Proton dealership expansion programme announced

Click to enlarge.

In a renewed effort to improve its aftersales services, Proton has announced a new dealership expansion programme. Through its subsidiary Proton Edar, the Malaysian carmaker is inviting interested external parties to invest in new Proton 3S (sales, service and spare parts) dealerships nationwide.

With this programme, Proton will have a “unified and stronger marketing, distribution and aftersales arm,” while being able to re-size and re-map its existing sales and aftersales network, which currently stands at a total of 413 outlets. The target is to achieve improved profitability and enhanced efficiency.

Proton CEO Datuk Harith said that the rationalisation is necessary to address certain issues in the company’s present distribution network, such as “low productivity, inefficiency of its operational processes and disparity in its service level to its customers.”

Interested parties are requested to fill up the application form (embedded below), which also includes the dealership expansion programme’s full qualification criteria and guidelines.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Please improve after sales service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 16, 2015 at 7:58 am

P2 pondan after services are worst then our Proton.

You should be glad that our DrM help Malaysian to own a low price car.

Now more to come from Proton we are Global. CBU cars all shit like sissy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
      • Joker on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:32 pm

P1’s service is the best in Malaysia and some say Global!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Expand this expand that, for what?

Old Proton cars (Wira, Waja, Iswara etc), no one bother bring back to Proton service centre.

New Proton cars (Preve, SS, Iriz), no one bother to buy also.

Build quality is the key. wake up, Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Protons are for the poor kampung people who got no ambition in life and are lazy to the core.

Work hard la and you will be like me, able to buy a real Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • VHL Lorr on May 01, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Toyota are for the rich-wannabe sorhai tai lan ngong people who got no ambition in life and are daydreaming 24 hours.

Work hard la and you will be able to throw away your jamban junk UMW Toyota.

• mr_em on Apr 16, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Hmm…. have you ever heard of a company that can survive with such a high ego/ being too proud of its past? High resistance to change/adapt etc? Carries a lot of political baggage? Too proud to collaborate with others?

• Sawwie on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Proton Bangladesh branch target how many sales? 30 cars per month kah?

• Please close down Proton’s service centre. We rather get our cars serviced by Ah Beng’s workshop

• Contender on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:00 pm

What a joke !!! Only stupid people who have money to lose and time to waste will want to invest to open 3S for Proton ….. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 51
    • nememe on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Better open 3S for toyota, at least moving coffins can reduce your work after they have gone to other world.

No more warranty to give

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
      • Abu Bakar on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Ya, there is no need to open 3S for Proton, Proton already offers coffin + cremation 2 in 1 service for their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • deramel on Apr 16, 2015 at 1:55 pm

butthurt much?

• HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
    Apply to sell crappy cars?
    Man give me some of that stuff you’re smoking, man!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
    • Oh man that cannot beat crappy overpriced outdated obsolete Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Cannot beat crap service rubbish junk Proton!

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Typical mentality:

When they CAN’T AFFORD a Toyota, they said it is OVERPRICED.

Why foreign cars so expensive, ask your beloved government and Proton.

• Albert on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Oh dear,Proton has more than enough sales and service centres now.Even some Petronas stations has miniProtong service centres.Some service centres are on the verge of closing shop cos of dwindling new Proton cars.
    Even,for non bumis for RM3 juta,you can get rm120,000 (at 4 percent)in interest from banks.If you are bumi,you should know where to invest your money,doubling what banks can give you.
    Protong,if you are desperate after losing a massive rm 821 juta last financial year,just bite the bullet……either beg PM for more grants(which he will not give cos of your founder’s spat with him)or close shop.
    Just give the hungry real estate agents some income by LELONG TANJONG MALIM AND SHAH ALAM plants and f… of all the dead wood.Just be an assembler of china made cars(like how you started with mitsubishi cars,remember?).Sure can make money.Makes more sense? Where,to assemble china ckd packs? At your DRB Pekan,Pahang plant,get it,Mr MD ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 32
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 10:01 pm

do u ever went to p1 sc? I never see p1 sc that run by p1 edar empty..most of time full of car doing servicing from morning till close..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Albert on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:07 am

