Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L facelift previewed in Malaysia

Honda_Accord_Preview-2

Honda Malaysia has pulled a surprise move by previewing the facelifted Honda Accord at the Royale Chulan Hotel today. The refreshed D-segment sedan was shown in range-topping 2.4 VTi-L trim and reveals the car in full for the first time – the company has only released a front three-quarter shot so far.

The car sports quite a few exterior changes, including the new Solid Wing Face front end design – a large chrome bar links the headlights, which on this car are full-LED units. The bumper has also been redesigned for a more aggressive look, and incorporates gloss black trim and LED fog lights.

At the rear, the Accord receives new LED tail lights with triple light guides and a wider chrome rear number plate garnish, and the rear valence has been reprofiled with a full-width chrome bar. The 18-inch wheels on this car have been carried over, but have been given a new gloss black finish on the inner surfaces.

Honda_Accord_Preview-16

The display car was locked and the windows heavily tinted – much like when the new Civic was previewed before its launch – but a peek through the window revealed that the minor changes found on the Thai-market cars, including new wood and gloss black trim, will be included on Malaysian-spec models.

Visible here as well is a new 7.7-inch multi-info display and a seven-inch touchscreen audio with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility. Also expected to be included are Engine Remote Start, which allows one to start the engine and air con via the key fob (also in the new Civic), A memory function for the powered driver’s seat is also available there.

No specifications have been revealed just yet, but expect the current 155 hp/190 Nm 2.0 litre SOHC and 174 hp/225 Nm 2.4 litre Earth Dreams DOHC i-VTEC naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engines and five-speed automatic transmission to be carried over.

Honda_Accord_Preview-23

The car shown here is painted in Obsidian Blue Pearl, a new colour for Honda. The other new colours for the Accord here are White Orchid Pearl and Lunar Silver Metallic (the latter is the hero colour for the new Civic). Other colours are the familiar Modern Steel Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl.

Honda Malaysia says that the new model – which is now open for booking – will go on a road tour from August 12 to September 4, before its launch in the third quarter of the year. Roadshow locations can be found on the official website.

The Accord facelift made its Thai debut in February and we got up close with the handsome big sedan at the Bangkok Motor Show in March. The Accord celebrates its 40th anniversary this year, and you can relive memories via this through the years video.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• spongewai on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Obsidian Blue Pearl is absolutely stunning beautiful color

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 13
    • Not with a bulky car as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
      • carlist on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Frankly speaking, I’d prefer 2.5V Camry hybrid over this at all time. If there is only these two models to be chosen)

Combined output, Camry wins.

Technology, Camry wins.

Comfortable, Camry wins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 50
        • Until you open the Camry hybrid boot and realize, aiya bezza boot also bigger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Bezza boot also larger than current/old Honda Accord & Proton Accordana

• Same L00 on Aug 05, 2016 at 1:04 am

No one buy a D segment sedan because of large boot space. Same like you won’t buy a semi D because you want a big toilet. If you concern boot so much, buy a van or pick up truck then.
            Camry or Accord, no one is touching the new Perdana. I haven’t seen any sozai driving that on road yet.

• airbags on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Takata death traps, both suck

• Operation Manager on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Who cares underpower drinking dinosaur vtec Ekor… Who cares R&D mechanical failure Sifat… oh lagi sohai CVT=EarthDream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • DPCraft on Aug 04, 2016 at 12:21 pm

EarthDream is the new engine K24W not the cvt only.

• too much bling bling !!

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Nice la this color. Reminds me of the previous Porsche 997 Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • samtowtruck on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Reminds me colour of ah beng car gets towed at traffic light

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Kunta durian LCno1 on Aug 03, 2016 at 3:04 pm

What a superior car and definitely with better value than T brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • Junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
    • AcerMan on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Color like One Malaysia Taxi :-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Babe-Magnet !!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:21 pm

Honda Accord 2.4 CBU in US comes with 10 airbags. Comes with about 20 safety fetures our Honda 2.4 in Malaysia does not have.

DRB and Honda purposely take out about 20 safety features and the 10 airbags which come as standard. They take out even Honda Sensing, a host of safety features that is standard in any Global Accord.

And yet, this Accord in the US is sold for US$22k and our old Accord 2.4 price is RM180k, despite being CKD and despite being stripped botak.

