Perodua 2014 sales target revised down to 193k units

Perodua H1 2014

Perodua held a media briefing yesterday evening to announce its sales results for the first half of 2014. The Malaysian market leader has maintained its top position in the period of January to June with 94,500 units sold, which translates to a market share of 28.4%. That’s based on an estimated total industry volume growth of 6.2% to 332,800 units.

“Despite maintaining our position, there has been a minor erosion of our market share to 28.4% from 30.9% in the same period last year,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, who pointed to intense competition from industry players (foreign brands, not Proton) and the tightening of financial guidelines as reasons.

Because of the above, and despite a new model coming out “after Raya but before Christmas” (making it a four-model range), Perodua has revised downward its 2014 sales target to 193,000 units, 4,000 lower than the original 197,000. “Competition is far more formidable than previously expected,” Aminar said. Perodua sold a record 196,100 units last year.

Perodua-Axia

The H1 title defence was led by strong demand for the Myvi and Alza facelift, as sales of the Viva tanked. As the cheapest new car in Malaysia, the Viva was most affected by the higher rejection rate for hire purchase loans, as banks implemented a stricter responsible lending policy. Stocks were mounting, and holding costs were increasing, leading P2 to slash Viva prices by up to RM5,300 last month. The last ditch tackle is working as intended, we hear.

The company has been tight-lipped about the “Perodua Axia”, despite having to face a barrage of questions about the upcoming new model at every press conference. Here’s what we know so far.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Ah Beng wait for Same Lorr..Grrr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rr on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Because of staff like Ah Beng, waste working hours waiting for me… Proton has to beg around for money and need another 30 years to turn around. lol

I don’t have much to say, please read the second paragraph together:

““Despite maintaining our position, there has been a minor erosion of our market share to 28.4% from 30.9% in the same period last year,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, who pointed to intense competition from industry players (foreign brands, NOT PROTON!!!!!) and the tightening of financial guidelines as reasons.”

You can continue syok sendiri, but Perodua doesn’t even give a shit on Proton. Like I will give a shit to you. lol

• Perodua Typical Bumi Company on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:59 pm

I saw the press conference, it seems that everybody there was a bumi. Perodua, don’t you have any non bumi working for you at management level?

Maybe that is why your sales are going down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
      • Same L0rr on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:03 am

All Melayu or not, actually doesn’t matter. I believe there are Chinese and Indians in Perodua, maybe minority.

However, Perodua make profit. They produce cheap and reliable car, benefit Malaysian.

The worst is the one who burnt so much money design and create junk, can not sell, beg money, ask for more protection and say 1 more year to turn around (they have taken 30 years).

What should we call it? Ketuanan Perlindungan? lol

• whatwa on Jul 19, 2014 at 2:56 pm

What is non bumi got to do with performance? Bodoh. Racist comments.

• Ketuanan Road Bully on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Perodua, why don’t you give special discounts to tudung women in Malaysia? This will increase your sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • passerby00 on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:26 pm

i myself is a victim of the rejection of the viva. reason :- having a name in one or two dormant company. i was like wtf … hello rhb … i have a proper income and job and here you are rejecting my application because i have names in dormant companies. brilliant. and the effin loan amount was like RM1xk after trading in my old car worth RM15k.

• kcng (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:34 pm

We all know that your sales is affected by Saga SV and Personal SV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Yes. Their sales is affected by Saga & Persona.
      But Proton is dying because of Myvi, Viva & Alza.

• iluvmyvi on Jul 17, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Scared of jazz… haha

• target 193k units ? klu semua mcm nie….makin jem la kl/selangor/plus highway….

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Now Perodua can see why their slip up of being complacent over the last few years is haunting them. The Proton options are cheaper with somewhat similar quality over time. Then we have the new City and Jazz with enticing base prices. Let’s not forget the new Picanto.

Should have bucked up on safety right Perodua?

• asrul on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:07 pm

with Campro engine making a big joke under the hood? thanks, but I’ll drive Kancil anytime.

• Tracks on Jul 18, 2014 at 8:15 am

Asrul, I drove a Kancil too for many years. However, I have since changed my vehicle due to one most important criteria which is safety. Kancil chassis offers very limited crash protection and therefore you may want to consider changing it while you still can.

• saga sv and persona sv isn’t helping proton!
    you can go compare 2013 and 2014 performance, IF SV really sell so well, then why the sales of same period for proton is dropping

• Nissan on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Max ur car price tag @50k for all model n it will bounds back.

• Aiyoyo on Jul 17, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Sitting on top sales position by just selling 3 models….Malaysia Boleh!

• Revise target? Lower? Is it because of Peugeot 208???

• nabill (Member) on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Amazing this company actually survives on one or two products only…. I dont know this says what…. Bt i do kno with those products thy canot survive outside of msia…. I dont get the hysteria myvi gets… Im sure its not bad…jus that its nt normal… Freak of nature sort of

• fallguy on Jul 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Good news to hear sales declining. My Myvi has gearbox problem and they decline to fix it. Lousy service center that only knows how to change engine oil. I am getting another small car. A Honda Jazz.

• sawadeekarp on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:31 am

Everything in my MYVI is falling apart after 2 years. Perodua cars are over rated. Rubbish Myvi

• silvia33 on Jul 18, 2014 at 11:57 am

P2 are not like toyota
    My Myvi after 3 years going to rubbish
    1st day myvi give problem to me due to brake disc issue.Good Luck P2 by looking new customer but not me again

• Low Budget on Jul 21, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Wanna book 1 Viva S yesterday, sales man said, ” Semua Viva stok habis, kecuali Viva 850 saje.”.
    They don’t take any more new booking..

• qaseharjuna on Jul 24, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Though everyone blaming proton for their failure of power window, I’m experienced it with myvi..radio also got jammed a year after..HOW????