Proton GDI and TGDI engines – maintainance cost to be less than CamPro, 20,000 km service interval

2015-proton-exora-1.3-turbo-prototype- 020

Proton’s upcoming new engine family will certainly be a technological step-up from its current CamPro offerings. With advanced features like direct injection, turbocharging and a higher compression ratio, will maintenance costs be bumped up as well? During an exclusive interview with paultan.org, Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa has said it should be lower than the current CamPro engines.

He stated that the engines, which are slated to come into the market in 2018, will have a longer service interval. “The service interval will be double than the current VVT engine and I believe the technology has matured for this, that the components’ life cycle is longer, quite reliable,” he said.

Rashid said that Proton is targeting to extend the service cycle of the new GDI engines from 10,000 km as on the Preve, Suprima and Iriz to 20,000 km, per service. “But of course you need to check other things in the engine,” he said. “Sometimes, people get confused when high technology is used. It’s not only necessary to check the engine oil, there are other things to monitor about the engine depending on your usage.”

“[The service costs] will be [lower] definitely. I think those are the strengths of the engine as well,” he added. The adoption of timing chains in the engines should also lower maintenance costs.

Proton CTO Abdul Rashid Musa interview 9

Rashid mentioned that the new engines’ focus isn’t sports car-like high-performance. “I’m not saying superb performance, but good performance, low maintenance. Performance doesn’t necessarily mean horsepower. Performance also relates to fuel efficiency, emissions, and others as well,” he said.

He also said that, like safety, there are three tiers to conducting maintenance on the engine – protection, prevention and prediction. The first tier of maintenance is the protective kind, whereby the car protects itself from further damage such as in the case of overheating. The second level, preventive, concerns routine maintenance that helps prevent engine damage altogether, such as fixed service intervals.

It’s the final tier, predictive or cognitive maintenance, that Proton is looking to implement into its future vehicles – Rashid said that the company is future-proofing the new engines to be able to adopt Condition Based Maintenance (CBM). With this method, the car will analyse its actual condition to determine when to change the engine oil, rather than relying on fixed cycles.

Rashid gave an example of stop-start driving, which can shorten the interval between oil changes, as the engine will continue to run even though the car spends less time moving. The technology has already been implemented by companies such as BMW, and Rashid said Proton wants to bring this level of maintenance to the masses.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Jajaja on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:09 pm

1.5 TGDI 180hp 250NM enuff to tailgating rude toyota 86 that i spotted zig zagging in highway. Good job Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:51 pm

If this service interval of 20K km is true, then Proton this time can proudly say: we are better than bmw (this time in this particular matter).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Still not enough to keep up in the corners. Come on man the 86 has a super low center of gravity, RWD & a limited slip diff.

• Sharon on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:33 pm

Tailgating rude Toyota 86….

ummmm…. tailgaeing people. seems like you kinda rude too…..

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Even if service intervals were at 2,000km i’ll still be worrying about the engine exploding/catching fire; you must be crazy talking about 20,000km service intervals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 79
    • Drive on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:30 pm

BMW service interval 20K km, VW service interval every 15K km. Current Proton service interval 10K km. Only sushi car asking you service interval every 5K km, you pleasantly accept that being riped off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • Updated ,Nissan almera servis interval 10k km

• mazda_fans on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:12 pm

mazda service interval also 10k km

• Bristol on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:19 pm

I heard that 3 cases reported that P2 Axia engine exploded at last year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • mazda_fans on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:19 pm

mazda also 10k service interval.

• IrizX on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Idiot. Honda, Nissan now all 10k/6mths service interval since 2014.

• No sushi on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:13 pm

That’s true, indirectly we have to thanks to Proton. These Sushi cars, they have to match Proton service interval, since people start questioning them leeching Malaysians. Only then recently they offer 10K service interval.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • lazyf on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:43 pm

10,000km service interval or 6 months – whichever comes first isn’it?

Doesn’t matter using semi or fully syn oil?

