All-new 2016 Honda Freed MPV patent images leaked

2017 Honda Freed patents 1

The Honda Freed is set for a full model change later this year, as confirmed by the carmaker’s president and CEO, Takahiro Hachigo in February. Ahead of its reveal however, leaked patent images of the next-Gen Freed provide us with a first look at the MPV’s exterior design.

At the front, the ‘Solid Wing’ face is dominated by a large upper grille with smaller slats located below it. Slimmer headlamps are also fitted here, roughly resembling those seen on the Jazz. The lower grille now sports a honeycomb mesh design.

Along the sides, rear sliding doors continue to feature here. Elsewhere, a small section of the roof now extends into the front windscreen, accentuated by a gentle depression that runs across its length. You’ll also notice that the side mirrors have been repositioned as well.

Moving to the rear, there is a wider rear hatch that has a better-integrated spoiler this time. The hatch door itself plays host to part of the wraparound tail lamps, with the number plate holder pushed upwards just below the Honda badge. Other revisions seen include reflector/fog lamp enclosures in the lower apron, and a repositioned fuel filler.

2017 Honda Freed patents 2

It has yet to be revealed if the new Freed will be based on the current Jazz, like the first-generation model. Reports indicate that the MPV will allegedly measure 4,250 mm long (up by 35 mm), 1,695 mm wide (unchanged) and 1,710 mm tall (up by 5 mm). Wheelbase will likely get a bump from the current 2,740 mm.

As for power, a 1.5 litre petrol engine will reportedly be offered, joined by the 1.0 litre VTEC Turbo from the Euro-spec Civic. A hybrid version featuring Honda’s IMA (Integrated Motor Assist) system will possibly join the mix in select markets as well.

The Honda Freed was sold in Malaysia in the past, making its debut here in 2010. In 2013, two variants of the facelift version were launched, priced at RM99,800 and RM113,500. Unfortunately, poor demand for the MPV saw Honda Malaysia discontinue sales of it here. Do you think the new Freed should be offered here as an alternative to the Toyota Sienta?

GALLERY: Current-gen Honda Freed MPV

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• farghmee on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:13 am

it would be interesting to see this in My.

Freed vs. Sienta.

• Sienta too small and even cheaper sibling Alza is much better in price and offerings.

• Nope,i think sienta will a bit bigger, alza third row seat is very small, u need to practice yoga to fit in…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • bodoh ke on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:21 pm

kaki orang duduk seat belakang sienta kena letak bawah 2nd row tau?

• Probably the winning point for Sienta will be the design (subjective) and the safety features available such a s 3airbags VSC etc compared to the ageing alza

• local families, especially urban ones are getting smaller. is there still demand for MPVs when people rather look good in SUVs?

• lithium on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Although what you say is true, i still think there is a market for nice (a small one though). Mini MPV like freed and scienta offer low floor for easy access for elderly and young children compared to mini SUV. Its way more affordable, economical and easier to handle in city driving compared to estima/odyssey. if priced reasonably and spec well it will find its buyers.
      The reason the freed did badly in malaysia is becos of poor pricing and spec.

• Question is which one will be sold here?
    BRV or Freed?Personally if BRV I might consider selling my Exora if it offers better comfort.
    I thought I saw one BRV at dengkil going to KLIA but I guess that one is imported model?

• Silthice on Jun 27, 2016 at 4:53 pm

If BRV is going to be offered in Malaysia will be priced below Freed to compete directly with Avanza. Meanwhile, Freed will go head to head with Sienta. Just wondering whether Honda is interested to compete with the Innova with their Stream? Stream requires rear air-conditioner if they are serious to compete with Innova. Hope Honda make a wise decision after the successful of City, Jazz and HR-V.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 27, 2016 at 12:50 pm

Wait to see how well Sienta does here in Malaysia before they decide to bring it in…previous Freed was a failure no thanks to poor spec sheet.

• The previous Freed was a great idea but was not so well executed, it was suppose to be a small urban mpv, but I couldn’t even fit into the last row…thereby rendering the Freed into a four seater… the pricing was way off the target market as well. if this new generation Freed has eradicated it’s previous failings…like improved last row seating space, better safety features, more cubby holes to hold knickknacks and the correct pricing…I don’t see why it wouldn’t do well here…

• yadayada on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:17 pm

I liked the last Freed but too bad the pricing was absurd and the specs were a definite nehi-nehi from me.

• Brvv