2016 Mazda 2 now available in four additional colours

Smokey Rose Mica (left), Dynamic Blue Mica

The 2016 Mazda 2 was introduced in Malaysia only recently, whereby the B-segment car (available in sedan and hatchback body styles) gained the brand’s familiar LED headlamps and signature DRLs. While previously the colour options were limited to just four, it has now been expanded to eight.

That’s right, Smokey Rose Mica, Deep Crystal Blue Mica, Dynamic Blue Mica and Black Mica will now join Snowflake White Pearl, Aluminium Metallic, Metropolitan Grey and the brand’s trademark Soul Red as the 2’s colour options.

In terms of availability, the new colours are either already available here (in limited units) or will be on its way soon. The reasoning behind this is for Bermaz to test market demand for the new colours. Pricing wise, the new colours sees no change to the 2’s price tag, which is RM90,766.30 (OTR without insurance). Those opting for the Soul Red option will still need to top up an additional RM530.

Black Mica (left), Deep Crystal Blue Mica

Aside from the new colour options, the 2 remains unchanged from before. Under the hood, you’ll find a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder direct injected petrol engine (with i-Stop), providing 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission is mated to the mill.

Inside, there are still leather seats, single zone automatic climate control, manually adjustable seats, paddle shifters and heads-up display. Infotainment comes in the form of the MZD Connect system, with six speakers, a seven-inch touchscreen and Commander Control knob/buttons. The system can be upgraded with a navigation function a cost option (RM1,270).

Keep in mind that the photos seen here are for illustration purposes only, hence the Demio nameplate and off-coloured whiskers on the car’s grille (ours matches the body colour). We’ll try to get live photos of the 2 in all its new shades in the future. So, if you’re interested to purchase a Mazda 2, which colour do you think appeals to you most?

For sales and test drive enquiries, you may contact CarBase.my Verified Sales Advisors linked below:

GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 2 in Soul Red

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Mazda 2 rear seat space worse than saga, myvi, viva, i10, and only better than my yamaha LC 135. Damn cramp, duno why mazda designer must design all model with tat narrow seat, even cx5 also cramp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:57 pm

true actually , its not packaged very well..ya it drives good n looks pretty..bt this car is not for families…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Axia leg room better than mazda 2 3 time….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • pendek on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:29 pm

are u guys 180cm? i think avarage malaysia only 165cm…lol…want big leg room, buy Almera la…cheap and big leg room ma…:)))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
        • Albert on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Pendek,Ameira ok but the suspension is SUPER STIFF.
          IT rides like an aeroplane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Josh Ling on Apr 04, 2016 at 8:14 pm

excuse me, have you seen any “real” malaysian these days?? average 165cm only, really?? it’s very cramped i must say.

• Albert on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:46 pm

OMG,If your budget is rm 92K would u buy a Mazda 2?
      Add 10k,you will be zooming in town with HRV Honda.
      Plenty of choices if u have rm100k budget for new car.
      I think u have to go for surgery to shorten your legs if u get a Mazda.IT is too cramped.Similarly the Mazda 3.
      Car prices have overshot the runway.
      Be careful,cos more job losses and business closures on the horizon.Protong is on the verge of bankruptcy if Saudi santa goes on holiday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • If wan ample leg room at reasonable price, get Exora Bold. Now with ESP. Much safer than Avanza, Innova, Misfortuner moving coffins.

Secure ur famili. Say NO to moving coffins!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • To owners, pls drive carefully, i saw twice the owner recklessly drive their car in LDP cutting the lane and use the emergency lane without feeling any wrong about it. Face the truth, it’s just mazda. Not merc nor bmw luxury b segment cars that you can be proud off. Sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • All cars should drive safely. Is there no people died in accident before who driving conti cars

• Captain Obvious on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:06 pm

But what does that gotta do with the car? Myvi also do that right?

• Michael on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Great car, Great brand, ruined by a horrible cut throat managing company who wants to sell their cars and service like BMW price without the quality.

• Another Gay Movie on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Mazda is trying to be like UMW.. Being so arrogant as its model line ups sell quite well.. But now what happened? Those old dino engine no power to rev uphill.Fuel consumption increased by 35-40%.Now all just rusting in stockyards waiting for 1year birthday! FYI vios 2015 still available at all branches nationwide.Whoever desperate for 0% & full accessories just go the showroom they giving 10k rebate for that underpower junk! Talking bout cramped M ‘2 sell at 92k u gotta be kidding me! Maybe just paint all 8 colours on that car to be ‘gay colour’ along with gay vios.. Ps: Gay = happy.Hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Smlok on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:04 pm

90k without insurance? Look for ghost to buy

• Bernard on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:31 am

The price is ridiculous! If its RM60k…….worthwhile buy.

Also, cars like these must have manual transmission.

The rear is ugly.