Honda HR-V – European models detailed, gets i-DTEC option, more equipment and active safety features

Italy

While quite a few Malaysians are already enjoying their new crossover, details of the European-spec Honda HR-V have just been officially released. Previously, Europeans have been only been shown a “prototype” of the model at last year’s Paris Motor Show. So a little late, yes, but do they get anything that we don’t?

Well, as it turns out, yes they do. The biggest difference is what’s offered under the hood. No SUV can survive in Europe without a diesel option, so the HR-V is made available with a 120 PS 1.6 litre i-DTEC engine that’s matched to a six-speed manual transmission. Opt for the 130 PS 1.5 litre i-VTEC motor and you get a CVT option too (fitted with paddle shifters on certain models).

On the outside, the Europe-bound HR-V doesn’t look all that different from ours, bar the silver roof rails, larger 17-inch wheels and the tube-type LED rear lights. It’s on the inside where the more significant changes lie.

First up, the instrument cluster gets a more intricate design with three “floating” illumination rings. Meanwhile, the automatic climate control gets upgraded to a dual-zone system, while the seven-inch touchscreen runs an Android OS with a smartphone-like interface and an integrated Garmin Navigation function. A panoramic sunroof is offered on the top variants.

As for safety, six airbags is fitted as standard across the range, as is Honda’s City-Brake Active System. The latter alerts the driver with a visual and audible warning before automatically applying the brakes if it detects a pending collision.

All but the base models get upgraded to the Advanced Driver Assist System. This active safety suite includes Intelligent Speed Assist, City Brake Active Assist, Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition system, and High-beam Support System.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• semlu on Feb 18, 2015 at 4:30 pm

pity the European, even though they get all the goodies, we get to drive is first. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
    • George Abdul on Feb 18, 2015 at 4:52 pm

But the European will pity Bolehland price much more expensive compare to Europe.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 2
      • not to mention they get all the advanced safety package absent in ours

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • someoneDD on Feb 18, 2015 at 5:26 pm

unfortunately China smile before you get the HR-V on the road with only a Myvi SE price. also another variant which looks younger called XRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • I pity malaysian get lesser feature than oversea especially the panoramic roof is missing in bolehland. Really damn pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Gojeng on Feb 18, 2015 at 6:47 pm

I pity those Malaysians who so perasan that panoramic roof is a cool feature in a hot tropical country. So damn pity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
    • Captain Obvious on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:03 pm

This was what were was supposed to get. Instead we were treated like 3rd world citizen (which we are) on the specs.

• rockgu on Feb 18, 2015 at 6:27 pm

pitty those who commented.. cheap or expensive here in malaysia, none owns it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Many on PT grossly overestimate the importance of the Malaysian market…

• If true..
    Malaysian – 142 PS
    Europe – 130 PS

• boycott malaysia honda for trying to rip our$$$, give cut cost spec with premium price tag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Now this is a proper HRV…not ours which had half of its spec taken out.

• It’s all because of the fact that our government protect Proton… Leaving us with no other choices but must pay high taxes imposed for an alternate to Proton. The other car manufacturers know that we probably cannot just ‘boycott’ them simply should we want an alternate to the Proton/Myvi. No wonder something is definitely rotten here in this country as already been mentioned by a prominent person isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • hakim on Feb 19, 2015 at 8:33 am

because some wreckless driver who doesn’t know how to use signals, drive like their own papa’s road, all these automotive manufacturing company in malaysia think that it’s unnecessary to provide the vehicle with top-notch gadget. they won’t be using it anyway..

if u dunno how to use signals, how can u even use the lane-watch?

• sexy lady on Feb 19, 2015 at 1:15 pm

signal light for decorate
      side mirror for me to make up my face

• Life of Malaysian are cheap, that why our regulation do not require those safety feature. Who to blame?

• kevin Tee on Feb 19, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Japan space
    131 PS/155 1.5 litre direct-injected i-VTEC (New EartDream) Engine

Malaysian – 141 PS 1.8 litre direct- injected i -VTEC

Europe – 120PS 1.6 litre I-DTEC

Which one you prefer? I’ll prefer the new 1.5 new engine with cheaper price tag, so HONDA MALAYSIA can equit at list Six Airbag, keyless, dua zone air-con as standard for all model

• John Tan on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:11 pm

I believed Malaysian HRV 1.8 litre engine not direct injected. Check your facts pls.

• The power to surprise on Feb 19, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Kia Sportage better

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 20, 2015 at 8:02 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV