2017 Honda City facelift now on nationwide roadshow

The Honda City facelift will be launching very soon, having already been previewed to the media last week. Order books for the refreshed B-segment sedan, which was launched in Thailand last month, opened on February 1.

Want a closer look before making a decision or just for curiosity? Honda Malaysia is bringing the City facelift to you, via mall displays and moving roadshows with a mobile truck. The latter starts today, and will visit the Damansara Uptown business area this afternoon, before moving to the SS2 pasar malam in PJ tonight. It will also visit Ipoh, Melaka, Seremban, Muar, Batu Pahat and Johor Bahru in the coming days.

The City receives a number of tweaks inside and out, plus added kit. Exterior revisions include redesigned headlights, which are now joined together by a new chrome bar inspired by the current Civic FC, as well as a reworked grille, which features a new honeycomb mesh and a chrome strip.

Elsewhere, the front and rear bumpers have been given a new profile, and the top-spec V grade variant shown here now features LED headlights and fog lights as well as new two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels. The model also gets LED tail lights and a ducktail spoiler with an integrated LED brake light.

We did not get a chance to peek inside, but as previously mentioned, we should get the darker gunmetal trim, redesigned seat fabric (with the Civic’s centre stripe) and LED map/room lights as seen on Thai models. All City variants now feature keyless entry and push-button start, while the V grade adds on a multi-angle reverse camera.

Safety-wise, all models now come with Vehicle Stability Assist, hill start assist and an emergency stop signal, with the V getting six airbags.

Under the hood, the City retains the 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine, mated to an Earth Dreams CVT transmission. No output numbers have been revealed as yet, but expect these to remain at 120 PS and 145 Nm. At Honda Malaysia’s media gathering last week, it was revealed that the model lineup will be streamlined from four variants (Grade S, S+, E and V) to three (S, E and V).

Check out our walkaround video below for a closer look.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• superdriver on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:26 am

Looks as boring as a washing machine..some more got 3 grades…why, just why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • IM7887 on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:36 am

First roadshow 18 Feb, but article only come out 20 Feb?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Hanna on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:26 pm

So what? Do you think everyone else doesn’t need a weekend away from work? You can find the info yourself if you are so interested with the roadshows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Susukotak on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:48 am

open for booking. is there any impact on 1st customer booked the car and 1st customer purchased (loan approved) after launching day?

• Mikey on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:58 am

Seriously, does this City facelift need to go on a SS2 “Pasar Malam” in PJ tonight to promote the car ??! Just curious, anyone here ever thought of buying a car at Pasar Malam ?!

Is Big H showing how the future of marketing our Bread & Butter car should be done !? Good opportunity to state your reason why it should/should Not be done.

• Stranger on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:35 pm

It is a good way to make people realize there is “new” city in market since very few changes for this FL. One glance, nothing change!

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 20, 2017 at 4:53 pm

You think people who go to pasar malam can’t afford to buy an RM 80K car is it?

You create awareness any which way you can. Plus the cost is not that much – just drive the car & park at the parking lot.

• Mikey on Feb 20, 2017 at 8:49 pm

tiadaid. Your reply 2 my questions show how shallow or insecure U are when U reply by saying “You think people who go to pasar malam can’t afford to buy an RM 80K car is it?”

No one here is suggesting or saying U cannot afford a “Bread & Butter” Car. A Bread & Butter car is for most masses meaning its a common car. Thank Q anyway 4 stating your case.

• Clearly that pipu at pasar malam can now afford City. oh wait…

• Andrekua on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:08 am

Just give them the bling bling headlight and Malaysian will gladly pay you few thousands more for it. On the other hand, I’m still glad that Malaysians are capable to pay 6 figures for a Japanese B segment. No wonder jib gor insist our economy still very good.

• Ollie on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:32 pm

You’re spot on. So many people here are really happy to work years towards their ambition in life for a Vios/City at RM90k. You can tell them hey did you know a 3-4 year old Ford Focus, VW Passat, Sonata can be had for the same price? Nvm I’m obsessed with used car value, but I’m tired of preaching. Better for us used car heroes that 99% of people rather settle for Vios/City. But wow…….I am so far removed from the thought process of people who’d spend 50k on a Myvi and 100k on a B-seg.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 20, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Knowing how Malaysians treat their cars, buying 2nd hand is an iffy proposition. Unless you can get one with full service record, you’ll never know if the first owner properly maintained the car or they sent it to mekanik bawah pokok.

