMW got marketing team whose brains are in their backsides.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • mazdaold on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Another overpriced junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 73
  • romell on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Serena hybrid seems a better deal if the actual pricing remain the same after the launch. I just dont know what the selling point for this over a serena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
    • Contender on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Serena Hybrid better deal ? Both Mazda and Serena also CBU, Serena Hybrid has tax exemption and still selling 150k while Mazda Biante also CBU with no tax exemption also selling around the same price !! Either Nissan is overpriced or Mazda is underpriced

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
      • frenzyaustin on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:42 pm

Whho cares, Nissan has slightly fc advantage over Biante but let’s see how is Biante’s safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • ladydriver on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:04 am

U have not experience the power of skyactive… unlike hybrid u have a big deal when it somes to change the battery…I’m the owner of cx5 with skyactiv technology engine… looking fwd to biante..unlike serene hybrid…pffttt.. look at the spaciousness of biante..I can out in my hubby’s mountain bike in it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Serena wins both FC & POWER. This puny Biante cant go Genting, forget about bringing your mountain bike. xP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • Enthu on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:23 am

Power of skyactiv? Really?
            It’s not that much of a different compared to an NA engine, really.

Skyactiv is there coz Mazda was suffocating from Emission ratings regulations in US/EU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • the skyactiv are good but we only have the underpowered 2.0 petrol for the cx-5,….the cx5 needs the 2.2 skyactiv diesel to be worth it in term of power & fuel economy…just look at the petrol 200nm vs the diesel 440nm torque figures. (go read oversea car review)

• Majuperak on Nov 05, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Good to hear that MPV buyers have more choices in this segment apart from Serena Hybrid …. similar pricing and size …. now the next would be Toyota Noah. No more grey imports of Alphard, Veilfire, Estimas for this price segment, I mean no point buying a 8 year old Alphard, Estimas or Veilfire when can buy new !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • Yeah, I am anticipating for the arrival of Noah in Malaysia. UMW Malaysia could have bring it in rather than the 270k Estima.

• kusochon on Nov 05, 2013 at 6:42 pm

better than previa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Skyactiv Qs on Nov 05, 2013 at 7:09 pm

a quick question to the Skyactiv engine customers in Malaysia, including the CX-5 and new mazda 6.
    how does the engine fare with RON95 petrol, as the engine compression is quite high. while i DO understand that it supports Minimum grade of RON95, i’m more concerned on how the engine fares after 50k 60k 100k KMs, or 3 to 5 years down the road?

• monso on Nov 05, 2013 at 10:39 pm

It sucks. Skyactive is just an overrated tech. Nothing to brag about actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
      • Dear Monso. Skyactiv is overrated? Come on… Do u know what is Skyactiv technology? Please conduct your research before jumping into conclusion. Mazda has done comprehensive research and forecasting. Internal combustion engine still will be around for quite sometime though hybrid and alt energy is coming up. Hence, Mazda focus in ligthening its parts to reduce weight and increase compression ratio to improve combustion efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Mazda CKD on Nov 06, 2013 at 9:31 am

Overrated? do you Mazda is stupid enough to claim all the advantages of the skyactiv technology with no facts and figures?

• Dear Mazda CKD. I think u meant: Overrated? do you Mazda is NOT stupid enough to claim all the advantages of the skyactiv technology with no facts and figures?_____ Just to clear things up. Am a CX-5 (CKD) user as well. Though, just clocked 9k km. Am satisfied with the overall performance. A good option for those considering Crossover/Small SUV in the range of 135k-145k. For those potential Crossover/SUV buyer. You can do some research on internet and you will find that CX-5 is a worthy opponent to CRV, ASX, Tucson, Sportage, X-Trail, 3008, X-V. Given a chance, I will still choose CX-5 without any doubt. :) Cheers~~~ P/S: Maybe Paultan can conduct comparison between this crossover/SUV?

• CRV (common, 2.0-underpowered, 2.4-pricey). ASX (pricey, rubber-like CVT), Tuscson(use RON 97), Sportage (AWD-put on weight and underpower), X-Trail (dated specification), 3008(not reliable), X-V(boxster engine, after sales service???).

• ladydriver on Nov 06, 2013 at 7:15 am

Using cbu cx5 for 14 months now..d fc is superb since I’m driving it daily for a long distance drive..80% city 20% kampung..no highway route.average speed 95-100km/h..before 10k km the fc was 8.6km/L ..now my reading over 24,000km my fc reading was 7.2km/L…my best record was 6.7km/L 40%hway 60%city avg speed 110-120km/h.. some of d club members manage to get better fc…surely I’d go for skyactiv tech if I wanna buy another car. Biante would be my 1st opt if my family size is increasing..and I won’t let go of my greatful cx5 :D hope this helps eventhough it comes from a lady…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Something wrong with your calculations in km/l.

• Fuel does matter on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:47 pm

I guess it should be l/100km. Lower the better..

• Maaajeeedaaa on Nov 06, 2013 at 3:11 pm

She was too excited… give her a break
            Muahahahahahahahahahaha

• bro, its litre/km, not km/litre….6.7km/litre means u r driving something like a super car or camry with a kancil engine..

• my bad, sorry not litre/km either…
          i think u r trying to say 6.7litre per 100km, which equals to 14.9km/litre…

• dugong on Nov 06, 2013 at 4:22 pm

I am sure you meant your reading is L/100km.

