New 2016 Perodua Myvi 1.5L facelift to debut on May 7

Now this is a surprise. According to a posting on Naza World’s Instagram account, the newly facelifted Perodua Myvi will make its debut at the “Riuh Bersama Perodua” event at Naza Mekar’s Perodua showroom at TTDI this Saturday, May 7.

The image posted depicts the refreshed model for 2016 (a facelift arrived in 2015) alongside the Axia and Alza. The words “introducing new Myvi 1.5 facelift” is an obvious indication that no change to the car’s mechanicals will be done. Therefore, expect the 1.5 litre 3SZ-VE DOHC four-cylinder petrol engine to retain its position under the hood, paired to either a five-speed manual or four-speed auto.

As for its updated looks, we’ll have to use our imagination (or wait for this Saturday), as the image doesn’t provide any hint on what the facelifted Myvi will look like. Some may speculate that the all-new Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon may serve as an inspiration here, both inside and out, though it may be a little far-fetched considering both models were only introduced just weeks ago.

Intrigued? So are we, but we’ll have to wait for the aforementioned event that takes place this weekend before we can get more details on the refreshed hatchback, including its pricing. For now, what do you think the facelifted Myvi will look like?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Still using old Perodua logo and font. Perodua should terminate this dealership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • ProtonGSC on May 04, 2016 at 1:25 pm

After the launch get the pre-facelift (current) to receive more discount.

• No more stock d. I just got mine 3 weeks ago:(

• ProtonGSC on May 04, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Thanks for the updates.

• WT Fuchhh on May 04, 2016 at 8:02 pm

This model, more than 10 years old, still doing facelift only….How much can Perodua squeeze this car. WTF…..Knowing P2, there would probably change the front 2headlamp n call it major facelift.

• You only can jealous. You proton don’t have the luxury to facelift, sebab stock lama tak tau bila nak terjual.

• alldisc on May 04, 2016 at 1:05 pm

New bodykit giving huge downforce allowing the car to take corners at 155kph. And the power to humiliate a gen2 1.3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Bangsa on May 04, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Sy tak minat langsung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Junk car always do facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…junk car? but the facts shown facelift on junk car can still make good sales than P1 …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Pintaras on May 04, 2016 at 1:09 pm

If u stop buying Myvi, definitely they will stop facelift. So guys what do u think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • What’s wrong with facelift?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • Albert on May 04, 2016 at 2:02 pm

If u sell facelifts,you maintain your volume till the new model comes,right?
        Protong has not only been selling facelifts,but new versions like iriz,Suprima,Preve BUT sales still kaput!!!
        Why?
        QUALITY AND PERCEPTION ISSUES….WHICH pROTONG failed to comprehend and respond to customer’s demands.
        Well Done,Aminar..but please rush the new version of Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • Proton cannot have facelift because they don’t even know when the stock at yard can finish. You can’t be launching facelift while still clearing the existing stocks. If Proton launch facelift in 2016, customer will probably get it in 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Matchy on May 04, 2016 at 1:47 pm

I think they’ll even introduce more facelift to drive up the sale!

• Please for goodness sake, include Traction Control and Electronic Stability control for your vehicle for once would you? I don’t mind no changes to exterior, but my life is worth more than the accessories on this facelift.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • They also insist on having backlit speedometers which make drivers think their lights are on at night.

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:37 am

Back-lit is fine. What is greatly missing is the indicator for telling the driver their (hi/fog/normal) lights are on.

• thepolygonal on May 04, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Well at least the teaser comes with a definite date of reveal unlike some other ahem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • policeman on May 04, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Yay! New bumpers,and grille.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • kakibangku on May 04, 2016 at 1:20 pm

mesti tukar bumper depan belakang.. pastu sportrim baru.. acah2 facelift pulak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Abah kau on May 04, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Betul lah namanya facelift. Tukar wajah. Ko nak tukar semua ke?

• Aero (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 1:42 pm

I somehow hope that Perodua added in ESC for this Myvi 1.5 facelift, but I doubt they did. Until now, Perodua has not sold a single car with ESC in Malaysia. Not even their U.K.-spec Myvi had it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Another cosmetic job until the all new Myvi arrives a couple of years later

• wtf old logo?

• It will have keyless entry

• Matchy on May 04, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Hmm… why is it Naza World that launch the facelift?

• Naza isn’t the one launching, if u actually check out MYPERODUA facebook, they actually teased about a “Mystery Suprise Myvi” when they are promoting their 7th May Event

• nabill (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 1:52 pm

probably the steering wheel will have an extra horn button….silly me , its a new stripe on the bumper(front)..the rear bumper will get the stripe on the next facelift around year 2025

• Psyduck on May 04, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Lagi Best has transformed to be Lagi Beast!

