Proton not to be blamed for high car prices – Mahathir

tun-mahathir-alami-proton

In his latest blog post, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad exclaimed that Proton isn’t to be blamed for high car prices in the country. This follows the Proton chairman’s defensive call for Malaysians to test drive Protons before critically judging them.

“We are not the cause of car prices being high. What support we get from the Government is also given to other companies because of local content. We have almost 90% local content; so we pay less excise duty,” said Mahathir.

His comment responds to car buyers who believe that the reason for car prices being as high as they are in Malaysia is because of the government’s need to protect the affordability and appeal, of Proton vehicles in the country. However, Mahathir believes that Proton’s position is just.

“Since its founding, Proton has paid more than RM24 billion in taxes while receiving only RM14 billion in excise duty cuts, not cash. Yes, we have received a part of the research and development grants the industries have been promised,” he explained.

“Taxes on motor vehicles are causing the prices to be high. But the Government needs to tax motorists because of the roads and other infrastructures that the Government has to provide,” wrote Mahathir.

tun-dr-mahathir-dreamedge-keynote 271

The former Malaysian prime minister also made an attempt to further grow favour for Malaysian-made vehicles. He said that buying foreign make vehicles only results in money flowing out of the country, benefitting foreign economies and workers.

The chairman’s opinion is to strengthen the local auto industry by encouraging Malaysians to buy locally-made products, keeping hard-earned money here to avoid becoming “a failed third-world country.”

“Malaysia is a trading nation. We export and we import. If imports exceed exports, we will not grow and prosper,” said Mahathir. He also clarified that Proton hasn’t been able to export vehicles in the UK for some time now because of the country’s new emissions and fuel efficiency standards. However, recent initiatives have been put in place to change this.

“The development of the new Proton engines by our engineers working with Ricardo of the UK is going to make us once again able to meet the conditions in the UK and Europe. We hope to export our cars to these countries once again,” said the Proton chairman.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• hahaha on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:07 am

wow…!!!

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:29 am

Why is car prices getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. Malaysia is actually a very rich country IF there is no songlapping. Malaysia is far richer than Singapore because we got oil, gas, tin, rubber, gold, bauxite, iron, kelapa, kurpum, copper etc. Singapore has ZERO. Why is Singapore richer than Malaysia? Again, very simple, it is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship. In Malaysia, you are rewarded for songlapping.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get higher car prices every year. Our guardians are more interested in Songlapping than fighting for the rakyat to get lower car prices.

Oh btw, how come Mahathir’s sons are ALL billionires? So good businessman ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 34
      • Rakyat Marhaen on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:45 am

Singapore is richer than us but mind u, Singapore has higher external debt, around $1.7trillion. Remember that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 61
        • George Abdul on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:53 pm

This topic will be a legend…. No wonder ajib good in talking crap… His “teacher” a far more Bigger “TALK CRAP” then him !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 13
          • stasta on Feb 11, 2016 at 5:01 pm

do u understand nett debt? Singapore may owe other countries money, but at the same time other countries also owe them money. u must be uitm or mara graduate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Khinzir bodoh on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:59 pm

si bodoh, Singapore got no such debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
        • RejimKejamGanas on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Janganlah mengarut. Here is the proof their external debt is 0:
          http://www.tradingeconomics.com/singapore/external-debt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
          • Cybertrooper Suka Tipu on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:47 pm

UMNO Cybertroopers love to lie. The truth is, Malaysia debt is close to 1 trillion and with more donations, we are heading to be another Philippines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
          • Penipu UMNO on Feb 10, 2016 at 5:51 pm

ha ha ha, this alone proves how much UMNO lies. Everything also they lie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Don'tBeLazy on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Hi there…

Singapore don’t have external debt. It is actually a net creator countries. Please check the facts before commenting…

http://www.tradingeconomics.com/singapore/external-debt

http://www.nationaldebtclocks.org/debtclock/singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • Cybertrooper Suka Tipu on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:49 pm

This is BN style. Send Cybertroopers to lie and fool the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • Yippi33 on Feb 10, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Singapore has no external debt (i.e IMF). But they have high internal debt where they “loan” money majority from their rakyat’s CPF or EPF if in Malaysia and pays back with interest.