• ladydriver on Nov 06, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Hehhhe..ya..my bad…should be L/km…hehehe..see..what does a lady knows about auto stuff..men are at their best .hehee..early morning maniac…sorry guys…

• SaveTheEarth on Nov 05, 2013 at 8:29 pm

ESP attached? 6/8/9 airbags?

• bokeh on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:01 pm

I will buy an 8 years old alphard than this wierd ugly fiat multipla sibling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
    • dugong on Nov 05, 2013 at 9:49 pm

No one is stopping you fr buying that old junk. But everyone will laugh at you only. hahahaha!! Comparing 8 yr old junk to a new car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • MPV buyer on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:09 am

Buying an 8 yr old Alphard with tempered mileage than new mid size CBU MPV ?? Are you working for the grey importers ??? or out of your mind ?? Glad that we have more choices in the 150k price segment of decent new MPVs …… although our car prices is one of the highest in the world thanks to all the taxes and APs …. our car prices is even more expensive than Singapore mind you even they have to pay COE, dollar for dollar coz they earn as much as we do in SGD. example engineer in MY get paid 7k in Singpore they will also earn 7k SGD if not more so they have higher purchasing power.

• bokeh on Nov 06, 2013 at 11:58 am

No one laughing at me when i’m bought 4 years old alphard last month.It all about our taste.and our own money right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Speechless on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:17 am

You guys always say wan this features and that features… but how much of u guys is using tat… the most important ting of a car is can travel u from point a to point b without any disruption. if buying a crap with full equipment but keep on spoil… no point lo

• Someguyonthenet on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:24 am

I’m sorry. this can be sold less than 200k but the Toyota Previa is 270k. How does this pricing thing work again?

• HAHA… my fren is working in Japan.
    They told me is can, batter dont buy the used MPV from Japan. Because many Japan guy like to rent the MPV in Japan and make love or play play at the cabin MPV. They do it actually is same go to rent the room and play! Some import MPV used Japan also can find the codom in the MPV cabin compartment. Belive it or not is up to you ! I dont care !\

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • donnyck on Nov 06, 2013 at 2:05 am

much more realistic that toyota pahvria

• Will this replace the Mazda 5 in their line-up? I hope it is more spacious than the Mazda 5.

• hondaman on Nov 06, 2013 at 8:21 am

different segment, mazda5 is a midi MPV, this biante is actually a van disguised as an MPV.

• Wilson on Nov 06, 2013 at 9:18 am

I am driving the Serena Hybrid(SH) now and i have to say the FC of the SH isn’t that significant compare to those Full Hybrid Vehicles(Prius) or Mild Hybrid Vehicles (insight). For a full tank, it cost around RM100 (RM2.10 per litre) and the maximum milage i could gain from it is 480km. this data is 95% city and 5% highway.
    But really anticipate to see the FC, Specs, and features of this Biante!

• _xXx_ on Nov 06, 2013 at 9:45 am

10km/L? Hybrid? Call it Hi-Bleed better…

• Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 06, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Waaaa… worst than Exora CFE lorrr… With Hi-bleed motor assists summore….

The worst driving Exora with FULL LOAD is about 500km per RM100, about 48L. Sometimes can reach up to 650km with the same amount of fuel and Load. Just compare power to weight ratio here.

With your drive, it’s 10km/L or 10L/100Km compare to claimed less than 8L/100Km by TC. It’s HI-BLEED for sure.

• ladydriver on Nov 06, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Sorry guys..my bad…should be L/km and u guys r right .hehhehe..early morning not yet drink coffee some more see got comment skyactiv tech overrated..haishh.but ya lor. Who wants to liaten to a lady when it comes to auto stuff..u guys know better. Talking from experince and just sharing..goshhh..underpower? U test drive urself..don’t just figure out and compare by looking at papers.. city drive suv or any car..berapa speed u nak pergi without kena saman? Well u guys know better..I’m happy with my choice ;) cheers…

• CX5 rider here..Skyactiv really a good innovation engine which provide us the better fc. really no jokes. I’m driving with 90% town, 10% highway only with 11.5km/L average. Now my Distance travelled is 18000 km. Of cos with this segment, most CUX or SUV really hard to get this FC. Of cos u guy will wondering hybrid car is better than this figures. But do u think u can save it to purchase the battery pack later? Well, up to u guy…Good Luck..Good Buy too….

• Skyactive is good innovation and still new to judge the reliability. but based on high compression diesel engine which is prone to engine knocking, i think petrol engine will be worst, fuel quality very important, it not unusual petrol sometime quality drop..

Mazda claim their high compression is their innovation but based on info in wiki, jaguar was tried before but catastrophically fail…

“Jaguar released a cylinder head that allowed up to 14:1 compression; but settled for 12.5:1 in production cars. The cylinder head design was known as the “May Fireball” head; it was developed by a Swiss engineer Michael May”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compression_ratio

• ivtec on Nov 06, 2013 at 10:56 am

OMG!….190nm only & at sky high 4,100rpm ….mazda pls bring the skyactiv diesels…pronto!

• Wow..it has a long long eyelids! just here for the comment, not bashing either..

• Kenapa depan dia nampak macam Honda Elysion je.

• Seems like the ad has been removed?

• asampuding on Nov 13, 2013 at 10:27 am

is my eye playing tricks on me?the side profile have resemblances to exora’s? maybe its just me. =P

• Hi, I just return from madza show hse.
    Retail price with insurance only cost RM149,781.70
    I’m gonna to get this. Just put up 1k for booking fee.
    Surprising find the width is only 30mm narrower than Estima.