Mazda CX-3 launched in Thailand – from RM99k-137k

Mazda_CX-3_Thailand-1

Not long now before the Mazda CX-3 is launched in Malaysia on December 8, but we’ve been beaten to the post by Thailand – the Thai-assembled B-segment crossover makes its debut in the Land of Smiles at the 2015 Thai Motor Expo.

Unlike in Malaysia, where the car will be offered in a single high-spec 2.0 litre petrol trim, Thai buyers receive no less than five models to choose from. The range starts with the 2.0 E at 835,000 baht (RM98,900), followed by the 2.0 C at 910,000 baht (RM107,800) and the 2.0 S at 975,000 baht (RM115,500).

The top petrol model is the 2.0 SP, which retails at 1,045,000 baht (RM123,800), while the range is capped by the diesel-powered 1.5 XDL that costs 1,155,000 baht (RM136,800). The signature Soul Red Metallic paint costs an additional 10,000 baht (RM1,200), while Snowflake White Pearl is priced at 7,000 baht (RM800).

Mazda_CX-3_Thailand-2

All models get projector headlights, 16-inch alloy wheels and dual exhaust outlets. Inside, push-button ignition, Bluetooth connectivity, AUX and USB ports as well as steering wheel audio controls are fitted as standard, while safety kit consists of dual airbags, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), traction control, Hill Launch Assist (HLA) and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

The 2.0 C adds LED front fog lights, keyless entry, automatic air-conditioning and leather upholstery on the dashboard, door cards, seats, steering wheel, gearknob and handbrake, along with the MZD Connect infotainment system with seven-inch touchscreen and Commander Control knob and six speakers instead of the usual four.

Step up to the 2.0 S and you’ll get 18-inch wheels, LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, silver side panels, auto lights and wipers, a head-up display, leather and suede combination upholstery, navigation and a reverse camera.

Mazda_CX-3_Thailand-12

Both the 2.0 SP and 1.5 XDL are identical in spec and receive six airbags and the full iActivSense suite of active safety systems – High Beam Control (HBC), Active Blind Spot Monitoring (ABSM), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA) and Smart City Braking Support (SBCS).

Engine options include a 2.0 litre high-compression, direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol four-pot delivering 156 PS at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm at 6,000 rpm, along with a 1.5 litre low-compression SKyActiv-D turbodiesel pushing out 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm from 1,600-2,500 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission with a drive selection switch is standard fare on both, sending power to the front wheels.

GALLERY: Mazda CX-3 in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:29 pm

What a super over price car. What a disappointment again with no ARMREST, fail design same as Mazda 2. Again wont sell well in Malaysia. Cramp leg room at rear again. Boot space is suck for this pricing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
    • Dun blame others for your failure in life. Go work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:50 pm

If you bought this car, ur life failure start with this CX3

• OMFGNOARMREST!!! on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Lol so your dealbreaker in buying a car is due to an armrest? Glad ppl like u aren’t making or designing cars

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:52 pm

try drive from kl to jb with no armrest, u will realize u pay so much for non armrest and start finding Thai massage when u reach JB for relief shoulder and neck pain. Dumb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Lance on Dec 03, 2015 at 6:23 pm

You are supposed to hold the steering with both hands while driving, moron.

• Said the guy who oonly afforded car with no arm rest…most likely axia or myvi.
            Try drive a big comfort car la

• So it’s overpriced because there is no armrest? Engine, transmission, whole design, chassis, safety doesn’t matter? Ok, got it.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 03, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Car with no armrest, check out the related model. Saga, iswara, gen 2, persona, myvi, viva, and many more low standard car. So u paying RM130k for low cost similar design,come on wake up lah, idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • You are comparing CX-3 with these models? And you compare cars by looking at their armrest? Very clever.

• Ravind on Dec 05, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Armrests are very important man. Apparently the decisive factor when purchasing a car. I mean, what other factors are there in picking a car! Best armrest always wins. Shame on the CX3 on excellent design and fantastic ride plus fantastic specs. Shame on you for not having an armrest.

• pemalas!! on Dec 04, 2015 at 8:55 am

is it arm rest really a big deal? if without arm rest, your hand will tear apart ah?

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 03, 2015 at 12:30 pm

SMALL SMALL SMALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • hr-v, cx-3, sportage, which one is better to buy for compact suv?

• thepolygonal on Dec 03, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Sportage is a category above the HR-V and CX-3… not really a compact SUV.
      Sportage is with CRV and CX-5. The space and size speaks for itself… but the price is very competitive.

Go test drive them all before decide. :D

• this kind of the price can buy CX5….CX3, too small

• Cortanut on Dec 03, 2015 at 2:34 pm

How come Thailand gets the full iActiveSense but ours don’t??? Afterall its already priced high here so adding another 5-10k would not make much of a difference by including the full iActiveSense. People that wants a CX-3 would definitely want the system to be included.

• Do agree. Six airbags & ESP are automatically a must nowadays. Adding BlindSpot Monitoring, Autonomous Braking will be great. In US, Autonomous Braking is a must.

• wayang kulit on Dec 05, 2015 at 10:20 am

Airbags kill. Say no to airbags. Would you want to be surrounded by 6 exploding grenades inside the car?