• Singaporean on Feb 11, 2016 at 11:07 am

WoW! So many Singapore defenders. hehehe. Now you know…

• WTFuchh on Feb 11, 2016 at 12:48 am

Better to benefit foreign brands than proton cronies. All monies paid will end up in PM hand, never has i felt it has ever benefited Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Proton is a Disgrace on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:10 am

This is like MAS. Every single Government department is told to fly by MAS and using mainly Business Class. And yet MAS can go bankrupt.

Proton is the same. Every single Government department is told to buy Proton. Spanco alone buys berpuluh puluh ribu cars per year to lease back to the Government at a super high price.

Then every Ministry, Kementerian, Bomba, Telekom, JKR, Syabas, Tentera, TUDM, TLDM,PDRM, Askar… and hundreds more departments are told yearly to strictly buy mainly Proton.

With all this paksaan also, Proton sales can drop.
    How is this so??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 15
    • Advice for Dr M on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:25 am

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.
      So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm about Gomen not supporting it, but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?
      Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 7
      • KickingDust on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:30 pm

it’s unfortunate , but the statements are true & factual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Khinzir bodoh on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

have to agree. It is 100% true. All vendors are kroni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Please don’t conveniently forget that the policies for Approved Permits were developed and polished in your reign.
    The national car project was a good idea, if ambitious, but failed due to the poor planning and vision of the very people you put there. There was too much focus on getting bumiputeras instead of capable people of any race into the business.
    As a result, your cars suffer from poor quality handed down from vendors that are too incompetent to supply parts to other carmakers.
    IN any business, getting loyalty is done through quality, a service culture and constant investments into innovation. Proton lacks that, and more.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • How Can Hyundai Succeed? on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:12 am

Proton is just not a focussed company. Proton and Hyundai started about the same time. Hyundai car manufacturing (not Hyundai as a whole) maybe started about 8 years earlier.

Just see where both companies are.

Hyundai is a global player. They sell about 7 million cars per year globally. They are No 4 in world rankings for car sales. Toyota is No 1.

Proton, which stated about the same time, with MITI 100% protecting them and forcing 30 million rakyat to buy their cars, all Government departments strictly told to buy only Proton every year, PDRM also strictly told to buy Proton every year, Bomba, Telekom Malaysia and all GLC also told to buy Proton every year and yet, it can go into financial difficulty and about to be bankrupt.
    Every year also Spanco buys berpuluh puluh ribu Protons to lease to the government.

How can Hyundai and Proton be so different. Both started about the same time. Korean government also initially protected the local auto industry but later allowed free market forces. How can they do so well Globally?
    Something is wrong with Proton. It needs to be shut down. Given so much of help and still also now sucking the Government big time.

Even in private DRB hands also, every year, Proton quietly sucks billions from our LHDN in the disguise of R&D just to keep the company afloat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
    • I din know P1 started during Merdeka era. Which history book did u get this info from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 46
      • Rakyat Marhaen on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:52 am

Dia pandai cakap saja. Tapi otak kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 22
        • Budak Utusan Udang on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Tak ambik donation lagi ke bang Marhaen? Atau masih tidur?

• Bodoh Belaka on Feb 10, 2016 at 4:08 pm

So stupid this john. Proton open in 1957 is it? Amboi, bodoh belaka

• Budak Utusan Udang on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Woi budak Utusan, where is it stated that Proton started in 1957? 1957 is Merdeka era.

• Woi macai Rocket. Wiki saja pun tau Hyundai mula 1947. Aparah DAP, macai pun bodo piang tak tau google

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
          • Bodoh Belaka on Feb 10, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Budak BN, Hyundai rolled out their first car in 70s. Before that it was JV. Balik tidur lah bang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Wiki can created by anyone. I even can change the year to 1965 or anything