• cheap car…merc better

• Albert on May 04, 2016 at 2:06 pm

protong, where is your Hondana and facelifted Saga ?
    Alamak…..Perodua sekarang durian runtuh,tapi Plotong …durian belum masak pulak.Kesian.
    another few thousand bookings lost to diehard Perodua fanboys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Just some changes of exterior only with rooftop n pillar with black color,like Swift.

• just bumbung warna hitam lol

• rashuk_khan2 on May 05, 2016 at 2:59 pm

bumbung and body different colour so call facelift. what a good facelift

• Anti-Facelift on May 04, 2016 at 2:34 pm

OMG!Non-stop facelift. Yawnnn…!

• Fedup on May 04, 2016 at 3:28 pm

King of facelift, facelift, facelift, facrlift, infiniti faceliti,……….. fed up!

• Lagi best, lagi facelift, lagi sekali, lagi bodoh

• Ben Yap on May 04, 2016 at 3:38 pm

this myvi facelifted how many hundred times already?

kereta pun sudah basi.

• Kereta basi are kereta yang tidak terjual. Sebagai contoh, stock-stock di yard Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Facelift x1000 on May 04, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Yes just the bumbung become black. two tones now. Like that also call facelift? haha. next facelift 2017, rims become black?

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:40 am

Damn you give idea to Perodua. Later they even do panda color like Initial D for another facelift into 2018.

• FIST (Member) on May 04, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Crappy car, like tin milo. Tutup pintu pon macam toy car. And thats for the 1.5l model. Really overpriced junk. The reason P2 is best selling is because of the price and nothing else.

• Same 'Hailux' Loo on May 04, 2016 at 4:03 pm

This kind of facelift or whatever face or lift also need to riuh sekampung, i will say poordah. However, if Myvi comes with 1.0 (preferably turbo engine), minimum 4 airbags and VSC, that one will be more interesting.

• tinysinh on May 04, 2016 at 4:28 pm

wth?! how many facelift for myvi already? 5? 6 or 7 times? no myvi replacement or what? change some spoiler, head lamp, tail light, etc then can sell for another 2-3 years. But no choice for malaysian, at least for local car perodua better than that proton who almost gulung tikar…

• faye zarl on May 04, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Hopefully they “updated” the Standard G Myvi 1.3 & Standard Alza S with ABS, same like they equipped to Standard G Axia

• Funny how Perodua always launches something when Proton is busy (and very publicly) putting test mules on the road. It’s good marketing for them to quickly roll something out to be one step ahead of the game, I guess – sweep up some of the potential car buyers in the market before a new Proton launches. I hope at the very least they updated the safety kit to match the Iriz.

• B-Unggul on May 04, 2016 at 7:10 pm

Of course facelift comes easier than a new model.

I’ve read somewhere before that new Proton cars must complete at least 100,000 km run as part of the whole test suite. Hence, the reson people saw it here and there in camo. Of which, I do believe that Perodua gonna walk the same route once they’re testing an all-new car too (if there’s any).

• camtakpro on May 05, 2016 at 8:49 am

Proton camo-ed test mules are only used for testing market responses in Paultan website.

Nothing to do with really ‘testing’ the car. I said that because when the new model is released, buttons fall off, welding failed, aircon knob failed, design ugly. What kind of test?

• loler on May 05, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Design ugly?
          You must be worshipper of jepunis hideous cars, lol.

And oh clearly you dun read about the welding, it is spot welding, and those buuttons falling off, duh, you bring monkeys to showrooms sure you can even break the door handle! Lol

• Yaacob on May 04, 2016 at 7:01 pm

This sushi DNA and Sushi quality and reliability is light years ahead of the garbage Iriz. Good job Perodua for bringing in reliability, quality and affordability to Malaysians. Proton has much much much to learn from you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • transformer on May 04, 2016 at 8:51 pm

its long overdue for another facelift, just make sure ESC included this time in all variant. forget about those Ah Beng shop bodykits, they cause more drags than aerodynamic…

• p2 myvi 1.5L is accually 100% base on daihatsu sirion in japan n also indon…early this year indon had launch the sport version of this sirion…so very2 sure (i think) the new myvi facelift 100% from this sport version model…

• Aleisya on May 04, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Myvi facelift wow…!!!
    We’ll get chrome door handle, black roof, new sport im design etc which will give more power and better fuel consumption.
    Congrats Perodua….hihihi kipidap!!

• Capt. Current on May 05, 2016 at 9:16 am

Enough of facelift. How about including more airbags and VSC? Sigh.