To all the pondans who say our Accord is cheaper than Indonesia and Thailand, please bear in mind, our great Najib has said, we will be first world in 2020. That is 3 years and 5 months time. Thus, we should be comparing to first world Honda pricing too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
      • 45i45i on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:10 pm

3 years more lor. You lost count ady?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • Bring The Pain on Aug 04, 2016 at 1:22 pm

If you truly think that ALL first world countries have cheap car prices like the EU, UK and US; then I have bad news for you. Go do your research. Look into Scandinavian countries. Look at Hong Kong, look at Singapore.

You’re in Malaysia. If you want UK car prices, go there and see if you can survive after buying a cheap Accord 2.4

• omegle on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:38 pm

agree.

• Let us hope that the LED headlamps will at least be an option for the 2.0 VTI-L. Not everyone needs a big 2.4/2.5 engine with double the road tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Ollie on Aug 03, 2016 at 1:59 pm

There’s something about procurement and value engineering that’s lacking in Japanese cars. I believe its all down to market power – they think they will achieve sales no matter what – sorry, that’s the plain truth as any Malaysian will tell you. No matter what, the first car we would look at is Vios/City, then Altis/Civic, then Accord/Camry. Anything else is just for people with a bit more brains. General folk will not look anywhere else. Going back to the initial point, why are the interiors filled with hard cheap plastic and wood trim? Its not 1995 anymore man. Korean cars are the same level as US, Euro cars now with soft materials and quality leather. And why are we still dumped with 15-yo powertrains? Yet, no change as we still will buy despite death airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 14
    • lilytan on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:41 pm

Spot on. Even the thai market is more sophisticated than ours with honda sense is offered there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Looking at Korean cars for an instance lets look back at KIA 5 years back and KIA today. They are now able to be seen. People are surely changing their perspective. Slowly but surely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Give a great car and they will come.

It’s not just the stereotyping why people choose Japanese car over any other brand. People buy car not for the car but also for the reputation and what happens 5 years after they leave the showroom floor. People buy car for their packaging, practicality and not because their cars have the latest breakthrough in automotive engineering. The Japanese got it right is that their market research is spot on, they also built up their reputation with reliable and dependable workhorse.

As much as a European car is fancier and more refine, there’s never confidence that the car will be easy on the wallet after 4 years. Than we come to packaging, I was cross shopping between a City, Fiesta and 208 5 years back and as impressive as the Fiesta was, it never even comes close to the practicality and space of the city. Same with an Accord, yes there’s the Sonata and the K5, the Accord is Compared to the Europeans are still cheaper segment to segment and undercuts them in price. And on the outdated tech argument, now I can’t argue against Toyota, but VW and Ford have been giving exactly that, a car that’s years old. The Fiesta engine has origins in the 1990s while the VW Passat is basically a facelift of a car, launch when Badawi was still in office. The notion than only the Japanese offer out dated tech has to be change.

The same can be said once you look past the RM200k mark, not many will plonk their cash on something like a Lexus or Infiniti and waltz straight to the 4-rings, 3 pointed star or propeller showroom and sign for the lastest Wunderwaffe from Germany. Perhaps the market at this end likes to have the best for their money but as far as the normal joe, all we want is a car that can give us the ease of mind.

of course we can continue with the mindset that whoever buys a Japanese is a simpleton, and that part Has some truth in it. Japanese brands are never superior nor exotic, but they definitely offer most buyers a piece of mind. And on the takata thingy, if you have a VW or a BMW or Mercedes, it’s still takata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • DPCraft on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:37 pm

No the Engines in the current accord is not 15 years old, the 2.4 is a new engine with Earth Dreams it is introduced in 2013, m’sia accord uses K24W4 which doesn’t comes with Direct Injection. And the 2.0 is a R20A3 unit that was made in 2008. Where got 15 years old ??

• Sohhai on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:05 pm

Damn sien, still using donkey 5 speed transmission

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • 5 speed auto complain, give CVT also complain that it does not drive well, give dual clutch then say its gonna be like DSG breakdown, if give 7,8 or 9 speed gearbox then say why give so many gear, not like gonna race with an accord.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
      • Malaysian Driver on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:03 am

Then use the good’ol MANUAL, do all the shifting by yourself.