• Ollie on Feb 20, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Yes you do find cars with full service record under warranty and the warranty extends to second buyer. Your point?

• the most popular model by HM now get even better value for money although I hope for some mechanical changes

• Maynard James Keenan on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:15 am

Don’t trust Honda Malaysia anymore because of the airbag fiasco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • arowana on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:20 am

nationwide??? You mean Peninsular Malaysia only right?

Can’t see any East Malaysian locations.. how discriminating is this?

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:55 am

this car, despite being a big seller is way overpriced. Small tiny B segment now already nearly RM90k. A bit illogical when 73% of all EPF contributors are only earning RM1500 per month.

Where is the promise to reduce car prices by 30%? Why must Malaysians suffer with long loans all their lives when in other countries, people just buy the Honda City off the rack with no loans?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • page3 on Feb 20, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Please tell me in which country can you buy a new Honda City “off the rack”? Thailand? Indonesia? India? Philippines? Please share your great knowledge and wisdom, Kunta.

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 20, 2017 at 6:43 pm

In America the car loan market is a $1 TRILLION industry. In 2015 UK car buyers took out over GBP 28 BILLION in loans. In one year.

Stop talking cock.

• Albert on Feb 20, 2017 at 1:29 pm

SYABAS….Honda Malaysia.
    Congrats….we find difficulty in getting parking space at their showrooms.
    Blockbuster BRV…7,000 sold within a month.
    But what happened to UMW Toyota?
    Salesmen ,busy playing smartphone games.Tak laku.
    Headoffice,like P1…giving discounts.Pathetic.
    UMW service centres…no need booking.Just drive your car for servicing.At Honda,u need to make prior reservations.
    2017…the year for BLOCKBUSTER HONDAs.

• Kunta Katak on Feb 20, 2017 at 1:53 pm

This is what we need. Toyota is doomed, their sales are plunging. There are so many unsold camrys and Altis sitting idle at second hand car dealers. No want wants Toyota. Their resale value is dropping.

• horrayooi on Feb 20, 2017 at 2:20 pm

No paddle shifters ( Indian specs have )or Shiftronic +-, no rear disc brakes, no temperature gauge (same as Axia) and SOHC engine. Low cost specs but selling at RM90k. Only dumb people will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Dexter on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Rear disc brake doesn’t make lots of difference as the car is light, plus it cheaper to maintain because no need to change another extra 2 discs. And not everyone use paddle shifters everyday, racing wannabe like u only. Yes i have to agree with u about no temp gauge. If dumb people only buy why this city is the highest seller in its category?

• old man. on Feb 20, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Buy preve premium bro. Got 4 disc brakes, paddle shifter, temp gauge , 7 speed shiftronic esc, abs, ebd. Cost you only 68k.

• who told u that tis fl have no paddle shifters?

• Hyundai de la Junk on Feb 20, 2017 at 9:01 pm

This city will never kwai tai like your kimchi or cheap wanna jap berukdua junk which everyday can see kwai tai and causing jam making me late for work. Hence it doesn’t need a temp gauge.

2. Drum brakes are 100% equal performance with disc brakes at this light weight category but cost less than half the maintenance of discs. No brainer to use drums. Only syok sendiri to use disks.

3. i-vtec engine is tuned for economy/ low maintenance and not performance. So DOHC is irrelevant

4.) Shiftronic for a CVT? Are you serious?

• passion on Feb 20, 2017 at 2:54 pm

H rules for the moment. but the Koreans are at the door step!

• I love Siti Nurhaliza!

• Front looks like bezzza now

• Bernard on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:06 pm

If less than 50k, ok lah…. Also, no paddle shifters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • I am proud of my foreign car...... on Feb 20, 2017 at 5:05 pm

I like honda. Especially the airbag mehhhh….

• Punharayana on Feb 20, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Is that Honda city I-Dtec will be launched in Malaysia???

• Putra18R12 on Feb 21, 2017 at 11:13 am

Only i-VTEC engine selling in Malaysia with 3 variants spec. So kedekut meh. no more option