GALLERY: Perodua has come a long way since 1993

It all started with a dream to bring mobility to every Malaysian household. Mobility that’s affordable and reliable. That dream became the Kancil that started Perodua’s journey in 1993. Smaller and cheaper than the Proton Saga, the “smart like you” Kancil introduced compact hatchbacks to Malaysians, and we’ve never looked back since. “The rest is history,” Perodua proudly proclaims.

The first of 708,527 Kancils produced by Perodua over 15 years is on display at a special showcase that’s part of the MYPerodua Nation Carnival that’s happening at Aeon Shah Alam this weekend.

The red Kancil, which was the first car that many of us drove (it replaced the Nissan Sunny as the default driving school machine), is the star of the showcase, mainly because it’s the only real car in the tent.

The Kembara, Kenari, Kelisa, Myvi, Alza, Axia and Bezza are just cutouts, but the visuals and the facts and figures behind the cars are intriguing. Plenty of cute photo ops too. The short “history walk” ends with the Concept X that showcases Sg Choh’s design capabilities.

The Bezza – Perodua’s first sedan that was launched last year – is based on the Axia’s Daihatsu platform, but the upper body design and interior is an in-house effort. Perodua has been steadily increasing its input in the design and engineering of its vehicles, and this trend is set to continue – in its five-year Transformation 2.0 plan that starts this year, one of the key pillars is to increase the company’s R&D capabilities.

The Malaysian market leader (for 11 consecutive years now) may be a maker of small cars, but it has definitely made a big impact on our country’s motoring landscape. Three million cars in 24 years is no small feat. It has been a great journey so far; here’s to more memories.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr. Loba-Loba on Jan 20, 2017 at 5:57 pm

ada Buaya disebalik Kelisa ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • John The Duck on Jan 21, 2017 at 8:59 am

Perodua biggest success: No need 1.5 billion soft-loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • Duck The John Cigarette on Jan 21, 2017 at 10:47 pm

No innovation, No safety,Expensive, Ricer
        Just another copycat of Daihatsu & Toyota.
        Unsafe car, Tonggek Sedan , Rubbish Handling,
        Killing innocent family,
        Bodykit and Then more Bodykit and Alot more Bodykit
        no safety update. what a shame.
        Ricer Looks > Safety/Lives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • PerCiplak on Jan 23, 2017 at 11:09 am

Hear hear. Perodua memang proud of their history. Kerjanya menciplak. Dulu, sekatang dan selamanya.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 21, 2017 at 11:50 am

Until today Axia got no ABS and VSC. ABS was compulsory since 2004 in Europe and USA.

VSC was compulsory now over 10 years.

Perodua still don’t have both in the Axia in 2017

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Johnny depp on Jan 21, 2017 at 2:33 pm

You never get boring dont you? Commenting the same all over the entries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • justsomepissedoffdude on Jan 21, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Really sadand pathetic. No regards for human safety at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • kapchai on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Is that Paul Tan in the Kelisa?

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:15 pm

It certainly has been a long way for P2 and it can be considered a success story for them since they are now the top player in the local automotive scene surpassing long time player Proton which even lost its place to Honda….yes a foreign manufacturer. In fact my first car was a 2007 Myvi 1.3l SXi premium manual which served me well despite its little niggles and I sold it off for a City since I needed a sedan for more boot space. Kudos Perodua, maybe you continue your success story for many years to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • While it has risen to be the market leader in terms of market share in automotive industry, they should have made VSC as standard in each and every model.. be it Axia (current base model). Our lives are valuable too

• Facepalm on Jan 24, 2017 at 12:41 am

Facepalm. Apakejadah this stupid museum? There is nothing to be proud of when all you do is rebadge cars. Wait until you design and build a whole new model at least. Sampai bila want to suckle off Daihatsu’s teats? Seat, Skoda, Hyundai also started as rebadgers but they moved on and design own models after a few years.

• Where is rusa n nautica??

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 20, 2017 at 6:56 pm

Comparing Proton with Perodua is like comparing between local and foreign expertise. The “foreigner” is now beating us at home and that is coming a long way indeed.

• The problem is, the “foreigner” had twin crutches since day one. Meanwhile local has ditched one crutch alredi…

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 20, 2017 at 8:53 pm

To be honest, imo Perodua is a better choice for almost any occassions. You want a small car? buy a Perodua. You want a cheap car? Again buy a Perodua. Aunty want a brand new car? Hey Perodua! Cheapskates want a car that is easy to modify and less maintenance cost? Produa it is then!