• kazanixm on Feb 01, 2016 at 5:41 pm

you know, this actually comes to my mind

They all keep saying all the other brands are going more than 10k services but the real question is as you said

IS IT SEMI OR FULLY FOR 10K?

If its is 10K with FULLY SYN OIL, don`t expect all of the peoples can buy

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:53 pm

In order to extend engine oil service interval for BMW and VW, look at how much the price per liter… It’s abt rm80. Multiply that by 4 litres. Of course this is not an issue for BMW owners but proton?

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Same BS story as Mr. Songlap. Going by bashers’ level of intellect, you and Mr. Songlap must be the same person.

• The chances P2 n Vios sending ppl to coffin higher than that engine explode

• Alan Yest on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Rashid gave an example of stop-start driving, which can shorten the interval between oil changes

Does this means I need to service and change oil more regularly. If that’s the case then please don’t implement such system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Fylo Ren on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:48 pm

But also means engine will be better maintained. Its a double edged sword. It can mean a longer / shorter interval based on your usage.

• alldisc on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:56 pm

What he meant was start-stop traffic jams. Car not moving but engine still running.

That will definitely shortened service interval.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Stop-start driving as in traffic jams where the cars remain stationary most of the time.

It doesn’t mean the Engine Idle Stop-Start feature for fuel economy.

• Read it right on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:20 pm

The heck. Do u even understand what was he saying? Its the traffic jam not the freaking idle stop start features. To me this is very good features especially for one who have to face shit traffic jam every freaking day.

• logic guy on Aug 27, 2016 at 3:26 pm

come on bro, normal brain login. Car stop-start during traffic jam, engine for sure is running, thus consume engine oil life.

• New Putra and Satria please

• Alson P on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Perdana/prevé coupé can be introduced as Putra.. Meanwhile Iriz/suprima 3 doors as satria..

• Pusat on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Iriz 1.5 TGDI 180hp 250NM really jilake…

• Malaysian dun know about car technology, they still prefer 5000km service for old tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Laugh gao u proton on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Hahahaha, comp pariah lagi nak buat lawak. 20k interval u tot u are the Germans ar. Tak sampai 5k sudah sang kut kat tepi jln ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 73
    • Bruise on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Hahaha….i laugh at u. So stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Uzair on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:30 pm

I see a good chance for you to eat your own puke soon.

• Alson P on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Lmao

• Malaysian on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:05 am

This is a sign of low self confidence person. Always think import products are better. Id rather drive an old Proton from JB to Perlis rather than driving a 5 year Fiat or Alfa or Peugeot. You know why? Reliability. Proton might have some cheap build plastic interior. But it is more reliable than those European car I just mentioned. Okaylah Proton lost to Toyota or Honda. Even the American are finding it is hard to catch up with those Japanese.

Proton is not so bad actually. Be proud of yourself please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Muhammad Iqbal on Apr 28, 2016 at 10:25 pm

It’s quite true actually. My 2006 auto proton gen2 never had any engine problem even though i abuse it everyday redlining it and speeding on bumpy roads. But the only thing i dislike about my car is it’s fc and low end torque

• nabill (Member) on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:42 pm

i want torque , not horsepower …
    i hope those service centers wd apply those rules n not push tell u otherwise…

• karam singh on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Too much torque, increase tires wear.

• sell preve has one of the better torque in its class ..

• redidiot on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Go get a deisel.

• 250Nm of torque on around 1000kg car is enough to cause massive wheel spin problem.

• Malaysian on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:07 am

High tork is good. Not necessary will worn your tire. The computer should be able to manage it.

• Read it right on Apr 28, 2016 at 3:22 pm

There is a tech called traction control which will control ur tire from screching the road in Proton cars nowadays. Just fyi

• Can pls stop promoting this engine thing? compared to all other top OEM engines. this is ancient tech. pls concentrate on real technology and companies not on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
    • If u dun like it, u can go back to Mkini, Rocket, Harakah. PT will write what they wanna write. U dun like, u DIY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • john is otak batu on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:42 pm

Wow.. keep up the lickin good job!..”politikus”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Atilla on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:40 pm

They’re paid to feature these engines. Kasi chance la bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:46 pm

No we are not, mate. This is major news concerning a local carmaker, so of course we will give it comprehensive coverage, as we always do, regardless of brands.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:32 pm

That’s the only thing you guys know. If someone says something that isn’t on the same page as you, the person must be paid by the other side.