NO dSG like breakdown, NO stupid TCU which doesn’t know the right gear to use when engine braking is required, NO expensive ATF/CVT oil change, NO TCU reflash that reflash this, NO additional oil cooler required, NO transmission overheating, NO rubberband effect, NO traffic jam jerking issues, NO lazy left foot, save gym money. Battery run flat? NO worries, just ask some friends push the car for you and you can still crank the engine. NO heartache super expesnive parts replacement, just a clutch plate and gear oil every 100,000km.

Most important, direct connection between your left palm with the machanical wonders that runs underneath the transmission tunnel, not through some stupid electronics actuator or solenoid. Just your brain, your left palm and your left foot in perfect synchronisation. It’s a peerless intimate satisfaction between you and the machine.

My uncle drove a classic 4th gen 1991 Accord (the one with the rear windshield cruving into the C pillar) . And yes, it’s a MANUAL.

• Sam Loo on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:39 pm

U wont go wrong with Toyota Camry Super ECT 6-speed Auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • hahaa on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:09 pm

Would you take rm140k 2.0 Accord or 2.4 Perdana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Depends. Do u wanna fit 4 bodies in the boot (Accord) or 6 bodies (Perdana)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • Fun fact…Honda accord bootspace is measured at 467L while the perdana measured at only 470L…..3 liter extra = 2 bodies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Why not, if their asians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • Every1canTalk on Aug 03, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Bodies inside boot for what?
            Ops, my bad, since you may normally sit in the bootwith your Asian size 1.5L, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Proton, where is preve facelift? More than 4 years now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Gotta get the Persona out first… then the Saga… then the Ertiga… after that we’ll talk about Preve facelift.
      Personally, I am waiting for it as well. Seeing how Preve after the minor revision (from 4 airbag to 6) is offering a very good package, it is interesting how Proton will step it up.

• Oditor on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:19 pm

For the same RM180K –
    can get brand new 110k Perdana
    in similar enjin & drivetrain
    + a new 70k Honda Jazz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 41
    • With that kind of mentality you might as well buy 4 Personas

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • john is otak batu on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:40 pm

Brain damage

• Albert on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Datuk Weee
        MR Oditor ,might as well buy 18 units of 2004 gen 2.Wah liao….he can park left,right,centre..until jibkor’s garage.
        Plus used car dealer give him 1 free unit 1998 Saga.

• Bas Mini 32 on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Persona where got Honda enjin.

Only esklusif Perdana hv 2.4 iVtec sama mcm Accord facelift 2016.

• Axiabella on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:24 pm

Great car but my friend keep complaining about the vibration while putting d gear and brake at traffic light…and the disk brake vibrate also…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Abe Pi on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Agreed. Happen to my FC

• Axiabella on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:42 pm

Even the rear passenger can feel vibration although the car just half year ….same issue with my previous 05 year accord,new car and got this issue…poor subframe design,only occurred at Honda accord 5 auto variant,3 generation faced same issue

• Susukotak on Aug 05, 2016 at 6:33 am

Yes it design to vibrate. So, the driver not fall asleep at waiting light to turn green in their plush seat.

• putra_rider on Aug 03, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Mercik!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Perdana is ugly even compared to previous accord. i’m sorry proton should compared with perodua or other out of date cheap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • DPCraft on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Actually Perdana is not very ugly, it just looks aftermarket & cheap-Especially the body coloured fake exhaust with no holes. The last gen honda accord design is conservative but not cheapo looking.

• Honda Malaysia needs to bring in the Accord Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Way more expensive than Camry Hybrid. You want buy?

• Acrix on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:52 am

If its CBU then i agree its gonna be way more expensive but if its CKD i think it would match Camry Hybrid or possibly cheaper.

• Design is nice color is good but got honda sensing? And i thought that the gear selector is press one? Or only for hybrid model

• hahaha, i just collect my Perdana yesterday. Still no regret, so far so good. Malaysia boleh, feel exclusive, because so far still haven see any on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 45
    • john is otak batu on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:43 pm

Cakap sendiri, puji sendiri, syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
    • gonggok on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Hehe only in Malaysia can a person express himself liking his OWN car dan people give him a thumbs down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Ini mesti jenis orang yang ‘like’ their own FB posts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Das Auto on Aug 03, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Today’s cars do not have the same comfort like the previous model. Sacrificing weight for the sake of lowering fuel consumption. My old Accord feels like Merc comfort than this Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • DPCraft on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:54 pm

But does it feels underpowered for being heavy ? unless 3.0++ engine

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 03, 2016 at 3:18 pm

So it is effectively a K24W4 that is based on the K24A1 which was introduced way back in 2002.

