Proton Iriz R3 touring car in the making – 190 hp!

11426334_742648275846483_294229983_n

This photo shown above was posted on the Instagram profile of none other than Proton R3 boss Tengku Djan Ley (@tengkudjanley) – it shows the silver bodyshell of a Proton Iriz, outfitted with a full race-spec roll cage.

Interesting, isn’t it? Some digging around on Proton R3’s profile (@protonr3) revealed more details about this mysterious little racing car in the making, including some serious-looking suspension components and huge Alcon disc brakes.

When contacted by paultan.org, Djan confirmed that R3 was in the midst of building an Iriz R3 touring car for the Malaysia Championship Series, previously under the Malaysian Super Series banner – you may remember the Suprima S touring car that we rode shotgun in last year, which was raced in the same series. Also planned is an entry into the Sepang 1,000 km endurance race on November 27-29.

As such, the Iriz will be built up to full MCS touring car spec, so it should get the Suprima S’ six-point roll cage and Öhlins adjustable suspension.

The big news will be under the bonnet – the 1.6 litre naturally-aspirated Campro IAFM mill from the Suprima S race car has also been carried over, but power is expected to jump from 155 hp to a dizzying 190 hp – that’s 119 hp per litre! Power will be sent to the front wheels via a close-ratio five-speed manual.

What’s more, Djan said that the team is hard at work preparing the car in time to make its inaugural race on Round 4 of the championship, held on August 28-30; failing which the Iriz will race in Round 5 on November 6-8. We can’t wait to see what it looks like – can you?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• triniti on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Keep up the good work Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 12
    • ihonestlyalmostcrying on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:31 pm

i honestly almost crying..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:11 pm

A bunch of sportcar wannabe. For a lot of Iriz drivers, they are driving a F22.

Proton, the Power of Day Dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 91
        • A lot? Use your word wisely. How many have they sold to call it a lot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 50
        • Sam VHL Loo on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Jamban junk also got a bunch of sportcar wannabe junk cars. For a lot of Vios and Basuh (Passo) wannabe (aka Myvi SE/Extreme/Advance drivers), they are driving a Koenigsegg Agera One:1.

Toyota and perhaps Berukdua, the Power of Day Dreaming with TRD Sportivo and Elite Exclusive Advance Sohai Edition.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
        • 2ltr bottle on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Last year, R3 team manage to come 1st, and 2nd overall during Sepang 1000km race, meanwhile Toyota manage to come out with Altis Nurburgring Edition car. Looks like toyota syok sendiri..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
          • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:51 am

This is the fact everybody should now that Japanese technology is no good. Consume a lot of petrol at high speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Any car will also consume more petrol at high speed. How stupid can you be?
            Anyway, whether high or low speed, Proton will consume more that others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
          • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Ioma Do you Drive Honda at 140 km/h and Proton at 180 km/h ? Honda consume more. If you never try at that speed don’t talk . You have no experience.

• Yes, I have driven. Proton drink the petrol like water.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:50 am

You must remember Proton is the highest speed and the best fuel saving at high speed compare to all Japanese car. Because it using continental technology like BMW or Mercedes. Remember that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • I know how you feel. These people are stupid. I dunno whether to laugh or cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
        • myvicrap on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Butthurt p2 SA. Why no myvi trd 200hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:19 pm

My Vi is low spec Toyota for poor people , Japanese won’t do that. Produa only Puppet that going to be like that forever and never going to be independent like proton. Where share not control by ousider. Jom kita Merdeka Produa kalau berani.

• rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:08 pm

If you never drive Honda and Proton at don’t take. Drive Honda at 160 km/h use more petrol than Proton at 180 km/h. Please take it do not deny it a fact. If you don’t know. Do a proper experiment first don’ just talk Ioma.

• rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:16 pm

You should do experiment first before saying that because it seem you don’t know about petrol consumption of continental car. Please write based on fact not just write it look stupid and become a lie.

• theanswer on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:50 pm

i wish they can come out with r3 version. 4 door with good handling and ample power..why not? satria model can retire peacefully.

• campro on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Why Lotus not using this engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:53 am

This is small engine Ma. Design by Malaysian not for 2.5 0r 3.0 liter Car. Must understand that.