With such narrow-mindedness, no wonder you’re still a third-world bottom-feeder in a dead-end job.

• The technology is actually quite advance since there are planning to make 12:1 compression ratio on NA and 10:1 to FI. Not many mass produced engine capable of running on this condition without knocking. The only one I know is mazda skyactiv. Please do search on compression ratio and the relation with engine knocking

• Oh mak lu cina on Feb 02, 2016 at 3:30 pm

They talk now but dont have a ready product. By the time it is out let’s see how obsolete it will be…

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:31 pm

It’s not ancient. It’s Euro 6c compliant, and a key component in Proton’s arsenal to be more competitive in other markets.

Compared to all other top OEM engines? Such as?

• I’ve got a Ford 2.0 TDCI with 180PS. The service interval is 30.000km and it’s even a turbo diesel with a timing belt.

BTW: MAN lorries have a service interval of up to 120.000km… ;)

• U cant compare commercial vehicles with passenger. The uptime for it is much much much more, sometimes in large continents the downtime is only when they switch drivers to continue the journey. 30k~50k km service intervals is quite common and normally fleet vehicles achieve this within 1 month.

• kereta_lembu on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:21 pm

I’m not a proton fan boy but come on lah…give credit where it is due. If Proton can produce an engine that is cost efficient to the end user, why not give it a chance? You’ll have plenty of time to comment and berate them if the car breaks down after a few thousand kms. Or as some put it as will explode or catch fire. People always complain that proton is not up to par with other makes, but when it tries to be, it gets shot down.

I’ve had bad experience with Protons but if they can somehow do the impossible and make good enough cars in the future, then we should at least be more positive about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • Now this is the kind of people we need more in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Unfortunately we have more pipu who just mindlessly bash.
        As long as P1, just bash.
        As long as made in malaysia, just bash.
        As long as got any gud news in malaysia, just bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Bad move, Mr. Kereta Lembu. Now the Red Beaners are gonna say you’re being paid RM10k monthly by UMNO to support Proton..

• Heck. I wish I WAS getting paid just to troll these nitwits! But I do it for the fun of it…

• 2018… masa tu you punya teknologi dah outdated… steve jobs cakap bila brg dah keluar… you cakap, tp you punya brg lg 2 tahun mahu keluar… itu pun belum.tentu. Too slow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Bullshit. Apa yg ko nk bgtaw pun x sampai. Can u even make an engine? Given 100 years of living? No coz u r as stupid af!

• It will never “too slow” for Proton, cause this will be their future for the next 30 years

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Automotive technology is totally different from computing and telecommunications. Read up the history of external combustion engines and internal combustion engines, especially engine tech during WW2, and you will see why.

Buta sains, buta sejarah, buta teknologi.. tapi nak lagak macam otai.

• kendrix lamazz on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:29 pm

with 20K service interval Proton will enter a new era, such a long service interval means they have to make sure that the engine is really robust because customers will only visit a service centre once a year on normal driving distance….

Kudos to Proton for looking forward

• lilytan on Feb 02, 2016 at 11:14 am

For the current proton, i personally choose to have it serviced every 7k just to check n make sure nothing will go wrong. Even with that on few occasions i still went to the service centre in between the service interval just to fix on few things. So Proton better be prepared and be good enuf for the proposed 20k service interval. Not just the engine but the whole car as well. Or else this 20k interval will be the final nail to your coffin.

• Just drove BMW 316i yesterday and the stop-start driving function is BRILLIANT!! Please implement it on Proton’s car but hopefully with no problem ofcourse.. :)

• IrizX on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:38 pm

All this tokking cok.

Please come back in 2018 when you have a new car with the new engine. Now it’s all tok and nothing to show.