• Why need to buy a outdated imitation Accord Perdana with RM 110K?

I will go for the latest civic with the same price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Proton accord perdana “better”…Proton got fake painted exhaust…bangganya

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:20 pm

I think Proton is employing a lot of cybertroopers to post comments and dislike our posts as you can see from the dislikes on my post here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • School on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Jonathan Lee, kindly brush up your English! It should be ‘spots’ not ‘sports’ few exterior changes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • kenot on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Why Honda Malaysia do not offer interior colour option like beige colour? I believe some of buyers like this colour.

• You are in the wrong continent.

• DPCraft on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Yeah, beige does looks pretty good in this car(makes it 2 tone), but later people will complain easy dirty.

• 1000 times nicer and better than that ugly rubbish junk Proton Pondan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Aaron on Aug 03, 2016 at 4:45 pm

A look at the steering wheel actually confirms that this top-spec model does not come with Honda Sensing :-(

• But, there’s a camera on the side mirror which is part of the Honda Sensing?

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:07 pm

I’m hope/assume that it is 6 airbags and VSC as standard across the board now. Given the Civic already has 6 airbags and VSC.

• panglima on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:12 pm

Perdana is 100x beautiful than this new accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Amazing. A blind person is able to comment here.

• coming on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Yup, perdana is more beautiful, this accord looks more 90’s gen alike

Next!

• Irmaz on Aug 03, 2016 at 5:59 pm

Check the honda spirior

• crash on Aug 03, 2016 at 6:58 pm

Should have ditched the 2.4L NA engine and plonk in the 1.5L turbo engine with the CVT from the Civic. Power more or less the same ,torque comes earlier in the powerband but customers can save alot on roadtax . Perhaps the turbo engine can be tuned for higher output also.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:01 pm

I wont worry too much about the roadtax if one can afford such a car, but there is another point for the Turbo.

The thing is, the 1.5 T will give much better drivability. Anyone that have driven a 5 speed auto Accord will tell you the engine is missing a lot of low end punch and the 5 speed auto is sometimes reluctant to downshift from its 2 highest overdrive cogs on light throttle inputs (say when on the highway). You really need to mash the loud pedal and then it downshifts 2-3 cogs and RPM shoots up along with the engine ruckus.

Not something one would expect for a serene drive in a D segment.

That extra low end torque from the Turbo would alleviate the need to downshift that drastically, or not even have to since the turbo has a very flat torque curve from 1700-5000rpm, where one would normally find cruising on the highway anyway.

Other than the rather poor built quality out of its Melaka Plant and NVH for its class and the somewhat mismatched character of the engine/gearbox, the Accord seems to tick most boxes.

• OMG, they really think that the fancy headlamp can beat everything ?
    why the F is still with the boring 2.4 ? I was expecting hybrid to join the D segment games. Boring 174bhp carrying this bulky car

I think something similar happened on ex generation “facelift” civic will end up happen on this facelifted accord.

• Lovely sexy color but in cases of scratches or accidents, its gonna be very hard to get a matching paint job

• Bryan on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Any increase of airbags?

• azrai on Aug 04, 2016 at 8:43 am

Facelift? The new Perdana is the Accord facelift lorr? Am I right? Or am I wrong?

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 04, 2016 at 9:38 am

Prefer to wait for the Honda Accord Hybrid.

• Ben Yap on Aug 04, 2016 at 11:22 am

sigh, i was expecting a 1.8 turbo-charged engine for this accord.

• mohdfaiz88 on Aug 04, 2016 at 3:42 pm

I wait for 10th generation Accord with 2.0 VTEC Turbo engine.

• Nigel on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:32 am

Just called HM customer service, it seems that the roadshow which starts today will not have the facelift accord. Can paultan.org verify with your contacts? The customer service officer initially don’t even aware of the existence of the roadshow … :(