Nissan Note eco car launching in Thailand tomorrow

The Thai auto market has started 2017 with a bang. We’re barely into the third week of the year and Honda has already kicked off proceedings with the launch of the City facelift. In an almost instant retaliation, Toyota will unveil a facelifted Vios this week. But of the three big Japanese players, Nissan could have the biggest say with the launch of the Note, which will happen tomorrow in Bangkok.

Biggest not just because the Note is an all-new model for Thailand, but it’s an eco car with affordable pricing. As revealed earlier, the Thai eco car Note is based on the latest facelifted model that made its home market debut late last year. The roomy high-roofed hatch will come with the proven 1.2 litre three-cylinder engine that currently powers the March and Almera eco cars. The 79 PS/106 Nm HR12DE unit will be paired to an Xtronic CVT automatic gearbox. No manual option.

The JDM Note e-Power comes with a unique hybrid system, and while Nissan recently brought Thai journalists to sample it in Japan, reports confirmed predictions that the hybrid powerplant will not make it to Thailand. Nissan is yet to test the e-Power system for global usage, but taxation and cost is the main reason why it won’t power the Thai eco car, which has to be affordable.

The Thai Nissan Note will come in two variants, V and VL, and the top one will be packed with safety features that are unprecedented in the eco car segment. How about Forward Collision Warning, Intelligent Emergency Braking, Forward Emergency Braking with Pedestrian Detection, Lane Departure Warning and 360-degree Around View Monitor with Moving Object Detection?

All that will be on top of the expected family of airbags, ABS/EBD/BA, Vehicle Dynamics Control and Hill Start Assist. A very impressive package for an eco car, but we’ll have to wait on the pricing.

Feeling envious? You would think that Honda’s success with the Jazz might might tempt Tan Chong into introducing the Note in Malaysia – which should fare well if priced right, as it’s a roomy and versatile car with relatively interesting design (the Nismo-tuned Note received huge attention on this website) – but despite official previews and local sightings, don’t count on that happening anytime soon.

GALLERY: JDM Nissan Note e-Power

GALLERY: Nissan Note Nismo, pre-facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 3:42 pm

All car companies are moving to either EV and Hybrid. Except our Proton and Perodua. Ketinggalan zaman.

It is going to be like in the 90s. All car companies moved to fuel injection but Proton was still happily selling carburetor cars till 2000 plus.

Proton has the largest pool of engineers of any car company. They are so highly paid but all of them go to office and sleep. No research on hybrid tech at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 16, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Bolehland all bad nothing gud…

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:51 pm

We must be proud of our Proton engineers like it’s the 6th Rukunegara. Kudos to the gov for sending our talents overseas to get degree until PhD. Like myself holder of CEng graduate from uni in Manchester. Now we engineers are nation builders who helped secure vision 2020, and now working hard for TN2050. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • As we know, now that P2 is using Toyota engine (although make in Msia), thus its not a problem for P2 to introduce a hybrid.

But Proton…. mmm… that’s a BIG BIG question mark !

• Yeah right. Wanna force P2 to put in ESC is akin to wringing blood from a mountain.
        Hybrid? In next 50 years lah!

• Cool story brahhhh

• Upon reaching Malaysia some time in far future, TCM will only equip this car with ABS (Aku Brake Sendiri).

• Tomyam nissan got gud safety, meanwhile ETCM is moving backwards after the spectacular debut of B17 Sylphy.

• This is what Malaysians want. An eco and affordable car of reliability and efficiency. Bring in to Malaysia and sell between RM55-70k.

• Nope. MY demand sell this at 23k MAX or ini semua salah Gov. Dun belip me?

• Babundi on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:51 pm

If you want low price car then you must choose other than umno bn government. Dont only talk please show your guts. Are you dare for a change next election pru14.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • If u wan less pollution and more public transport then ur only choice is BN Gov. Dun just belip in empty talk, please show some brains. R u dare to ensure for a better future next election pru14.

• overall silhouette shape does look like the previous gen honda jazz