• One word, Malaysian too stupid dunno how to build a CAR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Car is made of 65% metal…not of kelapa sawit or getah… korea is no.2 steel producer in the world next to luxemburg. No.3-10 is from japan china & india. Logically Msia not feasible for auto industry but proton was vital to convert msia from agriculture country to industry since one car has over 5000 components from various sub industries, which economic chain reaction help develop gdp & help to give you your job today. Last time 1 acre agriculture land can give how many people jobs? Today 1 acre industrial land can give how many people jobs? We r lucky having some natural gas for industrial energy source. Why r u killing msia industry with your words? Are u convinced of what u r getting with your words in your afterlife?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • HyundaiKIAAllJunk on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:32 pm

Wow Hyundai start release first car in 1968 & you say is same time with Proton ??

for you 1985 is just 8 years from 1968… hahahaha

• Malaysians dun trust google & wiki but fully belip Harakah, Rocket, Mkini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Bodoh Belaka on Feb 10, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Malaysians believe donations of RM2.6 bil your boss stole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Proton Vision 2020 on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:58 pm

U think another 15 yrs, Proton can sell 9 million cars? Now 100k also susah. Of the 100k, 90k goes to Gomen departments. Real sales is 10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • RavenAii (Member) on Feb 11, 2016 at 2:20 am

Hyundai started their automobile company in 1967 to be precise. How could Proton be way better than Hyundai when it was only founded in 1983? 16 years gap and expect Proton to be better when your parents themself buy other car brands… Typical keyboard warrior mindset. Suruh belajar tinggi-tinggi tak nak. Nak jugak buat bodoh kat internet. Grow up please duh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:14 am

Proton sales are so bad. 100k figure is false. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
    They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.
    Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
    • Rogaz on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Bro you still don’t get the message please stop what you doing. Because you don’t know that what you said is all history face the today reality and be a good citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 22
    • Car is made of 65% metal…not of kelapa sawit or getah… korea is no.2 steel producer in the world next to luxemburg. No.3-10 is from japan china & india. Logically Msia not feasible for auto industry but proton was vital to convert msia from agriculture country to industry since one car has over 5000 components from various sub industries, which economic chain reaction help develop gdp & help to give you your job today. Last time 1 acre agriculture land can give how many people jobs? Today 1 acre industrial land can give how many people jobs? We r lucky having some natural gas for industrial energy source. Why r u killing msia industry with your words? Are u convinced of what u r getting with your words in your afterlife?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Menyusahkan rakyat on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Who told you without national auto industry Bolehland will collapsed economically? You memang bodoh kena tipu hidup2 lah. There are zillions other industries that can create lots of jobs.

And buying cars related to patriotism? Stupid bollocks! What about selling junk crap cars to own rakyat? You call that patriotism or traitor to rakyat wallet robbery?

Enough lah with this Proton nonsense. Rakyat already against it with lower sales every year as matter of proof. Just sell it off to China companies if DRB can no longer burning silly money. Stupid crap.

• superman on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:16 am

Proton is to be blamed 100000%. sorry Tun it is Proton fault.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Feb 10, 2016 at 1:17 pm

see the chronology and how other car brands prices were pushed up higher in order to protect proton.

1. toyota corolla LE 1.3 12 valve 21K
      2. nissan sunny 130Y 21k
      3. proton saga 1.3S 18k, 1.5S 21K.

at 21k, you get saga with 1.5 engine hence more value.

1987/88 – proton was developing saga magma and knew saga megavalve is coming soon.
      1. when toyota launched the all new corolla, the price was pushed to 40k. to avoid frustration to consumers buying a 1.3 car at high price, toyota brought in a high spec 1.6GL model with 16 valve engine and all round power windows. selling at 50K.
      2. honda did the same, launching the SH4 Civic with 1.5 16v engine. 50K
      3. nissan launched the all new sentra 1.5SLX at 40K+ to replace the long serving 130Y.

in 1986 proton launched the Special spec Saga known as 1.5I (Istimewa) at 28K.
      in 1987 the first facelift Saga, Magma was launched. price increased higher.
      in 1988 Proton launched Saga Sport Sedan or commercially known as Aeroback.
      in 1988 also Proton introduced the option of automatic transmission for 1.5I sedan, at around 32-33K. but since japanese cars were pushed to 40-50K region – the playground was safe for Proton. Even when Proton launched the Megavalve version in August 1990 and increased prices even further the japanese are still high giving good buffer for protection.

