Mazda CX-3 1.5L SkyActiv-D diesel on display at Saujana – evaluation unit, no plans for launch yet

Mazda CX-3 SkyActiv-D 1

Alongside the Mazda CX-5 and Mazda 6 diesel models, Bermaz is also showcasing the Mazda CX-3 1.5L SkyActiv-D at the official launch event. Unlike the other two, this car isn’t available for sale just yet – the vehicle shown here is one of the two evaluation units that will test the suitability of the car for the market.

Instead of the 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D twin-turbo diesel engine on the CX-5 and Mazda 6, the CX-3 makes do with a smaller 1.5 litre mill with a single variable geometry turbocharger. Outputs are rated at 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 2,500 rpm, sent through the front wheels through a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

The compression ratio is slightly higher than on the 2.2 litre mill, at 14.8:1; however, that’s still a very low figure for a diesel engine, and contributes to reduced nitrogen oxide (NOx) emissions, improved fuel economy and lower weight compared to a typical oil-burner. As such, the engine meets stringent Euro 6 emissions standards – crucially, without resorting to expensive aftertreatments like urea injection.

Mazda CX-3 SkyActiv-D 26

This particular car is a Japanese-market model in top-spec XD Touring L guise, and hence looks nearly identical to our 2.0 litre petrol model. Fitted to this car are self-levelling LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED fog lights, LED tail lights and 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels. One omission from the local spec is a sunroof, which is not offered on JDM models.

Inside, there’s keyless entry, push-button start, automatic air-conditioning, a head-up display, leather and suede upholstery and the MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen and Commander Control knob – pretty much the same kit as on the petrol model.

Safety-wise, the JDM diesel model is differentiated from our car through the inclusion of i-ActivSense driver assist systems, including Smart City Brake Support (SCBS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS), High Beam Control (HBC) and even Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC). Also included are six airbags, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

So, when will the Mazda CX-3 diesel be launched in Malaysia? Well, Bermaz has been rather mum on its plans, with no details yet on specs, prices or even an estimated launch window. However, the company has said that it will gauge public opinion before deciding to bring the car here, so what do you guys think? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• so hot!!! on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:09 pm

mazda is making my blood boilinggggggg

• Ball cramper on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:56 am

Slow crampy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:02 am

Europe already phasing out diesel engines cause they realised, past 20 yrs of promoting diesel engines were wrong. Its emissions are indeed bad and its fuel economy a bit dubious.

Even France now says its banning Diesel cars. And mind you, Peugeot, Citroen and Renault 90% produce diesel cars.

So, now, the Japanese have found a new dumping ground for their old stock diesel engines already manufactured.

Yes, that is Malaysia!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • dumping on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:44 pm

yalor, T & H have been dumping their 4-speed gearbox & SOCH engines since last decades…and u are still driving ur lovely first gen myvi…lol

• u not even dare to go to mazda showroom to test drive, and now u say crampy?…come on la…maybe u should try when there is roadshow which will not make u so embarrassing for not buying after test drive…am i right? give me 5 la bro…lol

• LimAhLek on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:31 am

the poorblem of tis car is too unbelievably cramped inside..my fren leg cramped when he n his wife shake car inside at genting..

• Syok sendiri on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:37 pm

East malaysian left out again. Most of the news from automotive industry relevant to semenanjung only.. haisss

• Snailmazda on Jul 20, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Slower than preve due to narrow flat torque band.

Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • SUV fans on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:03 am

CKD With i-skyactivesense and price below 120k will be definitely become hot seller suv in the market. Looking forward to try out 1.5L skyactive D if they bring it in!

• i don’t think u know about marketing…if below 120k, who will buy current ckd m3?

• Khairul on Jul 23, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Mazda cx-3 and mazda 3 is in different segment. M3 is in C – class segment while cx-3 is in B class segment. So cx-3 prize should be lower than M3 if CKD. It’s like Honda HRV and Civic..HRV is cheaper than Civic in term of prize cause different segment

• Tong Sampah on Jul 21, 2016 at 6:21 am

HRV killer if they able to launch..

• Roadside stranger on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:37 am

Jonathan, do u evaluate the two ladies? Lol

• kienhow on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:15 am

Please come out with Mazda 3 1.5 diesel

• alibaba on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:19 am

“One omission from the local spec is a sunroof, which is not offered on JDM models.”

is this wording confusing? should it be “…, which is offered on JDM models.”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:29 am

sunroof only available for international models…same as subaru levorg, jdm no sunroof

• Django on Jul 21, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Wats the mazda radar cruise control?

• I wouldn’t worry about the 1.5 diesel too much guys. We get it down under and it’s not very good – the 2.0 petrol is a livelier performer and doesn’t use much more fuel than the 1.5 diesel.