• eims perfume on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:38 am

because the engine is tuned for racing, not for normal everyday driving.

but R3 could make a stable mildly tuned version of campro and use it for mass production of proton R3 cars.

• rosdi on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Nak beli kete ni…., kenapa tak jual Iriz R3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Hor Shen Hau on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Akan datang bro,awal tahun hadapan.Preve R3, Suprima S R3 and Iriz R3.Sabar bro!

• rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:55 am

Expensive not many people can by or maintain, this is only for racing. Racing engine can’t last long so you need to keep changing the engine.

• Ruhtiq on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:44 pm

So whats the benefit to rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 49
    • theanswer on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:49 pm

u need to understand more about automotive industry before u ask that kind of question. car brand and motorsport is a must. it’s a matter of how much you involve in racing arena. f1? wrc? touring car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • That is for a auto brands that are having good quality product in the market. Not for company like Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
        • Betul ke? hyundai was in Rally when they were shit and now they r going back in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • How shitty hyundai was also not as bad as proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:00 am

Proton Toyota and Produa source the component from almost the same Company. If you Drive Avanza the van Jumping like Rusa and Produa sitting like papan is that quality Toyota. Low price Toyota in Malaysia is lower quality than Proton. You must proud of your product or you Hina your on Chile.

• Same company doesn’t mean the quality are the same. It’s all depend on the company that assembling the car.
            Now you know why Proton have so much problem than the rest despite supplied by the same supplier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • Derrick Lim on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:00 pm

What type of stupid question is this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • carazy on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Should I ask u a question, what is ur contribution to this nation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • What is this going to do with nation? Anyway he has already done something for the nation by questioning the existence of a company that is a liability to the nation and the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
        • Jebon on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Ioma the new secret agent! Automotive spy.! proton the rakyat liability , so technically iam the share owner of proton? Boom!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • So can I question ur existence, since u r so negative might as well not exist?

• sepul on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Is the mentioning of the engine correct? I thought they only use CPS engine for racing cars. And factory Campro IAFM only makes 109hp, while factory CPS engine makes 125hp.

Iriz uses VVT engines btw.

• hayen on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:04 pm

ya lah. Paultan, pls report the fact clearly and accurately.

• zaizaizai on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:56 am

I think they’re using the same powertrain from the previous suprima r3 with more modifications

• DPCraft on Jul 08, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Price must come under 80k, If not will rather get japanese brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • More then 100K for that r3
      190hp and FWD gggg @@
      Why not make it RWD batter, unless it is AWD

• Allroadquattro on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Polo GTI (189bhp), Corsa VXR (202bhp), Clio RS 200 (200bhp) & Fiesta ST (184bhp) are FWD. what’s the problem with that?

• rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:02 am

We don’t want all the low minder racing on the street like Mat rempit.

• How is this going to add value to improve the sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • imnotsa on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Not all people like to know about sales number. Only SA think about commission day and night

• Not thinking sales? Thinking how to get more fund from the nation’s coffer then, just like proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • IrizX on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Another waste rakyat duit endeavour. Rakyat no give fcuk about rempit racing. Only a few rempit Proton fanboy will get high. Rakyat want cheap, safe, FC car and hopefully good NVH and decent soundproofing.

Please fix the noisy PUNCH CVT and vibration during idling in the Iriz first. I dread to be in this roll cage with a louder CAMPRO. Telinga pun pekak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 52
    • Zerome on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:41 pm

U are so 2015 year late….proton now same with perutdua lor it not use ur 6% gst money ok…..

• Thats like asking for a car with P1 prices, volvo safety, mazda FC, Merc NVH. Keep on dreaming ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:05 am

Don’t be stupid Proton not belong to government any more it a totally a business entity. You must understand that don’t day dreaming. What you said true before but not anymore. Get some knowledge before writing.

• rally_fan (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:20 am

motorsports is motorsports.. production cars are production cars.. see the difference? proton is a large company .. there are many different departments who have different jobs function and produce different products, etc. like any other motorsports arm of a car manufacturer.. they do not work on OEM items. They have far larger engineering teams whose job is to do that.. and usually, motorsports teams are relatively small in comparison to a company’s R&D for OEM cars.

• jonn dol on Jul 08, 2015 at 5:51 pm

If it’s based on the N.A 1.6 litre engine the Iriz is using, then there might some extensive mods going on in that engine. But then 200+ bhp N.A S1600 rally car engines are a norm 15 years ago..