in 1990 Toyota, Honda and Nissan were all having new models coming in. Proton on the other hand was was working on Wira and knowingly there will be a 1.6 spec with EFI and all disc brakes and can sell at 60K+ so the prices of AE101 corolla, SR4 civic (known as EG) and B13 Sentra were all pushed to between 70-90K.

this served as protection to Proton, but gave a very good impression for the japanese makes since it gave a stronger resale value for them (by increasing price each time new model is launched) which is kind of a fake trending and doesnt happen anymore when the sentra/latio/almera or corolla altis prices has remained more or less the same since the past 15 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Wake Up Malaysians on Feb 10, 2016 at 5:36 pm

most of the young cikus here were not born yet. People old enough here will know, cars were about 20k in the 90s.

And price of cars in 90s and 2015, 25 years now, have not gone up 5 fold or 6 fold globally. That is why Corolla 2016 Altis in US is about US12k. Its only about Rm30k to RM40k

• samelordupe on Feb 10, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Big liar. You cannot get that price unless you are same lorrr

• No we don’t blame proton for high car prices. We just blame Mahathir for his BS egotrip that is proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • 50% Cheaper for Rich Arabs on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:20 am

Hello Tun, we all had cheap cars in the 90s. Then because of Proton, you raised all car prices. You told us, Proton will be there for us with cheap prices.

But in Arab countries, you sell the whole range of Protons for half the price. 50% less than Malaysia. In Malaysia, your own bangsa and rakyat, you sell double the price.

But isn’t Proton created for the people of Malaysia? In 1985, you said it is cheap for the people of Malaysia and it is a car for Malaysians. But you sell to super rich Arabs half the price.

Don’t blame on tax. When you created Proton, the whole spirit of Proton is for Malaysians. Why are we subsidizing rich Arabs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • Coleman on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:25 am

Because there might be a day that you wake up and find aa 700 Million Dollar “donation” in your bank account.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Budak Utusan Udang on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Malas dan gagal dalam peperiksaan pun boleh dapat biasiswa. Wahai bahlul, pakai hotak sikit.

• heyJude on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:27 pm

I’m interesting about this topic. Can u ask someone shows the transaction of this like what they had show for 1MDB?

• justsomepissedoffdude on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:24 am

Is this man really serious?? With every new comment it seems age is really making him become more and more senile.. His policy of protecting proton didn’t result in the increase of foreign car brands?? Were cars as expensive as they were BEFORE proton came into being?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Politician will always be politician. Always pusing here and pusing there but never the real problem. 24B is peanuts if we had no proton and a real ecosystem of foreign manufacturers here. All these GLC is just moving some money from left pocket to right pocket to back pocket to shirt’s pocket.

• Can I also just add, in away, he is correct to say proton isnt to be blamed. Tun Mahathir is to be blamed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • shawal on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:35 am

imagine if your 30 year old project goes that has divided opinions among the whole country goes bust….

would it tarnish your legacy? as ppl only remembers bad news only…

That is why it is of utmost importance to tun dat this project takes flight….

• Ini semua salah Na… oh wai… this is said by Tun M which is patron of Bersih, which is used by Dear Leader, but he arch-enemy with Tun M, who is arch-enemy with Najib, who is not-so-arch-enemy with Dear Leader.

Aiyoyo! Aparah macha! Who to supork now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Poor Doctor on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:43 am

I support Malaysian car. That’s why I bought a Perodua ALza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • But thats not malaysian car. its rebadge of a japanese moving coffin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • OP Chong on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Oh yes.
        PROTON is going to be a rebadge of a Japanese small car maker..
        Point is, whatever the origins are, it still benefits Malaysia. Local assemblers, local parts, local sales. Like PROTON but unlike PROTON, PERODUA has less quality issues. Not none. Less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • anoncar on Feb 10, 2016 at 11:43 am

If you could stop blaming your customers and start improving on your product and services. That would be nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • normal_user on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:07 pm

I think with that kind of mindset (buy local, avoid foreign), we shall soon be overtaken by Vietnam and even Myanmar as vehicle manufacturing hub. The key here is to garner investment, develop infrastructure and capture the tech-know-how to produce cars for export market, regardless of whether the brand is local or foreign.

e.g:
    1)Volvo, Saab went bankrupt, but Sweden is known for precision engineering in producing automotive components and supplies worldwide.
    2)Maruti models look like straight Suzuki-derived rebadging job, but the partnership has deep involvement with local R&D engineers and products exported to South Africa.
    3)Thailand is the first Asean nation to get its cars (Mirage) exported to the USA. Speaking of volumes, we are so much falling behind.

