JPJ offers assistance to trace vehicles for airbag recall

Honda airbag

As the Takata airbag issue further expands both locally and abroad, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) has come forward to offer help with the recall process. The department says it will extend its help to Honda if requested, said new JPJ director-general Datuk Nadzri Siron.

“I will take the matter up for discussion with the department’s engineering division,” he told The Star. The JPJ can help Honda Malaysia trace the vehicle owners’ particulars, especially those who own secondhand units, so that they can be informed of the recall.

“The affected car owners are advised to heed Honda’s recall advisory and send their cars in to get the airbags fixed. It is for their own safety and other road users,” he said. So far there have been 10 deaths worldwide related to the airbag inflator, including two in Malaysia.

The Honda models with affected driver’s airbags that have been recalled by Honda Malaysia include the 2003-2007 Accord, 2003-2013 City, 2011-2011 Civic, 2003 and 2007-2012 Civic Hybrid, 2002-2011 and 2013 CR-V, 2003-2007 and 2009-2013 Jazz/Jazz Hybrid, 2011-2013 Insight as well as 2003-2005 and 2007-2013 Stream.

Following that, the Hondas with affected passenger airbags include the Accord (2003-2011 model year), City (2009-2011 model year), Civic (2007-2011 model year), CR-V (2008-2011 model year), Freed (2009-2011 model year), Insight (2011 model year), Jazz (2009-2011 model year) and Odyssey (2004-2008 model year).

Find out more about the Takata airbag issue as well as other car makes affected by it, here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Well Done … that’s how it should be .. keep the good work going..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 11:32 am

That is very nice of JPJ. Jangan asyik fikir nak buat duit je, from selling vanity plates. Alternatively, why not blacklist these cars (surely JPJ can compare the VIN numbers from Honda to match the number/registration plates), until they have had the airbags replaced? Provided Takata can come up with replacement airbags quick enough, and for the service Centre to be able to do the work quickly enough.

• Scare hell out of me to buy new honda

• Well done jpj.. Commendable act!

• jolly_idiot on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Hahaha…. Typical Nasi Lemak gov. Got ppl die/accident onli start action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 30, 2016 at 2:19 pm

At least they do…most other country the govt don try to trace those cars

• Guess1 on Sep 09, 2016 at 8:18 pm

I bought a second hand Toyota in Singapore and did not return to the authorised dealer (which is Borneo Motor) for servicing and updating.

Received a letter from Borneo Motor to request me to send the car for airbag recall. Must have gotten my address from their JPJ-equivalent.

• What is the point of all these recalls via emails/ tracing if there are no stock at the service center to rectify.
    Went again this morning to service center and told again no stock.
    This is what I posted on Honda Malaysia website after this morning experience.

Ref No: CCL4115
    Submission Date: 2016-06-30 08:55:07

Details:

Since 2015, my service dealer, ACTMAR has been informing me no stock to fix the air bags issue in my CRV. What is the point of issuing recall notices and sending emails if the problem cannot be fix ? I am holding Honda Malaysia personally responsible should anything unfortunate happen during this period of your no stock !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Jepunis r too high level to ask help from us tree pipu. But dun worry, we wun persoal u, o mighty foreign overlords. Although ini semua salah jepunis, we will still blame BN and say ini semua salah Gov becoz we have been thoroughly brainwashed to worship u, o mighty foreign overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Lembu Jinni on Jun 30, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Inventor/Scientist should put in extra effort to find a better passive safety alternatives replacement for SRS airbag. Discarding the major hazard object aka the steering wheel will be a big bonus to safety!

• beehedge on Jun 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Glad the last “missing” piece of puzzle is in place, hopefully finally.

• azrai on Jun 30, 2016 at 2:09 pm

I think he just read my comment before http://paultan.org/2016/06/27/honda-malaysia-confirms-takata-airbag-related-death-three-notices-sent-to-owner/

• Henry on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:30 pm

Syabas, JPJ.

• Heaven on Jun 30, 2016 at 3:50 pm

“So far there have been 10 deaths worldwide related to the airbag inflator, including two in Malaysia.”
    In 2014, a pregnant mother died. In May this year, there were 2 deaths. This month, another died. The total number of airbag related deaths in Malaysia should be 5 including the unborn child.

• CONMAN on Jun 30, 2016 at 5:25 pm

So JPJ will assist Honda only? How about other maker which also affected by Takata airbag? Special relationship to Honda only?

• Ollie on Jun 30, 2016 at 6:11 pm

So far only Honda owners are blasting Honda.

I just found out my dad’s Vios is affected and NOTHING FROM TOYOTA – no email, no call, no letter, NOTHING.

I’m personally holding them responsible if anything happens.

Mitsubishi, Nissan, Mazda all equally at fault – just no attention on them as no publicised deaths so far. For sure there have been deaths caused by the airbags just was not attributed directly to the exploding airbag.

Paultan readers, I suggest to blast these guys, not just Honda

• Buy p1, small problems can be fixed, but soul

• Basheer on Jul 01, 2016 at 7:18 am

I called a nearby Toyota service center and was told that no stock of replacement airbag is available. The guy took my hp number promising to return my call when stock becomes available. That was almost one week ago.

• Jazzy on Jul 01, 2016 at 9:29 am

Honda used to get information from JxJ and update from their system, however until some time they increase the charges to RM10 per data exp VIN+ Owner’s name+ number plate = RM30!!!! Just imagine 1 car grant got how many information and how much they can make through this? i don think so is free to help Honda to trace back the info.