VIDEO: Proton Design Team and the Proton PCC

PROTON-PCC-VIDEO-SKETCH-0001

Proton posted a short 30 second video on their Facebook fan page today, which briefly features their design team at work. It’s probably a preview of a longer video to be uploaded later because the title says “Interview Teaser”. What’s interesting is we get to see 3D sketches of the Proton PCC being worked on. We’ve screen capped some of the interesting bits and put them into an image gallery. Watch the full video here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Wow nice !!! This is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrr on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Just launch it, will you??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • ProtonGSC on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:13 am

Sabar boy, can’t wait to test drive the real PCC?

Later I ask Proton let u to be 1st test driver.

Don’t be surprise then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Simply because I am objective critics with facts in hands. There is nothing much to complain before the car is launched. THERE IS NOTHING MUCH TO SYOK BEFORE THE CAR IS LAUNCHED ALSO!!!

After I test drive it then I will know how “awesome” it is. Proton 5S lifestyle is not applicable to me here.

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
          • samelorstpd on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Toyot 7O

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

Toyoto and p2 good quality control:

1. Looks Bad
            2. Sounds Good
            3. Promised Good
            4. But never Good

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:42 am

Bashers and Same L0rrr & Co. always seek negative/drawback points to demoralize potential buyers..Come on guys, there are still a lot of selling point for you to opt for Iriz such as ASEAN NCAP 5 star, new VVT NFE engine, DRL, Lotus handling and etc which are better than Myvi and Axia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Proton shit of malaysia and hates of malaysian.

Proton CLOSE SHOP !
          Iriz shit is waste money of Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Msia also have bad luck to have 3rd world minded with full of hatred like you, RIZ. You’re just a piece of dog shit who unashamed to live in Msia. Please cut down your IC and go away from Msia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
          • ProtonGSC on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Agree, this riz keep brashing Proton.

Keep in mind don’t simple bashing if you don’t know anything.

• Nissan on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm

So are you and Ah Bang keep syork sendiri without fact.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Don’t over estimate me, no need demoralize also buyers won’t buy Proton. You keep on bashing Vios still our sales are good.

Quality speaks for itself.

No need 10000x times mention VVT, Lotus handling, power window lifetime warranty, can smoke this smoke that… You can con Malaysian once with Iswara/Saga/Wira, you think you can con second time with Preve/Suprima S/Iriz??

You don’t like Toyota, you no need go anywhere, no need cut your IC. We welcome all comments.

However, you will have to cut your credit card, cut your FD saving account after you get the Proton. Because Proton’s build quality and fuel starving engine will cost you so much that you have no saving no extra money to spend.

You don’t have to be poor to buy Proton, but Proton confirm make you poorer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
          • vvvti on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Same Lorrr you afraid of those p1 selling point:

VVT
            Lotus handling
            power window lifetime warranty, can smoke this smoke that

You arw promoting p1 here
            Haha!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:09 pm

for basher ( perodua macai n p2/umw salesman)
          if they cant tell good n selling points if his product… they will tell a bad things of other(competitors) product

rakyat fed up oredi with such kind promotion by p2/ umw salesman

rakyat smart orediii

• Proton Iriz will fail as global hatch:
      – no power sunroof
      – no telescopic steering (height, length adjustment)
      – no digital dual-zone automatic aircons with display
      – no electric power front seats with memory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:51 am

Ah Beng can not wait the launch date on 25th September 2014. 15 days to go..Sure they will be a lot teaser involving Tun M driving the car after this to attract buyers..Good job PROTON..Truly Malaysian rakyat are proud of you..Double thumbs up for PROTON!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

After Ah Beng spent years in GSC waiting for this GSC, finally his day has come.

A B-segment take Proton years to launch. A D-segment sedan may take half century?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • Same Lorrr sudah goyang. After this he cannot sell Cum rie….loled

• Cool! Very new agey of Proton to do a video like this. Would like to see the full video – I hope it’s a long one.