• sepul on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Mahathir, as good a politician as he is, is not suitable to helm a company like Proton. The company is his brainchild, true, but he does not employ the right people to drive it the way other company did. And now he is trying to fix what he did wrong by becoming the chairman. In my honest opinion, he should leave the company entirely and let proper car people helm Proton.

My honest views: Politician should stay away from becoming a businessman.

• owned7protons_notkidding on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Dr M. Simply put… It IS your fault. You created this artificial and superficial market where mass markets like toyota and hondas are perceived as luxury – commanding premiums. Those in 20s and early 30s desire nowadays is to “upgrade” to vios and city as soon as they are financially viable. Go ask around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • normal_user on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Yup. In other parts of the world (Middle East, US), Vios (Belta) was kinda like super basic car that even lower wage earners (factory workers etc) can buy, and Accord/Camry is well within reach among young professionals. Without having to painstakingly in debt for 9 years some more.

• nabill (Member) on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Many points can be made actually, but its impossible to have a decent conversation without emotions being blown out, after all,its a proton topic,all hell breaks loose..

• takNakP1 on Feb 10, 2016 at 1:17 pm

this kind of bull crap is telling me continue to resist supporting the whole automotive industry.

He may be right, don’t blame Protong today but is all started by Protong decades ago. Partially blame Malaysian? Many couldn’t resist looking good and having status.

Until the buying stop, the slaughtering (of willing Malaysian) will never stop.

• ben yap on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:51 pm

ok, we don’t blame proton. we blame perodua.

• KenaTipudariDulu on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Tun M has been cheating the public thru Proton for donkey years. End of life policy for vehicles can only be enforced if there is no longer protection for Proton, thus prices could fall faster. Face it, when it comes to vehicles, Msia is a consumer nation, we dont have raw materials to compete. We should focus on assembly, design and after market improvements. Stop fooling the pulic TM! In fact, Proton is also the main cause of inflation of property and other economic goods since its introduction. All BS from TM.

• Sekonyong on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:56 pm

If not for proton, we would have become the detroit of the east instead of thailand.

• talk kok on Feb 10, 2016 at 2:57 pm

just make a good car and people will buy, please appreciate for those who support proton and hear them out.

forget these talkkok people please as many people in malaysia are not even malaysian and not patriotic enough to understand those things U said. all they know is just stupidly bash.

• Jamban proton on Feb 10, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Looking at current proton models like saga, persona, iriz, preve, exora, you can only see one engine i.e. campro. If this engine is good then we can accept however it is definitely NO. I dont even bother to see any new model when i know the engine is this crap campro. Even the new perdana is using the old version of accord. Come on lar, i rather top up to buy the latest version of accord with the up to date and newest techs. What s the point to save little money just to get surpar car when there is already better and newer version out there.

• And another thing…since he’s saying the money goes for R&D…..then why proton’s creating cars like Proton Inspira..(Based on Mitsubishi Lancer…) Proton Perdana (the ones that look like an accord but a change of logo…)…well i admit that proton is facing stiff competition from other car companies..but when you guys say R&D…but what you guys are making is just C&P (copy and paste…)…some car companies started same as Proton but look at them now and us….we still struggling and they’ve already conquered many markets..Perodua’s not excluded too…cars like Myvi and Axia..they’re the most commonly bought here…but technically Perodua Myvi is Toyota Passo and Axia’s a Toyota Agya……come on yo…you guys just being chaffeured here and there like Kings…and the middle class like us are the ones who work day and night sacrifiing blood and sweat..you guys can say that to cover up rising living costs…ome shall work 2 jobs…easier said than done cuz finding a second job is like finding a needle in a haystack…telling all this not as a anti-governmentalist…but a malaysian…..

