Honda looking at sub-compact SUV to sit below HR-V?

honda-hr-v-official-10

Honda appears to be building up a case for a sub-compact SUV that will sit below the HR-V, according to a report by GoAuto. Stephen Collins, director of Honda Australia foresees that such a vehicle – a smaller SUV than the HR-V – will be the next top segment in Australia.

As for the reason behind why a smaller SUV could be developed, the answer lies in the HR-V’s dimensions, which are similar to the Nissan Qashqai SUV. This in turn, allows for some space in which a sub-compact SUV can be slotted in. “I’m sure you know there is a BR-V which is a Brio-based SUV. It’s primarily made for emerging markets, so at this stage it is not in our (Australian) plans,” he said.

Moreover, the BR-V’s dimensions are also too similar to the HR-V, which doesn’t make it a viable candidate as a sub-compact SUV, noted Honda Australia’s product coordination manager, Atsushi Takaoka. “Basically, we are investigating it. So we need to investigate it more and more. But, there may be some possibility,” Takaoka said.

Honda BR-V Thailand launch 2

Meanwhile, Collins also mentioned that the next-generation CR-V will focus mainly on technology, while a third row could be a possibility. As there are no plans to introduce the larger Honda Pilot in Australia, the next-gen CR-V would fill the gap of a seven-seater SUV.

“I think we are looking at everything. I think engine technology is an important point that we are looking very closely at. We are looking at how can we expand opportunities more into the lower end of the larger SUVs and the seven-seat question comes up. So we are exploring all of those opportunities,” he explained.

On the other hand, Collins disclosed that the shift from sedan and wagons to SUV is significant. It has come to a point where the Accord has turned into a challenge in terms of sales. The director even went to the extent to label that segment as a “worry.”

“Accord is low volume for us, it’s under 100 (units) a month, the segment is going down. It is tough work. We think Accord still has a role, we have a model change happening in a month or so. It is not a full model change, it is a mid-life change with some significant upgrades,” he revealed.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Is Honda bodoh? already the HRV is so small and tiny. How can anyone enter this new car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • skatax on Mar 22, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Honda Australia is only doing a market study. The is no justification if it will be fruitful. I do agree a sub HR-V will be overkill, moreover caucasians tend to have bigger frame, a smaller SUV would not be practical. They should instead look at where Mazda is heading in expanding SUV territory, take for example CX-4.

• Time to KO those GLA and Q2 categories

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:12 pm

HRV is B segment SUV and Honda is looking at A segment SUV? Good to see the people is willing to buy small car with big rim/tyre.

• mazdasux on Mar 22, 2016 at 4:39 pm

CX4 is pointless, size is too near to smaller CX3 or bigger CX5

You can enter this new car if you are below 50kg

• Toyohatsu on Mar 22, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Just take a CR-Z fit bigger tyres and raise ground clearance, there you have it a sub-compact SUV to sit below HR-V. Problem solved, next…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • seman on Mar 22, 2016 at 4:18 pm

jack up the tiny jazz also can

• Great. Toyota can’t even follow

• Tak laku on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Toyota?Outdated thinking just want to sell old version mpv.Same lorr sell avanza enough.Leave suv to Honda.Even RAV4 remain silent like sleeping cimpanzi

• thepolygonal on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Looks sporty too with a jacked up CRZ… hahaha

• next gen CR-V will be a 7 seater…
    then the next HR-V will be more chubbier…
    then only they can slot in another sub-sub compact (micro suv in the US i guess) , altho which part of sports & utility this midget vehicle can provide remains to be seen

It wont make it to malaysia of coz…
    cuz we hv d BR-V already…

• If CRV is 7 seater then BRV can be chopped off production.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:36 pm

I really would like to see how Honda malaysia positions the BR-V, if it is indeed coming here.

There is not too big a price gap between the B segment City/Jazz and the B+ HR-V.

But in any case, if the BRV would end up being here, one can say bye bye to the Avanza.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Classic case of ‘lets make it few mm shorter, few mm smaller in general and walla, a new model!