BMW Malaysia mulls price hike due to weaker ringgit

bmw-x6-ckd-launched

BMW Group Malaysia could be looking to increase the prices of its models next year should the ringgit continue to weaken further against the euro, Bernama reports. “If the situation continues (weakening of the ringgit) I do not rule out the possibility of price increases by early next year,” said the group’s CEO, Alan Harris, at the launch of the locally-assembled BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport.

According to Harris, the firm was placed under a significant amount of pressure when the ringgit slumped to close to RM4.90 per euro. “Last year, when ringgit was at RM3.80 to RM3.90 to the euro, we did not discuss about currency, but now we talk about RM4.90 per euro and this is a significant devaluation and creates pressure,” he added.

Up till August 2015, BMW Group Malaysia has delivered a total of 5,610 vehicles in the country. The total is comprised of 4,475 units from BMW while the remaining figures were made up of 481 deliveries by MINI and 654 BMW Motorrad motorcycles.

The BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport is the ninth locally-assembled model to be introduced by the group. Said sports activity coupe (SAC) is powered by a 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo six-cylinder engine with 306 hp and 400 Nm of torque. It is priced at RM666,800 inclusive of on-the-road costs sans insurance and carries a five-year unlimited mileage warranty along with BMW’s Free Scheduled Service Programme.

GALLERY: CKD BMW X6 xDrive35i M Sport

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• spongewai on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:10 am

once increased, habislah Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Why Cheat Us BMW? on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:18 am

Pls don’t bluff BMW Malaysia. Firstly, its a European Car. We buy in Euro. Euro has appreciated against the Msian Ringgit lesser than US dollars.

Why cheat Malaysians BMW Malaysia? You are taking advantage of us Malaysians and the fact that Asians see car as a status symbol and will do anything to buy a BMW or Mercedes to show family and relatives they have succeeded in life. BMW Germany is taking advantage of this.

BMW Malaysia bunch of liars. This car CBU less than US$59k. BMW Malaysia will get this car at cost price of US$40k being an Official Country Distributor. They CKD it, it will be about US$35k. But sell here near to RM700k.

Our tax for imported cars maximum is 130%. This is CKD, should be lesser!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
    • Overpriced in Malaysia on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:23 am

Already for years you have been making so much of money from Malaysians. Even if Ringgit drop, why can’t you remember that for 25 years you untung gila gila from Malaysians?

BMW 328i is RM320,000. In US it is USD32k

BMW 528i is RM428,000. In US it is USD49k

BMW X5 is RM580,000. In US, it is US50k

Over the years, you all untung gila gila. These are CBU cars. Our cars are CKD. Should be cheaper. But for 25 yrs we have been paying 3x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Harris on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:41 am

If you look at the car price breakdown, most of it goes to the government in the form of tax and AP. In a way, the one pocketed most of the profit is out beloved government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • riz (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:10 am

When RM going down everything increase,
        When RM stronger, the price maintain…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • symusty on Sep 16, 2015 at 12:08 pm

BMW has a factory in the US. Their SUVs, for example, none are manufactured in Germany.

Also, cars in the US are cheaper than even Germany themselves…..different countries have it differently.

• Capati janji on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:13 am

Don’t worry by year 2018 car price reduced 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Same loo bmw on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:16 am

Good news for current owners- higher RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Why increase?? On contrary it should be reduced or at least maintained at the same prices… This in line with BN’s promise to reduce car prices by 30% gradually. Now it’s time to prove yourself our beloved government.
    Talk is cheap! Show us something

• tokmoh. on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:33 am

Ooo, haritu EUR turun <RM4, tak nak turun harga.

Now naik sikit, terus "kalau tak naik harga, kami akan bankrupt!"

Genious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • konsumer on Sep 10, 2015 at 9:40 am

BMW macam ron95
    harga turun naik ikut market :)

• More like based on demand.

Dulu BMW sales volume beat Benz,
      now BMW Malaysia sales volume lost to benz for the first time ever..

less sales, untung less ady.
      naik hargalah..

• weaker ringgit, increase price?

i thought is the other way round when ringgit appreciate they increase price

• Just boicott… once they cannot sell.. they give discount till 20-30% just like VW…. used people power!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Nasi Lemak 4.0 on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:02 am

Due to nasi lemak management issue ringgit hit lower n lower. And nasi lemak still dont want to reduce the tax of foreign cars. Nasi Lemak oh nasi lemak! And then blame BMW pulak.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2015 at 10:14 am

Why increase? The price should be lower because our ministers say weak RM is good for the country.

• THANK YOU BN!!!!!

• cendol (Member) on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:30 am

BMW price increase but people still buy BMW more.
    This only means our economy is doing very good and the people are doing well

• blarrdy hell say no to price increase!

• News reported RM vs USD YTD depreciation was at least 35%, the worst in Asian country. News doesn’t disclose however BMW Malaysia makes profit margin more than 35%!

• tishaban on Sep 10, 2015 at 5:49 pm

This shows the relative price insensitivity of the people who can afford new BMWs and BMW Malaysia knows it, especially with their recent upgrade to a 5-year warranty.

If you’re poor and can afford Malaysian or cheaper Japanese cars, any price increase will cause sales to go down. BMW Malaysia knows their customers are far less insensitive to price and they can easily maintain their profit margins while keeping their sales quota.

No need to complain here people, we are poor and we know it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 11, 2015 at 12:30 am

im rich and corrupted but i like a good deal too….thats why i prefer mercedes over bmw

• old dog on Sep 10, 2015 at 8:18 pm

here comes the 1MDB effect…

next is the bank interest rate hike…buckle up dude…

• Koenigsexx on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:45 am

Why does Gregory keep using the word ‘sans’ instead of just using ‘without’ like the common people? You’re good at English, Greg. We get that. Now please be articulate with simple English so that everyone may understand. This has been bothering me for so long.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 11, 2015 at 9:21 am

Err why are we bitching and cursing BMW Malaysia when the best solution is to topple the current government and get back our beloved country. They have done nothing but suck the nation dry….what difference are we now compared to countries like Sierra Leone, Rwanda and even Syria.

With them gone there will be no more cronies and stupid duties that cripple the rakyat. ALL these are the current governments fault and there is no amount of good work that can undo it. 1malaysia 1mdb semua tipu rakyat.