Proton year-end promotion – up to RM8,000 savings and two years of free service

It’s no secret that the end of the year is the best time to snap up car bargains, as manufacturers offer discounts on products that will be one-year old very soon. Proton is in on the act, and in its year-end promo, the national carmaker is offering up to RM8,000 discounts as well as free service packages.

The biggest savings are for the Suprima S; the C-segment five-door hatchback coming with an RM8,000 discount. Smaller sibling Iriz is RM6,000 cheaper, while the Preve sedan comes with RM5,000 off. All three models also come with two years of free service. No discounts for the new Persona, although the Iriz-based sedan does come with the two-year free service package. All for registrations before December 31, 2016

Proton is of course fighting market leader Perodua at the budget end, and P2 is also offering discounts on its entire range – up to RM5,000, Bezza included. Happy shopping!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Latuk BN supporters on Dec 14, 2016 at 1:35 pm

P1 should give discount to new Saga and new Persona… too bad still bad management decision again and again !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
    • RavenAii (Member) on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:12 pm

If they don’t gave discount to new vehicles, people say bad management. If they gave discount to new vehicles, people say tak laku, can not sale if no discount.

Is Malaysian really this stupid and negative minded people? Any way around there will always be negative comments, not only Proton, to other car maker as well. Well most only commenters that doesn’t have enough money to buy but damn those negativity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 8
      • karam singh on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:43 pm

agreed,
        I bet he wanna buy Proton now but being cheap LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:51 am

If Proton can still give RM8k and still make untung, why not give this RM8k in the beginning itself?

After all, Proton was created to give Malaysians cheap cars and ease the burden of buying Japanese or Mat Salleh cars.

What a cheat Proton is. Why don’t you reduce your cars by RM8000 in the first place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 14, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Nah we’re still not buying cars, please fix the Ringgit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • karam singh on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:41 pm

How to fix Ringgit ?
      Start exporting, reduce import.
      RM will increase, economy 101 ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 14, 2016 at 6:26 pm

They can start by not printing more money that causes devaluation in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • In our case, its cuz Murican investors r taking their money back to US. Others,… maybe ur right.

• Hayenadeblue on Dec 15, 2016 at 6:24 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 138
        • We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 15, 2016 at 3:22 pm

I am an Economist by training, I know what I am talking about. Do you? Please talk with facts and sense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
          • Economist on Dec 15, 2016 at 4:24 pm

Actually, depreciation of ringgit is caused by self filling prophecy. In layman’s term, people think ringgit is doing badly, hence they buy other currency. This causes a chain reaction and further destabilize our ringgit.

IT’S CAUSED BY MALAYSIANS THEMSELVES. WAKE UP PEOPLE

• Economist on Dec 15, 2016 at 4:24 pm

*fulfilling

• nabill (Member) on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:09 pm

I still dont kno what the future holds for the suprima S actually, we know the Preve and Exora is next in line for major facelift and new model(unless the new partner which will be announce by 1st Q of next year says otherwise) ….
    I dont see it as economically viable to do anything to da Suprima S, as its a low seller, will it be a one model and thats it?
    No discounts for hot sellers Saga and Persona… Thats confidence…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Silthice on Dec 14, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Suprima S suffer very poor Fuel Efficiency. Actually if they manage to increase the ground clearance without sacrifice too much on the handling and stablilty. The Suprima SUV can be a SUV…

• seman on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:08 pm

jack up the suprima and it can be like subaru XV but FWD

• Silthice on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:38 pm

HR-V FWD as well and they sold quite well. Hope no more thirsty vehicle by Proton anymore.

• john is otak batu on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:25 pm

SUV???!!!R U sure?!!! check their pile up overstock..
        scrap yard is their destiny!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • frossonice on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Re-kit it and turn it into a crossover.

• Silthice on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Yea. You’re right that’s the popular term nowadays and proton love to add cladding.

• That’s… is actually a good idea…
        Next generation of Suprimas will be C-Seg SUV (based on C-segment sedan).

• 9000comments on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Lets the bashing begins
    Basher says dedak is because tak laku old stocks

• Henry on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Yeh! car manufacturers are falling over each other to sell you their cars. LOL.

• Same Lorr on Dec 14, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Come on Proton.. Discount until RM20K, if still using CamPro VVT engine & CVT bising Punch, will never make your sales up! Oh my.. New Iriz not refined as the new Persona? Haha! No one want to buy Iriz if not refined!

Please use new engine GDi & torque converter CVT Jatco!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • frossonice on Dec 14, 2016 at 3:48 pm

Same Lorr concern about Proton? How un-Same Lorr you.