Kzm,are you the kamunting Zoo master ? You must be sleeping in the zoo.
        Just go to Jln Gombak 4th mile,service centre by the name of SENSASI.
        I send someone’s Saga SV for service at 10am,one month ago.Only 1 more car,a red Preve besides that which I sent.Pathetic, there are at least 5 service advisors,but only 2 customers,and that is by walk in.No need make appointment like Same Lorr’s arrogant UMW service centres that turn you away if no prior appointment made.
        One in Sri Gombak,just closed 3 months ago.
        If you sell 115,000 units in 2014,spread out over whole malaysia,with so many big,medium and ‘petronas’ service centres,cars are sent not every day,but over 3-6 months period.
        Some of them,to cover losses are simply telling Proton owners to change this and that,which are not needed at that point of time.
        Your research is disappointing.Go and visit those with lesser cars and talk to the authorised dealers.Not the main Proton branch service centres.
        Proton,has run out of ideas…cos the founder and current PM are at loggerheads,meaning no more grants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:09 am

lol kind of expected…well…remember the merger with volkswagen i failed to materialise when i was a menteri…see both vw and proton have so much in common, they spend more time in workshop than on road

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:37 am

Dey Thambi! It’s all your fault! You dare show your wig here again?

• Sawwie on Apr 16, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Sure or not?

Or busy repair for warranty claims. Too many rosak complaints.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:42 pm

lol sales down got time for this ah? more government support as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Albert on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:17 am

Semi the veloo, you are sadly mistaken.No more grants,now cos PM very hurt by founder’s personal attacks,being asked to step down.
      If you are PM,and attACKED WITHOUT MERCY,will you authorise gomen grants to ailing Protong? Not likely,makes sense ? You need rocket science ?

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Absolutely stupid decision from P1 to have this dealership expansion programme. P1 has such many existing showroom and service center but yet they were not well managed and caused many dissatisfaction cases from end users. How does the investor willing to invest when come to think of P1 poor management, reputation, price positioning, unknown product quality etc.

Somemore there are so many foreign cars selling at very competitive price recently which direct impact to P1. The future progress of P1 is worst than previous decades, I couldn’t believe if there were someone rich enough willing to invest on such business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Existing ones pukul lalat, ada hati expand.

• ahliantongtong on Apr 16, 2015 at 10:31 am

Add the Proton Perdana onto the sales list soonest possible otherwise Proton SC in no time will have proton cars to serve. All Proton owners after 1 year, keluar bagi Ah Beng Workshop Sdn Bhd to maintain.

• Superman on Apr 16, 2015 at 11:47 am

no sale and now they want to open new service and showroom centres? they need money and this is how they try to extract money from rakyat??? go improve your image and stop comparing yourselves to BMW, be humble like Japanese and Koreans and make people trust you. shame on DRB for doing this to Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • vault3 on Apr 16, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Not the CEO who conpared. Get your fact right. And the comparison is not per se

• Hor Nien Yuet on Apr 16, 2015 at 1:11 pm

With so many negative comments. The internet speaks the truth about Proton’s service!

• Newton on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Low demand yet push more dealership. Simply against law of gravity.

• I didn’t understand with some peoples. Previously, u keep shouting about p1 sc is bad but now when P1 trying to improve their sc service u still keep barking.. Why???? Are u stupid? P1 is listening to your suggestion! If you don’t want to give compliment then at least give positive critics.

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:40 am

This is not improving. READ. It’s simply trying to open more branches (hence more people PAY THEM MONEY). More does not equal improvement in quality. There is enough Proton SC centre in Malaysia as it is. We don’t need anymore.

• farhanatan on Apr 16, 2015 at 9:16 pm

All here are representatives of import brands or perodua. They will bash.
    All proton owners are too busy working hard to gain money. Thats why they only settle with proton. They have no time, to share true ownership experience, which in my expectation, will not be that bad.
    Oh ya, I will consider preve over vios anytime.

• CyberPatrol on Apr 17, 2015 at 1:39 am

I have doubt that getting new 3S dealers will solved all customer complains and better services. It has been 30 years, I thought KPI service benchmark and SOP must be clearly given either new 3S dealers or existing service outlets are more important to meet service quality. I suggest each Proton service outlets with KPI results posted for customer to see would help customer confidence of using their service and KPI results has to audited before published. Rewards staff or team achieve KPI results, that make staff take ownership and responsibility of a task. Competition and rewards help in bring results in peoples plus training program.

• Please improve your after sales service. Check on price & service package & also hospitality on each service centre. Check on competition.

• IrizX on Apr 28, 2015 at 9:38 am

Seriously…if i have the money. I will rather open a McD/KFC/PappaRich restaurant. Why the hell will i want to dump money into the salty sea aka POTONG???

• seshadree on Feb 16, 2023 at 9:41 pm

hye how to franchise a showroom