Here’s one about the design of the Mercedes Benz S-Class:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LRuqrnXBM8?w=300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • eims perfume on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:22 am

proton said they also have all this testing machine etc, they should also make a video like this one. so people can appreciate more..

i like when proton done a few series of videos when they launch preve. also more videos about the designing of preve.. but for suprima no such videos.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:43 am

Paultanian! Please remember what IRIZ stands for:
        I-llustrious car!
        R-ealization to be global car!
        I-deal car for young, professional and urbanites!
        Z-ealously to be no.1 in its segment!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 7:51 pm

I hope I can meet Azlan Othman one day. Interesting guy.

And of course, not forgetting the legend himself, Syed Zainal Abidin.

The others … maybe not so much. Except maybe Tengku Mahaleel. He was the one who took Proton from ‘copy and paste’ to ‘full-on R&D’. He had dreams. But his dreams came at a huge cost to Proton. Not unlike Dr M and Malaysia then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Azlan is the one creating/approving those fail design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • leonardo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:30 am

In most, if not all car companies, the final decision is made by the top management or a committee, not just one person.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:56 am

I don’t think they are ‘fail designs’. I think the Proton cars designed under his time in office look just fine. Tbh, no Proton car ever looked horrible. Except maybe the Juara, which was ugly to begin with in Mitsubishi form anyway.

The only area where Proton has never excelled in is the interior. The Persona’s interior is too unconventional. The Saga, Exora and Prevé have too plain and unassuming interiors. None of the interiors in any Proton are horrible, but none have been too good either (except the Inspira, which doesn’t really count). But maybe that will change with the PCC.

• HaMEED KOYAKUTTY on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Seriously, you will disappointed……kikiki……

nothing personal, just plain disappointment…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • tiadaid (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I had the opportunity of bumping into DSZ during the 2012 Proton event at Bukit Jalil. I was on the phone with my mother discussing about buying a stock clearance Savvy for my sister & once done, he managed to joke around with my friend and I for a while. He was all smiles & I had this feeling that he was a nice guy to be with.

Made me feel sad when DRB chose to replace him with one of their own, which then also quit!

• Aero (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:51 am

Glad to hear ! DSZ is memang a nice and humble person. It is very clear to see, just by the way he carries himself and does his speeches. I fully respect his choice to leave Proton for his current job at Brainy Bunch.

But yes, I agree, I felt sad (and still am) when he left. Since then, no comparable man or woman has risen to Proton’s challenge. I wonder if DSZ will ever come back…

• Abu Sayur on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:55 pm

you will regret meeting such scumbag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Aero (Member) on Sep 11, 2014 at 1:45 am

Wow dude…. how would you like it if someone said that about you ? Please, be more reasonable.

• who cares on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:12 am

AZLAN OTHMAN? you got to be kidding. hahahahaha

• way.too.many.posts.on.this.car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • Goh Jeng on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:35 pm

why.not.its.an.automotive.website.aint.it.?

• an cua on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:35 pm

POTONG PCC…..Potong PAH CHUI CHENG!!! HAHAHAHAA…joke aside, who came up with that name yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
  • chef poodah on Sep 09, 2014 at 8:39 pm

well done Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Not forgetting the ex ride and handling team suchs as Syed Farouk who now own his suspension shop F Tuned.Quality like Ohlins with price lower than Tein..But too bad Proton falls into the wrong hands after Tun Mahathir resign..But now he is back i heard quite a number of non perform staffs especially in those notorious service centre been fired.Wonder why the new VVT engine is low in output?
    1.3 only 94hp@5500rpm 120nm@3750rpm and 1.6 106hp@5750rpm 150nm@3750rpm?Should have push 100hp@6000rpm/125nm@4250rpm for the 1.3 & 125hp@6000rpm/158nm@4250rpm for e 1.6..

• ALlen on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:26 pm

I do think torque curve should be better on VVT as compared to the iafm+.

Else, it will be a failure

• leonardo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:32 am

Probably to improve the fuel economy?

• neemfa on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

Quality like Ohlins? hahahha better not compare heaven and earth.