• panjang on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Interesting….NA tuning to 190hp.
    Guess they really know what are they doing in R3 division.
    They even tune the F4P in the neo S2000 right?

• so whats the fuel consumption? 12L/100km?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Teksi Kangkung 1M on Jul 08, 2015 at 7:24 pm

please concentrate improving on the built quality, reliability of the car for CONSUMERS in general. Not syoik sendiri racer boys stuff.

Why proton always barked on the wrong tree? Wasted time, money and effort on those syoik sendiri matters??? Again, again and again…

There is something wrong with the guys on the top that have zero real-business sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • xxxct on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:58 pm

TRD Toyota also syok sendiri with junk bodykitted puny 1.5l Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:16 am

Toyota consume more petrol than Proton at high speed like 170 km/h. That a fact don’t deny it, because it tested.

• benzs on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Proton were in trouble especially sales drop recently. Still have money for this? Why not hiring ex bosses from reputable car manufacturers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:09 am

The owner of the Proton is billionaire.This is the different between developing and and develop country thinking. They proud of themselves but you destroying your country economy. What kind of education you have so blur about country economy.

• Yasir on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:19 am

This is a good move by R3. Displaying what the Iriz can be. Like Walkinshaw’s BTCC 850 wagon racer. Too big, too long but heck it was so competitive. R3 have been doing a lot of development work on a multitude of Proton cars, in terms or performance, but it seems that the top management still don’t like selling Proton cars that gets the full R3 treatment. The Satria GTi R3 is a gem to drive, and the custom order Neo Clubsport is an oversteering FWD ( yes I test – driven one years ago ) and a real treat for drivers who wants sublime handling more than outright power. I hope the Iriz R3 will be a reality next year. 140 on wheel hp is enough for the tiny Iriz, as I personally feel the chassis is able to support a bit more horsepower without needing an reinforcing stitched welded framework.

• Orange on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:33 am

The Proton macais seem to be out in force these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
    • rogaz on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:13 am

Not Macai but the truth. Proton is out dignity and you say bad about our on maruah negara. Because Proton born in Malaysia and we born in Malaysia and from the country be more patriotic or go somewhere better for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Orange on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Dignity? Pride of the nation? They’ve been making lousy cars for 30 years at the expense of the rakyat; who all the while had no choice but to buy Protons until Perodua started selling more sensible cars. They continue to make billions in losses and the rakyat is always slammed and insulted for poor sales. Instead of improving quality and making a more saleable car, they invested in Lotus, MV Agusta and more body kits. And all their joint ventures and MOUs have amounted to naught because surprise! – now they’re back in bed with the Japanese because nobody’s buying their so-called global cars.

Proton is 30 this year but they’re still uncompetitive as a mainstream brand and they’re set to remain as such with their incompetent management and crony vendors.

I really don’t see how anyone can be proud of Proton. It’s like Leyland Motors to the British. In the end, pride alone doesn’t build you a good car.

And really? Leave if I don’t like it? Such a macai response. Hear it all the time from the BN lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • racing-boy on Jul 09, 2015 at 3:31 am

Apa lah bangang2 sgt komen org dlm ni, R3 nak kuarkan kereta dia punya version xde kena mengena dgn proton kuality pon lah bangang. Ni niche market kuar brp bijik utk org2 yg mampu dan minat je beli. Yg menyalak2 macam hanjing ni bukannya R3 nak jual target sales kat pemandu lembab laju jari jer… Ptuihhh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • observe on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:57 am

Yang komen bangang dalam paultan ni, bukan pandai sangat bang.. Kalau pointer 3.8 pun, tapi attitude out, hati busuk.. Taip je laju.. Racing gokart pun x pernah, inikan pula kereta production.. R3 adalah motorsport divison, objektif berbeza dengan proton.. Apapun R3 tahu apa yang mereka buat.. X faham apa maksud motorsport dieorg ni.. Motorsport membazir? Kalau macam tu bolasepak negara pun membazir jugaklah.. Menimba ilmu x pernah membazir..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
  • azrai on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:21 am

Ask theophilus to render the touring iriz.

• the very2 ultra kiasu on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:07 pm

190 hp..? wah… faster than b16b nih… hahahaha… kalau production aku sggup beli… support..