• Albert on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:47 pm

DRB auto division plunged the group into almost Rm 300 Juta losses LAST QUARTER 2016.
      Reason…Stepchild Lotus and Rm1.5 Billion Bailout Recipient,protong.
      All the profits from sister company,Honda Malaysia…wiped out by Protong.
      Protong….as the song goes….Im nobody’s child.
      Mr.DRB…just concentrate on Honda,ditch protong….so that we..the poor rakyat can stop subsidising this FAILED EXPERIMENT called PROTONG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Dec 14, 2016 at 3:02 pm

Now we know that these models are slow selling, hence the discounts. I bet they are still making large profits after discounts

• stranger on Dec 14, 2016 at 3:44 pm

Awaiting for kuntakinte bashing all makes but Honda

• Silthice on Dec 14, 2016 at 3:45 pm

I thought Exora also has discount?
    Really appreciate if they can specify how much discount for each variant.
    Iriz Save up to RM6,000* 2 years – Free service**

SUPRIMA S Save up toRM8,000*2 years – Free service**

PREVE Save up to RM5,000* 2 years – Free service**

EXORA Save up to RM4,000*

*Terms and conditions apply. Offer varies based on the model/variant/year make. On the road (OTR) price for Peninsular Malaysia only.
    Subject to change without prior notice. The colours, accessories, and/or specifications of available may differ from the vehicles shown here.
    **Promotion applicable for registration done by 31 December 2016. Offer available for The New Saga, The All-New Persona, Proton Iriz, Proton Suprima S & Proton Preve except the Proton Exora.

• The 9th skywalker on Dec 14, 2016 at 4:49 pm

I wanted to get a car below RM50k.
    After test driving Axia, Bezza, Saga and Persona, finally I
    place the order for Persona Standard AT. Seems to me the best value for money. I like the style and the build and safety features of the car. No discount but the car is given 2 year free service and free window tinting.
    Some people want to wait one more month to get a 2017 car but that is not a concern for me at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Silthice on Dec 14, 2016 at 5:19 pm

If only Saga has standardized the safety features especially ABS & ESC, there’s no room for BeZZa anymore.

• Sam Jamal Loo on Dec 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Echoed… furthermore their BiZZa 1.3L version is barely enough to move around, in case if loaded with 4 – 5 persons onboard (even half throttle also looks like it’s refuse to downshift – for brandished crap 4E-AT), if 1.0L auto, i will expect lots of swearing involved (need to turn off aircond else it can’t even move properly)

• Be objective, know your financial limit, test drive all the car brand/model in the price range and also do take very serious consideration of the owning cost of a car, that is a smart customer. Don’t be fool by brand, no matter National or Non.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Dec 14, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Menyesal but still thick faced want to sound cool. It is still a 2016 registered car and you have lost some money. Dumb move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Actually, if u can tahan 1 more month – why not?

• I don’t see any discount for exora.

• Silthice on Dec 15, 2016 at 1:12 am

Cause exora is one of the most successful vehicle by Proton. Proton should have learned from exora that they should ventured to other other car type and segment. Rather than focusing and slaughtering their own sedan from time ⌚ to time ⌚.

• P1 so stingy dun wan gip deadak to the poor MY pipu for buying Saga3 & Persona2. So confidence, meh?

My P2 now tells us to clear stock by whatever means. So now on top of 3,200 deadak for Biza, I oso gip 25% diskaun for my early afterlife package. But on condition have to downgrade a bit lah! The location now is at a place where sunlight dun shine. But have potential for gud eternal neighbours wan. This place RV sure up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • azrai on Dec 15, 2016 at 8:23 am

Nissan is the one which have massive discount till date and they do it silently. The Almera come with a hefty RM6500 discount plus free RM12999 accesories like leather seats, bodykit, reverse camera, video recprder, etc. That’s a whopping RM19500 worth of freebies. Sale are not doing well isn’t it Tan Chong? Check out Serena, Livina, and X-Trail offers also.

• Malaysian Driver on Dec 15, 2016 at 11:16 am

The Campro engine, though started its life as an abandoned child by Renault and salvage by Proton and rebrand as “Malaysian engineering achievement”, is not really a bad engine.

Yes, it’s not fuel efficient, yes, it’s dreadfully slow off the line because of its throttle tunning, yes, it’s so corse at high speed making you wanna cover your eardrum, and not to mentioned the bloody torque dip in its first iterarion. For all its irritating traits, the Campro is a fairly reliable engine, and it can take many abuses if you service it on time and take care of it like how a engine should be treated.

Miss my days where my crappy, low interior quality, noisy, irritating Gen2 can run pass any Vios or City at PLUS after it rev pass the 5500rpm mark. After 10 years, 220,000km and many trashing, the “Cam tak pro kosong” of my Gen2 is still running strong. No overhaul required, and apart frm a oil gasket seal that failed at 120,000km (which I discover very soon because I look under the hood every week) , there’s no oil leaked whatsoever, no carbon deposit, everything is just fine, before I depart with it with a very heavy heart for some better car.

Yes, for all its faults, Campro does have some sentimental memories in my motoring experience. And I can fairly say it is much more reliable and sturdy compared to many turbocharged, direct injected, high tech engines out there. For all its fault, it’s not bad of an engine as a “first timmer” effort for a small, ikan bilis manufacturer like Proton. And it’s very tuneable too! (But don’t compare to JDM engine in this aspects lah).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Bernard on Dec 16, 2016 at 7:19 am

Are inspira and Satria Neo still being sold? If no, why are the pictures with prices still there??