• frank on Feb 10, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Wow! lots of comment whenever Tun M made a statement..
    30years ago, when Proton started, yes car prices jumped. However, car price growth have been slow and even I would ‘retarded’ over the last 8years. if not for weakened RM, I doubt any car seller would want to raise price.
    It is competition that holds the price down. I say, car price down 30% is amounting to deflation which is not good for economy in general. If I am CEO of a company, any marketing manager of mine proposing to cut 30% price off, I would ‘sack him’ for being stupid and non-business sense.
    Price of car today is result of competitive pricing. it may not go down drastically but I will have pressure and it is healthy.
    As for Proton, I am glad to hear about the new engine development and improved quality of products recently. No doubt Proton have improved. Is this the result of competition ? Is competition good for Proton management to realize the importance of being on the toe and not taking us for granted. not hiding behind government protection ?
    So Tun M, we are waiting to see the transformation you bring to Proton and we will test drive proton as it unveils…. but Tun, do answer us, if open competition brings out the best in Proton and M’sian as a whole ?
    cheers

• Jobless on Feb 10, 2016 at 5:26 pm

If u cek the new car prices, almost NONE of the foreign car models able to sell LOwEr than AnY Prodon model in the same class…even 1.2 models selling higher than Prodon 1.5 and 1.6 models

• Pembuli tegar on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:07 pm

Vios J and City S supposed to be selling at Rm57k here but not allowed.

Mesti ada hantu suruh MITI jangan approve that price!

• Almera boleh jual 57k pulak… topkek macai

• Ambik Kau on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:49 am

Nissan Almera (Thailand price in RM):
          Manual = Rm45K
          Auto CVT = Rm50K

Mitsubishi Attrage (Thailand price in RM):
          Manual = Rm45K
          Auto CVT = Rm49K

Honda Jazz S (Thailand price in RM):
          Manual = Rm56K
          Auto CVT = Rm60K

Ford Fiesta (Thailand price in RM):
          1.5 Auto = Rm50K
          1.0 Ecoboost Auto = Rm66K

What say you now macai bangsat John? Ptuiii

• John Beng on Feb 10, 2016 at 6:06 pm

Too much car imports = Failed 3rd world country?

Or Proton failed to export much of its pathetic cars.

Ha ha ha! Joke of the year for stupid macais.

• Not true, because now proton car also expensive..enough to compare other high price car brand.

• Jumban on Feb 10, 2016 at 9:23 pm

Preve only Rm40k at Australia yet still tidak laku there. What a kangaroo joke!

• john is otak batu on Feb 11, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Too late, A lot of dealers already stop import for Proton & switching for Japanese cars.
        These Australian Dealers already cutting down their losses.

• Harimau malaya on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:24 pm

Too bad . Perception too negative. Mostly made by proton hater or TDM hater. I’ve owned proton starting with saga megavalve then upgrade to wira, waja, gen2 and latest iriz. I can say lot of improvement done to iriz and it is really a good car. Well done proton. Keep impoving. Ignore all basher and move forward. Hater will always hate. Most of the basher are young cikus which never own a proton anyway (but their parent may once owned a proton i guess)

• Good Parent Advice on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:57 am

Their parents made mistake bought Proton and suffered. They love their children so they tell them not to do same mistake and once they start working save their salary from stupid 9 years loan, not to mention the cost of repetitive repairs etc.