• Macan diesel enjine,can save api

• The engine will be more torquey from standstill. It”ll save fuel and since it’s CVT, the RPM needle won’t get down and up like conventional auto gear. So the car won’t be slowing down. Do you get any faster? Definitely yes.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Obviously some dimwit dont know what is PCC really for..Its Proton Iriz for God sake you moron.PCC just a code Proton Compact Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Zen 8 on Sep 09, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Proton would surely taste success if it is run by young people who understand the young taste.

• Saw the glimpse of Silver Moon Dust color

• Denim on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:04 am

feel proud that our local people can produce such a car. Penetrate Asean 1st, once u succeed, then go to other Asia’s country n even Europe. Malaysia just a small market, Buat kereta lebih sikit, jalan dah jem merata2.. Our car development is faster than the gov facilitate the road n hiways..

• Proton Iriz 1.6 Aero on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:09 am

Kudos to Proton design team. God willing this PCC will eat up half of Myvi market and some Axia’s too especially the higher end Axia.

To expect new Iriz to fight with Honda Jazz customers maybe too uphill for the youngest Proton model.

Only two thing that l really afraid (cut off point for buyers to stay away)

1: Smallish luggage area- merely beaten current Myvi by negligible amount
    2: Fuel Consumption- the 1.3 less than 17KM/

The abovementioned features IMHO due to the new model too much depends on Myvi-benchmark especially the rear design.

The rest too much features alien to Myvi’s buyers.

• Iriz is not Proton’s Big Thing..

it’s here, already loose out in the B-segments Hatchback category.. Myvi is not a B-segments in 2014. aXia got even bigger wheelbase than Myvi.

above myvi or Boon, Toyota have Yaris Hatchback..

Proton Iriz, fail in B-segment size compared to Yaris, Jazz, Fiesta, Pug 208 etc.

this is not a turning point for Proton. Have to wait for Proton Saga Iriz Sedan to see….

Suprima S RM7x,xxx is Cheap and Big, but sales volume is low compared to Jazz, Vios, City.

People buy PRoton for Cheap Sedan:: Saga FLX or Saga SV.. it got a boot space to be used as a family car.

• Pug 208 and Fiesta both are crampier than Myvi. Try it yourself.

• common sensor on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:24 am

The obvious act of Proton wanting to go head-to-head with Perodua is kind of MORONIC to me ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Definitely Proton has produce great auto guys be it in any fields. It’s so sad and a waste they no longer there and build next generation Proton.

• who cares on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:18 am

Proton just don’t get it. People buy P2 because of the perception of quality and after sales & not about the design. Saga is more relevant to Msian market but the Quality is the main issue. Marketing – the same mistake all over again. ANCAP & ASEAN NCAP pun x tau beza ka..

• ahpeck on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:51 am

not really, mostly because they feels like driving toyota passo. but they dont realized, here in japan passo is nothing..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 3:13 pm

but now rakyat smart oredi… they just hiding behind real japanase jdm brand… but quality like typical
      malaysian rawang n assb shah alam product

now u can see umw salesman workhard promoting vios bios sales is not good as targetted… they lose to city n accord honda

rakyat smart oredi

• The other amir on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:03 pm

They did test the car in Australia NCAP and got 5 star rating.

• JoeRadzif on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Bring it ON quick!
    Wish this car a lot of fortune…

• superman on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:01 pm

so much fuss over a small compact car that may or maybe not be successful. Imagine if these guys designed and built a spacecraft. they will think they are Gods of Olympus!!! India, China, Korea, UK and Germany as well as France all pump new compact car designs each month so why after over 25 years proton still think they have done a remarkable thing? grow up pls. let us see how your car work and the let people decide. we saw all of your programs, launching for Suprima last year and we saw how it failed.

• silky on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Preve is not a failure, at least many more on road than new Vios!

• The other amir on Sep 11, 2014 at 12:00 pm

That is true. New vios is so rare.I really miss their stupid always on rear foglight even if it is a bright sunny day.

I think Honda city is winning the sedan war with Preve closely following next.