Perodua, being a Malaysian subsidiaries of Toyota and Daihatsu, has the unlimited amound of resource and choices of spare parts and modding accessories. You want a bigger engine for your Kelisa and Kenari? You better put Myvi 1.3L engine in it, yes it fits. Want a powerful hatch? The Myvi even has engine that have the same displacement with the Avanza yet weigh way lighter. Don’t want Malaysian spare parts? Order right away from Toyota and Daihatsu OEM parts from Japan. It’s literally no limits for Perodua owners, that is, if the Ringgit went higher than normal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Luckily that rubbish is not my 1st car…very bad impression on Perodua brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Kancil Gila on Jan 21, 2017 at 6:47 am

Agreed. This car has no safety feature at all, poor and lousy build quality.

• Good old university days 1999, driving old white kancil, up and down ipoh kl, using old road. Took me 4 hours. With ex gf.

• So now where the heck is the Kembara replacement model ???

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 20, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Kancil is not in compact hatchback category. The correct term is kei or mini. The kelisa is supermini. Myvi is the grown up supermini (same goes to jazz, yaris, swift, m2.. All grown up).

Compact hatchback would be iriz, also called small family hatch.

Suprima is in family hatch segment. This is what is known in UK market (matured and advanved, level play). Focus, golf, astra is all family hatch.

• jinggo on Jan 21, 2017 at 9:16 am

Since 1993 but still can’t produce own car. Just rely to daihatsu/toyota. Even Bezza also using the Daihatsu Ayla/Toyota Agya chasis & engine. What a shame. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • bro 1.5 on Jan 21, 2017 at 7:20 pm

You do realise that Proton also rebadge cars? Maybe you forgotten about Inspira, Ertiga, Perdana aka Accordana and the older models that were based on Mitsubishi?

Both P1 and P2 rebadge cars.

• jinggo on Jan 23, 2017 at 8:27 am

Persona, Preve, Saga BLM, Satria Neo, Gen2, Waja, Exora, Iriz. So, where is Perodua own production model? 1 more thing, where is your engine? Hahahaha… LOL

• Raja Celup on Jan 21, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Tell that to Ertiga and Accordana.

• jinggo on Jan 23, 2017 at 9:01 am

Proton produced their own 10 models in 34 years. What Perodua did in 24 years is just rebadge & steroided the daihatsu Ayla to become Bezza…and without VSC somemore. LOL

• Teringat masa mula mula ambil license pakai kereta kancil naik genting pump minyak full tank masa tu baru rm20

• Altavista on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:53 am

Haprak punya kereta nak kena pergi Genting baru boleh pump minyak.

• I had one of the 850cc model. my first car…
    I appreciated it alot alot back then.. it kept me from the rain on the road. but the aircond was not really good. many complained and the compressor would not work well in a traffic jam. still no complain. the car is simple enough for me to take apart and put it back together. I learned alot of car mechanic by DIY a few things on it.
    and it was reliable because the car on had few parts and zero electronics. nothing much to breakdown so to speak.
    if this car is selling for, say 12k rm brand new. I bet it will still sell well.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Jan 21, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Perodua has come a long way since 1993… and still has an even LONGER WAY TO GO

• landan on Jan 21, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Perodua may have been a success but still they do not treat the customer right. The newly launch axia price for std g and above is exorbitant if compare to the std e. And still no vsc on offer. It seemed that P2 hurriedly launched the new axia to avoid vsc installation which is mandatory next year. P2 wants profit at the expense of our lives.

• Kembara.. Puas sudah ku mengembara... on Jan 21, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Perodua was the first made in Malaysia 4WD SUV.. I do really hope one day P2 will make a comeback of Kembara to MY.. Currently, I own an Auto used 2002 Kembara… Although it’s a bit sluggish due to it’s Auto Transmission and non DVVT engine, but I love due to it is easy to “lenjan” on construction site and off road…

• Diehatsu on Jan 21, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Looks like Daihatsu museum Malaysia branch.

• azhar on Jan 23, 2017 at 9:09 am

using my trusty old kancil for 19 years before sell it off last month!…thanks P2 & Daihatsu

• Y U Fuk on Jan 23, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Perodua should bring back a Kembara SUV at the old price point, as this was the closen & affordable car for the ‘orang puteh/mat salleh’. They got a lot of car for little money and they felt elevated like kings & queens ! This was also the chosen kereta for the mat salleh school teachers, who were renting the Kembara for about 800 per month. Perhaps the NAUTICA can be reserected again, as a mainstream SUV, with fewer bells & whistles. SUV’s are in demand nowadays, P2 does not offer any SUV ?!

• Fa the Fan on Jan 26, 2017 at 9:49 am

Yes! Why don’t they bring back the Kembara?!
      Wishing on a star lah nampaknya.

• Yet this missed out the Perodua Rusa..

• Bernard on Jan 27, 2017 at 11:07 pm

At least perodua has some credibility and it’s not a global success.