• jinggo on Feb 10, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Wahai Tun Dr M.
    Akuilah bahawa kewujudan Proton sejak 32 tahun yang lalu telah menyebabkan rakyat Malaysia menderita & merana kerana dipaksa membeli kereta pada harga yang mahal. Rakyat dinafikan hak untuk memiliki kenderaan berkualiti pada harga yang sepatutnya hanya kerana ingin menjaga periuk nasi segelintir pihak yang tamak dan zalim. Selain dari harga kereta yang terlampau mahal, rakyat turut dipaksa berhutang dengan kadar bunga yang tinggi dan tempoh sehingga 9 tahun hanya untuk memiliki sebuah kenderaan yang pada hakikatnya adalah keperluan kerana sistem pengangkutan awam yang sangat lemah sejak negara dibawah kepimpinan Tun lagi. Hal yang demikian telah menyebabkan pendapatan bolehguna rakyat berkurangan dek angkara idea Proton yang Tun bawa. Sampai bila rakyat Malaysia harus membangsatkan diri mereka? Sedarkah Tun bahawa Islam mewajibkan umatnya untuk memiliki kenderaan yang terbaik untuk diri dan keluarga mereka? Demi rakyat, Tun wajib buang rasa ego dan angkuh, tutup Proton dan berikan keadilan kepada rakyat Malaysia. Setiap perkara yang telah kita lakukan di dunia ini akan kita jawab di hadapan Allah di akhirat kelak. Tun telah merampas hak setiap rakyat Malaysia sejak 1983 dengan mewujudkan Proton. Mampukah Tun menjawab di hadapan Allah? Masih belum terlewat untuk Tun membetulkan keadaan yang tidak adil ini dan peluang untuk menebus kesilapan lalu sambil menabur jasa kepada rakyat Malaysia. Tun, tolonglah… tutup Proton, saya merayu.. tolong lah kami rakyat Malaysia.

• selena gemas NS on Feb 11, 2016 at 1:33 am

duk sibuk nak eksport proton ke uk dan eropah… macam la org sana ketagih nak beli kereta proton…

bodo punya tun

pasaran automotif lebih besar dari setakat eropah tu…

iran, pakistan, bangla, indon, india… dan ada byk lagi negara lain yg ada di dunia ni yg memiliki pasaran yg luas..

pergi la jual proton kau tu kat negera2 tu…

tapi bila difikir balik nak berlawan di thailand pun proton tak lepas..

bodo punya tun ..puiii

• Singaporean on Feb 11, 2016 at 11:10 am

Kalau dapat eksport ke eropah, senang la nak masuk pasaran lain sebab standard eropah tinggi, lagipun profil poduk jadi bagus sebab produk diterima di eropah. Kau ni mesti bukan orang bisnes kan??? hehehe. Que Puteh, Que Puteh, Barulah Puteh!!!

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 11, 2016 at 4:26 am

Simple idea. Abolish the tax on cars. The result would of course be 20% GST and 50% income tax, like in countries without high car taxes. In the end you still can’t afford nice cars, of course, but hey…

The government needs money to pay for corrupt government officials and sometimes also social services, infrastructure, healthcare etc.

I work in Germany. Almost half my income I don’t even see. Goes straight to the government, healthcare etc. And then there’s the 20% GST on almost everything. 59% of the petrol price is due to taxes… so a more than 100% tax on petrol. But hey, cars are “affordable” (actually not even that is really true, except for base spec versions of each car, once you get the specs contis get as standard in Malaysia the price goes up a lot).

• kadajawa on Feb 11, 2016 at 9:52 am

Smart Germans will always choose at least a Skoda car, not Proton.

• lim ah pek on Feb 11, 2016 at 8:40 am

kate bodo marah.. ni blog kereta. bukan blog hentam org

• K.Ganesh on Feb 11, 2016 at 8:51 am

My personal opinion is proton can so better.
    – Do indepth studies how othet manufacturers have done well without being over-prized
    – Launch prototypes (push the limits) in car shows and appreciate feedback from media and critic.
    – To avoid embarrassments they can pattner with Lotus directly

If you ask me flaws are everywhere. Nobody is perfect …. Malaysia sure boleh ;)

• MohamadAli on Feb 11, 2016 at 11:06 am

Then why is your son driving high end Ferraris? And yet you always ask the people to support your Proton? Cakap tak serupa buat!

• horrayooi on Feb 11, 2016 at 3:01 pm

These Proton engineers are dumb and not productive, that is why they are there in Ricardo. If they are intelligent they should be designing our own engine in Malaysia. What are you talking about money flowing out the country old fool. Getting Ricardo to design engines is also wasting Malaysian money.Our car prices are high because they are fixed by our government not because of market forces. You just explore the prices in US online and convert to Malaysian currency , you will get the picture. We also always get the watered down specs.

• Unforgiven on Feb 14, 2016 at 1:01 am

It’s so true that Proton is not to be blamed, it’s Tun M that we are blaming.