And it will be probably 2020 before a tried and tested version (using the rakyat as white mice) before it is truly road worthy without breaking down every month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • fanofthisite on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:59 pm

keep quiet yourself if you do not want to have news or be informed of new developments. You’d be complaining if P1 “suddenly ” introduces an new engine and scream conspiricacy and something to hide. Better you address the talk cock to Zahid Hamidi and Jibby

• xoxox on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:12 pm

IrizX has a point here…since last year…it’s only about talk on new engines from proton buy engines from petronas…but nothing firm to show or going production until now…why?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Only time will tell how good or bad it is…

• Ong Chee Boon on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

I, for one am all for his explanations. But to realise it (lower maintenance and servicing cost, reliable and durable), is ANOTHER THING.

We all know proton R&D is solid, only bad thing hampering them now is cronyism, QC, and poor aftersale service.

• kazanixm on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Yeah, about that…

I do agree on you on the QC and aftersale service.

So far i`m not experiencing too bad aftersale service (due to recommendation of other fellow P1 user on which SC is the best) but the QC is somewhat need to be more improve and when i talked to several of P1 car user, mostly agreed that the small thing that malfunctioned is the disappointment.

• john is otak batu on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Wow..so long again somebody like jimmy hi lite that it is better than bmw..syok sendiri ..betul!!!. Try post this to Bavaria HQ. .. :P

• Atilla on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:39 pm

As it is many proton owners already keep 20-30k service intervals. Why? You know lah.

• Donkey John on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Boleh percaya kah itu mamat?

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Aiyo…tak habis-habis dengan berita Proton ni. Baru saja mau R&D sudah buat coverage membanjiri mata pembaca ni, bayangkan nanti launching pulak cam mana?

Simple Campro NA tech also they make it so unreliable and making more and more customers fed up of their lousy quality cars. Can you imagine how horrible it is when Proton touches its hand on all these GDI and turbo engines? 20,000km service interval somemore, prepare for a massive public outcry of agony and pain driving all these GDI Protons. Seriously, Proton need to learn how to properly screw a dashboard or a door panel before dipping its hands on all these so called “high tech” stuff. Before you learn to fly, learn how to walk first lah.

Actually, I am kinda happy that Proton “tak sedar diri” and went on to create all these new high tech engines, this will create even more horrible ownership experience and accelerate Proton demise. Therefore, I fully support Proton in this mater. Go Proton go! You have my full support (to bungkus faster)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:40 pm

The solution to your worries – get yourself educated, get a job, or start a business, expand it, make lots of money, then buy any car you enjoy driving while keeping a Proton as a project car because they are fantastic as those, seriously.

Otherwise, you can remain under your coconut shell because ignorance is bliss.

• Ollie on Feb 03, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Kambing, you are proving yourself as a typical Proton idiot. Would serve you well to stfu

• bro, how much you got paid. share to me sikit lah.

• Silthice on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Beside reliability issues, I hope all of these engines able to deliver 75% of maximum hp and torque before reaching 3100 rpm… Only then it will be translated to fuel ⛽ efficiency…

• normal_user on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:13 pm

Deae Paultan crew,
    Another aspect that i am very keen to know is Refinement (NVH). Does Rashid indicate anything pertaining to new engine lineup’s NVH performance? We all know that existing IAFM & CFE, and even VVT (punch cvt) were noisy & boomy compared to the Japs, particularly the plain jane Nissan HR & Toyota NR engines. U may refer to your Vios sound test publisjed some 2 years ago.

• dear mr rashid, please dont mention bmw as your comparison. that is taboo to my fellow basher here. they only happy if you use china car as a example because they think that is proton level. basher level of thinking is comparable with china car too, so my advice is..layan je la.

people talk about engine, they complain about car’s quality. that’s mean people in engine department should do nothing unless proton can produce a good quality car? i cannot brain this. i dont think these type of basher have brain either.

this time i support proton effort, successful or not only can be judged in 2017

• 20K interval?
    You will visiting the service centre anyway other problems like power window, stalling car, wiring problem and engine failure.